8 photos
Breville Barista Express

Breville Barista Express

BES870, BES860
4.3 from 897 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Breville

Pros

  • Rivals cafe-quality coffees

  • Easy to use and clean

  • Efficient operation

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (214)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (214)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (214)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (212)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (137)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.5 (191)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.4 (185)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Libbi L
Libbi LSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews

Amazing! Life changing

published

Could not love it more. Easy to use, clean & makes better coffee than a coffee bought from a cafe. No complaints! Have had it for a year without any dramas.

Purchased in August 2020 at Costco QLD, Ipswich.

Build Quality
Value for Money
sumo
sumoGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews

1 year in and it is going strong

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Qantas.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Britt
BrittSydney Surrounds, NSW

No more buying coffee out.

published

Very worth every dollar. Been using mine for 2 months everyday and works amazing.
So easy to work and the clean up is simple.
Highly recommend this coffee machine.
My only coffee now no more takeaway

Purchased in June 2021 at Bing Lee for $479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Barista Express compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Marty
MartyPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Excellent coffee from a durable machine

published

Purchased in December 2020 at Harvey Norman for $690.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Shantell
Shantell
  • 3 reviews

love ittttt no regrets

published

such an amazing machine , awesome in size . saved myself $3500 a year buying coffee aha , because now I make it myself at home with this awesome machine . gone buy another one for my mom .

Purchased in March 2020 at Breville for $675.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Budget Coffee Machines, Bread Makers and Food Sealers

In quarantine and in need of fresh coffee, bread and longer lasting food? Read on for more information on kitchen appliances that won’t break the bank and help see you through self isolation during difficult times.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.27 Mar 2020
budget-coffee-machines-bread-makers-and-food-sealers

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Bryan R.
Bryan R.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect coffee every time

published

The quality of coffee from the barista pro is as good as most cafes I've been to no need to buy coffee any more
The coffee from machine is consistent if you use the same coffee beans if you change brands you need to change the grind settings
The temperature of the coffee is spot on

Purchased in February 2021 at Good guys for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
nat
natGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Cafe quality coffee at home

published

Such a great machine, takes a bit of tinkering to get right. But once fiddled with, every shot is perfection. Strong pressure on the steam wand too, so can enjoy velvet textured milk in a flat white at home.
While working at home, this has been a real saviour.

Purchased in January 2021 at JB Hi-Fi for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ollie
ollieFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this machine

published

The best home coffee machine ever. Once you find the right bean for the flavour you like this machine makes the best cappuccino at hone . I am by no means a coffee expert but I haven’t had a bad coffee from this machine. Brilliant

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
gwater
gwater
  • 22 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good and easy to operate

published

We had this coffee machine for about 1.5 years , it is very easy to operate and makes good coffee with very nice and thick crema. However, it has started leaking water.

Purchased in March 2020 for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Barista Express compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Patrick
PatrickCentral West, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

In love

published

Been using this coffee machine for about 2 years and I can't live without it.
I've used it everyday and has never played up on me, always high quality coffees made at home

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman for $749.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Anna
AnnaMid North Coast, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Breville did it again!

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2015 at Harvey Norman for $589.00.

Consistency
Milk Frothing
Monika
MonikaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Your latte is ready!

published

This little machine is just super. At first I was a bit scared, thinking l cannot make a latte or a short black? But after a few videos it was so easy!
Smell that coffee? ++++

Purchased in October 2019 at The Good Guys for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

KINGMIKHA
KINGMIKHASydney, NSW

Café coffee at Home

published

This coffee machine has saved me lots of money making my own great coffee at home with a few simple tips online, the quality of the coffee machine is amazing and produces nice coffee, the coffee machine is amazingly consistent but requires a few skills and maintenance, nice smooth coffee is produced by the machine and I highly recommend if you drink coffee.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Alice k
Alice kGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 5 reviews

Easy to use

published

Easy to use, maintain and clean. Creates great coffee with added features such as hot water and milk. Comes with extra cleaning tools and coffee dispensers. Would highly recommend buying this product!

Purchased in June 2020 for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Warren Z.
Warren Z.
  • 2 reviews

Best Coffee Machine ever.

published

Have been using the Breville Barista Express for about 18u months now, and do not regret one little bit in getting it, have used dripulators and pods and other types of coffe machines, and just wish we had got this before getting the others, the adjustable grinding is great and being able to make a coffee to your own desires, the coffee temperature is exact to my liking, and has a suitable water tank of 2lt which is quite sufficent, the user handbook is quite good as well, not having to try and decipher any translations, having also the adjustable quanity of ground coffee you want as well, this machine goes well beyong my expectations.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Barista Express compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Frequently Asked Questions about Breville Barista Express

How do I enable the cleaning function on the Breville Barista Express?

If the “clean me” light is illuminated on your Barista Express, turn off your machine, and hold down three buttons - both the one cup & two cup buttons, and the Start button. While holding these buttons down, turn on your unit, and it will start the cleaning process.

What do I do if I am having issues with the taste/volume of my shot from the Breville Barista Express?

As a manual machine, the output from your Barista Express will come from your technique. Breville recommends to refer to the Extraction Guide in your manual, as this has pointers for many typical extraction issues, including shot quantity and bitterness.

Latest Consumer Questions

Amanda
Amandaasked
Barista Express

I am having problems with beans becoming jammed in my breville barista express grinder. I haven't had this machine 12 months and this is the second time it has become jammed. I have mostly used my old standalone grinder in this time because of jammed beans. I was going to take it for repair but I eventually after months unjammed the grinder only for it to happen again relatively quickly. I am unable to lift out the burr part because the bean lodged so tight I can't unlock it. I am trying to get it to dislodge by running it on the coarsest setting.
I am wondering if the grinder is faulty? My very old standalone breville grinder is amazing. I have never had a bean get jammed in it.
How do I dislodge beans and should this be happening repeatedly?

1 answer
Mr shopper
Mr shopper

Call breville get them to pick it up and fix it….it’s under warranty. I have never heard of this happening but can tell you mine leaked after 5 months, was fixed but still leaked. Breville have taken it to their NSW offices to check it again. Not great machines sadly.

Brian G.
Brian G.asked
Barista Express BES870BSS (Brushed Stainless Steel)

I recently gave my B E a clean..now my programme light stays on..even AFTER I reprogramme my 1 and 2 cup shots..whats the problem here?..any advice?

No answers
Brian G.
Brian G.asked
Barista Express BES870BSS (Brushed Stainless Steel)

The programme light stays on..whats the go with that?

No answers
See all Breville Barista Express questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Breville Barista Express

Details

Features

  • Integrated conical burr grinder grinds at the press of a button, while the grinding cradle places beans directly into the portafilter. This allows for a quicker and more efficient coffee-making process.
  • Made with a 250-gram bean hopper capacity, and a 2-litre water tank capacity.
  • Allows for manual microfoam milk texturing, allowing you to control the amount of froth you like on your coffee, and also create latte art.
  • Digital temperature control delivers water at the precise temperature, to extract the most flavour from ground coffee beans.
  • A grind size dial allows you to adjust the grind size based on the type of bean you’re grinding.
  • Includes the following accessories: a razor dose trimming tool, portafilter, 1 cup and 2 cup single and dual wall filter baskets, integrated tamper, milk jug, cleaning disc and tablets, cleaning brush tool and Allen Key, water filter holder and water filter.
  • Made with a 1600-watt thermocoil Integrated stainless steel water path accurately controls water temperature.
  • Made with a pre-infusion function - which gradually increases water pressure for more even extraction, and a purge function, which removes milk residue with water into the drip tray to clean it.
  • The settings allow you to adjust the grind amount, manually override settings, and also let you choose between a single or double shot.
  • This coffee machine is crafted from a stainless steel portafilter and milk jug.
  • Available in 5 colour options, which are: black, brushed stainless steel, red, black, and charcoal.

Points of praise

From the mouths of self-professed coffee snobs, the trusty Breville Barista Express makes consistently great-quality coffees. This saved reviewers plenty of money on cafe bills.

This Breville coffee machine was also reported to be easy to use, as well as to clean and maintain.

Points to consider

Parts can sometimes stop working, which was frustrating for reviewers when the fault occurred just outside of the warranty period (12 months). Finding repairers was reported to be difficult and, once a repairer was sourced, expensive.

Compare all 5 Breville Barista Express
CategorySemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) $949.95$949.95$949.95$949.95
Dishwasher Safe PartsNoNoNoNo
Water Tank Capacity2 L2 L2 L2 L
Dimensions 380 x 320 x 300 mm380 x 320 x 300 mm380 x 320 x 300 mm380 x 320 x 300 mm
Weight12.5 kg12.5 kg12.5 kg12.5 kg
Milk FrotherSteam WandSteam WandSteam WandSteam Wand
Bean GrinderIntegrated Burr GrinderIntegrated Burr GrinderIntegrated Burr GrinderIntegrated Burr Grinder
Coffee Bean Capacity250 g250 g250 g250 g
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Colour / FinishBrushed Stainless SteelCranberry RedBlack Sesame
Compare all 5 Breville Barista Express
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.