??!
2 photos
Breville The Oracle BES980
4.5 from 611 reviews

Reviews

(475)
(59)
(22)
(20)
(35)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (45)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (46)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (45)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (44)
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (8)
  • Product is used
    • Daily (43)
    • Several times a week (4)
  • Consistency
    4.5 (39)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.4 (40)
david

davidauckland

  • 3 reviews

good product

published

very good machine, good design, black colour is beautiful, have to adjust the grinding dial at first couple times, the coffee taste just like coffee shop, very happy.
highly recommend, thanks breville.

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Product is used Daily
Andrew4987

Andrew4987AU

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

If you like spending money at every turn, then this is the machine for you!

published

Purchased in February 2016 for $2,499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Elidia

ElidiaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 13 reviews

Love our coffee machine!

published

We have had our machine for 3.5years
, it is used daily by many and consistently makes a fantastic cup of coffee, so much so I don’t like purchasing coffee when we are out!
I do prefer to manually foam milk with the machine as the automatic function does not have a great amount of froth. The machine also needed extensive repair just before it ran out of warranty as some internal parts were not working; however this was covered under warranty and it has been working perfectly since.
It’s expensive but well worth it for the great coffee it makes!

Purchased in June 2016 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville The Oracle BES980 compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vish

VishGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

5 years and still going strong

published

Highly recommended coffee machine, from the time I've got this - it's my daily driver for the morning coffee.
Consistent coffee every time. If you change the beans (start with Grind setting @30) and adjust accordingly based on the beans) to get a perfect extract.

Very easy to maintain and clean and low maintenance machine.
It takes around 2-3 min to start (warm-up)
Easy to fill water, a big water tank inbuilt and an indicator to show the level. Filter change every 3 months (you can buy a pack of 5 filters (around $25 if you shop around).
Easy to clean - just follow basic instructions on below youtube link.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VHHJgzO_MuU

Purchased in January 2015 for $1,700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Kerri Hector

Kerri HectorPerth, WA

Breville Oracle 980 BES

published

Emily in WA, came to give myself and husband a white glove demonstration of our coffee machine. Emily was amazing, friendly, kind and patient, she explained everything to us and more, it was well worth the experience and purchase, we cannot sing Emilys praise enough as she showed us how to make quality coffee, in the comfort of our own home. Thank you Breville and a big thank you to Emily, thank you.

Purchased in December 2019 at Snooze WA, O'Connor for $1,990.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers

Good machine

published

The machine has generally operated well but after 2.5 years it constantly required repairs. Luckily the authorised repairer was decent and would provide warranty on his repairs. The lifespan of the product needs to be increased so that it doesn’t start breaking down after the warranty period!

Purchased in March 2015 at David Jones for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Craig R

Craig RPerth, WA

Best thing I have ever bought

published

I've had all sorts of coffee machines, including high end, fully manual Italian ones, without a doubt the Oracle is the best one I have ever had, with the in house, white glove service, I was full bottle on the way to use it and look after it, the dedicated Oracle phone line is another bonus

Purchased in November 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,940.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Jessica W.

Jessica W.

  • 5 reviews

Great but complex

published

This machine makes a great cup of coffee however it can be a bit complex. Thoroughly reading the instruction manual helps. The machine also goes through coffee quite fast however I love that It has a contained grinder and tamping mechanism so I dont have to clean up any of that bean dust that seems to get everywhere with other machines. This feature alone makes the appliance unbeatable

Purchased in November 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $1,995.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
Amanda

Amanda

  • 5 reviews

Heavenly Coffee

published

The best thing I have ever spend money on.

If you look after it, service it and clean it the quality will always be maintained.

Remember to use fresh beans and not your regular grocery store packed. Find a good local roaster and your will be brewing better coffee then most cafes

Purchased in August 2018 at Breville for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville The Oracle BES980 compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jasmine

JasmineSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great coffee, but beware of the after-sales service

published

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Madeleine

MadeleineGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Barista Coffee At Home!!

published

Great coffee, the crema is great. We have used a number of different brands of coffee and haven't had any issues. We just adjust the coarseness and pour time. We get a consistently great coffee every time.
Another thing we love about this machine is it has a big water tank so we're not having to fill it up all the time. The temps are set to standard and are adjustable if you want however we like the standard temp. We have recommended it to family members and so far two different side of the family have purchased one.

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys for $1,599.20.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Kris

KrisSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Perfect Machine

published

We bought our Breville Oracle during the promotion period in August but our Pablo coffee beans ran out within the first two weeks of the teething period. Wish we had been supplied more.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
Malibu_tan

Malibu_tanSouthwest, VIC

When it works, it's great. Sadly, it regularly doesn't work.

published

Purchased in December 2017 at Harvey Norman for $2,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Jenna

JennaPerth, WA

White Glove Service makes this Coffee machine worth every cent!

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,700.00.

Product is used Daily
Adam

AdamPerth, WA

Great upgrade, perfect coffee each time.

published

I’m based in Perth WA. Firstly I’ve just had the pleasure of having a white glove service at my house. The very pleasant and informative Emily helped me through my machines operations and made me an awesome coffee. This device was second to none and made buying the machine worth it.

I previously owned a Breville express machine which I had for just over 2 years, I wanted an upgrade to something with dual boiler and a little more auto.

I’ve had the oracle for 6 weeks and it’s been a pleasure to have. It makes consistently great coffee and the best milk.

I would buy another ( if I had the money) again.

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,950.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville The Oracle BES980 compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
chichi

chichiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great coffee machine

published

Overall, I am pretty satisfied with this coffee machine. I use it almost everyday and it is easy to operate. Especially the auto grind/tamp function and the ability to simultaneously perform extraction and milk frothing , it saves me a lot of trouble/time compare to other coffee machines. The coffee it makes is at the right temperature as well. However, I've found inconsistency with the espresso extraction. Using the same coffee beans with the same grinding size/level, the amount of espresso extraction can be very different. Sometimes it's right, sometimes it's over-extracted. Other than this, it is a very good coffee machine for the family.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $1,934.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Happy

HappyFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Perfect start to the morning

published

Purchased this machine several months ago and love it. So easy to use and never fails me. My morning cup is consistently good producing good crema and at just right temperature. Highly recommend it.

Purchased in December 2019.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderBreville Smart Grinder BCG800
See all answers
Anthony B

Anthony BGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great Coffee easy

published

Bought this machine a few months ago having upgraded from a Nespresso Pod machine. cannot believe how easy it is to use. love the coffee after having experimented with a few different brands of beans. simple to clean. only issue so far has been the occasional spontaneous switch off of the machine in the middle of making coffee. has been checked by a repairer who was unable to duplicate issue

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $1,876.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Cathy

CathySydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Cappucinos at home any time you want one.

published

Love this little machine. It makes the best cappucinos!! We use it everyday. The coffee comes out perfect everytime, not too hot and taste fabulous. We even take it on holidays with as we can not live without great coffee.

Purchased in June 2018 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Cathy

CathySydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Barista style coffee in your own home.

published

This is a great little machine. We have coffee every morning now we have this machine. We even take it away when we go on holidays as it is portable and we can not live with out our coffee.

Purchased in June 2018 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Page 1 of 31

Questions & Answers

david

davidasked

I put 21.5-21.6 ground coffee, start flowing after 7s, is it alright?
or I have to put exactly 22g, start after 8-9s?
here is a lockdown, otherwise I would buy a measuring cup!

No answers
Sue C

Sue Casked

Where do I find the serial number of my machine? Having a grinder problem and it may have to go in for repair.

1 answer
Andrew4987
Andrew4987

Flip the machine around, and take the water container out, you should see it.

david

davidasked

should I use a measure cup to check whether I get enough amount coffee, actually I want to make sure my grind set is correct.

1 answer
Andrew4987
Andrew4987

Yes you can use a number of different cookware items for example that have measuring on the side to confirm the output. I have a lovely glass that goes up to 100ml. Works wonders for working out single and double shot volumes. You can also weigh the grouphead before and after grind/tamping to work out the weight of the coffee being added to the basket, as you can adjust this if required as well.

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.