??!
1 photo
Frank Health Insurance

Frank Health Insurance

4.2 from 490 reviews

Reviews

(331)
(67)
(25)
(14)
(53)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (48)
  • Transparency
    3.8 (33)
  • Customer Service
    4.2 (46)


Dodgy and unclear.

published

Hospital rang frank to tell them i most likely had pancreatic cancer (i dont thank god) and needed emergency surgery, frank couldn't clarify if i was 100 percent covered, no matter who you spoke with. The liason at the hospital told me they were the worst health insurer she's ever had to deal with, and that they bwere scamming me. Also rang to see if i was covered for a 3 hour endoscopy, turns out i am which means i don't have to pay 485 for the procedure, but i have to pay frank 750 for hospital excess. So it would literally be cheaper to not use my health insurance which i pay 107 a month for.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Veronika

VeronikaSydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

Love Frank

published

Every time I use my Frank card the providers can't believe the value I get back. Also the customer service is excellent. Recommend them all the time to friends and family.

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Frank Health Insurance

top cover and you offer me no card, big delay, crap online portal, crap customer services and no compensation!!!

published

Signed up in 12/12/19 for a top cover. The card is never been sent out. 1st and 2nd time spoke to consultant they said WAIT. 3rd time they said they will resend. Another week they text “card just being sent pls wait another 5-7 business days”. Called them again, they said they are doing the right thing, claim can be made online, their annual limit on their website is not working and you must call them to know the limit, you must paid for expensive item and it is not their faults. Again, it is top cover and you offer me no card, crap online portal, crap customer services and no compensation!!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Giarc

GiarcSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Good Coverage, Easy to deal with

published

Good value for the hospital & essential extras bundle. Have been with them for a few years, and even got money back. No issues with hospital day surgery claims. I would like to see a choice for the excess instead of the $750 only being offered and 50% for Day Surgery.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Luke

LukeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • Verified customer

Frank are neat

published

Extras are great value. 50/80% pay-back at the counter makes appointments with allied health providers so affordable! Haven't had to use hospital so can't comment about that. Online systems are a little buggy/confusing (and if you ever have to call be prepared for a long wait), but the team are pleasant and helpful.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Frank Health Insurance


Great coverage, competitive price

published

I was introduced to Frank through iSelect. I had actually chosen them myself firstly but iSelect confirmed my choice. I have only been with Frank for a few years but have had to have made several claims during that time. The claim process has been really easy and I have even unexpectedly received money back at the end of the year. The only negative thing I would say is that they are only contactable Monday to Friday during business hours.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Bcc

BccSouth East Queensland, QLD

Claiming Cancer Council products is a nightmare

published
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers

Peita

PeitaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Frank health is a great value and customer service

published

I’ve been with Frank for over 2 years now. Easy to set up with very helpful friendly staff and easy to do claims online and only a few days to process.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
amkerker

amkerkerWimmera, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Cancelled my hospital insurance with another insurer

published

When taking out ancillary cover only, they completed a cancellation form for both hospital and ancillary cover. It took me 2 hours to fix it up with them and my hospital insurer which was clearly an admin error of GMHBA. I am glad I ended up cancelling extras cover with Frank because, I find out anyway that they would hate to have to take on covering our family for extras as we would claim orthodontics. Not sure that is how health insurance works but anyhow, good to know Frank and indirectly GMHBA will not go broke now from not covering our orthodontic item numbers that we will claim.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
pdekroon13

pdekroon13Darling Downs, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Fair and Fair dinkum

published

always been there to assist with claims , and offer help with questions , have so far been excellent with paying out claims and made me feel less vulnerable , or worried about being taken care of , when sick and in an already stressful situation. It is nice to know Frank is watching my back .

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

topion

topionSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews

Love that Premiums remained reasonable

published

Policy was easy to set up and love that premiums did not escalate rapidly. This is my 3rd year with Frank Insurance after previously changing health insurance yearly due to dramatic rise in premiums

Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Bonnie

BonnieIllawarra, NSW

Best ive come across

published

Policy very good value. Took no time at all to set up. Claims always settled quickly. Been with FRANK about 4 years. Very helpful and polite staff . Calls answered quickly

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes

Anna

AnnaSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Awful customer service. Misleading claims. Member portal does not work

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

  • Verified customer

Frank is the best health insurer

published

I have been very ill this year with cancer and Frank has been so supportive. The staff are incredibly helpful and compassionate. Thank you for your support over this last year.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Frank Health Insurance

Debbie Hall

Debbie HallSydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

The best health cover i found

published

I have found Frank Health Insurance to be a life saver! I've had quite a lot of dental work and it's really taken the financial pressure off! I have also been able to visit my podiatrist and chiro last minute without it breaking the bank.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Frank Health Insurance

Michael H.

Michael H.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified customer

The Perfect Cover.

published

My policy was easy to set up and covered everything i required. Have lodged a few claims in the last year and there has been no problems claiming, have been with Frank for 3 years. I am more than satisfied with the service and cover i get with my policy.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Frank Health Insurance


Jula

JulaHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Genuine Health Insurance

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle Parent Family
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Frank Health Insurance


M McKillop

M McKillopSydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

The best health fund I have been a member of yet.

published

Consistently exceeds expectations with the rebates I get on allied health. Have not yet used it with in patient services. Slightly disappointed when I realised there is no naturopathy cover.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Frank Health Insurance


helen.garske

helen.garskeNorthern Region, NSW

Well worth the money

published

I did not realise I was entitled to a payment for medication upon leaving hospital. I am very satisfied with the service and the over the phone assistance given to me

Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital Only
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Denise

DeniseGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Fills all my needs

published

My policy was set up with CS and I feel I get value for money. I have been with Frank nearly 3 years and couldn’t be happier. I have lodged claims without any problems.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Page 1 of 25

Questions & Answers

Christine W

Christine Wasked

We have been with Frank for 3 years and they have been very professional when ever I need to find out anything to do with our policy and claims would recommend them to anyone. The only thing I don't know is if our policy is from January to December or does it restart from financial year.

1 answer
k.pringle
k.pringle

Hi....well i guess you are lucky. I had a terrible time with them


lisasmith

lisasmithasked

Is everyone’s excess going up by 50% on the 1st April 2019? Or just ours? Friends with different providers are not experiencing an increase.

2 answers
Kerry Edwards
Kerry Edwards

yes from the first of April

Frank Health Insurance
Frank Health Insurance FFrank Health Insurance

Hi Lisa,

I can't speak for all health insurers, but as I understand it a large portion of providers are electing to increase the excess level on certain policies. The reason that Frank has chosen to increase the excess level, is that we are committed to keeping premiums as low as possible. Generally speaking, a higher excess means a lower premium!

Thanks for getting in touch.

Zac - Team Frank


Amrie

Amrieasked

Hi, if i was to transfer over to frankinsurance from defence health does the wait period still apply for transfers? Thank you

3 answers
Kerry Edwards
Kerry Edwards

yes

David Flint
David Flint

Ask Frank, they may have a no wait clause or the like which may be beneficial.

Frank Health Insurance
Frank Health Insurance FFrank Health Insurance

Hi Amri,
Thanks for your question.
When you transfer to Frank, we will honour any waiting periods you have already served with your current fund for a similar level of cover as long as you have not had a gap longer than 30 days in between health funds.
Regardless of the level of extras cover you have with them, we will give you continuity of cover, it will only depend on how long you have held your cover with them that may have an impact. The hospital cover is different, however, if you transfer to Frank on a higher level of cover than what you held previously, you will have waiting periods for the procedures that you were not previously covered for.

If you have any further questions I would suggest contacting us via phone, web chat or email our contact information can be located here https://www.frankhealthinsurance.com.au/contact.
Regards,
Melanie
Team Frank


Get an answer from our members and Frank Health Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.