??!
14 photos
Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L French Door (RF522 Series)

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L French Door (RF522 Series)

RF522ADX5 (Stainless Steel), RF522ADUSX5 (Stainless Steel with Ice & Water), RF522ADX4 (Stainless Steel), etc...
3.6 from 137 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.6

137 reviews
5
(53)
4
(37)
3
(15)
2
(10)
1
(22)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (20)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (21)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (21)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (20)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (20)
  • Internal Layout
    4.4 (16)
Previous
Next
C.A.

C.A.Sydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 13 likes

VERY BEAUTIFUL FRIDGE

published

This fridge replaced our previous Fischer & Paykel fridge, which lasted 20 years.
Now this is an unbelievable lifespan for a fridge, so I had to stick with the brand, and buy another Fischer & Paykel fridge.
This new fridge is of very high quality, and one of the most beautiful fridges on the market.
It’s also super quiet.
A very big thank you to the manufacturer for producing such an excellent product.

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
Ramondo DeVille

Ramondo DeVilleSydney, NSW

Good Looking Fridge, But Noise / Compressor Issues

published

Purchased in March 2019 for A$1,800.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
John

JohnSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Jury is out.

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L French Door (RF522 Series) compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
cgallich

cgallich

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Looks good and works well

published

Fridge looks amazing. Water dispenser is good

Nice clear lighting and adjustable shelves. Stores plenty of food

The freezer could have better access

Prob only Critisism is that needs filter changes are barely using

JLC

JLCSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Keeps food fresh

published

We’ve had this for 8 months, and are still impressed with how long it keeps produce fresh, both in the crisper drawers and just in the fridge if we run out of space.
The door shelves and set up means there is a lot of room.
We were nervous about the freezer (we use a decent amount of freezer space), but the two level drawer set up means it’s fairly easy to organise, but maybe not perfect if you freeze lots of food and can’t keep track of it (the bottom level is a bit deep, so things can get buried under other things).
The water dispenser is great - love that it’s flush so saves space inside the fridge. The ice drawer in the freezer does take up some space, but we find it worth it.

Purchased in November 2019 at Home Clearance for A$1,185.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
Jim Y

Jim YSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Super Cool

published

Very happy with my new fridge
It cools and freezes just as it should. The water dispenser has a lock feature which is awesome when there's a toddler walking around. I've is always available and can be turned off in the colder months. Keeps vegetables fresh and crisp.
Well done Fisher & Paykel

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Si.

Si.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great fridge but the filters run out really quickly

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
BRIJESH

BRIJESHNorth Western Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Noisy

published

None stop noisy. My one is less than 2 yrs old. I thought that it is good company and brand but I was wrong. Sells man was right. But I didn’t listen to him.

Purchased in May 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$1,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
swamprat96

swamprat96

  • 44 reviews
  • 21 likes

Good fridge and well made

published

Fridge replaced an old conventional F&P. Whilst being the same size it does lose space because of the french doors- and those french doors never close by themselves. Apart from that we've had it a year now with zero issues. The fast freeze and bottle chill features get used all the time. Quality is good and nothing has broken - unlike a kelvinator beer fridge bought more recently

Purchased in August 2018 at The Good Guys for A$2,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
See all answers
French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L French Door (RF522 Series) compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
amak320

amak320Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Overall good quality 5.5 years old still going

published

Love the design, look and features of this fridge.

The compartments and storage is generous.

Have had this since April 2014 and it has not failed once. The only issue is the left door flange does now close properly but it can be easily resolved by manually push it as you close the door. I see this is a common issue.

Otherwise, highly recommend this fridge.

Purchased in April 2014 at The Good Guys for A$1,965.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
See all answers
MNM

MNMGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Ongoing Issues with Water & Ice dispenser. Really bad customer service!!

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$1,899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
Noladee

NoladeeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

It is a very quiet & and an efficient fridge / freezer

published

I have wanted a French door fridge since they first came out .... but if I am honest they are not as useful as the two door upright fridges ,its something that I didnt think of till I had one .The freezer is the same as a box fridge ,so you dont know whats in the bottom till you have to dig for it, the old fridge you could see everything in it from the side & it was at eye level.also the doors are not wide so you cant put a lot of big bottles in them.you get 4 lie down bottle holders with the fridge ,but that means you take up a full shelf with bottles ...but I still love it

Purchased in April 2019 at Stan Cash.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
Victor

Victor

  • 8 reviews
  • 14 likes

So far so good. Very quiet fridge.

published

Have had the Fisher Paykel 519L active smart french door fridge for nearly 2 years now after a major reno. Chosen this refrigerator for it's good looks & excellent size. So far so good. Very quiet. The ability to see all things inside of fridge at a quick glance. The side storage is great for quick access to milk and butter, jams & sauces. Excellent refrigerator. Highly recommended.

Purchased in October 2017 at Appliances Online for A$2,199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
See all answers
TV Tech

TV TechMelbourne

  • 18 reviews
  • 24 likes

WARNING - Think before you buy

published

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
George

GeorgePerth, WA

  • 21 reviews
  • 11 likes

Very nice fridge

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Appliances Online for A$1,783.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L French Door (RF522 Series) compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris

ChrisBrisbane

  • 25 reviews
  • 15 likes

Just purchased

published

Updating review..Stainless steel smudges very easy. Managed to have one of the letters on the front of the fridge fall off after a light wipe down, so now I have a Fisher & Pay el, good look... No egg holder or an accessory to even buy to get one!? Massive over sight by F&P. Quite loud compared to my older (and cheaper) fridge. Double vege/fruit bins are good. Early days but regretting my purchase.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
L.K.V

L.K.VGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Love it

published

Absolutely love the automatic ice maker, means never being without ice again. When you take some ice it refills the container. Also having free flowing chilled water from the slim line dispenser is very convenient and doesn’t take up any internal room. Overall nice size fridge for the 3 of us.

John

JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

In a word "Fantastic

published

French doors are great. Can see and reach everything. The Veg crisper keep veggies fresh well beyond use-by date. Freezer is roomy and access easy.
A big improvement on my 27 year old Kelvinator which is still going as my beer fridge.
Thanks F&P

Purchased in June 2019 at Appliances Online for A$1,810.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size1 person(s)
See all answers
Cockroach

CockroachSouth East Queensland, QLD

Door flapper

published

Door flapper fails to go into position to allow the door to close , have to hold it into potion to be able to close the door , has anyone got a fix , the flapper spring is not broken ,got home one night from work and my wife handed the spring to me telling me she found it on the floor

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
Esther

EstherPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews

Best fit for kitchen with a rather shallow recess.

published

Best fit for my kitchen where space is plenty but lacks the cabinet depth but yet we still want a fridge that can accommodate a family of 5.

The temperature so far has been even for both fridge and freezer and have not experienced any sort of freezing for items places on the top shelf of the fridge. The best part about this fridge is that it offers plenty of space for a smaller foot print in your kitchen. It would be nice if Fisher & Paykel would sells a wider fridge with similar depth and height.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
See all answers
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Bek

Bekasked

ActiveSmart RF522ADX5 (Stainless Steel)

French Door Spring replacement.We have purchased a new spring twice for this model fridge and they don’t fit. We can’t make the spring work.We are sick of wasting money on parts that don’t work.My husband is ready to take the fridge to the tip! Can we please, please have the right model spring number and instructions on how to fit it. Desperate.

No answers
Karen B.

Karen B.asked

ActiveSmart RF522ADUX5 (Stainless Steel with Ice & Water)

Does the water dispenser need to be plumbed in?

No answers
Karen B.

Karen B.asked

ActiveSmart RF522ADUX5 (Stainless Steel with Ice & Water)

Does the water dispenser need to be plumbed in?

2 answers
John
John

Hi. No. I didn’t connect mine up for a while. When I did, Also didn’t bother with the filter since they need regular replacement that I don’t have time for. Hope that helps.

Karen B.
Karen B.

Thanks, but I found the specs and it does need to be plumbed in.

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Details

Compare all 11 Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L French Door (RF522 Series)
CategoryFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) A$2,699.00A$2,499.00A$2,499.00A$2,799.00
Dimensions 1715 x 790 x 695 mm1715 x 790 x 695 mm1715 x 790 x 695 mm1715 x 790 x 695 mm
Energy Rating3.5 star(s)2 star(s)3.5 star(s)3.5 star(s)
Household Size 4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people
FeaturesDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm, Frost Free and Wine RackDoor Alarm, Frost Free, Ice Dispenser, Water Dispenser and Wine RackDoor Alarm and Frost Free
Colour / FinishEZKleen Stainless SteelWhiteEZKleen Stainless SteelStainless Steel
Handle Type ExternalExternalExternalExternal
Smart Fridge NoNoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves4234
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins2222
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Capacity
Total Capacity 519 L519 L519 L519 L
Fridge Capacity 360 L360 L360 L360 L
Freezer Capacity 159 L159 L159 L159 L
Compare all 11 Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L French Door (RF522 Series)

  • MPN: 6861 and RF522ADUB5

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.