52ALDI Petrol Mower

ALDI Petrol Mower

 Verified
52ALDI Petrol Mower
2.9

274 reviews

PositivevsNegative
43%12%45%
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • See all
    Thumbnail
Product is used
  • Daily
  • Weekly
  • Occasionally
Build Quality
3.0
Value for Money
3.3
Ease of Use
3.3
Cleaning & Maintenance
3.5
Noise Level
3.3
Safety
3.6
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
2.9
Fuel Efficiency
3.6

Reviews

274 reviews
Tony K
Tony KSouthwest, VIC3 posts
  Ferrex 173cc 20" Petrol Mower

Purchased mower recently a Ferrex Motor Mower, so far I would recommend it to anybody

The only problem I found were the Drive Wheels slipped when the grass was wet. Show details
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Patrick C.
Patrick C.Illawarra, NSW
  Petrol Mower

Rubbish product with rubbish customer service

Absolute rubbish, self drive system stopped working after 1 year of light use. The key start function has also stopped working and the mower is now blowing smoke, I’ve been told the carburettor needs to be repaired/replaced. I cannot get in contact with Aldi or Scheppach to rectify any of the issues even though it should still be under warranty. $400 dollars I guess you get what you pay for. Wouldn’t buy anything like it again from Aldi Show details
Ease of Use
NDH
NDHGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  Ferrex 173cc 20" Petrol Mower

Don’t buy

No clear assembly instructions, after referring few youtube videos, got it assembled and petrol/oil filled. Purchased this on 17 Feb 2024, installed on 13 April, used on 14 April for 10 mins, after a short break restarted the work; the engine blew and now not starting, something major issue with this piece, great that no injury as engine cover cracked with some noise! Strange! Show details
Noise Level
Colin H.
Colin H.Perth, WA
  Ferrex 173cc 20" Petrol Mower

Cut short, mower to rubbish in no time

Only used the mower a few times and then the pull start stopped working, as in would not engage with the motor. pulled it to pieces and found the plastic housing that holds the inertia tags was broken.
After reading other posts wont even bother wasting my time to fix. This is not a mower any more its now a piece of rubbish, thanks for adding to the worlds waste pile Aldi. The manufacturer should be charged for pollution. I wonder where it was made ?? good different !! Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Phil
PhilWide Bay-Burnett, QLD2 posts
  Ferrex Ninja 224cc

I think it’s a great mower

Been a great mower, back wheels are getting a bit wobbly, but very happy with it overall Show details
Ease of Use
Fuel Efficiency
Paul
PaulDarling Downs, QLD6 posts
  Ferrex 173cc 20" Petrol Mower

Aldi Ferrex Petrol mower 173 cc ,20 " cut

This is a great mower and works every time , but the only downfall is the exhaust is slowly melting the side shut flap which is in picture , the design needs to change that part and not be made out of plastic , otherwise it is an excellent mower . I got a replacement mower from Aldi under Warranty and this one has had an engine change ,the exhaust is further forward and it doesn't burn the plastic Shute, so the original one did have a fault but since been rectified Show details ·  1
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Fuel Efficiency
  • Thumbnail
Planes Trains & D.
Planes Trains & D.3 posts
  Petrol Mower

You get what you pay for I guess

Purchased 17th Feb 2024, I agree with Rob.
Silly plastic handle fixings and instructions.
Starts ok but cuts out in less than 1minute,
fresh petrol, fresh oil, seems to be a fuel breather issue,
But if it doesn't run straight out of the box
I really don't have the inclination to fiddle with it and its going back today. Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Rob
Rob2 posts
  Ferrex 173cc 20" Petrol Mower

Disappointing instructions

Ferrex petrol mower on sale 17th February 2024. Assembly of handle instructions not clear. Handle flops around. Unable to use as is. No rating until assembly worked out.
Handle worked out. Mower awkward to use especially in small area. Catcher flimsy but not necessary. Clean function is good. Show details
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Murphy
Murphy
  Ferrex 173cc 20" Petrol Mower

Aldi ferrex lawn mower

Love this lawnmower doing it's job well it's a bargain we can't complain ☺️
Bernie
BernieGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC2 posts
  Ferrex 173cc 20" Petrol Mower

The instructions for putting the handle are useless

Also I find the self propelled too strong for me and no indication how to vary it. Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Shanlin82
Shanlin82South East Queensland, QLD12 posts
  Ferrex Ninja 224cc
Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Fuel Efficiency
  • Thumbnail
Malcolm M.
Malcolm M.South East Queensland, QLD5 posts
  Ferrex Ninja 224cc

electirc start not working pull start only where is start motor

electric start not going only just a click have to use pull start and cannot buy new blades any where tell me where Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Paul
Paul10 posts
  Verified Ferrex 173cc 20" Petrol Mower

SELF PROPELLED ;; less than $300 What a bargain

So happy with this little beauty , I have a large block so need the self propelled version and it works like a dream. The price is amazing compared to Bunnings and it comes with a 3 year warranty. There were no problems assembling it as basically just hd to attach the handle and off I went.
Cleaning was easy as there is a hose attachment for cleaning un der the machine.
Great product at a great price. Show details
Noise Level
Fuel Efficiency
  • Thumbnail
Wally D.
Wally D.2 posts
  196cc 18" Electric Start 4-Stroke Petrol Lawn Mower

works great i got wiring t5o switch broken ,my fault

is there any spare parts availabe .the electric start switch an key' Show details
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Alex B.
Alex B.3 posts
  Ferrex 17" 132cc Petrol Mower

My lawn mower is the worst lawn mower I have ever bought

Can you buy a new starter mechanism mine busted thanks Show details
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency

Questions & Answers

Helen M.
Helen M. · Ferrex 173cc 20" Petrol Mower (Feb 2023)

How do you adjust the engine speed as advised for connecting hose to spray under.

Newmo
Newmo · Petrol Mower

I purchased an Aldi self propelled petrol mower but it does not seem to cut the lawn well, I used to get one to two catchers from each lawn and now I am lucky to get an inch of grass in the catcher even at lowest setting

Peter L.
Peter L. · Gardenline 196cc Self Propelled Electric Start 4-Stroke Petrol Lawn Mower (Aug 2018) (NSW, QLD, & ACT only)

How can I control the speed of the self propulsion mechanism. It travels too fast for tight turning but I can't find any lever or such to slow it down or make it freewheeling.
Peter, Canberra.

See all ALDI Petrol Mower questions

Details

Compare all ALDI Petrol Mower listings
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $249$399$299$149
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesFoldable Handle and Self-PropelledMulching Capability, Quick-Start Motor, Self-Propelled and Side DischargeDeck Clean-out Port, Mulching Capability, Quick-Start Motor and Side DischargeFoldable Handle
Catcher Type RigidRigidRigidRigid
Catcher Capacity65 L65 L55 L55 L
Cutting Deck MaterialPlasticAluminium AlloySteelSteel
Cutting Width508 mm530 mm455 mm460 mm
Number of Blades42
Weight33.5 kg39 kg43.65 kg35 kg
Special Buy Dates
  • 23 Feb 2023
  • 31 Aug 2019
  • 10 Oct 2020
  • 18 Sep 2021
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)7 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameFerrex 224cc 4-stroke
Engine Type4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke
Engine Displacement173 cc224 cc196 cc161 cc
Release date
Discontinuation date

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

©  ProductReview.com.au Pty. Ltd. All Rights Reserved. General disclaimer: All third party trademarks, images and copyrights on this page are used for the purpose of comparative advertising, criticism or review. This is a public forum presenting user opinions on selected products and businesses, and as such the views expressed do not reflect the opinion of ProductReview.com.au. Further details in the disclaimer.