??!
14 photos
Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L French Door (RF522 Series)

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L French Door (RF522 Series)

RF522ADX5 (Stainless Steel), RF522ADUSX5 (Stainless Steel with Ice & Water), RF522ADX4 (Stainless Steel), etc...
3.6 from 128 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
50
4 star
34
3 star
14
2 star
9
1 star
21

amak320

amak320Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Overall good quality 5.5 years old still going

published

Love the design, look and features of this fridge.

The compartments and storage is generous.

Have had this since April 2014 and it has not failed once. The only issue is the left door flange does now close properly but it can be easily resolved by manually push it as you close the door. I see this is a common issue.

Otherwise, highly recommend this fridge.

Purchased in April 2014 at The Good Guys for $1,965.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers

MNM

MNMGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Ongoing Issues with Water & Ice dispenser. Really bad customer service!!

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
Noladee

NoladeeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

It is a very quiet & and an efficient fridge / freezer

published

I have wanted a French door fridge since they first came out .... but if I am honest they are not as useful as the two door upright fridges ,its something that I didnt think of till I had one .The freezer is the same as a box fridge ,so you dont know whats in the bottom till you have to dig for it, the old fridge you could see everything in it from the side & it was at eye level.also the doors are not wide so you cant put a lot of big bottles in them.you get 4 lie down bottle holders with the fridge ,but that means you take up a full shelf with bottles ...but I still love it

Purchased in April 2019 at Stan Cash.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
Victor

Victor

  • 8 reviews

So far so good. Very quiet fridge.

published

Have had the Fisher Paykel 519L active smart french door fridge for nearly 2 years now after a major reno. Chosen this refrigerator for it's good looks & excellent size. So far so good. Very quiet. The ability to see all things inside of fridge at a quick glance. The side storage is great for quick access to milk and butter, jams & sauces. Excellent refrigerator. Highly recommended.

Purchased in October 2017 at Appliances Online for $2,199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers

TV Tech

TV TechMelbourne

  • 18 reviews
  • 2 likes

WARNING - Think before you buy

published

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers

George

GeorgePerth, WA

  • 19 reviews
  • 11 likes

Very nice fridge

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Appliances Online for $1,783.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers

Chris

ChrisBrisbane

  • 21 reviews
  • 14 likes

Just purchased

published

Updating review..Stainless steel smudges very easy. Managed to have one of the letters on the front of the fridge fall off after a light wipe down, so now I have a Fisher & Pay el, good look... No egg holder or an accessory to even buy to get one!? Massive over sight by F&P. Quite loud compared to my older (and cheaper) fridge. Double vege/fruit bins are good. Early days but regretting my purchase.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers

L.K.V

L.K.VGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Love it

published

Absolutely love the automatic ice maker, means never being without ice again. When you take some ice it refills the container. Also having free flowing chilled water from the slim line dispenser is very convenient and doesn’t take up any internal room. Overall nice size fridge for the 3 of us.

John

JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

In a word "Fantastic

published

French doors are great. Can see and reach everything. The Veg crisper keep veggies fresh well beyond use-by date. Freezer is roomy and access easy.
A big improvement on my 27 year old Kelvinator which is still going as my beer fridge.
Thanks F&P

Purchased in June 2019 at Appliances Online for $1,810.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 1 person(s)
See all answers
Cockroach

CockroachSouth East Queensland, QLD

Door flapper

published

Door flapper fails to go into position to allow the door to close , have to hold it into potion to be able to close the door , has anyone got a fix , the flapper spring is not broken ,got home one night from work and my wife handed the spring to me telling me she found it on the floor

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers

Esther

EstherPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews

Best fit for kitchen with a rather shallow recess.

published

Best fit for my kitchen where space is plenty but lacks the cabinet depth but yet we still want a fridge that can accommodate a family of 5.

The temperature so far has been even for both fridge and freezer and have not experienced any sort of freezing for items places on the top shelf of the fridge. The best part about this fridge is that it offers plenty of space for a smaller foot print in your kitchen. It would be nice if Fisher & Paykel would sells a wider fridge with similar depth and height.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 5 person(s)
See all answers

Sam

SamSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Annoying Intermittent fault with water dispenser not working most likely freezing up

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Appliances Online for $1,980.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Sam
Sam

update replacement fridge so far is OK after a month of operation.


Joe D

Joe DSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Great fridge

published

This is definately the best fridge i have ever purchased, well designed and thought out for every day use, everything just seems to have a place. The french door design makes is practical yet very stylish too.

Purchased in January 2019 at Bing Lee Physical store for $1,750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers

Mitch K

Mitch K

  • 2 reviews

Convenient and quiet

published

I needed a new fridge to fit into the fridge space in my new home and the Fisher & Paykel I choose turned out to be perfect. The french doors really suited our home as it meant that the fridge could be open at the same time as someone was walking through the narrow kitchen it sits in. A single door fridge would block off the whole walkway until it's closed again. Also, the Fisher & Paykel doesn't make the noises of other fridges you sometimes here at other peoples houses.

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
Katie

KatiePerth, WA

Fantastic fridge

published

Such a great fridge. Huge amount of space in both fridge and freezer. Ice cold water on tap and auto ice! Brilliant. Quiet, energy efficient and very sleek to look at.

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $1,799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
Grandad

GrandadSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fridge Freezer Size and Handle Location.

published

Purchased in December 2018.


Kay

Kay

  • 2 reviews

Problems 2 12yrs old

published

You get a 2yr warranty and then the trouble starts. We had water under the fridge which ruined the wooden floor so had been leaking for awhile. We pulled out cleaned up cleared the tube at the back. Now buzzer goes off 20 times with the spanner showing. Phoned Fisher & Paykel would be a $148 call out fee plus parts. Have phoned Fair Trading recommend going back to the supplier. If no go there put forms into Fair Trading. Would not advise buying a Fisher $ Paykel appliance. Must say has been okay until last few months. We have had other brand fridges last 15yrs.

Date PurchasedApr 2015
1 comment
Kay
Kay

Toby

TobyMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Brilliant functional design

published

Very easy to clean & organise. Maintains temperature effortlessly. Freezer compartment comprised of 2 easy glide drawers which works so well when rationalising freezer foods. Such a luxury having iced water on tap. A very smart addition to my kitchen with easy to clean stainless steel finish. I really like the slide out shelf with the fresh produce bins.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Jack McLean

Jack McLeanSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

What a great fridge, spacious , quiet and functional and easy to keep clean

published

1. Temperatures reliable always
2. Love all the aspects of this fridge
3. Ease of opening and closing excellent.
4. After 3 years, problems NONE - last fridge Samsung 2 door, leaked water all the time, not fixable, two years and off to the tip.
5. No noise, very Happy.

Date PurchasedSep 2015

Daniella

DaniellaSydney

  • 4 reviews

Great Fridge, Roomy and Quiet

published

I love my new fridge, it is roomy and quiet. When it first got connected it made a lot of noise, but then it settled and after 48 hours I could hardly hear anything, I forget it is there, what an amazing fridge, everything fits and looks so stylish, I love the french doors, it keeps all my food organized and very neat.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Audrey Wirkus

Audrey Wirkusasked

Was the rf 522 ADUB5 built in Stainless Steel and was it built in 2017?

2 answers
Audrey Wirkus
Audrey Wirkus

I bought one from Radio Rentals, but there is no Serial Label any where in or on fridge. Only the Sale Card states its 2017. Rf522 ADUB5. 519L, but mine is Stainless Steel, NOT Black. It has water on right side door. What model could it be that was built in 2017 please?

Victor
Victor

Hi Audrey, ours came from appliancesonline.com.au It is in stainless steel without the water dispenser though. You might need to speak to Fisher & Paykel Customer Care Team to obtain your specific model & serial number.


Darren

Darrenasked

Hi I recently purchased the RF522ADUX5 and received it today. I have tried to flush the ice maker per the instructions but no water is flushing through it into the ice tray. I have checked the ice tray is positioned correctly and water is being dispensed via the water dispenser. Is there a certain amount of time you have to wait to be able to flush it?

No answers

Stu N

Stu Nasked

I replaced the flapper door spring on my fridge as the spring was broken and I also replaced the water filter cartridge and ever since the fridge alarms with 20 beeps every time I open either the fridge compartment or the freezer compartment

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.