??!
3 photos
Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Front Loader 1st Gen

Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Front Loader 1st Gen

WH8560P1 (8.5kg), WH7560P1 (7.5kg), WH8060P1 (8.0kg)
4.0 from 183 reviews · View Statistics

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.9 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (9)
Previous
Next

VERY noisy in spin cycle

published

In the last months, the spin cycle has become very loud and has a gritty sound. it's on a solid flat surface and this occurs even with just a few items or full load. I'm no professional but it sounds like bearings have gone. the barrel is sort of loosish too. we got the matching mid-2016 so its just over 4 years old for a family of 4 so I'm a bit surprised at this - can anyone suggest anything, has anyone experienced these symptoms before?

Purchased in July 2016 at The Good Guys for A$850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Tanya J.

Tanya J.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Rusty + Looong 8 min

published

Started off well, however started to develop rust on the outside and underneath after 1 year, never soaked clothes in it and wiped up any slight spills so no reason for it to rust so badly, still seems to work ok, however over time it seems 8 mins has turned into 20.. Wash wise has been a good machine, just disappointed in the amount of rust, leg has now snapped due to rust and unable to balance properly. Have since bought a new electrolux front loader. Fischer and Pykle are usually really good, however this model sadly seemed to fail in build quality. Would have expected to last more than 5 years. The softener drawer seemed to clog up regularly too which was annoying.

Purchased in April 2015 for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
cindy B.

cindy B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

not working

published

door stays locked washing inside no matter what cycle you use it comes up with error 37 and the drum on spin cycle is out of balance.cannot access to get clothes out and machine is under warrenty but still waiting for a repairer to come out.paying the extra for 5 years was worth it as i got it in 2016 and its only 3 years old.

Purchased in February 2016 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Front Loader 1st Gen compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mandie

Mandie

  • 2 reviews

Not so great-would never by this brand again

published

Purchased in August 2015 at The Good Guys Physical store for A$925.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
CarlyRae

CarlyRaeNew South Wales

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

My clothes are ruined. I'd give it a zero if I could!

published

Purchased in February 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Foxh

FoxhMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

love this front loader

published

This is my first front loader and i will never go back. It washes everything well. the only thing it doesnt have a button for is soak, but you can manually go back and forward to do this.
Very quiet, cycle times are very adjustable.
Does woolens well

Purchased in February 2016 at Appliances Online for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
KJP

KJPMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very poor quality product

published

We purchased this machine having had good experiences with other Fisher and Paykel products. Drum bearing collapsed after only 3 1/2 years of normal family of 4 use. We wash only normal family clothes no more than 3 to 4 times a week. Technician cost $120 (which is outrageous by the way) to come out to diagnose the problem and confirmed that it is a workshop fix that will cost over $500. Will definitely not be buying another one. I would expect to get a lot longer than 3.5 years out of this type of product.

Purchased in May 2015 for A$750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
KJP
KJP
Shelly

Shelly

  • 5 reviews

Great

published

I bought this a year ago and I love it. Very easy to use with turn dial and easy to read functions. Everyday wash cycle just under 60 minutes and great spin speed. however lately ive noticed it may need a clean usually put dark clothes in the washing machine , I'm very satisfied with the product's controls and its performance when I apply different settings.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Ss B

Ss BMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for small family

published

Very satisfied with the product and great package for small family
Also very great if you want to wash your blankets/heavy loads.
Highly recommended and appreciated.
Little bit disappointed when put woolen cloths like sweaters, cardigans, jackets. Cause it not really squeeshing the water out from those type of clothes.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Front Loader 1st Gen compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Briony

BrionyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 9 likes

Best machine I’ve owned

published

I’ve had mine almost 4 years and it’s never missed a beat. It washes everything, even large bulky items brilliantly. It’s so quiet, you don’t even notice it’s running! The quick cycles are great if you’re in a hurry or have a smaller load. Everything comes out beautifully clean even on the quick cycles. Clothes dry really quickly thanks to the great spin cycle.

Date PurchasedDec 2014
Dee T

Dee TPerth

  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

Great, efficient washer

published

Great front loader with many options. I generally use the 30 min wash which is perfect for normal soiled loads. Spins well and keeps turning finished wash to limit creasing, until I get back to hang out. Highly recommend the brand, although this model has now been upgraded, but likely as good or better.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Would’t Buy Again

published

We’ve had this machine 3.5years and it’s had to be fixed 3 times, twice under warranty & once not. And now deciding if to have it repaired a forth time or throw it out for something new. Their service & advice on the errors that have come up has been poor and on the most recent episode we’ve had no response at all. works okay when it’s working but overall a disappointing purchase. Would not recommend!

Date PurchasedNov 2015
DrGrun

DrGrunSydney

Terrible Do Not Buy

published

This is supposed to be a large machine. It will not even wash one queen size sheet and a couple of pillowcases. Or 2 bath towels and one bathmat and a hand towel in one load.It forever beeps saying it is too full when it is not. It is a nightmare. It washes clothes on auto with the water not even covering the clothes which will shred them. I want to return this machine. It is 1 week old. A disgrace.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Louise

Louisensw

  • 30 reviews
  • 23 likes

Aewsome

published

This thing has been given an absolute flogging since we bought it 3 years ago. It does 3 full loads a day every day as we have a king bed, queen bed and double bed, plus family members who play soccer and matial arts as well as tradesmen clothes. The place is like a professional laundry. Cleans well, has lots of options for loads, water levels and clothing types. Gentle wash is very good for fragile fabrics. Runs very quietly. Definitely would recommend it.

Date PurchasedMar 2015
Richard of Buderim

Richard of BuderimSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Well Made, Works Well, But One Issue to Consider

published

We've had one of these now for six months, and it gets solid use. It washes well and is easy on the clothes, while being as silent as you could expect. The only issue I have with it is that the standard wash cycle takes just over an hour, so if you have more than one load a large part of your day is going to be taken up waiting for the machine. (On the other hand, I am sneaky, and generally use the quick 30 minute cycle which washes well enough that my wife has yet to spot the difference.) So when looking for a washing machine, investigate how long the wash cycle takes to make sure you can live with it.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Front Loader 1st Gen compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Simon

SimonPerth

  • 4 reviews

Great and reliable washing machine

published

I bought this washing machine in mid 2016 and overall has been very satisfied with it. I didn't want to get a Samsung at that time and wanted to give F&P a try and it turned out to be a very good product and it was cheaper than Samsung. Though i am not sure if it has smart features to measure how much water I need for my clothes, so far it has done its job of getting everything cleaned and doesn't wear-out my clothes. I also like the variety of function it has to offer though i mostly stick to "everyday" mode. I strongly recommend any electrical appliances products coming from F&P and I personally also own an F&P fridge.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Nagel

NagelAU

  • 6 reviews

Best washing machine Ive owned

published

This is a great machine. Its quiet, easy to use, got heaps of different programs for all your needs. It also has a hot water inlet incase you got free hot water from solar or something. If not you can just have the machine heat up the water as we do. Take your time when you set it up and make sure its lever otherwise it might walk away from you during spinning cycle.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Rob

RobSydney

Avoid!

published
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Washed well and quietly, until the bearings disintegrated

published
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Tom1966

Tom1966Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Quiet & Cleans Well

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

bondy

bondyasked

WashSmart WH7560P1 (7.5kg)

error 247 how hard is it to fix pump flapper

No answers
Amanda H.

Amanda H.asked

WashSmart WH7560P1 (7.5kg)

I have an error to clear the filter once I cleared the filter but still get the error however the hose hasn't drained. how to I clear this error.?

No answers
Ally

Allyasked

WashSmart WH8560P1 (8.5kg)

Hi the detergent draw won’t open. The key lock isn’t on, I’ve turned it on and off, unplugged it and reset the machine to factory setting but nothing is working. Any suggestions? thanks!

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Front Loader 1st Gen
CategoryFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing Machines
Capacity7.5 kg
Replaced byFisher & Paykel WashSmart WH8560P2 (8.5kg)Fisher & Paykel WashSmart WH8060P2 (8.0kg)Fisher & Paykel WashSmart WH8560P2 (8.5kg)
Compare all 3 Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Front Loader 1st Gen

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.