??!
1 photo
Fisher & Paykel WashSmart WH8560P2 (8.5kg)

Fisher & Paykel WashSmart WH8560P2 (8.5kg)

MPN: 36164224
4.1 from 150 reviews

Washing Machines Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of washing machine would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

4.1

150 reviews
5
(91)
4
(30)
3
(5)
2
(8)
1
(16)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (23)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (25)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (25)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (24)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (25)
Previous
Next
Nick Bradbury

Nick BradburyAU

  • 2 reviews

Great Machine, short cycles, good wash results

published

Purchased in April 2020 at The Good Guys for A$980.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeFisher & Paykel 3.5kg AD39
See all answers
JeannieCee

JeannieCeeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Have nothing to complain about - best I've used

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$949.00.

Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pearl

Pearl

  • 4 reviews

Love this product

published

Being a new mum this machine is a dream it makes life so much easier, cycle times are excellent this is an economical machine. Great prices on offer you wont regret this purchase.

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel WashSmart WH8560P2 (8.5kg) compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Craig S.

Craig S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Great Caoacity and Easy to USe

published

This is a super machine. Washes the entire washing basket of clothes. May wash options and very quiet. Couldn't be happier. We purchased a draw set for underneath that brings the unit up to chest height. This is great too.

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys for A$949.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Linda

LindaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Easy use

published

It is a good product, and it is a very easy to use mechanic. It price is also good. It sounds not too loudly. I am very happy to get it.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mossimo

MossimoMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 13 reviews

Fisher & Paykel 8.5kg Front Load Washer WH8560P2 low water use.

published

This washing machine uses minimal water. To that comes a cost! Using less water creates a friction between your clothes. I have reviewed this machine and found it dampens your clothes only, and then does the cycle. I have found during testing that if I add additional 4 litres to a wash the clothes come out brighter/ cleaner and not damaged . The clothes are in water, not just dampened. Apart from its water restrictive programming it's a great reliable machine. Recently though I have answered many questions about this front loader, and it seems the door latch solenoid is failing on many recent purchases. Cheers.

Purchased in March 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Peter Telling

Peter TellingCentral West, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Poorly built F & P W/machine

published

Been with F@P 4 years. Machine gets out of balance easily. Red clip off internal tub keeps breaking off. Costs me money to fix, might change to samsung they have a great name.

Purchased in April 2016 at The Good Guys for A$525.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Hate this washing machine

published

Worst machine ever.Spin cycle is not just spin only,but tumbles and spins like a quick wash.A new woollen jumper which I had hand washed shrunk because of the tumble/ wash action.Other clothes which I have had for many years and washed without issues have also shrunk.Have to wash everything on cold/delicate.Also find clothes are now rough on the outside,so they look worn.Big mistake in choice but now am stuck with it...
Hate this appliance...

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$777.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Angela

AngelaPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Love this machine!

published

This machine is so easy to use. I mainly use the everyday cycle for most washes which only takes an hour. I like the additional functions which allow you to customise your cycle by adding/reducing your wash time, changing the spin, changing temperature or adding additional rinses. I have used the bulky items cycle to wash duvets and they came out like new.

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$867.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel WashSmart WH8560P2 (8.5kg) compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brett

BrettPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Laundry Swimming Lessons, Flippers Required, Snorkel Optional

published

We use the Everyday or Heavy Wash settings the most and we wash every day. We are gardeners and get real grubby. The machine does a pretty good job of keeping our work clothes as clean as possible. It gets a flogging. Warning: the 15 minute super quick cycle WILL flood your laundry. Make sure you have flippers, old towels and a mop and bucket on stand by. The flooding doesn't happen on any other cycle. The cycle times are ok but the machine does get loud on the two settings we use most. It has great capacity. We wash blankets etc and haven't had an issue.

Purchased at Kambo's.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Ana L.

Ana L.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic Washing Machine

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Corrine

CorrinePerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Large, quiet and lots of settings

published

This washing machine is excellent. You can fill with large loads and still get a good quality wash - even on the 'cold' water setting. It washes well with liquid or powder. It runs quietly. I like the control you can get with wash time, temperature and spin speed. It also handles delicates well, although I would recommend putting anything too fragile into a bag first. It looks great next to the matching WashSmart dryer too!

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Mid C

Mid CHobart, TAS

  • 12 reviews

Quiet and stable, good features

published

So far so good. We chose this 8.5kg washer because it has a few more features than the 7.5kg. It also covers us if we end up with larger loads in the future. The machine runs very quiet and doesn't move around at all. We initially considered the Bosch, but we didn't like the way the settings worked and found it confusing. The F&P washer is very intuitive and straight forward to use.

Clothes come up great. T-shirts don't seem to twist and delicates are handled well. The spin cycle seems to do a good job of getting most of the water out, which obviously reduces drying time compared to some other machines.

Besides that, it looks great and we got it for a good deal through a clearance sale.

Purchased at Harvey Norman for A$650.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Endy

EndyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Washing machine Not a good quality.

published

Now with the 3rd year Washing machine LED display not working so I don't know which mode is washing machine working on. You pay top dollars for a Quality product and within first 3 years these machines don't work properly.

I am very disappointed with Fisher and Paykel. First machine I brought worked for 13 years without any problem but it was a Top loader and never had issues. with the new technology I was impressed but quality is Cheap Cheap cheap.....

I brought Dryer and the washing machine same time and within 1 year Dryer started to squeak and after 3 attempts it is still not fixed.

Don't buy these machines unless you want to spend on their service as soon as the warranty is finished.

Purchased in July 2016 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
OMWH12

OMWH12Melbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good but sloooooooooooooooow

published

I bought this about a month ago after my 7 year old Hoover died.

So far I'm very happy with it. It is amazingly quiet, even when spinning at 1400 rpm. It has a nice range of wash options, and clothes come out clean.

The only disappointment for me is that the normal wash cycle is over two hours, and unlike my old Hoover, it doesn't sense if you put in a smaller load and wash for less time. Same with the "spin only" function. My old Hoover did that in 7 minutes - this one takes over 20! Also the manual recommends the "eco" cycle, but that takes over 3 hours!!!

If you don't mind waiting for hours on end for your washing, this is the way to go.

Purchased in July 2019 at Appliances Online for A$867.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeFisher & Paykel 6kg DE60F60EW1
See all answers
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel WashSmart WH8560P2 (8.5kg) compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
CJb

CJb

  • 3 reviews

Great

published

Water saving. Nice design. Washes great. Option of a quick 15 or 30min quick wash. Can also open mid cycle and use the option of adding another piece of clothing

Purchased in October 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Sanjeev K.

Sanjeev K.Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Excellent Machine

published

The most water efficient I believe. Does take loooong to complete the cycle but we are happy with the wash quality. Overall very happy with our decision. We bought a much expensive one for another extended family house and they are unhappy for that machine which costed 500 bucks more than this one. Didn't find it that noisy either. Recommended model.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Sacha

SachaHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Fantastic washer. Can't fault it.

published

Best washer I've ever purchased. Very easy to use. Like it has a key lock function so the kids can't play with the setting when it is turned on. Also like the add a garment.

Purchased in February 2019 at Bing Lee Physical store for A$949.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
John

JohnFar North Queensland, QLD

Takes for Ever

published

Really tired of this machine. Run it on an hour cycle and 90 mins later it still has 20 mins to go. 10 mins later it still has 20 mins to go. The best way to run it is to turn it off after wash cycle, change cycle to rinse, then change cycle to spin, which defeats the purpose of having an auto washing machine.

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Wartsandall

WartsandallMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Received faulty

published

Delivered to my new house on Friday and tested it today, and I'm sorry to say I'm very disappointed.
I put in 3 bed sheets and away I went to do something else. I then heard loud banging noises coming from the laundry, so quickly went to have a look. The washer was shaking violently and banging into my brand new wall. I'll be calling F & P tomorrow to see how the aftersales customer service.
I'm hoping to receive a brand new replacement and not a lemon. The F & P heat pump dryer I bought as well works well works though, however the buttom plastic part doesn't clip in and hangs out. 2 items, 2 issues. Really?

Purchased in April 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Page 1 of 8
See all Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Front Loader reviews

Questions & Answers

JeannieCee

JeannieCeeasked

WashSmart WH8560P2 (8.5kg)

Why are these washers being discounted May 2020?

2 answers
N Lim
N Lim

We just purchased the 12kg front loader.... worst decision ever... it doesnt spin dry your clothes very well so you have to put it through extra 24 minutes of spin cycle.... and it shakes like almighty.... its perfectly level.... about it being quiet..... when it spins it near on walks off by itself...... wish I bought a top loader....

JeannieCee
JeannieCee

Maybe you should seek professional assistance with this N Lim, as it doesn't sound right. I did buy the WH8560P2, it arrived 2 days ago and I did 4 loads of washing yesterday using various wash cycles. I was extremely happy with the wash, spin and quietness of the washer. Have found nothing bad yet.

Georgie

Georgieasked

WashSmart WH8560P2 (8.5kg)

Can anyone please advise whether they’ve had a problem with their machine not filling with water above 30 degrees at start up? Pipes and water inlet work fine and have been checked for any damage, flow and blockages.
F&P will assist, at a cost. Any advise will be greatly appreciated.

No answers
tintac

tintacasked

WashSmart WH8560P2 (8.5kg)

Why is F&P product support so lousy?
After calling support regarding a leak from the WH8560P2, I waited for 75 minutes before giving up. I then found their live chat, and the person on that had no support strategy other than to schedule a service call.
Other whitewoods manufacturers, eg Bosch, can provide technical suggestions for things that can be tried.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.