??!
16 photos
Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 517L Top Freezer
3.0 from 44 reviews

Reviews

(12)
(10)
(3)
(5)
(14)
  • Build Quality
    1.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (1)
Samira

SamiraAustralian Capital Territory

  • 2 reviews

Good fridge but problems after 2 years

published

The fridge is roomy and great space to store things. Its freezer is on the smaller side, but sufficient.
However, after just over 2 years of use and all of a sudden, the fridge compartment is completely frozen.

Going to ring F&P but it feels like its a thermostat issue. Very disappointed that it should come to it so early in its life.

Purchased in October 2017 at Bing Lee for $1,077.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
Steve Blackbird

Steve BlackbirdSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Awesome looking fridge that hasn't done a single thing wrong in 9 years!!!

published
Date PurchasedSep 2009
Nate

NateSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great customer service!!

published

Fridge was broken upon arrival. Called up fisher and paykel and got it replaced within a couple of days. The hotline was on hold for a little while but once through it was an easy process with little hassle. Nice look and great design. Happy with the fridge now! Would recommend.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 517L Top Freezer compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
mick

mickSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Refrigerator compartment completely frozen

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Sarah Lees

Sarah LeesSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fisher & Paykel 4ever

published

When moving into a new place, the last thing i remembered was to measure the space for the fridge. Doh! After looking for ever, Fisher & Paykek stainless steel has proven it's self through two floods, many electrical storms all with minimum after event servicing and low billing for work if required. The seals are going strong on 3 years, the freezer and fridge are working perfectly, whether it's full or nearly empty. It runs smoothly and quietly and is easy to keep clean.

Date PurchasedMar 2014
Vascariz

Vascariz

  • 6 reviews

Excellent well built and reliable fridge.

published

The fridge is extremely solid and well-built. The Bing Lee customer rep took out the side compartment and slammed it into the ground to demonstrate how solid it was. He also banged hard on the glass shelves. That actually impressed me compared to the flimsy alternatives. Bought from Harvey Norman in the end for their Lunar sale.

No bells and whistles, just a very solid and good value for money fridge.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
swamprat96

swamprat96

  • 36 reviews

Great service- 17 years

published

Poor old thing is finally dead after 17 years of sterling service./ Several plastics replaced over the years. Had a habit of freezing up which was because we did not have it propped up at the front enough. A 10 to 15mm slant backwards is ideal. I'm writing this review because the current generation of this model is little changed and you can buy with confidence based on our experuience with two of these- one at a friends. We've replaced it with the same size but with french doors

Date PurchasedMay 2001
Ann

Ann

  • 2 reviews

Does the job

published

Bought this fridge as I wanted frost free and it had to fit a particular space. Does the job. Fridge is roomy, but the 'one drawer - but two compartments' crisper is annoying as you need to open the fridge door all the way. As you do with one of the 'butter' side compartments. Freezer is smaller than what I was expecting for this size fridge.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
R Hall

R HallHobart, TAS

  • 5 reviews

budget friendly fridge

published

good sized fridge and freezer.
plenty of drawers, shelves and compartments.
perfect for a large family on a budget.
food is kept well chilled and freezer works as it should.
only con I can think off is that the doors beep if left open too long, can be pretty annoying.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 517L Top Freezer compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Emma

Emma

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good fridge with some faults

published
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Jat

JatNewcastle

  • 13 reviews

Such a Cold fridge

published
Date PurchasedApr 2016
JO C

JO CCaloundra

Dents everywhere

published

Dents everywhere, purchased 3 years ago, fridge operates ok, can be noisy at times, but THE DENTS. NO we did not cause the dents, they have gradually appeared and look like hail damage. Anyone else with this problem? Just had kitchen remodeled and now more light showing up our tragic fridge.

Date PurchasedApr 2014
Ann

Ann

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good Product

published

I have their dishwasher too double drawer and Fisher and Paykel make overall good products. Fridge holds tall wine bottles on top shelf as well as sides and looks sleek and modern inside. Crisp[ers are brilliant with lettuce and vegies lasting 3 weeks no problem. Easy to clean and would recommend for all of these reasons.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Perihelion

PerihelionSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 16 reviews

Great New Fridge

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
MaMo

MaMosydney

  • 7 reviews

Good Fridge Overall

published

Overall a great fridge, however I found the freezer compartment space is very limited, so I have to be careful what I buy constantly. very quite fridge which is great. Very easy to clean. The vegetable/ fruit compartment is great & keeps fruits and veg last longer. There are plenty of space for jars and drinks on the side of the door.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 517L Top Freezer compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Barbara T

Barbara TSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

It serves its purpose but could be better.

published

Fridge temperature is sometimes temperamental & does not temperature control as efficiently as the freezer.
Freezer door does not fully close sometimes & can remain ajar overnight with loss of cold! The 'alarm' does not persist long enough nor is it loud enough to alert one to close it.
Sometimes the fridge is noisier than anticipated.
And, after 18 months, the white door clip at base of fridge door just snapped off & fell on the floor - thankfully still under manufacturer's warranty & service man replaced & installed new for free.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
pkki

pkkiAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Same problem, different brand!

published

I was looking at replacing my "new" Fisher & Paykel fridge with a Westinghouse because the FnP makes a hell of a racket with the gas making a constant gurgling noise, which it has made since day one (10 months ago). Calls to retailer & FnP has been met with comments that it's a "normal" operating noise, and you'll have to put up with it. An independent refrigeration mechanic knew exactly what the problem was, but said it was unfixable and it was probably manufactured on a Friday or Monday! These days you're one of the lucky ones if you get a quiet fridge.

Date PurchasedSep 2015
RON ,GATES

RON ,GATESAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

The result of buying aFISHER & PAYKEL REFRIGERATOR

published
Craig S

Craig S

  • 2 reviews

Terrible model - have had technician out 3 times within the 1st 2 months of purchase

published

Day 1 (delivery day 10 Sep 2015)): handle not aligned properly. Not much the technician could do, but fridge door now closes.
2nd repair (22 Oct) Loud noise coming from freezer fan.
3rd repair (23 Nov) Loud noise coming from pipes under the fridge
Have always bought F&P products because of their reliability, but this unit (or model) is a lemon.

pkki

pkkiAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

To date...bad

published
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

john d

john dasked

ActiveSmart E521TRT3 (White, Right Door)

specifications please

No answers
M BRADANOVICH

M BRADANOVICHasked

ActiveSmart RF521TRPW6 (White, Right Door)

These fridges do not come with an egg storage insert. Is it possible to buy these please and if so how much is it?

No answers
Adam

Adamasked

I just inherited one of these so not familiar with them, it's been plugged in for more than a day now, it cools fine but seems to be always running, should it settle and start cycling or could there be problem, any help would be great before I call a technician, thanks in advance

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.