??!
6 photos
Ford Escape

Ford Escape

BA/ZB, ZG, ZD
4.0 from 43 reviews

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
18
4 star
15
3 star
6
2 star
0
1 star
4

Boo

Boo

  • 17 reviews

Love it

published

This car is just so easy to drive. I thought it might feel big and cumbersome stepping into it from a small car, but it feels so light and effortless. Loads of helpful extras like blind spot assist and it adjusts speed to match if car in front slows down. It has plenty of grunt and responds well when you need it to go quickly.
Only downside for me was the dealer plastering their name (ie. free advertising) over the car. Now that I have removed the stickers and got replacement numberplates to remove dealers name from them, it looks much better - note to potential Dominelli buyers!


Brad M

Brad MSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great all round soft roader

published

Probably the most underrated vehicle on the road. Great handling, fully specced, comfortable, and goes hard.

Highly recommend a test drive, in particular if stepping down from a 6/8 cylinder, as these have more than enough power.

Downsides:
- fuel consumption on the 2.0t averages at 13.1l/100km... mainly around town driving. Not great and likes premium.
- a knocking from the front right on full lock that the Ford dealer cant find a problem with so far.
- could use more rear leg space... but to be fair thats common to all in this size/ class.

Purchased in December 2017 for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Claire

ClaireNortheast, VIC

  • 5 reviews

Versatile, comfortable car - very happy!

published

Very comfortable vehicle packed with all the essential features and creature comforts. Safety features among best in market. Accessories like puddle lamps and lane guidance real bonus. 60:40 rear seat split very handy - we have even fit a large wheelbarrow in the back of ours!

Purchased in August 2017 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sayyed

SayyedGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Full of problems

published

Every 30ks engine light goes on can’t find what is wrong. Not a fuel economy car. Ford is using just his badge the real car is Mazda Tribute. Don’t buy this car.

Purchased in April 2010 for $11,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


derek

derekNarooma, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Just brilliant

published

My Escape is used for commuting in our regional town ( Narooma ). My wife finds it extremely easy to park, and for me, it certainly has more than enough power
It is used on average, five to six times a week (in town ) with acceptable fuel economy.
On a trip. though, it is a pleasure for me to drive, as it certainly has power & torque to navigate any problems that we may face.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

elv

elv

  • 6 reviews

Great Car with some minor issues

published
BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
DriveAWD
1 comment
elv
elv

Sean

SeanBrisbane

  • 13 reviews
  • 8 likes

Brilliant car!

published

After a lengthy process with Ford relating to a previous vehicle, we bought the 2018 Escape. This car is absolutely beautiful to drive and a very sturdy solid little unit. Comfortable and we'll finished and has everything that opens and shuts and connectivity is amazing.

Very, very good job FoMoCo!

BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Great but thirsty

published

I bought my 2006 Ford Escape earlier this year and it has been a great car. The size inside and out is great and it hasn’t missed a beat. The only problem, which is a big problem in this current climate, is that it is terrible with fuel. I would be lucky to get 450km out of a tank!! Looking to buy a new car purely due to the lack of fuel economy.

BadgeXLT Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Peter

PeterMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

2017 Escape 12 months on

published
BadgeTitanium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Rachel

RachelMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not a bad upgrade from the focus

published

I purchased my car in March 2018.
So far I have driven it over 5000kms, including a return trip from Melbourne to Mildura. In this time the car has been nothing but reliable.
I am a big fan of all of the safety features, including auto braking, lane assist and adaptive cruise control.
The car is comfy and spacious, which my dog loves!

BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

thisistori

thisistoriFayettteville

  • 2 reviews

Cozy & economical

published

I love my Ford products. I had a 2012 previous, which was much roomier & boxier feel. The 2017 is more of a crossover design. I have the SE model in grey/grey interior. It is cozy for a 5'4' person such as myself & long trips up the coast. I prefer a luggage rack, which I do not have, I believe only titanium models have this feature. Also the dash cam is quite small, compared to that of a Nissan Rogue. Also upon helping a friend jump start their car, discovered the battery is not so easily accessible, which may pose a problem to change out in future. There is an extension bolt line that goes to the battery to facilitate the jump, not exactly Ford's best idea for compactability.

BadgeSE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Miss Marple

Miss MarplePerth, WA

  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes

Feels great to drive, looks amazing, a bit of a fuel guzzler, needs bluetooth

published
BadgeXLT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Rob

RobMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great family SUV, underrated!

published

We got the Trend Diesel model and it has been great. Plenty of power on take off and for overtaking, yet fuel economy is still pretty good, at 7.7 l/100km, and on long trips it goes down to around 6.2 l/100km. Seats are very comfy, the Sync 3 infotainment system works a treat even with voice activation and good sound quality. Interior space is plenty for our family of four plus the dog. Surprisingly this thing handles pretty well around corners unlike some other SUV's we tested.

BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
DriveAWD

Huss

HussKeilor park

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it

published

These are one of the best cars I've owned... Cheap to run and great to drive, I have owned a few previous ford SUV but none compare to this.
I love how it feels to drive and the features built in to it.
Cannot recommend it more and urge you all to test drive one.

BadgeTitanium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
GP

GPHobart, TAS

  • 19 reviews
  • 22 likes

Comfy, impressive performance, safe and economical

published
BadgeTitanium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
idaniel

idanielAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

A powerful and competent SUV with plenty of space and on-road ability.

published
BadgeTitanium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Caz

Cazbargo

  • 9 reviews

Perfect

published

After not driving for some time, i was able to gain back my confidence & freedom in my new Escape.
Its a beautiful easy car to drive. Seats are comfy & so much leg room.
I'm so glad to be driving again with confidence in a reliable car.
Its the quietist vehicle I've ever been in, even others have commented on that.
PERFECT PURCHASE.


SandyG

SandyGSouth Brisbane

  • 39 reviews

Terrific Family car

published
BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
DriveAWD

Bluey

BlueyGeelong

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nice vehicle

published

Drives well, with little road noise.
Plenty of power for overtaking situations.
Cabin & passenger area quite spacious.
Love the 8 inch screen for Sat Nav , Radio & Media.
Nice clear picture of reversing camera give confidence when backing into tight spots.
Boot space great for shopping & trips away.
Paint protection is amaizing !!

BadgeTrend is outstanding value
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Great Value for a cheap second hand 4wd

published
BadgeXLT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Not good

Not goodasked

does the Ford Escape 2009 have a clock on the dashboard or on the radio I can't find one

2 answers
derek
derek

The clock is displayed on the map display section …. at the top.

Not good
Not good

Thank you very much


Gerard B.

Gerard B.asked

2016 Ford Escape: 45,000 km.
Muffler needs to be replaced. Just over 3 years old. Out of warranty for exhaust system. Will cost $700 to $1,000 to replace.
Anyone have problems with muffler so early on Escapes?

No answers

Tup

Tupasked

Has anyone experienced one or more cracked windscreens in the Escape?

My escape was 3 weeks old. I have had 2 massive cracks in a matter of weeks. The first one occured and there were no windscreens in the country. When I was driving back from it finally being replaced i got another small chip that turned into a 50cm crack across my windscreen.
I have had 2 cars previous with not one chip now two stone chips turning into cracks across my windscreen in a matter of days. So very interested to see if someone else has the same problem?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.