??!
8 photos
Breville Barista Express

Breville Barista Express

BES870, BES860
4.3 from 831 reviews

Reviews

4.3

831 reviews
5
(497)
4
(207)
3
(53)
2
(35)
1
(39)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (151)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (150)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (151)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (149)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (76)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.6 (132)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.5 (124)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Brendo

BrendoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Perfect Barista Style Coffee

published

This machine makes consistent, yummy coffee. All of the features make sense and it looks sleek AF as well.
There is a small learning curve to overcome for beginner baristas.

Purchased in July 2020 at The Good Guys for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Michael

MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD

Good till it stops working (just out of warranty)

published

The machine was great while it worked. It stopped dispensing the correct amount of water for the espresso 14 months after purchase. To be fair Breville arranged for this to be looked at under warranty and it was repaired (3 weeks without the machine). Less than 6 months later it’s doing exactly the same thing and it’s going to cost me $100 to have it looked at, with parts and labour on top of that and at least another 3 weeks without a machine. Always cleaned and descaled on time.
If I had written this review a year earlier (before the failures) It would have been A 4 star review
It appears that Breville don’t routinely review the reviews like other companies so it might be time to buy something that lasts longer than 12 months.

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Andrey  Verinchuk

Andrey Verinchuk

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

6 months already - works great, barista level coffee

published

Bought Barists Express in January 2020, and very happy yet. You have to train a bit with milk frother but then you make barists level coffee. Very happy with it at the moment, save on daily 2 coffee shops cups

Purchased in January 2020 at Breville for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Barista Express compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Melissa W.

Melissa W.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 5 reviews

Awesome coffee machine everytime

published

We purchased our breville barista machine in February and have found it easy to use. We no longer have to purchase coffee out and during lock down it's been a god send! It is a bit noisy when frothing the milk but I would still buy another one.

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
riprip

ripripAU

  • 5 reviews

Still going strong after 4 years

published

Great coffee, some trial and error required. Heaps better than other more expensive machines. Our machine is getting smashed at the moment due to working from home. It’s never let us down. Need to play with the settings each time you get different beans. Be good if it could fit keep cups easier. When it dies will be buying another one for sure, maybe not in black as it does get scratched after awhile.

Get it

Purchased in July 2016 at Myer for A$680.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
Yin

YinSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

never buy coffee again!

published

This coffee machine makes exactly the same coffee as you would get in a good cafe. and it takes literally no skill at all! Easy to clean on a day to day basis. can't fault it at all.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Ruppy H.

Ruppy H.

  • 2 reviews

An essential item

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Billy Guyatts for A$590.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Brad W

Brad WVictoria

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good - until they break

published

Initially, the unit seems like a good bit of kit and it is (if you can put up with inconsistent grind amounts and water leaks) ... until it breaks.
The repair process and times are absolutely ludicrous as is the support you receive. I strongly encourage looking elsewhere if you want a product that comes with any reasonable support from the manufacturer.

Breville- please work on your hold times. 3 hours isn’t good enough.

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
David

DavidGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Yes err No

published

Have been unable to get consistent good coffee from this machine checked online and tried different grinds and brands The machine works as described by maybe too fiddly to just make a quick coffee will go to high end pod machine as I know they work better are quicker cleaner and less frustrating

Purchased in December 2018 at Myer for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Barista Express compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ell

EllAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best coffee machine ever

published

So happy with this - the at home lattes are amazing and I love how easy it is to
Use, definitely worth the money - buy it if you want perfect coffee and not much maintenance

Purchased in May 2020 at David Jones for A$1,400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Kasia

KasiaGold coast

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best ever

published

Easy to clean
Easy to use
Always reliable
Products are easily accessible
Have had ours for 3 years and it’s still going strong
Customer service has always had great tips as well!
Makes an amazing cup or coffee

Purchased in April 2017 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers

Generous machine

published

Happy with the machine I bought on April but still waiting for Mother’s Day bonus items which was supposed to be dispatched by Breville within 28 business day. I have rung breville support but don’t have the answer yet. It’s nearing 2 months and still waiting...

Machine is nice the only negative I have found so far is steam lever which is tight to turn.

Purchased in April 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Hai

HaiGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good but is overrated

published

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
Kristina

KristinaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great coffee machine I have this over 3 year

published

Great coffee machine have it for 3 years no problem with it makes great coffee love it. I using a lot never have a problem. I bought in good guys was good price and quality product

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
See all answers
Nadine Galloway

Nadine GallowaySydney, NSW

Go for another coffee machine!

published

Don't waste your money on this product. The grinder button (which gets pressed for 5 seconds a day) stopped working after 2 years. They referred me to a technician who wanted a shocking $160 to replace a button. Breville don't respond to emails, even after raising the issue with fair trading, and any attempt at a resolution via phone call was met with passive-aggressive staff. Fair trading helped to resolve this after 6 weeks without a coffee machine. There are loads of great coffee machines on the market! For a $650 machine, you would expect it to last more than 2 years.

Purchased in January 2018 at The Good Guys for A$650.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Barista Express compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
mountain dame

mountain dameSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 20 likes

Great coffee!

published

We are coffee snobs but this machine has delivered more than expected. It takes quite a bit of trial and error - three weeks in our case - to get the perfect cup but regular study of instructions pays dividends and using quality fresh beans. Biggest problem is getting the coffee hot enough but that has been overcome. We use 10 grind setting for great colour and flavour.

Purchased in May 2020 at David Jones Retail Stores for A$679.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Thomas

ThomasGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Annoyed / disappointed / not caffeinated

published

Purchased this coffee machine 3 years ago.
Had to have the pump repaired within the first 12 months.
I really can't recall a time it has worked to it's proper capacity.
Issues with pump and solonoids again. I'm lucky to get 5 drips of coffee from each cycle.
Such a waste. Seems like they don't make products to last anymore however I would expect it to last more than 3 years.

Purchased in July 2016 at The Good Guys for A$600.00.

Product is used Daily
Tan

TanPerth, WA

  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

Super happy with this machine

published

Hot fresh smelling coffee in the morning is just a must. Have had this machine for some years now and this is the second Breville one i've had. First one i was slack in cleaning it but this one i am religious on the cleaning schedule and it is lasting so much longer. Highly recommend this product and would buy a Breville again.

Purchased at Harvey Norman for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers

Terrible pressure in steam wand

published

Everything about this machine was great except the steam wand! It really let it down. After turning it on to steam, it takes at least 20 seconds for anything to happen then water starts pouring out the end before a light trickle of steam builds up to what I would call medium pressure. Not ideal.

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$698.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
kahanb

kahanbGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews

One of the best coffee machines I've come across to date.

published

The quality that comes from this machine is stunning. Whilst flavour can be matched by some high end automatic machines, other aspects such as texture and oils are much more noticeable from the coffee produced by this machine.

Everything about this machine just screams success and proper engineering to me, I can't quite fault it.

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$660.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 42

Questions & Answers

Frequently Asked Questions about Breville Barista Express

How do I enable the cleaning function on the Breville Barista Express?

If the “clean me” light is illuminated on your Barista Express, turn off your machine, and hold down three buttons - both the one cup & two cup buttons, and the Start button. While holding these buttons down, turn on your unit, and it will start the cleaning process.

What do I do if I am having issues with the taste/volume of my shot from the Breville Barista Express?

As a manual machine, the output from your Barista Express will come from your technique. Breville recommends to refer to the Extraction Guide in your manual, as this has pointers for many typical extraction issues, including shot quantity and bitterness.

Latest Consumer Questions

Ethan

Ethanasked

Barista Express BES870

Hi, I’ve bought mine today. Is anybody can tell me why the machine continues to grind without pushing the button? The grinder continues to work after I made my coffee, and powder dropped on the tray. I didn’t touch anything on the machine, it just grind by itself. Don’t know why

No answers
adam z

adam zasked

Barista Express

When using the steam wand I only get about 10 seconds of steam then just constant hot water... any ideas?

No answers
David N.

David N.asked

Barista Express BES870BKS (Black Sesame)

Using single shot, single wall filter, how many mls or grams of extraction should i be getting?

At the moment i have controlled and been consistent with my variables (Dose, grind and tamp) Including pre-heat portafilter and flushing grouphead.

I am getting roughly 70-85mls of fluid on 1 cup button, extraction time from first drip is between 21-27secs.

It seems alot for a single shot espresso. I also changed the dosage and tamp pressure to see if i get different extraction wieghts, 7g to 11g, medium tamp to high tamp and I still get 70-85mls.

Should I really be getting 30mls at the industry ratio of 1:2?

I have descaled multiple times and clean cycles also, I have reset to default settings for 1 and 2 cup programs. I have tried 3 different bags of coffee beans.

Please let me know if there is anything further I can attempt. Or if there is a Breville Australia troubleshoot hotline.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.