??!
1 photo
Flood Spa-N-Deck

Flood Spa-N-Deck

3.8 from 18 reviews

Reviews

3.8

18 reviews
5
(10)
4
(1)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(2)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (2)
  • Painted Surface
  • Finish Quality
    3.0 (2)
  • Ease of Application
    3.5 (2)
  • Coverage
    4.0 (2)
  • Longevity
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Paul

PaulSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Blotchy Finish and poor colours

published

Followed instructions carefully and applied 3 coats waiting 2 hours between each one. First two coats went on fine but third coat did not dry evenly and left horrible blotches. Spoke to Flood support who told me I applied too late in the afternoon even though the temperature was around 20 degrees, well above the 10 degrees they specify. $200 wasted and now I have to spend hours sanding the stuff off to start again. Also know that the tints are all orange/red based so depending on the tint and type of timber you will end up with somewhere between a bright orange and deep red deck which doesn't look natural at all.

Purchased in June 2020 for A$210.00.

Value for Money
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
leighb

leighb

  • 14 reviews
  • 7 likes

Long Lasting

published

The 3 step prep process is arduous, but if makes sense, as the product penetrates well into the timber fibers. The process requires all three steps be done in the same day (ie with the timber still wet). I have a merbau/kwila pool fence and privacy screening about 7 years old. I re-coat it every 18 months or so and it looks great. No flaking and the re-caots penetrate well.

Purchased in January 2011 for A$115.00.

Value for Money
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
Dene

DeneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

What they don't tell you...

published

Followed the Flood 3 stage instructions meticulously on our large Merbau deck.
First and second coat looked good.
The next morning applied the third coat. It dried with an ugly mottled finish.
Could not work out what had gone wrong, so called Flood.
They advised I had waited too long to apply the third coat, it is supposed to be all done in the one day.
Nowhere in all the brochures & instructions is this mentioned.
Flood advised the only answer was to re-sand the mottling off the deck.
I hope this product has no more nasty surprises for me, and is eventually worth the effort & expense.

Purchased in November 2019.

Painted SurfaceWood
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Flood Spa-N-Deck compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dan B

Dan BGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Exactly what I wanted

published

Recently used flood spa and deck- Jarrah colour on Merbau timber for a timber screen wall I have at home. Chose this combo after much research. If you follow the directions and don’t cut corners this is a fantastic product. Couldn’t be happier with the result, it looks fantastic in my opinion. Was very easy to apply but the prepping can be tedious, it’s well worth the effort though.

Purchased in April 2019 for A$99.00.

Pjma42

Pjma42Brisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Don’t use anything else

published

Built a deck from recycled boards. Did my research and decided to go with floods jarrah as I didn’t want a yellow/orange finish. Despite using various ages and condition of boards they look amazing, just like new Highly recommend using this product. used another brand on the stairs, failing already.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
helen

helenmelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

no good

published

applied the product 10 months ago i was not really happy with it from the start its a very matt finish and more disappointing a very orange colour more like a semi transparent a lot of effort to apply ie timber having to be wet on first coat i have since used Haymes deck water base on another deck and looks great

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Max

MaxWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

7 years on and 1 recoat. Love this stuff

published

Love how easy this is to apply, so quick and easy. Applied on new merbau decking that had been left to weather for a few weeks to reduce the tannins.

Colour is great (merbau over merbau), wear is fantastic, and the feel underfoot is great.

We love this stuff, we will certainly use this for our next project.

Date PurchasedJan 2010
B.P.

B.P.Terrigal

Awesome product - done & dusted in a day - ask for tech support if in doubt.

published

Iv'e been using spa n deck for many years on a new treated pine deck surrounding one side of a swimming pool. I recoat about every 2/3 yrs. Used natural - it does have yellow orange tinge to it but
looks good & is " the business" when it comes to wear & tear & maintenance. Re coating is a minimum
of fuss. Cops full sun for most of the day . It's a 10 as far as I'm concerned.
Bert.

Date PurchasedJun 2012

Spa n Deck for Merbau timber

published
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Flood Spa-N-Deck compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
4times

4timesperth

Failed 4 times !!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
gilla

gilla

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

just finished applying second coat to new merbau deck

published

did all the prep applied first coat it didnt look like i applied anything at all second coat looked better had a bit more depth but i think the product could do with a bit more shine i didnt realize its such a matt finish for all the effort put in i was hoping for some lustre a least another coat to go time will tell how the product stands up as far as colour goes its a bit orange was hoping for something that looks like merbau when its wet as said the product is very matt looks like new merbau when its dry more or less

Date PurchasedNov 2016
chaau

chaauGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 29 reviews
  • 19 likes

The product is perfect. The colour is not

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Jeff C - Australia

Jeff C - AustraliaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 17 reviews
  • 23 likes

Great product, easy to use and maintain, looks great

published
sunnyrog

sunnyrogAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great product but needs to be maintained

published
Juan

JuanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Guaranteed for 2 years peels in 5 years

published

Great at holding the colour and really quick to apply but difficult to paint without leaving wet edge marks. My retaining wall and spa is peeling after six years and now all needs to be sanded, what a job! Have you every tried to sand the grooves of the western red cedar of a spa? its near impossible, basically the timber spa is ruined and unrepairable.

Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Flood Spa-N-Deck compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

I got the colours sorted ...

published

So whilst the original colour was very 'red centre' on the deck I spoke with the folk at spa n deck and they suggested a tint, very helpful and now the colour is spot on to suit the surrounds and seems to be lasting well. So if at first the colour doesn't meet expectations go back to them and they will help get it right. I was pleased with the service.

1 comment
DIY yes
DIY yes

As I mentioned above the colours have been good, but now 2 years on it does seem to be starting to peel.

symowallo

symowallo

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very impressive product

published
1 comment
symowallo
symowallo

I coated the deck again this year, 2 years after the last coating. Followed the process and did another 3 coats - beautiful. No problems at all. Still as hard wearing as ever. The so called cheaper systems are more costly in the long run.

Milord

MilordDuffy 2611, ACT

  • 193 reviews
  • 112 likes

Absolutely worth its weight in gold

published

Questions & Answers

John W

John Wasked

Flood spa and deck. Is 24 hours sufficient soaking- in time, into Kwila hand rails, between first " wet' coat and second dry coat.

2 answers
leighb
leighb

After the cleaning, detannin & pressure rinse stages, you put the first coat on while still wet. After the first coat, I put the second and third coats on as soon as it is surface dry (usually an hour).

John W
John W

LeighB. 2nd coat applied. Bom radar says an afternoon storm . Will apply 3rd coat, following morning. Question. Would you apply a 4th coat ?

Derick S.

Derick S.asked

how much for the 10 litre can?

No answers
ChrisB

ChrisBasked

Is there a need to strip last year's SnD before recoating this year or just clean it up? It's in good condition, just looks a little dull after 16 months of sea air and full sun.

2 answers
helen
helen

i do not like the product its too orange and a bit too solid ie almost like a paint rather than transparent. That's probably one of the reasons it looks dull. My deck that i used it on is the same and its mostly undercover. What is not undercover did not last long.
I would sand it back or strip and then re coat with Haymes (Australian Made) water based deck product. You still have to reapply regularly.

ChrisB
ChrisB

Thanks Helen. Thing is, I like the look, and the product. On my deck the "orange" disappears fairly quickly and it's a nice colour for the rest of the year. Still wondering what prep might be needed.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.