8 photos
Rancilio Silvia

Rancilio Silvia

V3, V5, V4, etc... (See All)
4.2 from 118 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Rancilio? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Pros

Makes consistently good coffee
Durable build quality
Reliable PID controller

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (25)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (25)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (24)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (24)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (19)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.3 (24)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.4 (22)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Westie
Westie
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good stuff

published

Love it. Good basic machine with no frivolous bells and whistles but made from commercial components.
Makes very good coffee once you get the hang of it. Easy to maintain too.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pickle
PickleSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

12 years of great service and saved me thousands $$$

published

Hasn't missed a beat in 12 years my Rancilio Silva matched with a Rocky grinder. Price was $1300 the pair and I can make as good as most good cafes and sometimes better as I use quality milk and beans. Even cheap beans can make good coffee. I have replaced the grinder plates couple of times but not expensive. Do need to clean to look after but the savings making your own are huge.

Purchased in October 2010 for $1,300.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bec G.
Bec G.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Complete waste of money, don’t bother

published

Bought this machine for my husbands 40th birthday, worked fabulous for 2 weeks and now just sits on the bench because it doesn’t work. Biggest waste of time and money.

Purchased in December 2020 for $1,200.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
larryaddison7
larryaddison7Gippsland, VIC

Great machine

published

7 years old and used twice daily. Have replaced a group head seal - easy to do. Cleaned and flushed regularly. Makes great coffee and simple to use. Drip tray is warped and its a bit noisy - but hey, it's Italian.

Purchased in July 2015 for $1,350.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Rancilio Silvia compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jason
JasonRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Great machine with high consistency! PID

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Espresso Tenango for $1,500.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Damien P
Damien PCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

A practical, robust, no-nonsense espresso machine

published

Purchased in December 2020 for $1,099.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

worst machine ever

published

Inconsistent is the only way to describe the machine. One shot is under extracted the next is over extracted. At first I joked about the machine being a temperamental Italian but after throwing coffee after coffe down the drain I'm pretty sick of it. I've had many machines over the last 20 years but this is definitely the worst. No other machine can ruin an expensive bean quite like this.
Also in an amazing piece of stupid design the milk wand is too low to fit a milk jug (small one) under so after steaming the milk you have to lift the whole machine to remove the jug, brilliant! If the drip tray is has some water in it beware because at this point the water will spill over your bench.

Purchased in May 2020 for $1,175.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2022!

Whether you love or loathe being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of over 9,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Avleen M.
Avleen M.14 Dec 2021
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2022
Next
Edward
EdwardMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews

Got the coffee bug, went through many machines, picked the silvia

published

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rob
RobSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best, robust and great coffee!

published

Very happy with this machine as it came but have upgraded it over the years, including adding a pid controller. It is a genuine Italian boiler based coffee machine and with the right grind makes as good a coffee as you will get. Now over 10yo still going strong. Easy availability of spare parts. Love it.

Purchased in October 2009 for $750.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Rancilio Silvia compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Monsooned Malabar
Monsooned MalabarGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Harley Davidson of Coffee Machines

published

I have had my Silvia for over 10 years and think it is fantastic. Note that these machines are fully manual and you need to learn how to use them. But once you do, you really can make a coffee as good as any cafe. An added bonus is that parts are cheap and widely available online as they use the same components as commercial machines. If you're reasonably handy you can maintain or fix it yourself. Considering they are likely to still be making Silvia's in another 25 years, it could be the last Espresso machine you ever need to buy! Last piece of advice. You MUST pair it with a quality grinder or you'll never make a decent coffee. I use a Rancilio Rocky.

Purchased in February 2010 for $800.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bob S.
Bob S.Mid North Coast, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Not overly impressed.

published

Produces ok coffee. My grinder passed away, now using supermarket coffee which is no real indicator.
Older version was better. New machine is noisy and build quality is 2 stars max.

Purchased in July 2018 for $900.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The Rancillio Silivia - a saviour during Melb lockdown

published

Purchased in November 2019 for $999.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Rancilio Silvia compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John
JohnSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Base rusted after 12 months. Started cutting out after 12 months. Makes great coffee.

published

The base has rust on it. Trying to dry after each use although it is worrying for at 12 months. The machine was inoperable for a week at just 12 months old. It trips as soon as you turn it on. Doing it again at 18 months. I've enjoyed the coffee and steam pressure although it doesn't seem to be holding up longevity wise.

Purchased in May 2018 at Caffe Bianchi for $900.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mark
MarkGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews

Excellent coffee machine

published

I am completely satisfied with the coffee maker and Rocky grinder. Both machines were easily set up and simple to use. I watched a demonstration of both machines in the shop prior to purchase and duplicated the process at home. Very well made coffee machines.

Purchased in September 2018 for $1,300.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nina
NinaVictoria
  • 25 reviews
  • 12 likes

Serves well for many years

published

After having Seaco Esspresso machine, we purchased Silvia Rancilio. It's small Esspresso machine but it serves purpose for many years. We love our coffees and believe this machine is good quality.

Purchased in June 2009 for $1,359.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

ann
annasked
Silvia

Can I purchase this machine in Christchurch

1 answer
Westie
Westie

I’m pretty sure you purchase it in any church you like if you order online.

Maree C.
Maree C.asked
Silvia

The portafilter on my Rancilio Silvia won’t stay in place unless I hold it now and only moves a fraction when I slot it in. I’ve done a full clean on the machine and regularly backwash it too. Any ideas?

1 answer
tcp
tcp
Ronnie Atlas
Ronnie Atlasasked
Silvia

Hi There, I want to replace the driptray of my Silvia which is a little rusty.... anyone want to recommend someone selling spare parts or wrecking Rancilios?? Also for new gaskets and other service needs, I'm sure they could help too....Most grateful for any leads! Thanks, Ronnie (ronnieatlas@gmail.com)

No answers
See all Rancilio Silvia questions

Get an answer from our members

Rancilio Silvia

Details

Features

  • Filter baskets are provided to make either 8 grams or 14 grams of ground coffee.
  • The brass boiler has a 300mL capacity for coffee.
  • Contains a 2-litre water tank.
  • A thermostat controls the brew temperature, allowing the machine to reach heat.
  • A stainless steel frame and steam wand offer a sturdy construction.
  • The water reservoir, cup tray and drip tray are all removable, for easier cleaning.
  • Auto-off function turns the appliance off automatically after 30 minutes, but you can program this so it doesn’t turn off.

Points of praise

  • Durable and reliable, the Rancilio Silva produces consistently good quality coffee that rivals coffee made in cafes.
  • This machine was reported to have longevity, with many reviewers saying it lasted them for years, provided they cleaned and maintained it often.
  • A PID controller lets you directly control the temperature of the coffee machine, as well as the infusion, shot duration and steam temperature. Coffee lovers enjoyed the consistent reliability of the PID controller.
  • While parts usually last a long time, if you do need a replacement the parts are cheap to replace and also easy enough to source.
  • Reviewers were fans of the paired Rocky grinder for the Silvia coffee machine.
Compare all 6 Rancilio Silvia
Rancilio Silvia V1
  • Discontinued

Rancilio Silvia V1

4.8
(14)
Rancilio Silvia V2
  • Discontinued

Rancilio Silvia V2

4.6
(17)
Rancilio Silvia V3
  • Discontinued

Rancilio Silvia V3

4.2
(39)
CategorySemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) $1,199.00
Pump Pressure15 bar
Input Power1,100 W
Dishwasher Safe PartsNo
Water Tank Capacity2.5 L
Dimensions 340 x 235 x 290 mm
Weight14 kg
Milk FrotherSteam Wand
Bean GrinderNone
Colour / FinishStainless Steel
Release dateJune 1998June 2006Aug 2009
Replaced byRancilio Silvia V2Rancilio Silvia V3Rancilio Silvia V4
Compare all 6 Rancilio Silvia
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.