??!
1 photo
Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF522ADUSX5 (Stainless Steel with Ice & Water)

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF522ADUSX5 (Stainless Steel with Ice & Water)

MPN: RF522ADUSX5
3.7 from 26 reviews

Reviews

3.7

26 reviews
5
(8)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(3)
    Previous
    Next
    Emilio R

    Emilio RSouth East Queensland, QLD

    • 5 reviews
    • 3 likes

    good fridge but noise

    published

    nice good looking fridge
    first two years perfect then become noises.
    as soon the warranty was overt problems started.
    water is not very cold and the ice tent to be one frozen piece
    water filter light turn on every 6 months even i don t use the water and needs to be reset

    Date PurchasedJun 2015
    Julian

    JulianSydney

    Broke after two months. Still waiting on a response.

    published
    Date PurchasedFeb 2018
    Susi

    SusiSouth East Queensland, QLD

    • 2 reviews

    4 1/2 years old and already an oil and gas leak plus ongoing problems with the french doors

    published

    Firstly the technician tried to convince me that there is nothing wrong with it even though the smell is absolutely choking. He kept insisting he couldn't find anything wrong and I had to insist otherwise. Then he finally did find the gas and oil leak. The mannerism is totally lacking and professionalism can't even be mentioned! I was promised a loan fridge: that was 4 days ago. I rang Customer Service and after 45 min on hold did speak to a representative who was of no help whatsoever. Also the tiny plastic part which holds the spring for the doors keeps breaking.
    All in all: totally lacking on all levels for a fridge I paid A$ 2549.00 for!! Plus I will be billed for the transport of the faulty fridge to the warehouse and back!!

    Date PurchasedDec 2013
    French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

    Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF522ADUSX5 (Stainless Steel with Ice & Water) compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Sandra M

    Sandra M

    • 6 reviews

    Great for fresh produce

    published

    We purchased this fridge as we love to eat fresh, healthy produce and it had won awards for its ability to maintain the quality of fruit and veggies. the shelves and baskets are easy to reposition to suit you. However, the fridge is extremely hard to keep clean. The finish is very unforgiving, and what’s worse it that there is direct warning to avoid using ANY sort of cleaning product other than water which is not ideal With children around. Fisher and Paykel would do well to develope a cleaning product suitable for their range.

    Date PurchasedNov 2017

    Our last fridge of many

    published

    Generally happy with this fridge. Crisper tray does need both doors open and freezer could be larger. However quietest fridge we have owned and we have open plan kitchen, lounge, dining area so this is important! Does get some condensation at top of joint in gap between doors on worst humid days. Easy to clean.

    Date PurchasedJan 2016
    Haze

    HazeVictoria

    • 9 reviews

    Great little fridge

    published

    I've only had this fridge for a month but its been great thus far. It makes little to no noise, which is a bonus.
    The only annoying thing is both fridge doors needs to be opened to access the crisper. The freezer component is a tad small but it's enough for the 2 of us at the moment.

    Date PurchasedDec 2017
    Global warming!

    Global warming!Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

    • 2 reviews

    Poor customer service

    published

    Fridge stopped working, on calling customer support was told we had to wait a week for technician.
    The technician arrived and believed there was a faulty weld that has let gas escape. As the fridge is 3 years old only the compressor would be covered by warranty even though he believes the fault would have been there from manufacture. But they may not replace the compressor if they can get the fridge working by replacing parts at our cost and re-gassing.
    Best part is while being run around by customer service on the phone to be told that this is a result of global warming.
    If you want good support service do not go with Fisher and Paykel

    Date PurchasedFeb 2014
    Max

    MaxPerth

    • 2 reviews

    Water & Ice worked for 2 days!!!

    published

    Loved the fridge but now after two days the water doesn't work unless I turn on an external tap HELP anyone had this problem.
    Ice maker was working as well but obviously no water flow unless again have to have external tap on eg. over sink any where in the home

    Date PurchasedNov 2017

    Great family fridge

    published

    Super easy to clean and the moveable shelves make it easy to fill without looking overflowed.
    Great storage in the freezer too as I have a lot of meals I’ve frozen :) it fits perfectly and isn’t too wide. The shelves come out for easy cleaning and the surface doesn’t tarnish so it only needs a wipe down.

    Date PurchasedFeb 2015
    French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

    Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF522ADUSX5 (Stainless Steel with Ice & Water) compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Rosco513

    Rosco513Gippsland, VIC

    • 12 reviews
    • 5 likes

    Love it

    published

    This fridge is great. Roomy with large wide shelves and being glass you can see everything in the fridge. It is quiet (the only time it is noisy is when it drops a load of ice). The temperature control is great and things last aa long time in the crispers (it has special settings for each sort of food you may store there). I haven't had any problems with the doors closing, they self-close and make a tight connection. The freezer is roomy, but not as easy to use as an above fridge type, due to the fact that you can't really stack food and see it as well. The cold water and ice maker are great and ice production is quick enough to keep up with our demand. I'd recommend this to anyone.

    Date PurchasedAug 2017
    Yang

    Yang

    • 5 reviews
    • 1 like

    Such a good fridge

    published

    I bought this from Harvey Norman during the discount season. The reason I bought this is the huge space it has. And also this brand is famous in Australia. The temperature can be customised so I don't really worry about the the funiction part. It's a bit hard to clean for the reason of its big storage space.

    Date PurchasedJul 2016
    JP71

    JP71PERTH

    • 2 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Great Value Entertainers Fridge

    published
    Date PurchasedJul 2016
    G.D

    G.DSydney

    • 3 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Perfect for apartment

    published

    Perfect temperature to maintain all types of food in the fridge. Spacious and shelves can be easily rearranged to fit different sized items and for cleaning. A minor dent when the fridge was delivered but it was sorted out really quickly.
    Ice and water compartment were an excellent choice especially if you like to entertain.

    Date PurchasedJul 2016
    Simon

    SimonMelbourne

    • 5 reviews
    • 1 like

    Great fridge for a small space

    published

    We were looking for a small fridge that would fit our space that had ice and water and were left with only a few options. Luckily, the 519L was a perfect fit and everything works as described. The fridge is nice and quiet and as all the shelves are glass it is easy to maintain and clean.

    Date PurchasedJun 2017
    Cap

    Cap

    • 4 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Yuck.....

    published
    Date PurchasedJun 2015
    French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

    Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart RF522ADUSX5 (Stainless Steel with Ice & Water) compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Thomo

    Thomo

    • 2 reviews

    Living up to the salesperson's spiel.

    published

    Since purchasing the Fisher & Paykel 519L French Door with filtered water & ice maker it has lived up to all expectations in quality such as the freezer runners strong enough when fully loaded, the fridge being soooo quiet, the convenience of the internal layout holding so much and also the convenience of filtered water and ice at your fingertips. Simple just hit the button for topping up the ice.

    Date PurchasedMay 2017
    Sue H

    Sue H

    • 3 reviews
    • 5 likes

    So disappointed

    published
    Date PurchasedApr 2017
    rose3

    rose3Sydney

    • 6 reviews

    How I lived without it before?

    published

    I am a happy owner of Fisher and Paykel Active Smart French Door fridge. I have purchased it 6 months ago and I am very happy with the purchase so far. I can finally fit my deserts and make plenty of home made jelly for my kids! I believe that this fridge is perfect for a family of 4. IT keeps my food for longer and very fresh, I can buy more and save time at the supermarket

    Date PurchasedAug 2016
    Warren A.

    Warren A.Sydney

    Best Fridge I've Owned

    published

    This fridge has plenty of room and with the double doors it's easy to put large platters on the glass shelves. There's also plenty of room in the deep doors for milk and drinks and the adjustable shelves are easy to clean. The fresh food drawers also hold all my fresh fruit and vegetables. The freezer drawer is large enough to hold all my needs. I would highly recommend this fridge.

    Date PurchasedNov 2016
    Gadgetman

    Gadgetman

    • 2 reviews
    • 1 like

    Good, but disappointed in the dribble from water dispenser

    published

    Overall, we are happy with the fridge. It's is very convenient to have the ice maker and water dispenser. We have had to train the kids to keep the glass in place until the water stops pouring. It is frustrating when guests pour water and water ends up on the floor. We had a F and P technician come to see it and he said it is normal, even though I have seen another F and P fridge that does not have the problem.
    Otherwise, the doors are handy and well positioned. Is a pity that both fridge doors need to be open before the drawer can be opened.
    Disappointed that we are told to buy a new water filter every 6 months-at $81 each. First catch of water could be colder- seems a waste to have to pour a few glasses before it is very cold.

    Date PurchasedAug 2016
    Page 1 of 2
    See all Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L French Door (RF522 Series) reviews

    Questions & Answers

    THorton

    THortonasked

    ActiveSmart RF522ADUSX5 (Stainless Steel with Ice & Water)

    Fridge professionally installed. Ice being made, but zero out of the water dispenser. Have depressed dispenser for 2 mins+ to remove air, and checked hose is not kinked, and the tap turned on (note, ice being made so no problem there). Why is the water not working at all?

    No answers
    Dazza

    Dazzaasked

    ActiveSmart RF522ADUSX5 (Stainless Steel with Ice & Water)

    Why does my fridge make a grinding noise only just stared now won’t stop unless I open the door,

    1 answer
    BRIJESH
    BRIJESH

    How old ur fridge? I have called technician to have look. It’s annoying, I thought it is good brand but I was wrong.

    Craig

    Craigasked

    ActiveSmart RF522ADUSX5 (Stainless Steel with Ice & Water)

    For my newly purchased (second hand) slightly older model RF522ADUX1, is this the correct water and ice kit #836854 (see link below)? Do I need a 350kPa PRV (it also mentions a 600kPa valve)?

    What is strange is the genuine article (see link) is $190 while all the online companies and trade site(s) are asking $219 - $223 (with 'RRP $395') for the exact same kit!!

    https://secure.fisherpaykel.com/au/Catalog/ItemContent.aspx?ItemNumber=224270&CatalogId=003&CatalogDetailId=31&NSM=Y

    Can I connect my fridge directly through a PRV and into the unit without a filter? Melbourne water is perfectly fine, I don't see why I need to filter it and get into the replacement filter buying cycle. Thanks in advance for help.

    1 answer
    fisher_man
    fisher_man

    If you are happy drinking Melbourne tap water.
    Defiitely fit PRV - guarantees constant volume and reduces risk of ruptured water hose.
    Most times F&P parts are cheaper than 3rd party.

    Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.