3 photos
Breville The Oracle BES980
4.5 from 645 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Breville

Pros

  • Grinds, doses and tamps for you

  • Makes excellent coffee

  • Free at-home demonstration

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (77)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (78)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (77)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (76)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (40)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.3 (65)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.3 (67)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

that is wonderful product . make coffer very delicious

published

I am very happy with this product and I use every day this machine and make coffee for myself and all my family . they quality is unbelievable . by this machine I brought the coffee shop her very fresh delicious as well as saving lots of money

Purchased in November 2017 at eBay for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Perin26
Perin26Tea Gardens, New South Wales
  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great when it's working, unable to get repaired locally.

published

Purchased in October 2018 for $2,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
NNNNHHHH
NNNNHHHHGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good machine but no good for making cappuccino's.

published

Purchased for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville The Oracle BES980 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael Mceneany
Michael MceneanySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews

Waste of money

published

While the Oracle on the surface is a great machine, unfortunately it is let down by lack of spare parts and problems with the electrics when things go wrong, in short once you have problems with the electrical components, its pretty much a terminal problem for the machine, not good enough for a $2.5k coffee machine.

Purchased in May 2017 for $2,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Great product

published

This machine makes great hassle free coffee .... when it’s working right. Makes coffee with ease. Features contend with the best machines out there but regular maintenance is required to stay working as new

Purchased in May 2019 for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Budget Coffee Machines, Bread Makers and Food Sealers

In quarantine and in need of fresh coffee, bread and longer lasting food? Read on for more information on kitchen appliances that won’t break the bank and help see you through self isolation during difficult times.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.27 Mar 2020
budget-coffee-machines-bread-makers-and-food-sealers

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Harry
HarryPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Wont texture milk

published

Thoroughly cleaned steam wand. Heats milk & sprays steam to clean, but no milk texture. Observed no air bubbles when placing steam wand in water. Is it air pump / control board

Purchased in June 2018 at Myer for $2,095.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jezz
JezzSydney, NSW
  • 16 reviews
  • 22 likes

Disappointing

published

Purchased this expensive coffee machine and only 3 months in and having problems. Breville refuse to exchange or refund and insist on repair only. They advise that if it was a cheaper item like a toaster or kettle they would gladly change, however as it costs too much they will not. So you spend more money have less service. Has taken several days to get someone to action any response and still don't know what the outcome will be. My advice would be - do not purchase as too much money with very little service. The more expensive the product the less rights you have. Does not make sense nor does it seem right. Breville has lost us as future customers that is for sure.

Purchased in January 2021 at Harvey Norman for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Johnny
JohnnySydney, NSW

If you can make coffee already, this makes it worse!

published

I had a fully manual machine, which I loved.
If you can use a manual machine, this makes much worse coffee.
Bad customer service - No change of mind allowed after only 24hrs.

Purchased in April 2021 at Harvey Norman for $2,550.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Lava B.
Lava B.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Makes a good cup

published

I liked this machine, easy to use and clean. It is a little bit loud, but it makes a cup quite fast so no issues there. My wife likes it too

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville The Oracle BES980 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
James C
James CSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor Warranty Servicing - Problems Never Get Fixed

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Bing Lee for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Alex131
Alex131Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect coffee that rivals most Cafés

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman for $2,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Fitzyc
FitzycPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great machine with a 3 year life span

published

We have had our machine for 3 years and each year it has been back for repairs. This time though, the two year warranty has run it’s course. I almost fell off my chair wen I saw the quote for the repairs, almost $900!
This is unacceptable to buy a “superior” product and be up for repairs worth 40% of the cost of a new machine after 3 years. After reading the reviews on this site, there is clearly an issue with the Boilers in this machine.
There is no issue with the coffee the machine makes, it is great coffee machine when it works well. I hope Breville take note and at the very least cover the replacement costs of the Boilers.

Purchased in August 2017 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Craig
CraigGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 21 reviews
  • 19 likes

So far trouble free

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman for $2,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
grovezen
grovezenPerth, WA

AHHHH - MAZING Coffee

published

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
IAN S.
IAN S.
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

No two coffees the same

published

Bought a Breville Oracle. Am reasonably pleased but frustrated that even though using fresh beans and not changing the grind no two coffees are ever the same. The first will come through with the correct amount of water but the second will give half a cup. So annoying.
Ian.

Purchased in November 2019 for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville The Oracle BES980 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

FPM
FPMasked
The Oracle BES980

I have a new Breville Oracle machine for two months. No matter how many seconds I set the pre-infusion on, the coffee starts flowing at 4-5 seconds. For example currently set at 10 sec for pre-infusion but flow of coffee starts at 4seconds-help! What am I doing wrong?!

No answers
Joan F.
Joan F.asked
The Oracle BES980

Can someone advise why my Breville Oracle asks to replace the water filter after only 3 weeks and not heavy use. I bought a new filter and it still says this. We have good water, so not a dirty water issue at all.
Joan

1 answer
Dariodar
Dariodar

Try to reset machine or see if you have changed water hardness in the reset menu 'hrd ' it's only a time reminder wether you change or not the filter.... there's no sensor sensing water condition in the machine....just a simple reset should solve it

Lorraine
Lorraineasked
The Oracle BES980

Coffee runs out around portafiller

2 answers
sherif a.
sherif a.

Can you inspect the underside of where you attach the portafiller? There should be a rubber gasket and can be Torn causing leak when under pressure

Lorraine
Lorraine

My instructions say it is a silicone seal and making sure tibia tight won’t damage the seal?

See all Breville The Oracle BES980 questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Breville The Oracle BES980

Details

Breville The Oracle uses a fully-integrated conical burr that grinds, doses and tamps 22 grams of coffee inside the portafilter for you. After adding the beans to the hopper, you just need to move the portafilter to the right, then release it slowly back to the centre again. You can also select whether you want to make 1 cup or 2 cups.

Features

  • In terms of capacity, Breville the Oracle allows you to place 280g worth of beans into the bean hopper at a time, and 2.5 litres into the water tank.
  • Designed with dual boilers, one for the espresso shot and one dedicated to steaming.
  • Water is brought to the precise temperature for coffee flavour extraction, due to digital temperature control in the heated group head and boilers.
  • A powerful 15-bar pump pressure allows for maximum flavour extraction, and thick crema on top of your coffee.
  • The boilers, portafilter and milk jug are constructed from stainless steel, and the machine has a brushed stainless steel exterior, for both a resilient and stylish finish.
  • Designed with the following settings: Adjustable grind control, programmable milk temperature and texture, option for a single or double shot, long black, and hot water.
  • Comes with the following inside the box: A mini grinds bin, conical burr, portafilter, 1 cup and 2 cup single wall filter baskets, 16oz milk jug, steam wand spare parts, cleaning kit, water filter, water filter holder and water hardness test strip.

Points of praise

Plenty of reviewers reported that Breville The Oracle makes a delicious and consistently satisfying cafe-quality coffee. Once you get the hang of using it, it’s easy and a pleasure to use. A high number of reviewers felt no need to visit the cafe anymore.

The White Glove Service that Breville offers was widely appreciated by reviewers. With this service, a Breville representative visits your house and demonstrates how to get the best use out of your new coffee machine.

Points to consider

Finding the right setting on the grinding dial can often require a bit of trial and error at first, but once you get this right for the coarseness of the beans you are using there’s no issues.

Secondly, some reviewers, including those giving positive reviews, reported that the machine doesn’t always work the way it’s meant to. However, reviewers who had minimal issues in this regard stated that this machine does require regular maintenance and regular cleaning, especially when it comes to cleaning or replacing certain parts of the machine (like changing the filter regularly). If you do this diligently, this helps a lot.

Compare all 3 Breville The Oracle BES980
CategorySemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) $2,899.00$2,899.00$2,899.00
Pump Pressure15 bar15 bar15 bar
Input Power1,800 W1,800 W1,800 W
Dishwasher Safe PartsNoNoNo
Water Tank Capacity2.5 L2.5 L2.5 L
Dimensions 409 x 453 x 373 mm409 x 453 x 373 mm409 x 453 x 373 mm
FeaturesDisplay PanelDisplay PanelDisplay Panel
Milk FrotherSteam WandSteam WandSteam Wand
Bean GrinderIntegrated Burr GrinderIntegrated Burr GrinderIntegrated Burr Grinder
Coffee Bean Capacity280 g280 g280 g
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless SteelBlack
Compare all 3 Breville The Oracle BES980
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.