??!
6 photos
Ford Escape

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
15
4 star
15
3 star
6
2 star
0
1 star
4

Sayyed

SayyedGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Full of problems

published

Every 30ks engine light goes on can’t find what is wrong. Not a fuel economy car. Ford is using just his badge the real car is Mazda Tribute. Don’t buy this car.

Purchased in April 2010 for $11,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


derek

derekNarooma, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Just brilliant

published

My Escape is used for commuting in our regional town ( Narooma ). My wife finds it extremely easy to park, and for me, it certainly has more than enough power
It is used on average, five to six times a week (in town ) with acceptable fuel economy.
On a trip. though, it is a pleasure for me to drive, as it certainly has power & torque to navigate any problems that we may face.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
elv

elv

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Car with some minor issues

published
BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
DriveAWD
1 comment
elv
elv
Sean

SeanBrisbane

  • 13 reviews
  • 8 likes

Brilliant car!

published

After a lengthy process with Ford relating to a previous vehicle, we bought the 2018 Escape. This car is absolutely beautiful to drive and a very sturdy solid little unit. Comfortable and we'll finished and has everything that opens and shuts and connectivity is amazing.

Very, very good job FoMoCo!

BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Great but thirsty

published

I bought my 2006 Ford Escape earlier this year and it has been a great car. The size inside and out is great and it hasn’t missed a beat. The only problem, which is a big problem in this current climate, is that it is terrible with fuel. I would be lucky to get 450km out of a tank!! Looking to buy a new car purely due to the lack of fuel economy.

BadgeXLT Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Peter

PeterMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

2017 Escape 12 months on

published
BadgeTitanium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Rachel

RachelMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not a bad upgrade from the focus

published

I purchased my car in March 2018.
So far I have driven it over 5000kms, including a return trip from Melbourne to Mildura. In this time the car has been nothing but reliable.
I am a big fan of all of the safety features, including auto braking, lane assist and adaptive cruise control.
The car is comfy and spacious, which my dog loves!

BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

thisistori

thisistoriFayettteville

  • 2 reviews

Cozy & economical

published

I love my Ford products. I had a 2012 previous, which was much roomier & boxier feel. The 2017 is more of a crossover design. I have the SE model in grey/grey interior. It is cozy for a 5'4' person such as myself & long trips up the coast. I prefer a luggage rack, which I do not have, I believe only titanium models have this feature. Also the dash cam is quite small, compared to that of a Nissan Rogue. Also upon helping a friend jump start their car, discovered the battery is not so easily accessible, which may pose a problem to change out in future. There is an extension bolt line that goes to the battery to facilitate the jump, not exactly Ford's best idea for compactability.

BadgeSE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Miss Marple

Miss MarplePerth, WA

  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes

Feels great to drive, looks amazing, a bit of a fuel guzzler, needs bluetooth

published
BadgeXLT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Rob

RobMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great family SUV, underrated!

published

We got the Trend Diesel model and it has been great. Plenty of power on take off and for overtaking, yet fuel economy is still pretty good, at 7.7 l/100km, and on long trips it goes down to around 6.2 l/100km. Seats are very comfy, the Sync 3 infotainment system works a treat even with voice activation and good sound quality. Interior space is plenty for our family of four plus the dog. Surprisingly this thing handles pretty well around corners unlike some other SUV's we tested.

BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
DriveAWD

Huss

HussKeilor park

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it

published

These are one of the best cars I've owned... Cheap to run and great to drive, I have owned a few previous ford SUV but none compare to this.
I love how it feels to drive and the features built in to it.
Cannot recommend it more and urge you all to test drive one.

BadgeTitanium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

GP

GPHobart, TAS

  • 19 reviews
  • 22 likes

Comfy, impressive performance, safe and economical

published
BadgeTitanium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

idaniel

idanielAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

A powerful and competent SUV with plenty of space and on-road ability.

published
BadgeTitanium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Caz

Cazbargo

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect

published

After not driving for some time, i was able to gain back my confidence & freedom in my new Escape.
Its a beautiful easy car to drive. Seats are comfy & so much leg room.
I'm so glad to be driving again with confidence in a reliable car.
Its the quietist vehicle I've ever been in, even others have commented on that.
PERFECT PURCHASE.

SandyG

SandyGSouth Brisbane

  • 39 reviews
  • 30 likes

Terrific Family car

published
BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
DriveAWD
Bluey

BlueyGeelong

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nice vehicle

published

Drives well, with little road noise.
Plenty of power for overtaking situations.
Cabin & passenger area quite spacious.
Love the 8 inch screen for Sat Nav , Radio & Media.
Nice clear picture of reversing camera give confidence when backing into tight spots.
Boot space great for shopping & trips away.
Paint protection is amaizing !!

BadgeTrend is outstanding value
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Great Value for a cheap second hand 4wd

published
BadgeXLT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

toglhot

toglhotaldinga beach

  • 21 reviews
  • 18 likes

First impressions.

published
BadgeZG
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
toglhot
toglhot

Jeff M

Jeff MMelbourne

Generic functions

published

The vehicles suspension is so soft and seems like the power of the engine is so little. The sound deadening of the vehicle was good but still the ride comfort was not too good i hope they make a better suspension on the next model so people would feel safe riding on the newer model

BadgeLimited
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Ssss

SsssSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Ugly, cheap and reliable

published
BadgeZD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2011

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Not good

Not goodasked

Escape ZD

does the Ford Escape 2009 have a clock on the dashboard or on the radio I can't find one

1 answer
derek
derek

The clock is displayed on the map display section …. at the top.


Gerard B.

Gerard B.asked

ZG ST-Line

2016 Ford Escape: 45,000 km.
Muffler needs to be replaced. Just over 3 years old. Out of warranty for exhaust system. Will cost $700 to $1,000 to replace.
Anyone have problems with muffler so early on Escapes?

No answers

Tup

Tupasked

Escape ZG

Has anyone experienced one or more cracked windscreens in the Escape?

My escape was 3 weeks old. I have had 2 massive cracks in a matter of weeks. The first one occured and there were no windscreens in the country. When I was driving back from it finally being replaced i got another small chip that turned into a 50cm crack across my windscreen.
I have had 2 cars previous with not one chip now two stone chips turning into cracks across my windscreen in a matter of days. So very interested to see if someone else has the same problem?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

Details

Ford Escape ZG Titanium Diesel

Ford Escape ZG Titanium Diesel (2016-2019)

No reviews
Ford Escape ZD
  • Discontinued

Ford Escape ZD (2008-2012)

3 reviews
Ford Escape ZG Ambiente FWD Manual

Ford Escape ZG Ambiente FWD Manual (2016-2019)

No reviews
Ford Escape BA/ZB
  • Discontinued

Ford Escape BA/ZB (2001-2007)

22 reviews
Ford Escape ZG Trend 2.0L Diesel AWD

Ford Escape ZG Trend 2.0L Diesel AWD (2016-2019)

No reviews
Ford Escape ZG Trend 2.0L Petrol AWD

Ford Escape ZG Trend 2.0L Petrol AWD (2016-2019)

1 review
Ford Escape ZG Trend 1.5L Petrol FWD

Ford Escape ZG Trend 1.5L Petrol FWD (2016-2019)

No reviews
Ford Escape ZG Ambiente FWD Auto

Ford Escape ZG Ambiente FWD Auto (2016-2019)

No reviews
Ford Escape ZG Titanium Petrol

Ford Escape ZG Titanium Petrol (2016-2019)

No reviews
Ford Escape ZG ST-Line

Ford Escape ZG ST-Line (2016-2019)

No reviews
Ford Escape ZG Ambiente AWD Auto

Ford Escape ZG Ambiente AWD Auto (2016-2019)

No reviews
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $48,340$28,990$38,990$36,490$33,490$30,490$45,840$39,990$33,490
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)ManualAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrolDieselPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels19" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors555555555
Seats555555555
Fuel Consumption5.6 L/100km6.3 L/100km5.5 L/100km8.6 L/100km7.2 L/100km7.2 L/100km8.6 L/100km8.6 L/100km7.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power132kW @ 3500rpm110kW @ 6000rpm132kW @ 3500rpm178kW @ 5500rpm134kW @ 6000rpm134kW @ 6000rpm178kW @ 5500rpm178kW @ 5500rpm134kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque400Nm @ 2000-2500rpm240Nm @ 1600-5000rpm400Nm @ 2000-2500rpm345Nm @ 2000-4500rpm240Nm @ 1600-5000rpm240Nm @ 1600-5000rpm345Nm @ 2000-4500rpm345Nm @ 2000-4500rpm240Nm @ 1600-5000rpm
Country of ManufactureSpainSpainSpainSpainSpainSpainSpainSpainSpain
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,800 kg1,500 kg1,800 kg1,600 kg1,500 kg1,500 kg1,600 kg1,600 kg1,600 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2008Jan 2016Jan 2001Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016
Discontinuation dateDec 2012Dec 2007
Replaced byFord Escape ZGFord Escape ZD

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.