??!
6 photos
Ford Escape

Ford Escape

BA/ZB, ZG, ZD
3.9 from 47 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (7)
  • Braking
    4.4 (8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.8 (8)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (8)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.3 (8)
  • Handling
    4.0 (8)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (8)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (8)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (8)
  • Features
    4.3 (8)
Previous
Next
Craig F.

Craig F.South East Queensland, QLD

Engine Blown after 60000km

published

Daily Drive for my wife. Bought the car new and now after 60000km, it has a blown motor. 1.5l EcoBoost motor leaking coolant into the motor. Ford replacing under warranty. The car has always been serviced by ford at the recommended service intervals. My wife was driving to work the engine light came on and the warning was to stop the car immediately. My wife then rang ford service and they told her to take the car to the service centre. Was informed by Ford it needs a new long motor to be installed due to a coolant leak that warped the head and the block. Ford is replacing under warranty and supplied a loaner car. My concern is that the motor that is going into my car will do the same thing after another 60000km or when out of warranty.

Purchased in March 2018 at Ford Dealers for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Joseph

JosephGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good value for money

published

Daily driver...Economical...No nonsense suv...Had a misfire problem when I bought it but replaced spark plugs and coils with quality replacements and now doesnt miss a beat....Good reliable and fun driving

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2001
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Fabio Granados

Fabio GranadosMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Smooth, impressive and economical.

published

Most be the most economical v6 vehicle I've ever had so far.
I enjoyed this car very much, it was comfortable and high to ride, very easy to maneuver as it is very small in size and still roomy and practical inside.
I think it is a great choice all the way.
Fuel wasn't much more than I usually used for a 4 cylinder rav 4. Very impressed, would gladly buy another.

Purchased in February 2020 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Ford Escape compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Damon

DamonSydney, NSW

Disappointing...

published

After much research, I decided to buy the Escape.. within weeks noticed a noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. Brought it back to the dealership, they said nothing was wrong.. problems continued brought it back again, 'no problems with the car. Drove it out of the dealership, went around the corner and brought it back again, demanded that I talk to the service manager, he took it for a drive.. you need a new rear diff.. the car has only 7000kms on it.. all covered under warranty but not what you expect from a new car..

Purchased in July 2019 for $39,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Boo

Boo

  • 18 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love it

published

This car is just so easy to drive. I thought it might feel big and cumbersome stepping into it from a small car, but it feels so light and effortless. Loads of helpful extras like blind spot assist and it adjusts speed to match if car in front slows down. It has plenty of grunt and responds well when you need it to go quickly.
Only downside for me was the dealer plastering their name (ie. free advertising) over the car. Now that I have removed the stickers and got replacement numberplates to remove dealers name from them, it looks much better - note to potential Dominelli buyers!

Incentivised ReviewNo
Brad M

Brad MSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great all round soft roader

published

Probably the most underrated vehicle on the road. Great handling, fully specced, comfortable, and goes hard.

Highly recommend a test drive, in particular if stepping down from a 6/8 cylinder, as these have more than enough power.

Downsides:
- fuel consumption on the 2.0t averages at 13.1l/100km... mainly around town driving. Not great and likes premium.
- a knocking from the front right on full lock that the Ford dealer cant find a problem with so far.
- could use more rear leg space... but to be fair thats common to all in this size/ class.

Purchased in December 2017 for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Claire

ClaireNortheast, VIC

  • 5 reviews

Versatile, comfortable car - very happy!

published

Very comfortable vehicle packed with all the essential features and creature comforts. Safety features among best in market. Accessories like puddle lamps and lane guidance real bonus. 60:40 rear seat split very handy - we have even fit a large wheelbarrow in the back of ours!

Purchased in August 2017 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sayyed

SayyedGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Full of problems

published

Every 30ks engine light goes on can’t find what is wrong. Not a fuel economy car. Ford is using just his badge the real car is Mazda Tribute. Don’t buy this car.

Purchased in April 2010 for $11,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

derek

derekNarooma, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Just brilliant

published

My Escape is used for commuting in our regional town ( Narooma ). My wife finds it extremely easy to park, and for me, it certainly has more than enough power
It is used on average, five to six times a week (in town ) with acceptable fuel economy.
On a trip. though, it is a pleasure for me to drive, as it certainly has power & torque to navigate any problems that we may face.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Ford Escape compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
elv

elv

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great Car with some minor issues

published
BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
DriveAWD
1 comment
elv
elv
Sean

SeanBrisbane

  • 15 reviews
  • 10 likes

Brilliant car!

published

After a lengthy process with Ford relating to a previous vehicle, we bought the 2018 Escape. This car is absolutely beautiful to drive and a very sturdy solid little unit. Comfortable and we'll finished and has everything that opens and shuts and connectivity is amazing.

Very, very good job FoMoCo!

BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Great but thirsty

published

I bought my 2006 Ford Escape earlier this year and it has been a great car. The size inside and out is great and it hasn’t missed a beat. The only problem, which is a big problem in this current climate, is that it is terrible with fuel. I would be lucky to get 450km out of a tank!! Looking to buy a new car purely due to the lack of fuel economy.

BadgeXLT Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Peter

PeterMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

2017 Escape 12 months on

published
BadgeTitanium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Rachel

RachelMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not a bad upgrade from the focus

published

I purchased my car in March 2018.
So far I have driven it over 5000kms, including a return trip from Melbourne to Mildura. In this time the car has been nothing but reliable.
I am a big fan of all of the safety features, including auto braking, lane assist and adaptive cruise control.
The car is comfy and spacious, which my dog loves!

BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
thisistori

thisistoriFayettteville

  • 2 reviews

Cozy & economical

published

I love my Ford products. I had a 2012 previous, which was much roomier & boxier feel. The 2017 is more of a crossover design. I have the SE model in grey/grey interior. It is cozy for a 5'4' person such as myself & long trips up the coast. I prefer a luggage rack, which I do not have, I believe only titanium models have this feature. Also the dash cam is quite small, compared to that of a Nissan Rogue. Also upon helping a friend jump start their car, discovered the battery is not so easily accessible, which may pose a problem to change out in future. There is an extension bolt line that goes to the battery to facilitate the jump, not exactly Ford's best idea for compactability.

BadgeSE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Ford Escape compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Miss Marple

Miss MarplePerth, WA

  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes

Feels great to drive, looks amazing, a bit of a fuel guzzler, needs bluetooth

published
BadgeXLT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Rob

RobMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great family SUV, underrated!

published

We got the Trend Diesel model and it has been great. Plenty of power on take off and for overtaking, yet fuel economy is still pretty good, at 7.7 l/100km, and on long trips it goes down to around 6.2 l/100km. Seats are very comfy, the Sync 3 infotainment system works a treat even with voice activation and good sound quality. Interior space is plenty for our family of four plus the dog. Surprisingly this thing handles pretty well around corners unlike some other SUV's we tested.

BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
DriveAWD
Huss

HussKeilor park

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it

published

These are one of the best cars I've owned... Cheap to run and great to drive, I have owned a few previous ford SUV but none compare to this.
I love how it feels to drive and the features built in to it.
Cannot recommend it more and urge you all to test drive one.

BadgeTitanium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
GP

GPHobart, TAS

  • 25 reviews
  • 24 likes

Comfy, impressive performance, safe and economical

published
BadgeTitanium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
idaniel

idanielAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

A powerful and competent SUV with plenty of space and on-road ability.

published
BadgeTitanium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Doomadgee

Doomadgeeasked

Escape ZD (2008-2012)

Have a 2010 Ford Escape with the digital readout for climate control. When you switch on the air the air switches on but no fan. You go over a bump in the road or close the door or glove box sometimes it comes on (fan). Checked all the fuses and seem to be fine.

2 answers
Fabio Granados
Fabio Granados

Bad electrical connection

Doomadgee
Doomadgee

Ended up removing the glovebox and playing around with the wiring into the fan and it’s working now. Your 100% right.

Petrus E.

Petrus E.asked

Escape

My escape loos water out of the resevoir it cooks out

1 answer
Doomadgee
Doomadgee

Blown a head gasket?

George P.

George P.asked

ZG Trend (2016-2021)

How accurate is the fuel rating ie 5.5litres/100 km for the ZG Trend diesel.
Had a Ford Escape ST Line 2.0lt. turbo AWD that that had a fuel rating of 8.5lt/100km combined when in actual fact was over 11lt./100km and a poor 9 lt/100km country driving

1 answer
Damon
Damon

I have a titanium, country driving I get an average of around 8lt/100km, in fact I drove from Perth to Sydney at Christmas and after driving around Adelaide and Melbourne got 7.2lt/100km. In Sydney traffic I'm currently getting around 10.5-11lt/100km. I use unleaded 98. My escape is an early 2019.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 11 Ford Escape
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $28,990$30,490$33,490$39,990
TransmissionManualAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.3 L/100km7.2 L/100km7.5 L/100km8.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power110kW @ 6000rpm134kW @ 6000rpm134kW @ 6000rpm178kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque240Nm @ 1600-5000rpm240Nm @ 1600-5000rpm240Nm @ 1600-5000rpm345Nm @ 2000-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureSpainSpainSpainSpain
Safety Features
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg1,500 kg1,600 kg1,600 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016
Compare all 11 Ford Escape

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.