??!
6 photos
Rancilio Silvia

Rancilio Silvia

V3, V5, V4, etc...
4.2 from 112 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (17)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (17)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (11)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.7 (16)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.5 (15)
Previous
Next
Rob

RobSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Best, robust and great coffee!

published

Very happy with this machine as it came but have upgraded it over the years, including adding a pid controller. It is a genuine Italian boiler based coffee machine and with the right grind makes as good a coffee as you will get. Now over 10yo still going strong. Easy availability of spare parts. Love it.

Purchased in October 2009 for A$750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderRancilio Rocky Grinder
See all answers
Monsooned Malabar

Monsooned MalabarGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Harley Davidson of Coffee Machines

published

I have had my Silvia for over 10 years and think it is fantastic. Note that these machines are fully manual and you need to learn how to use them. But once you do, you really can make a coffee as good as any cafe. An added bonus is that parts are cheap and widely available online as they use the same components as commercial machines. If you're reasonably handy you can maintain or fix it yourself. Considering they are likely to still be making Silvia's in another 25 years, it could be the last Espresso machine you ever need to buy! Last piece of advice. You MUST pair it with a quality grinder or you'll never make a decent coffee. I use a Rancilio Rocky.

Purchased in February 2010 for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderRancilio Rocky Grinder
See all answers
Bob S.

Bob S.Mid North Coast, NSW

Not overly impressed.

published

Produces ok coffee. My grinder passed away, now using supermarket coffee which is no real indicator.
Older version was better. New machine is noisy and build quality is 2 stars max.

Purchased in July 2018 for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Rancilio Silvia compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

The Rancillio Silivia - a saviour during Melb lockdown

published

Purchased in November 2019 for A$999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderRancilio Rocky Grinder
See all answers
John

JohnSydney, NSW

Base rusted after 12 months. Started cutting out after 12 months. Makes great coffee.

published

The base has rust on it. Trying to dry after each use although it is worrying for at 12 months. The machine was inoperable for a week at just 12 months old. It trips as soon as you turn it on. Doing it again at 18 months. I've enjoyed the coffee and steam pressure although it doesn't seem to be holding up longevity wise.

Purchased in May 2018 at Caffe Bianchi for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderAnfiim
See all answers
Mark

MarkGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Excellent coffee machine

published

I am completely satisfied with the coffee maker and Rocky grinder. Both machines were easily set up and simple to use. I watched a demonstration of both machines in the shop prior to purchase and duplicated the process at home. Very well made coffee machines.

Purchased in September 2018 for A$1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderRancilio Rocky SD (Doserless)
See all answers
Nina

NinaVictoria

  • 22 reviews
  • 6 likes

Serves well for many years

published

After having Seaco Esspresso machine, we purchased Silvia Rancilio. It's small Esspresso machine but it serves purpose for many years. We love our coffees and believe this machine is good quality.

Purchased in June 2009 for A$1,359.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderRancilio Rocky SD (Doserless)
See all answers
Tracy B.

Tracy B.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Base Rusted out in 12 months

published

Purchased this machine, it made the best coffee but The base started To rust within 13 months, I had throw out after 3 years As the base was completely rusted out, I was so disappointed as the coffee was excellent

Purchased in June 2015 at New Caffe Italia for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Rchis

RchisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Perfect for a home machine

published

I have had this for 16 years without a problem as she produces a great coffee. a little practice is needed but worth the effort. Just recently the pump is losing pressure, any ideas where can I get a new one?

Purchased in June 2004 for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Rancilio Silvia compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
adamhill0

adamhill0Perth, WA

Great home espresso machine!

published

Really cant complain about anything with this machine.
Been a barista for 10 years, and this machines easy to use.

Get the weight and grind setting sorted and the shots run consistently, especially if you temperature surf to get the right temp each shot.
Steam pressure is great, if you follow the instructions on using the machine correctly and doing maintenance after each use/once a week it will last you a long time.

Its loud when compared to commercial machines, but quieter than your average kettle.
Great shots, silky milk (oat milk pictured), quick clean up. Absolute winner!

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
GrinderBreville Smart Grinder BCG800
See all answers
Makingtide

MakingtideCanberra 2600, ACT

Rubbish disguised as commercial - I wish I could give zero stars

published

Loom is close to the boiler - burned out just after warranty, the second loom burned 18 months later. Chrome-effect peeled off the PLASTIC group-head. The boiler-gasket perished, spraying steam everywhere

Purchased in November 2013 for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Carlo D.

Carlo D.Southwest, VIC

One of the best products I've ever bought!

published

I have had this machine for around 20 years and it has been used every day. The quality of coffee produced is unbeatable as is the reliability. I had a thermostat go faulty once about 10 years ago but a quick internet search had a part ordered and the machine up and running by the next day at a total cost of less than $20! Just buy one and buy the Rocky grinder as well. A couple of the best products I've ever bought!

Purchased in August 1999.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Consistency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderRancilio Rocky Grinder
See all answers
Aussie Consumer

Aussie ConsumerPeel, WA

  • 9 reviews

All good.

published

It took me a little while to get the grinds in the Rocky to a point where the machine was able to show me its strengths.
Despite the alleged commercial group head and handle, when preparing two espressos, I find they do not give consistent espresso volume into each cup which I “think” is common as my last machine did the same. Maybe it’s how I’m packing the handle but the machine does produce good coffee without a doubt. For a machine that can be serviced and maintained into the future, I think the investment has come up trumps.

Purchased in July 2019 for A$1,249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderRancilio Rocky Doser
See all answers
Chris

ChrisSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

This is a great coffee machine

published

This is my second Rancilio Silva after the V1 and I have always been impressed with their quality and longevity. Commercial brass interior in a domestic package so it's a solid performer.

Purchased in June 2017 at Coffee Parts for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
GrinderRancilio Rocky Grinder
See all answers
lavenda

lavendaSydney, NSW

7 years and still going strong

published

This little gem produces great espresso (better with triple basket than double) and steams perfect milk. Results usually better when the machine has been preheated for at least 15 minutes. Good quality construction - had mine for 7 years and not had any problems so far (daily backflushing and monthly cleaning with a machine cleaner). Recommend for the home barista who wants to get more serious about improving the taste of their shots without spending a fortune on higher end, fancy-looking models.

Purchased in July 2012 for A$820.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderBreville Smart Grinder BCG800
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Rancilio Silvia compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rob Boot

Rob BootMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

What a coffee machine. Amazing. Superb coffee from a compact espresso machine. luv it!

published

Temperature always perfect.
Pours are always perfect.
Frother works a treat.
Robust: survived a trip from europe to aus in my backpack.
Easy to clean, easy to use.
Chunky and solid buttons.
Sturdy Steel construction.

Purchased in August 2014 for A$1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
bilnrobn

bilnrobnWestern Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

Best coffee machine at an economical price

published

We are VERY happy with this machine. It has outlived the previous machines we had and produces better coffee than any of them. We thoroughly recommend it. The weakness of most other similarly or lower priced units is the boiler, which has a limited life. The Ranciilio has, (going on memory here), a cast iron boiler and simply doesn't rust. When this one finally gives out (if it ever does!), we will certainly be buying the same brand next time.

Date PurchasedJan 2013
Rosh

RoshCanberra

Can't live without my ‘Miss Silvia’

published

I have had my ‘Miss Silvia’ Generation 1 coffee machine since 2008. She’s still going strong and I’m still in love with her. She consistently produces a high quality espresso and the froth for the cappuccino takes some practice to perfect, but is smooth as silk when you get it right. She’s definitely saved me a heap of money and sure beats going to my local café for my daily hit.

Date PurchasedJan 2008
carmoda

carmodaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 6 likes

The most practical domestic machine.

published

This is a suitable machine for people making between 1 &10 coffees in a session. Easy to get spares and robust. The quality of the coffee depends on your skill or desire to learn. It is not a machine for idiots, you will need to learn how to use it. There are hundreds of good youtube videos. I have a 100% success rate now and I have not had any failures, just had to tighten the part. Easy to clean.

Date PurchasedJul 2014
Andrew

AndrewEMU CREEK

  • 2 reviews

Amazing

published

This is a sturdy device that works perfectly so far. if you don't invest in, or already have, a good coffee grinder, you might have to work with the local grocer or starbucks to get a grind that is perfect. it is solid quality construction, and it pulls a perfect shot every single time. the steamer is much faster than my last machine and doesn't loose power after the first pitcher of foam.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Maree C.

Maree C.asked

Silvia

The portafilter on my Rancilio Silvia won’t stay in place unless I hold it now and only moves a fraction when I slot it in. I’ve done a full clean on the machine and regularly backwash it too. Any ideas?

No answers
Ronnie Atlas

Ronnie Atlasasked

Silvia

Hi There, I want to replace the driptray of my Silvia which is a little rusty.... anyone want to recommend someone selling spare parts or wrecking Rancilios?? Also for new gaskets and other service needs, I'm sure they could help too....Most grateful for any leads! Thanks, Ronnie (ronnieatlas@gmail.com)

No answers
Sharon

Sharonasked

Silvia

My silvia has started to splatter and spit when I try to make coffee - coffee all over the place - the steamer is fine. Any help?

3 answers
Makingtide
Makingtide

Sound like the gasket in the group head is gone or there is stuff stuck to the gasket so it doesn't form a good seal. Be wary about using it as the boiler has a tendency to bake the electrical wiring loom brittle and if there is water spraying around and it is getting inside the unit you run a risk of electric shock. This happened with mine. I don't trust Rancilio anymore - not the quality they profess to be.
I'd get it serviced ASAP.

Sharon
Sharon

Ok I will thank you very much very much appreciated

Sharon
Sharon

Sorry espresso machines

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 5 Rancilio Silvia
Rancilio Silvia V1
  • Discontinued

Rancilio Silvia V1

4.8
(14)
Rancilio Silvia V2
  • Discontinued

Rancilio Silvia V2

4.6
(16)
Rancilio Silvia V3
  • Discontinued

Rancilio Silvia V3

4.1
(39)
CategoryManual / Semi-Automatic Coffee MachinesManual / Semi-Automatic Coffee MachinesManual / Semi-Automatic Coffee MachinesManual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) A$999.00
Pump Pressure15 bar
Input Power1,100 W
Dishwasher Safe PartsNo
Water Tank Capacity2.5 L
Colour / FinishStainless Steel
Dimensions 340 x 235 x 290 mm
Weight14 kg
Milk FrotherSteam Wand
Bean GrinderNone
Release dateJun 1998Jun 2006Aug 2009
Replaced byRancilio Silvia V2Rancilio Silvia V3Rancilio Silvia V4
Compare all 5 Rancilio Silvia

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.