??!
8 photos
Breville Barista Express

Breville Barista Express

BES870 and BES860
4.3 from 739 reviews

Best product in the espresso world!

This machine produce good quality of the espresso. In every morning I cannot imagine without espresso from Breville. It is easy to make my best one. I really love it!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance

Great machine

We use ours every day. Simple and easy to use without the huge price tag of other machines. Also like that the machine is a bit smaller than the more expensive models as saved on bench space. Straight forward to clean.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily

Perfect machine

This is a awesome machine it makes lovely tasty coffee, it gives a good crema every time it makes good velvety frothy milk and it holds the temperature of the milk excellent.
I would recommend this coffee machine it’s a little gem.

Purchased in March 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily

Great for the price.

Great coffee machine for the price. Best of the mid range coffee machines.
Easy to use and perfect for the home of those who enjoy a really good coffee but are not interested in being obsessed baristas.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bing Lee on eBay for $462.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily

Makes the best coffee

What a great and easy to use coffee machine? We absolutely love making coffee now no more instant crap.
Everyone in our Family love coming over and enjoying a coffee at our home.
The grinder works so well easy to tamper the temperature of the coffee is perfect.
The milk frother works really well.
Just make sure to clean it after every use.
The Coffee is better than most of our Coffee shops in our local area.
We bought the brushed stainless steel design as it easy to clean.

Purchased at Harvey Norman for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily

A little muscle needed for great coffee

I have been delighted with the quality the machine has produced.

The machine is extremely simple to use once you work out the correct grind size and grind quantity. This can take a little brain power, patience and wasted coffee until you titrate the settings to the correct pressure and crema. The instructions provide simple troubleshooting to help you resolve this initial phase.

The milk frother is great, and the jug provided is big enough for milk for two cappuccinos. I also like the warming plate on top and the hot water function to prewarm your cups.

You will find you may need to readjust the grind size and amount when changing between different brands of bean, so it is worth making a note of the perfect settings for each style of bean that you use for the next time to prevent wasting your precious coffee.

Also, be aware you will need decent grip and wrist strength in order to adequately ‘tamp’ your ground coffee, and this may be problematic if you have weakened strength due to arthritis or other ailments- something to be aware of if purchasing for an individual of restricted physical ability.

Assuming you can manage the small amount of physical force required, you will be enjoying perfect cafe quality coffee at home. My relatives now all come to my house for a coffee rather than go out. Love this machine!

Purchased in June 2019 at Bing Lee Online store for $462.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily

Feels like a cafe in my own home!

We were looking at changing from a pod machine for taste and environmental reasons. As we like to have our coffee different this machine allows us to use full bodied, crema and decaf in either beans or ground. I find it easy to use, and have had great results every time I make a coffee. I found the group a little tight at first however that soon loosened up and now it can be done quickly and one handed if needed. The wand is easy to use and has plenty of movement to get the angle right for the desired end result. The noise level is good, it is easy to fill the water tank, and cleaning is also easy. It doesn't take up alot of room on the bench and the brushed stainless steel look keeps it fresh and clean looking

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys for $649.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily

Perfect Coffee Machine for home or office use.

We have one at home and one at work. Adjusting initially to get the right creme takes some goes but it is brilliant after that. Make sure you clean it as advised and it will last years.

Purchased at Harvey Norman for $650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily

Turns my home into my personal cafe

I love this coffee machine, have now had it for 2 months and have enjoyed the bonus beans that were offered as a promotion at purchase.
It is so easy to use and maintain you'll never consider a pod coffee machine again.
Must admit I get a bit of a kick out of trying to texture milk, actually find joy in making my own coffee.
Bonus is im saving money by not going out for coffee.
Absolutely recommend, machine produces quality coffee to yoir taste and is very easy to maintain.

Purchased in May 2019 at Myer Online Store for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily

Amazing! Perfectly automated for espresso, in-built Grindr - powerful little thing! Best upgrade

We are stoked with our recent upgrade!!! Makes perfect espresso, with the best Crema! The beanz last in this inbuilt grindr and stay so fresh, saving us an absolute fortune in coffee costs and heats up straight away (30 seconds) we keep ours on, huge water storage to keep the hot water and steam flowing, quite for the size of it and looks great. Seriously a barista quality machine, we upgraded from the smaller Breville and will never look back, big enough to fit a LARGE mug under the espresso poor, comes with a range of jug sizes. By far the best value for money of all Barista quality machines, recommend for home use, perhaps even commercial its that good.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily

Perfect start to my day

I don’t go out for coffee anymore because The quality of coffee this machine produces is better than what I get in the local coffee shops. My coffee machine and I start our morning ritual together, I wouldn’t give it up for anything.
5 stars breville xxxxx

Purchased in July 2019 at The Good Guys for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily

amazing

I have had this breval coffee machine for over a year now and I find it amazing. in the morning I wake up and have a beautiful, quality cup of coffee without paying $4 at a caffe. the coffee produced by the machine is constant and has never failed me. the coffee comes out at a perfect temperature not to hot no to cold.

Purchased in March 2018 for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily

Love this. Wouldn’t use another coffee machine!

This beautiful, easy to use coffee machine makes the most amazing coffee without leaving your home! Don’t let all the dials and buttons put you off, this machine is very easy to use! Just put your favourite coffee beans in the top part of the machine and press the button to grind and then brew your own coffee. Froth your milk and you’re done! There is no pod machine that can compare to a machine that grinds your coffee for you! Love it, would buy it again! Oh, and it’s very easy to clean too!

Purchased in October 2018 at Harvey Norman for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily

Value for money!

We bought this as a Xmas present to ourselves. Eight months on we are still very happy with it. We'd make around 30-40 coffees per week.
Paid under $500 for it at costco on sale just prior to Xmas.
My only (small) grumble is that you can't steam the milk whilst you're doing your coffee extraction, as it is a single boiler machine (but a double boiler Breville machine costs around $1200)
Because of this, it can take a bit of time if you're making several coffees for dinner guests etc.
It'll be interesting to see how long it lasts.
Overall though, very satisfied with it so far. Definitely worth getting if you can find it at a good price!

Purchased in December 2018 at Costco for $480.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily

Great!

My husband recently purchased this product and he loves it. It took a while to work out what to do with it and getting used to but once you know what you are doing (thanks YouTube), it makes for a great coffee. We use it everyday and no longer purchase coffee from the coffee shop. It has already saved us money & time!

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Daily

Can never go back to instant or plunger coffee

Received as a gift from my wife two years ago, at first I thought it would be too fiddly and complicated for me to like using it. A single YouTube how to video got me started and the second cup I made was great ! The quality of the coffee is largely determined by the beans you put in - fresh roasted beans are readily available these days and produce far better tasting coffee than the stale beans found on supermarket shelves, to the point that I've given up sugar in my coffee after 35 years. There's bit of a learning curve with getting the right grinder setting, once you get that right you'll get consistently great tasting coffee.

A few times in an emergency I have used supermarket beans in it and every time I say 'never again! '

It's easy to fine tune the taste and strength of your cup and I haven't felt the need to change the default temperature setting.
The cleaning procedure is easy and doesn't make a mess, I make two cups a day on average and would buy the same machine again when I wear it out.

Purchased in November 2014 at Gift.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily

Perfectly simple machine. No hassle functions and easy to clean

This machine makes a great coffee and is a perfect entry level machine. All the parts detach easily for cleaning. The settings are straight forward and easy to use. The temperature of the coffee is fine if you warm up your coffee cup prior. My only complaint is that the pressure gauge doesn't seem to vary much, so I'm not sure how accurate it is, but it hasn't been an issue either way.

The built in grinder is adjustable, works perfectly and obviously doesn't require extra bench space which is a plus. Milk frothing heats up fast and functions well. Our model is the black sesame version, which looks great and cleans up easily. Very happy!

Purchased in June 2019 for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily

Great quality Coffee Machine.

Great quality Coffee Machine. We bought it almost in June 2018 and had no issue at all. very happy with our purchase and cant really live without it. we bought it from David Jones for $650 which was on special on that time. good size and good looking machine.

Purchased in June 2018 at David Jones for $650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily

9 years Old and Still Going

I was prompted to leave a review here, because yesterday, and after nearly 9 years of trouble free operation, I had to replace the steam seal. ($15 retail.) The reliability of this machine has been incredible. The grinder did jam up a couple of years ago but I managed to free it up. I do not know if it makes the best cup of coffee, but we buy coffee elsewhere and can compare, and friends have said that they enjoyed the coffee from the machine. Of course the coffee beans have a lot to do with taste.
I don't know if the machine is made to the same standards/materials etc as 9 years ago, but I would buy another based on my experience.
I also had to contact Breville re the part, and the service and info I got from that conversation was excellent.

Cheers.

Purchased in September 2010 for $750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily

Perfect for home and office

Easy to use by everyone, perfect coffee every time and suits every type of coffee lovers needs. Frothy milk which can be made easily to the right temperature. Easy to use and clean.

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Daily

Page 1 of 37

Questions & Answers

Frequently Asked Questions about Breville Barista Express

How do I enable the cleaning function on the Breville Barista Express?

If the “clean me” light is illuminated on your Barista Express, turn off your machine, and hold down three buttons - both the one cup & two cup buttons, and the Start button. While holding these buttons down, turn on your unit, and it will start the cleaning process.

What do I do if I am having issues with the taste/volume of my shot from the Breville Barista Express?

As a manual machine, the output from your Barista Express will come from your technique. Breville recommends to refer to the Extraction Guide in your manual, as this has pointers for many typical extraction issues, including shot quantity and bitterness.

Latest Consumer Questions

I like a really hot coffee...brought an expensive Coffee machine that delivered lukewarm coffee even on the hottest setting. Does the Breville give the option for extra hot coffee
1 answer
Hi Terri, no it doesnt but it delivers hot coffee :)

Hi i have a Breville Barista Express BES870 3 months old, always flush it before and after every shot, have descaled and cleaned machine at all intervals. today when turning the steam wand on water comes out through the group head and not the wand and the same with the americano hot water selector.
No answers

My machine has stopped delivering enough water. It takes 7 pushes on double cups to get a long black! The machine is spotless and descaled. Help!
No answers

Details

Breville Barista Express BES870BSS (Brushed Stainless Steel)Breville Barista Express BES870CRN (Cranberry Red)Breville Barista Express BES870BKS (Black Sesame)Breville Barista Express BES860
CategoryManual / Semi-Automatic Coffee MachinesManual / Semi-Automatic Coffee MachinesManual / Semi-Automatic Coffee MachinesManual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) $949.95$949.95$949.95
Pump Pressure15 bar
Dishwasher Safe PartsNoNoNo
Water Tank Capacity2 L2 L2 L2 L
Colour / Finish Brushed Stainless SteelCranberry RedBlack SesameStainless Steel
Dimensions 380 x 320 x 300 mm380 x 320 x 300 mm380 x 320 x 300 mm380 x 320 x 300 mm
Weight12.5 kg12.5 kg12.5 kg
Milk FrotherSteam WandSteam WandSteam Wand
Bean GrinderIntegrated Burr GrinderIntegrated Burr GrinderIntegrated Burr Grinder
Coffee Bean Capacity250 g250 g250 g230 g
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Replaced byBreville Barista Express BES870

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.