?
? !
8 photos
Breville Barista Express

Breville Barista Express

BES870, BES860
4.3 from 868 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (187)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (187)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (187)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (185)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (112)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.5 (165)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.4 (158)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Pat

Pat

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

I didn’t order a mountain of polystyrene.

published

Extremely disappointed that this machine came surrounded by huge lumps of un-recyclable polystyrene. Get with the times! Make your packaging compostable or go out of business!

Coffee machine works fine, so long as you’re happy to let your children eat micro-plastic.

Purchased in March 2021 at Myer Gifts Online for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joseph P.

Joseph P.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great home espresso machine

published

After using a more expensive Breville coffee machine at work and being impressed, we got the barista 870 about 3 and a half years ago for home. Cannot fault it. It has run like clockwork since we bought it and we generally make 3-4 single shots every day on average. Yes, it has a thermoblock system so takes a little longer to heat up, and can't do certain things simultaneously as you would on the more expensive double boiler units, but for home use this is perfect. The portafilters are a bit smaller than the higher end/commercial units, but ok nonetheless. Would definitely recommend for a trusty home espresso machine.

Purchased in December 2017 at Domayne NSW, North Ryde for $630.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Maddi

MaddiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 32 likes

Average

published

We purchased this machine almost a year ago. It was great to start with but a few months in the steam wand started playing up. The steam wand will turn off half way through steaming the milk and then the whole machine needs to heat up again. It's so frustrating as it is a waste of milk and time. I don't expect a cafe quality machine for the price but I expect it to work better than what it does. We took it our local warranty dealer but they couldn't find the fault as it doesn't do it every single time. The dial that turns the steam wand on is also very clunky. It is not easy to turn.
I would recommend spending money on a better machine.

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Barista Express compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Okay but not great

published

Purchased in March 2021 for $711.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mal

Mal

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great machine !

published

Upgraded from a basic Breville I had for about 10 years that never missed a beat . After a bit of adjustment this machine is great! Read the instructions , use good beans - you wont be disappointed .

Purchased in March 2021 for $749.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nathan M.

Nathan M.Sydney, NSW

Amazing but not durable

published

Purchased in March 2018 for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ella

EllaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Going strong after about 5 years

published

I am extremely satisfied with my machine. It is however a little hard to get your head around if you're not already experienced in making coffee (I am a trained barista).
The weather makes a difference to how your coffee will extract. So will the freshness of the beans and their brand. It isn't simple and straightforward. No machine will be though. The coffee is not consistent because it is usually human error - there's not enough grinds in the basket, the grind size is too big/small, it wasn't tamped properly. It's not the machine's fault. I would recommend this product but I would also recommend watching some YouTube videos about how extracting coffee works too.

Purchased in July 2015 at The Good Guys for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
perishablu

perishabluWestern District, VIC

  • 9 reviews

Coffee machine for every day use

published

Fantastic coffee machine. So easy to use my pre-teens use it with ease. Cleaning is a breeze. Makes delicious lattes and cappuccinos and hot chocolates with the lightest foamy milk. Highly recommend.

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for $749.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mandy.b

mandy.bSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Good machine especially for the price

published

Bought the machine Dec 2019. After a few teething problems (the pressure gauge didn't move for the first 3 weeks) the machine miraculously sorted itself out and we get really nice coffee. It is pretty easy to use and clean. Three weeks after the 12 month warranty expired the water cut-off valve died. Contacted Breville and they fixed it free of charge. We just needed to get it from Sutherland to St Peters. Since then it has been working like new.

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Barista Express compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Natalie Carroll

Natalie CarrollHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Best coffee machine EVER! In love with this machine!

published

Best coffee machine EVER! In love with this machine, I’m a coffee snob & over the years have purchased multiple coffee machines to try to suit my needs, this by far is the winner hands down.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
The Grey Ghost

The Grey GhostFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Water wastage

published

Had it for 3 months. Only used once daily in the morning, occasionally for a guest as well. It makes pretty good coffee but I have an issue with the purge system. From cold I find it ejects 150/180 mills of water into the drip tray in the process of making 1 cup of double shot coffee. As soon as it is switched on and the buttons illuminate it spits about 40 mills of water for no apparent purpose. The purge (steam) function seems to work as required but at the end of the process I measure about 160 mills (average)at the completion of 1 cup of coffee in the drip tray. My son has a similar machine, different make and reports no excessive water usage. Anyone else have this issue? Is it normal?

Purchased in November 2020 at Myer for $730.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Not that great

published

Had a cheaper Delonghi before without grind function.
Worked better, i.e no issues with waiting for things to warm up, frothed milk in half the time. Mine takes a 90 secs to froth my milk. Delonghi did same amount in 30.
It's not a bad machine but expensive for what it does.
Bought it because of rave reviews on here, my mistake.
Just to clarify I had the Delonghi for 3 years and no probs until it started to leak a bit of water and i got sucked in by hype of new machines.
Wouldn't buy another. PS it has been back for replacement felt washer in grinder and asked to look at steamer function - apparently OK but I'm not satisfied, Its 4 months old.

Purchased in November 2020 for $700.00.

Value for Money
Consistency
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Colin Peckham

Colin PeckhamRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

How to stop continuous coffee flow

published

I have had our machine for almost 8 years now, and every now and the have to reset it to prevent continuous coffee flow. However I have found that spraying WD40 around the buttons stops this from happening.
Its great machine, but just needs some maintenance now and again.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Eric Y.

Eric Y.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

No issue in the first two days of use, it's a lot of fun making my own coffee and good value at discounted price

published

I'm still using pre-ground powder I bought for Moka pot, but the result is night and day. Yet to try the machine with proper coffee beans, and I believe it'll be brilliant. Let's be honest this's not a La Marzocco, but it's decent enough for daily family use. I say 599 is well worth it. Saw a few reviews around reliability issue on recently built BES870, plus it only comes with a one-year manufacture warranty, so I added an extra five-year extended warranty from TGG.

PS, the metallic paint of so-called "Salted Liquorice" looks really good. I tried my best but it's difficult to capture on camera. This colour looks exactly the same as "Black Sesame" on official website, which is a shame.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2021 at TGG for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andrey  Verinchuk

Andrey Verinchuk

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great run after a year

published

Purchased new lovely Cranberry colour Breville Barista Express from Breville outlet in Brisbane for $390. After a year of basically daily usage works well. Very happy for the result of barista coffee

Purchased in January 2020 at Breville for $390.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Barista Express compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
H Sheikh

H SheikhPerth, WA

Refusing to replace a faulty unit

published

Purchased in November 2020 at David Jones Retail Stores for $640.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kacee

Kacee Hunter Region, NSW

Breville don’t assist with warranty

published

Bought machine less then 6 months ago steam wand is broken and called Breville about it and they won’t help to replace I have receipts everything I should need to do so but still won’t help With this ! It’s a lot of money to spend when Breville don’t help with warranty even 6 months after purchase !

Purchased in August 2020 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rick

RickGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Major failure at 4 years

published

We bought the Breville Barista Express BES870BKS in July 2016 and it is now December 2020. It started to leak a few months ago and then some smoke started coming out before it stopped working. The solenoid valve has failed as well as the steam ring, inlet seal and water filter assembly. Total repair cost $400 for a $650 appliance.
I would expect a Breville machine to last a lot more than 4 years.

Purchased in July 2016 at Harvey Norman for $650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
joy671

joy671aldinga beach

  • 27 reviews
  • 24 likes

makes great coffee

published

early days but so far very happy.. makes a wonderful coffee. we like it strong so use the twin cup for a morning single coffee. good crema and good froth.. even though the store assistant said it will take a while to warm up between coffee and froth, its not that bad. only takes a few seconds.. rarely use the kettle any more.. highly reccomend

Purchased in November 2020 for $798.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bina T.

Bina T.Sydney, NSW

Is it a good machine? Ask Breville.

published

I read reviews before purchasing and the machine has been great until suddenly the default/auto 1-2 cup function stopped working. I followed the instructions in "press program button till it beeps 3x" and it will be fixed. But no.
I have had no call back or support from Breville in trouble shooting despite leaving messages and answering email. ;[
Upon reading other reviews here, it seems that others who purchased this model have had the same issue and it rears it's ugly head at about the 1 year mark.

May well be a product fault. If Breville gets back to me,I can update this review.

Beware: after sales support from Breville Australia is poor going by my experience.

Purchased in October 2019 at Myer Retail Stores for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 44

Questions & Answers

Frequently Asked Questions about Breville Barista Express

How do I enable the cleaning function on the Breville Barista Express?

If the “clean me” light is illuminated on your Barista Express, turn off your machine, and hold down three buttons - both the one cup & two cup buttons, and the Start button. While holding these buttons down, turn on your unit, and it will start the cleaning process.

What do I do if I am having issues with the taste/volume of my shot from the Breville Barista Express?

As a manual machine, the output from your Barista Express will come from your technique. Breville recommends to refer to the Extraction Guide in your manual, as this has pointers for many typical extraction issues, including shot quantity and bitterness.

Latest Consumer Questions

Maria

Mariaasked

Barista Express BES870BSS (Brushed Stainless Steel)

Hi,
I only use my machine at weekends. And yesterday, despite me using the same beans, grind, tamp pressure etc. the coffee was under extracted. Today it was even worse, the dial hardly moved .
It’s only 2 years old?? Help please!!

No answers
REA

REAasked

Barista Express BES870

My machine after 12 months doen't stop the brewing.....it keeps pouring - I have to stop it manually

No answers
ding 4852

ding 4852asked

Barista Express BES860

New machine, bought as back up for machine several years old. When old machine kept blowing basket new seals and with guests over Easter we broke out the new machine. Took a long time to get grind close to right, timer on grinder is close to zero when the old machine was a third the way around. Now the timer on the shower head is not working, intermittently at first, now not at all.

2 answers
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Fault?

ding 4852
ding 4852

Fault in the timing for the extraction. Apparently a problem, the repair shop said they have a problem. $285 dollars to fix.
The old machines locking mechanism for basket was worn, again familiar to them but it had done a fair amount of work. $230 odd to fix.

See all Breville Barista Express questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Breville Barista Express

Details

Compare all 5 Breville Barista Express
CategorySemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) $949.95$949.95$949.95$949.95
Dishwasher Safe PartsNoNoNoNo
Water Tank Capacity2 L2 L2 L2 L
Colour / FinishBrushed Stainless SteelCranberry RedBlack Sesame
Dimensions 380 x 320 x 300 mm380 x 320 x 300 mm380 x 320 x 300 mm380 x 320 x 300 mm
Weight12.5 kg12.5 kg12.5 kg12.5 kg
Milk FrotherSteam WandSteam WandSteam WandSteam Wand
Bean GrinderIntegrated Burr GrinderIntegrated Burr GrinderIntegrated Burr GrinderIntegrated Burr Grinder
Coffee Bean Capacity250 g250 g250 g250 g
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Compare all 5 Breville Barista Express

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.