??!
3 photos
Breville The Oracle BES980
4.5 from 636 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (68)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (69)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (68)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (67)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (31)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.5 (57)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.4 (59)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
James C

James CSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Poor Warranty Servicing - Problems Never Get Fixed

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Bing Lee for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Alex131

Alex131Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Perfect coffee that rivals most Cafés

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman for $2,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Fitzyc

FitzycPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Great machine with a 3 year life span

published

We have had our machine for 3 years and each year it has been back for repairs. This time though, the two year warranty has run it’s course. I almost fell off my chair wen I saw the quote for the repairs, almost $900!
This is unacceptable to buy a “superior” product and be up for repairs worth 40% of the cost of a new machine after 3 years. After reading the reviews on this site, there is clearly an issue with the Boilers in this machine.
There is no issue with the coffee the machine makes, it is great coffee machine when it works well. I hope Breville take note and at the very least cover the replacement costs of the Boilers.

Purchased in August 2017 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville The Oracle BES980 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Craig

CraigGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 21 reviews
  • 18 likes

So far trouble free

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman for $2,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
grovezen

grovezenPerth, WA

AHHHH - MAZING Coffee

published

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers

No two coffees the same

published

Bought a Breville Oracle. Am reasonably pleased but frustrated that even though using fresh beans and not changing the grind no two coffees are ever the same. The first will come through with the correct amount of water but the second will give half a cup. So annoying.
Ian.

Purchased in November 2019 for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Bobanddi

BobanddiWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

After nearly 3 years, we are getting our machine replaced

published

We have been fairly happy with our BES980, It broke down at 18 months, sent it to Breville for repairs, came back working much better than it ever has, making us think it had a problem all along from new. It has failed again with a noisy pump & no pressure to push the coffee through the grouphandel. We have now sent it to Sydney to access the problem. We have asked to have it replaced not repaired. Having a hard time trying to drink instant coffee (Yuck) looks like a nice cup of tea instead.

Purchased in December 2017 for $2,599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Gertrude

Gertrude

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Worked for just over 2 years.

published

Purchased The Oracle just over 2 years ago and have found it to be leaking water from the bottom right hand corner onto the benchtop. It also trips the electricity switch mid coffee. I tried to find the source and have read this is a common problem. It's now outside of warranty, so I have to pay for it to be repaired or throw this expensive machine in the bin. Nothing says planned obsolescence like a machine breaking down after the warranty period ends.

Purchased in November 2017 at Myer for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Bella Paola

Bella PaolaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

2 Years and going strong

published

I purchased mine just under 2 years ago and I can say I’m very happy with the build quality. The Quality of the coffee always comes out consistent and delicious. The temp control is good and gives you more control over your coffee.

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is usedDaily
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville The Oracle BES980 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!!

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
K C.

K C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Good while it lasts!

published

Great machine for the first year, then it cracked inside - not covered under warranty. Then 6months later the sensor went, insides melting-all plastic, then 3months later sensor went again. Kept getting It fixed, then was told to steer clear by a maintenance man who then showed me at least 50 of my same machine - all ready for the tip!!! For $2400 I’d expect a machine to last way longer than 2 years!!!
Moved on, purchased an ISOMAC, best $2500 I’ve spent....

Purchased in August 2017 at Harvey Norman for $2,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Snazzie

SnazzieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 17 likes

Bad service from Breville repairers - have to wait 7 weeks - really???

published

Well 1.5 years and the machine comes up with ER12 when frothing the milk.

Called Breville and get told to take it to Queensland Coffee Machine Sales at Windsor Qld. Get told 7 week wait - unsatisfactory sorry Breville for a $3,500 machine

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman for $2,875.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Sumnima B.

Sumnima B.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

This is perfect.

published

I am very much satisfied with this coffee machine. I make coffee and drink it in the daily basis. I enjoy drinking coffee. I like the color of the machine.

Incentivised ReviewNo
chooklet

chookletAU

  • 15 reviews
  • 16 likes

Needs some work

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Susan

SusanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love the ease and cleanliness

published

Had this since it first launched several years ago and still going strong. I love how clean and convenient it is. Warms up quickly in the morning and is accurate on all the measures (grind, temp, pressure).

Purchased in January 2016 at Harvey Norman for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville The Oracle BES980 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
dkhokhar

dkhokharBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Breville BES870BSS Barista Coffee Machine. Coffee making made easy at a good price

published

Few things surprise me in a positive way these days however this little juggernaut did just that. It provides spectacularly delicious coffee consistently as it has a built in grinder which you click once into its seating and it will provide a measure ground amount ready to place in the single/double strength cup strainer (or whatever you call it). The unit is solid and heavy and has such niceties as a little tag which raises up if the drip tray becomes overly full. Well priced and consistent in its coffee-making I would absolutely recommend this machine

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
gregcccc

gregccccSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 17 likes

From an experienced user - It's Good - but you can do better with the Dual Boiler and Smart Grinder Pro

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2018 at David Jones Online Store for $2,199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
SunHonmons

SunHonmonsPerth, WA

Great Machine! Fantastic White-Glove Service!!

published

Love The Oracle as the coffee is great and looks beautiful in our new home. I use an Oracle Touch at work and after Emily came for the White Glove Service in Perth, I was sold on great service she provided, so I purchased The Oracle BES980 to use at home.

Emily is fantastic! I have recommended The Oracle and the White Glove Service to all my family and friends.

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
VM24

VM24Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great Machine as long as it froths

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Pace

PacePeel, WA

  • 3 reviews

Love this machine!

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Page 1 of 32

Questions & Answers

Dan S.

Dan S.asked

The Oracle BES980

Has anyone replaced the air pump? I have steam but no air being injected for frothing so I'm assuming there is a replacement air pump?

3 answers
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Breville would know obviously

Dan S.
Dan S.

lol. Have you tried to reach out to Breville? No help and no person to talk to.

Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Actually I didn’t ‘reach out’. I just rang recently and purchased parts and again this morning spoke to [name removed], issue resolved. lol.
Since your question is only directed to consumers.... no I have not had the problem you mentioned.

Genie

Genieasked

The Oracle BES980

My oracle touch does not give me pop up messages on when to do clean cycle. Any help on how to get it to do so? Also, do I need to use water filter if my water tested that water quality is great

1 answer
David H.
David H.

Could be that it is disabled. In the advanced features Hold the single cup button down as you turn on power. Screen will show rSET for reset which you probably do not want, but scroll to Cln by rotating the select knob on right. When on Cln push select, OFF means your prompt is diabled scroll to ON and push Select. Clean prompt can be disabled because many people do it more often so don't want see the prompt.

MikeH

MikeHasked

The Oracle BES980

We've had 4 good years from our Oracle but now it won't heat passed 73degrees. Have watched fabulous videos on checking solenoids which have all been clean. Minor leak from steam boiler is occurring so new O rings required. Have had no luck sourcing how to check thermal regulator that i presume is the problem with the non-heating issue. Any advice? Purchased Harvey Normal April 2016 ALBANY

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Breville The Oracle BES980
Breville The Oracle BES980BTR (Black Truffle)
  • Award Winner 2018
  • 2017

Breville The Oracle BES980BTR (Black Truffle)

No reviews yet
CategorySemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) $2,899.00$2,899.00$2,899.00
Pump Pressure15 bar15 bar15 bar
Input Power1,800 W1,800 W1,800 W
Dishwasher Safe PartsNoNoNo
Water Tank Capacity2.5 L2.5 L2.5 L
Colour / FinishStainless SteelBlack
Dimensions 409 x 453 x 373 mm409 x 453 x 373 mm409 x 453 x 373 mm
FeaturesDisplay PanelDisplay PanelDisplay Panel
Milk FrotherSteam WandSteam WandSteam Wand
Bean GrinderIntegrated Burr GrinderIntegrated Burr GrinderIntegrated Burr Grinder
Coffee Bean Capacity280 g280 g280 g
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Compare all 3 Breville The Oracle BES980

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.