??!
8 photos
Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 442L Bottom Freezer (E442 Series)

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 442L Bottom Freezer (E442 Series)

E442BRXFDU5 (Stainless Steel, Right Flat Door), E442BRE5 (White, Right Door), E442BRWFD5 (White, Right Door), etc...
3.8 from 27 reviews

Reviews

3.8

27 reviews
5
(9)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Internal Layout
    4.5 (2)
Previous
Next
Liz

Liz

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Features, Poor exterior Quality

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Appliances Online for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 1 person(s)
See all answers
Emma

EmmaPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

This is perfect

published

The sizing of the fridge is really good, it just fit my new kitchen. Buying this brand as i feel like this a reliable brand and it did not disappoint me. The temperature is quite consistent and reliable. It is not noisy as well, would recommend this to everyone with a small kitchen

Purchased in June 2018.

Fan

FanPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Love it

published

I really like the sizing of the fridge as this fridge just fit my kitchen! It is in a good temperature, good space, worked great
Love the drawer of putting veggies and fruit, it is super easy to see what’s inside of the drawer and it is pretty easy to open the drawer
I also like the design of it, very neat and tidy
It is easy to open and close the fridge

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 442L Bottom Freezer (E442 Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Susie K

Susie KAU

  • 2 reviews

Fridge of my dreams!

published

I love this fridge. It’s so deep and well thought out space wise - much better than my old fridge. Yet still small enough to fit in a small apartment fridge space. It’s great having the plumbed in cold water - we drink so much more water everyday now than we used to. And the automatic ice maker is going to be a lifesaver in the summer months. Really happy with my purchase.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Marijana

MarijanaSydney

  • 5 reviews

Love it

published

I loveeeee my fridge. 3 years on and it still looks brand new. all functions work perfectly. Water filter and ice maker are great. Space is great, as are storage areas (shelves, trays, etc). Freezer is great with small and large drawers. Easy to adjust temperature in fridge or turn on/off bottle chill or ice maker. Would by 10 more if I needed it.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
PateeBela1990

PateeBela1990Wallsend

  • 3 reviews

Super good

published

This is one of the best fridges I've ever used. It is very suitable for fresh produce, and can keep milk for a longer time, which can effectively delay the automatic food maturation process. The food is in a very good temperature state throughout the process, so that its heat preservation effect is better, food nutrition is preserved, and fresh food lasts longer. Very convenient and fast. It's perfect for small kitchens like ours. Very satisfied with this purchase.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Jen

JenAdelaide

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Great fridge, good storage

published

This fridge is well designed and has a good amount of fridge and freezer storage space. It does nto use as much electricity as other fridges and is economical to run. It is quiet when running. stainless steel marks easily so requires constant wiping. take care when relocatign as the firdge door dents easily.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Mary mcquay

Mary mcquayMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Fridge temp keeps changing

published

Hard to clean, has a very loud hum at night. The shelves arealso really hard to clean, the feet are just plastic screw on and look cheap.7 and the doors mark really easily.
I get fed up of wiping finger prints from all over the doors.
I would rather have the shiny stainless steel model.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Gracie

Gracie

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great fridge

published

Love this fridge. Well designed compartments in both the fridge and freezer sections. Love that we can have a water and ice function in such a compact fridge - this was a must have but can be difficult to find in a smaller fridge. Quite expensive but worth it. Very happy with our purchase.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 442L Bottom Freezer (E442 Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tobi M

Tobi M

  • 2 reviews

Solid fridge, this is really a 4.5 star rating

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
treebytheriver

treebytheriverSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very helpful, very reasonable.

published

Well designed, maintains a good temperature in all compartments, especially well designed with the ability to switch between fruit and vegetable drawers, according to the moisture levels.
Doesn't have any whiz-bang ice creators or anything, which just take up more space. So lots of shelf space in the door which is helpful.
The freezer on the bottom is slide out like a drawer, which sometimes makes it hard to access all areas, but we got used to it in the end.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Chloe

ChloeColebee

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Ideal for family of four

published

Temperature and storage wise it is well designed, but I think the storage for bottom freezer with two draws only is hard to manage all the frozen products.
I have been using it for around ten years now but still maintain to keep it quiet and no frost which I had problems with previous fridge getting frosted every now and then.

Date PurchasedSep 2008
Pritisha T

Pritisha TAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

its so good

published

I am not so happy with the fridge. It kept breaking and made that high pitch noises every time we open the door. However, the space is good in the top mount but the freezer is not well designed. it could have been better with the ice trays because every time we fill up trays the water spills.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Donsumer

DonsumerGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good reliable workhorse.

published

This was a replacement of earlier model to the same specs that lasted 18 years. So far this is repeating the good service.
Much quieter than I expected from the reviews. Much improved lighting inside. Keeps temperature steady as set. Electrically was one of the most efficient on the market and that pleases the hip pocket.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
Jessica

JessicaYarra Valley

So far, so good

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 442L Bottom Freezer (E442 Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pauly

PaulySunbury

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Thrilled to back teeth.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
jli324

jli324Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

good fridge

published

We had a stainless steel version of it, it worked great, nothing really stands out, but it's a great appliance, our old one now are in our rental unit, still performing well, and that one is a second hand one. For a big appliance, I am definitely looking for reliance. I can't agree on this brand's washing machine, but for fridges it's great.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
ckcc44

ckcc44Sydney

  • 4 reviews

Reliable good unit

published

Lot of room to store foods hopefully need to careful where to put fresh food as the top level is much cooler than the bottom one and may cause the food freeze a little bit (I avoid this problem by putting the food in plastic container). Also my unit have the handle on the left hand size (not on the right as shown in the picture, possible because my one is older unit)

So far the unit is working strongly and hopefully it will have the same life span as my previous Fisher & Paykel fridge it replaced (last one was used more than 10 years)

Date PurchasedSep 2016

E 442B Fridge Noise

published

My new fridge is also extremely noisy, 24/7. It is like having a fish tank in the room with the air filter bubbling away constantly. I am told it is the compressor pushing gas through the pipes and the serviceman told me to turn on the radio to drown out the noise!! F&P technician says all fridges make a lot of noise these days but I do not believe that at all. Will never buy another F&P appliance.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Sharon

Sharon

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

So far mostly good.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

SteveG

SteveGasked

ActiveSmart 442L Bottom Freezer (E442 Series)

Can I buy a replacement door (top, main section)?

No answers
Lene

Leneasked

ActiveSmart 442L Bottom Freezer (E442 Series)

My freezer alarm has stopped working, so when door is left open there's no alarm/beep.
Can I fix this?

No answers
Daniel J.

Daniel J.asked

ActiveSmart 442L Bottom Freezer (E442 Series)

Hi our fridge keeps leaving pools of water below it and the freezer icing up until door can’t be shut. The fridge is 7 years old. Is it end of life or a simple fix ...

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.