15 photos
Fisher & Paykel 519L French Door RF522A Series

Fisher & Paykel 519L French Door RF522A Series

(Ice & Water), (Non-Ice & Water)
3.6 from 142 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best French Door Fridges / Refrigerators in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Fisher & Paykel

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (25)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (26)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (26)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (25)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (25)
  • Internal Layout
    4.3 (21)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Jokhere
JokhereSouth East Queensland, QLD

Another F&P for us

published

After 45 years of marriage we are only onto about our third F&P fridge. The dimensions are perfect as it needed to fit into an existing cavity. It’s very quiet, even ice making during the night is not intrusive. The French door design make getting items in and out simple. The finger marks and ease of scratching the stainless doors is disappointing. Chilled water is approx 10°, whereas tap filter water is around 20°. Having ice constantly available is a bonus.

Purchased in May 2021 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Brisvegasgirl
BrisvegasgirlSouth East Queensland, QLD

Terrible stainless steel finish

published

Purchased in June 2020 at The Good Guys for $2,149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
AMD32
AMD32Perth, WA
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

It looks great & is so quiet!

published

Purchased in April 2021 at Harvey Norman for $2,475.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel 519L French Door RF522A Series compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ari1972
ari1972Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 7 reviews

Don't make them like they used to...

published

Purchased in February 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Household Size 3 person(s)
Matt
MattSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

No Egg Tray!!!

published

Purchased in December 2020 at Powerland for $2,089.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
C.A.
C.A.Sydney, NSW
  • 18 reviews
  • 16 likes

VERY BEAUTIFUL FRIDGE

published

This fridge replaced our previous Fischer & Paykel fridge, which lasted 20 years.
Now this is an unbelievable lifespan for a fridge, so I had to stick with the brand, and buy another Fischer & Paykel fridge.
This new fridge is of very high quality, and one of the most beautiful fridges on the market.
It’s also super quiet.
A very big thank you to the manufacturer for producing such an excellent product.

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
C.A.
C.A.
Ramondo DeVille
Ramondo DeVilleSydney, NSW

Good Looking Fridge, But Noise / Compressor Issues

published

Purchased in March 2019 for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
John
JohnSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Jury is out.

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
cgallich
cgallich
  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Looks good and works well

published

Fridge looks amazing. Water dispenser is good

Nice clear lighting and adjustable shelves. Stores plenty of food

The freezer could have better access

Prob only Critisism is that needs filter changes are barely using

French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel 519L French Door RF522A Series compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JLC
JLCSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Keeps food fresh

published

We’ve had this for 8 months, and are still impressed with how long it keeps produce fresh, both in the crisper drawers and just in the fridge if we run out of space.
The door shelves and set up means there is a lot of room.
We were nervous about the freezer (we use a decent amount of freezer space), but the two level drawer set up means it’s fairly easy to organise, but maybe not perfect if you freeze lots of food and can’t keep track of it (the bottom level is a bit deep, so things can get buried under other things).
The water dispenser is great - love that it’s flush so saves space inside the fridge. The ice drawer in the freezer does take up some space, but we find it worth it.

Purchased in November 2019 at Home Clearance for $1,185.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jim Y
Jim YSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Super Cool

published

Very happy with my new fridge
It cools and freezes just as it should. The water dispenser has a lock feature which is awesome when there's a toddler walking around. I've is always available and can be turned off in the colder months. Keeps vegetables fresh and crisp.
Well done Fisher & Paykel

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Si.
Si.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great fridge but the filters run out really quickly

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
BRIJESH
BRIJESHNorth Western Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Noisy

published

None stop noisy. My one is less than 2 yrs old. I thought that it is good company and brand but I was wrong. Sells man was right. But I didn’t listen to him.

Purchased in May 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
swamprat96
swamprat96
  • 48 reviews
  • 21 likes

Good fridge and well made

published

Fridge replaced an old conventional F&P. Whilst being the same size it does lose space because of the french doors- and those french doors never close by themselves. Apart from that we've had it a year now with zero issues. The fast freeze and bottle chill features get used all the time. Quality is good and nothing has broken - unlike a kelvinator beer fridge bought more recently

Purchased in August 2018 at The Good Guys for $2,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
amak320
amak320Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Overall good quality 5.5 years old still going

published

Love the design, look and features of this fridge.

The compartments and storage is generous.

Have had this since April 2014 and it has not failed once. The only issue is the left door flange does now close properly but it can be easily resolved by manually push it as you close the door. I see this is a common issue.

Otherwise, highly recommend this fridge.

Purchased in April 2014 at The Good Guys for $1,965.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel 519L French Door RF522A Series compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

rose2852
rose2852asked
519L French Door RF522A Series

Hi, we have just had a F&P french door fridge replaced under warranty due to condensation and water forming on the inside of the fridge. The tech who came on site diagnosed the source of the problem as a small gap between the gasket flaps at the bottom of the fridge section. This was letting air into the fridge which was condensing and forming water drops.
We notice that the new fridge also has a slight gap between the flaps of the bottom gasket.
Can anyone with this model shed light on this issue? Thanks.

1 answer
rose2852
rose2852

Update: Fisher &Paykel tech came on site 2 weeks ago and did a 'fix on the flaps. That sorted the water droplets inside the fridge compartment, but now we're getting a build up of condensation along the top of the freezer drawer and since yesterday, condensation on the outside of the freezer drawer. It would seem that cold air is escaping from the fridge compartment, which implies that the door seals are faulty.
Any feedback from other people would be appreciated. Thanks

ari1972
ari1972asked
519L French Door RF522ADX5 (Stainless Steel)

What setting are people keeping their fridge set to, we just got this fridge (1 week) and it seems not to be holding coolness within the safe temperature, it is cold if i have it on coldest setting but then it begins to freeze items and still not as cold as the old 18 year old F&P? Had F&P tech come and check it today and he said to set it to middle temp setting which he said is designed for all year around, now temps in fridge are at 5-7 deg, one small water bottle on top shelf records at 4.4 everything else is recording at 5-7 and above and water and drinks are not chilled to that crisp ice cold level that the old fridge managed to achieve. Any advice would be appreciated!

2 answers
C.A.
C.A.

Get Fisher and Paykel to have it checked. My fridge was not cold enough and it was replaced after 4 weeks.

ari1972
ari1972

F&P are not doing anything about our fridge (8 weeks now) they claim there is nothing wrong with it even though we have fluctuating temperatures within fridge, from very cold then dropping to warm of its own accord, things freezing then defrosting, we have had condensation and water drops forming on back panel of fridge! Last technician sticky taped a small piece of foam behind inside back panel of fridge said sometimes these things are forgotten during manufacturing!? Our fridge is a lemon F&P technicians are not qualified to find the fault! We are in process of putting in a claim with consumer affairs, F&P have not resolved our issue nor do they seem to care nor have responded to our numerous requests to speak to senior management! We have thrown out so much food that has spoiled due to this issue! They told us to lodge a food loss claim 3 weeks ago, yes you guessed it no response to that either!

Pete P.
Pete P.asked
519L French Door RF522ADUSX5 (Stainless Steel)

I puchased the fridge in 2016. Recently the LH door has become hard to open, requiring considerably more force than the RH door. The hinge is not stiff, rather it feels like there's a big elastic band pulling the door closed. If I let go of the door, it slams shut. Is there some sort of tensioning device in the hinge or internal to the door and , if so, is there an adjustment? TIA.

1 answer
C.A.
C.A.

I can’t help you there Pete.....get on to Fischer & Paykel and get them to fox it .....

See all Fisher & Paykel 519L French Door RF522A Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Fisher & Paykel 519L French Door RF522A Series

Details

Compare all 11 Fisher & Paykel 519L French Door RF522A Series
CategoryFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $3,099.00$2,699.00$2,599.00
Dimensions 1715 x 790 x 695 mm1715 x 790 x 695 mm1715 x 790 x 695 mm1715 x 790 x 695 mm
Energy Rating3.5 star(s)3.5 star(s)3.5 star(s)2.5 star(s)
Household Size 4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people
FeaturesDoor Alarm, Frost Free and Water DispenserDoor Alarm, Frost Free and Water DispenserDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm, Frost Free and Water Dispenser
Handle Type ExternalExternalExternalExternal
Smart Fridge NoNoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves3332
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins2222
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlack Stainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless Steel
Capacity
Total Capacity 519 L519 L519 L519 L
Fridge Capacity 360 L360 L360 L360 L
Freezer Capacity 159 L159 L159 L159 L
Compare all 11 Fisher & Paykel 519L French Door RF522A Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.