??!
42 photos
ALDI Petrol Mower

See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Great value for money

Great value for money.

Engine starts first go everytime

Self propelled works well. Maybe a touch slow but that's no drama.

Feels well designed.

Catch entrance is less prone to clogging up with wet grass. Atleast compared to my old mower.

7 year warranty is supported by a local mower store. All spare parts are available through aldi. Part Numbers supplied in hand book.

Purchased in September 2019 at ALDI for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly

Green colour - 139cc Gardenline Petrol Lawn Mower (not self propelled)

This is the Green colour 'Gardenline Essentials' mower from Aldi November 2015.
Similar to other reviews - there are some good and bad points.

Positives are :
1. Cheapest in the market - it cost $139
2. Easy to start - usually starts first go! And still running smoothly after 4 years
3. Perfectly reliable - no mechanical problems at all
4. Easy to use Plastic (not fabric) catcher - more durable
5. Plenty of power for most medium size yards
6. 3-year warranty - fantastic piece-of-mind!
7. It cuts the grass!
8. Only cost $139!!!

Negatives:
1. The grass chute gets clogged if the grass is very long, or if the grass is damp
2. Works best on the highest grass-cutting setting - lower/shorter cuts makes the mower hard to push or it digs into the turf
3. If your turf is very soft underfoot, the front of the mower can dig into the ground - previous reviews have said the same characteristic
4. The paint peels off/chips off over time, exposing bare steel. It wasn't powder-coated at the factory.
5. Should last 10-15 years for small/medium yards - whereas a Victa 2-Stroke will probably last 20+ years!

So, I see this mower ideal for a person on a budget - basically it has 80% of the capability of a Honda/Victa mower for 25% of the price!

It isn't perfect, but if you can put up with the chute getting clogged, or sometimes being hard to push on soft turf, then it'll be a wise purchase.

Purchased in November 2015 at ALDI for $139.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally

The fuel cap is a wrong design. The replacement fail within 3 months again.

At 11th/Sep/2018 I purchased this Aldi Lawn Mower (61866) MS196-52E with electric start and self propelled. Although it is a heavy mower, but I love the electric start makes so easy to start the engine. Unfortunately after 3 months the plastic fuel cap seems to be cracked and broken due to the chemical reaction with fuel so i rang the warranty guy and he quickly send me a replacement for the fuel cap.

However an other 4 months passed the cap fail again. Between May~June 2019 I tried all i can do by calling, sending emails, write them a letter trying to tell them the replacement is also a faulty unit. But this time i can't get any help, no one is able to answer my question. There is a lady told me that they will call me back but that was 2 weeks ago and i am still waiting someone to help me at August 2019.....

If the fuel cap is not a problem i should give it a 5 stars review, however it is now a big problem.

Purchased in September 2018 at ALDI for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally

The shroud cover along the mower is hitting the blade after its first mow

Burns through Oil like no tomorrow, the metal shroud is so thing it gets bent easily and it hitting the blade, lost the receipt so cant get it fixed under warranty.

Purchased in December 2018 for $134.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally

does the job

cheap and easy to use with great options like mulch attachments etc had it for over a year now never had any problems love the key start never fails would buy again

Purchased in January 2017 at ALDI for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally

Poor Design and quality

Less than 7 months, self propeller stopped working and support says it's not a warranty item. The service cost is $ 64, not listed in the manual as a serviceable item. Machine was only used less than 2 operating hours ! Seems to be very unreliably and not cost effective.
Machine is very heavy and hard to manoeuvre without the self propeller. Grass catcher is not strong and tend to fall when fully filled, but it's large enough. Few times electric start did not work due to flooding.
However it's cheap for the functions it has. I guess this is what to expect when there is no reputation for reliability and good built quality. Just gave it a try to support new product, but will never buy any gradenline products and disappointing with support staff where they don't have much interest to retain customers.

Purchased in October 2018 for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally

I fined it good really

Easy to start easy to maneuver it did lack little power and only 2 blade was not best idea I prefer 4 blades if your not to fussed by much I recommend this mower. Good price.

Purchased in March 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly

Please don't buy it

Please don't buy any electrical or mechanical stuff from Aldi if doesn't last more than a year, my lawn mower is faulty in 8 months time, when i reported to customer service they told me some one will call me but it never happened, please don't waste your money for Aldi products, pay bit more and buy quality stuffs it will last longer.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally

Grass collects in entrance to catcher

Bought the 196cc unit on 2 March 2019. Not too difficult to put together. Used it for the first time on 24 March.

First problem was the front wheels kept digging in making it almost impossible to push the unit forward so I had to raise the level by 2 notches to overcome this

Then I noticed that the cut grass kept being left on the lawn and on removing the catcher found that it was almost empty but the grass was all clogged in the entrance to the catcher. The opening from mower to catcher seems too small. Very poor design.

Had to keep lifting the rear flap and clearing the shute in order for the catcher to fill. A real pain. Also, every time you do this the engine shuts off as you have to release the throttle lever to use both hands to open the rear flap and clear the blockage. Thank you for the battery start.

Pull start was also very effective - took absolutely no effort at all.

The hose cleaning attachment that came with the unit does not seem to sit on the cleaning nipple. Had to hold it in place.

Will give it another go when the grass is dry before deciding if I take it back for a refund.

Purchased in March 2019 at ALDI for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used: Occasionally

Terrible

I paid $299 for this mower in Feb this year, charged starter battery for 5 & half hours and when fully charged fitted battery to mower, mower wouldn't elect start. Started mower by pull rope but mower ran very roughly, motor governor erractic and engine speed alternating high & low constantly.
Also fuel tank was leaking petrol which is very dangerous. Never got to test mower on grass.
I have a Aldi petrol blower & whipper snipper, and for domestic use I have found them to be great
The mower was returned for a full refund and in my opinion don't buy one.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level

Give it a miss

I have been mowing my backyard for many years and my mower was getting tired so when I saw Aldi advertise this Mower I got it. Today I used it for the first time and it started well using the battery/starter as well as the recoil hand start. I set the height and when I pushed it, I noticed it dipping down at the front consequently digging into the grass. The adjusting brace between the front and rear wheels were different so I checked the underneath and found everything in order except for the design is incorrect allowing the front wheels to dip. As a Motor Mechanic I can see the changes required.

Purchased in March 2019 for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency

After 1 Hour the Front Wheel Lever came off. It raises and lowers the deck

It could be trouble. After 1 hour the Front Wheel Pitch level LEVER came off. Dont know the E clip size No manual parts book.
The Catcher is Difficult to Clip on and does not catch very well.. Very Akward indeed

Purchased in March 2019 for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly

Terrible

Many faults compared with Australian mowers but never seen what happened yesterday on any mower. I have been mowing 50 years.. This mower was found on the street, as the original purchaser threw it away after one use. yesterday mowing the verge ,left front wheel went into a small whole near the gutter. see photo of the result.

Purchased in December 2018 at ALDI for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally

Still unsure if I made the right choice

At face value it seems like a decent mower, but a lot of small flaws add up to a terrible mower. The biggest fault is that the catcher doesn’t fill up properly. It will start dropping clumps of grass when the catcher is barely a quarter full. The electric start is great and the battery lasts for quite a while but a big problem is that the key barrel is poor quality and it’s kept running in the off position a few times now. Because of the catcher issue I’m forced to use it with mulching attachments instead which isn’t too bad but a frustrating compromise.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Give this mower a miss.

So far the motor works well and the electric start makes life easy, the blades cut well, the self drive operates well. but the catcher is terrible. The catcher keeps dropping off the back of the mower even with little or no grass in the catcher. Do yourself a favour and give this mower a miss.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Garden line Aldi mower 196cc

I bought this gardenline mower last year , I have to be very honest with other people who buy this product

“Please do not buy “

This is horrible mower, since new I haven’t fin cutting grass at once , it runs for 5 min and stops and won’t re start. I chean air filters, I clean choke doesn’t start. Very frustrating and won’t buy any of gardenline product ever in my life . One day I will take this outside Aldi and leave it there. Such a waste of money

Date PurchasedOct 2017

From bad to worse - given time it will fail you!!

OK bought this mower 22 months ago. Already had the throttle lever replaced twice.
Now it stops after about 1/3 of the lawn being mowed (not that big a lawn - on a quarter acre block). Not sure why -over heats?? Starts again the next day.
Runs quite roughly - checked oil is fine. Filter been cleaned.
Has probably had at most 40 hours of use. (Surely doesn't need service that soon)
Maybe it needs spark plugs checking (I can't do that) but really for the hassle it's given me I recommend buying a better quality mower.

The grass catcher doesn't fit neatly on, the design is very poor.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Just Perfect

Having bought an Aldi's Gardenline Petrol Mower last year, I can honestly say that I am completely satisfied with its performance. Our lawn is a considerable size and the mower never falters: its starts immediately, cuts beautifully and the catcher is more than adequate. Would I recommend this product. Absolutely!

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Broken belt Bill T

Self propelled drive belt broke as the tension spring came off. Awaiting a reply from Scheppach. Too hard to push without self propel only used twice on residential lawn. Looks like a common fault. No answer as yet probably all on Christmas holidays. Had a previous model for 8 years with no problems.
Bll T

Date PurchasedOct 2018
2 comments
Here i am on 23 Jan still awaiting promised new belt , contacted them or tried to 5 times plus Aldi twice Did manage to talk to someone last week who said it would be sent Express post straight away.Express post from where????Belt arrived today 26/1. Now to fit it

If it breaks down, don't expect help

Purchased the self-propelled push start Gardeline mower in late August. The drive belt continually jumps off, sometimes at the front (easy to get back on), but the last time it jumped off at the gearbox, which is impossible to put back on,and a tension spring jumps off as well. I have been trying to get this fixed by going through Scheppach (Gardenline support) since October, but I only get the run around and no information out of them. Nobody I talk to is allowed to make a decision, and when the manager calls me all I get is "Oh, it's a common problem, it's easy to fix" (which it is not). After calling Aldi directly and demanding a full refund, all they do is get Scheppach to call you back, and the merry-go-round starts all over again. I finally spoke to one person who informed me that the nearest service agent is almost an hour drive away from where I live, but he was unable to authorise a service booking, so his boss would call me back, which he never did.

Be very wary of buying Gardenline products.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

where is the spark plug on the DM46P-DO140 mower?
No answers

Where can I purchase a air filter for a 196cc gardenline mower?
No answers

Gx173 gardenline lawn mower will not turn over --battery is charged?
No answers

Details

ALDI Ferrex Ninja 224cc Self Propelled Electric Start Petrol Lawn Mower (Aug 2019)ALDI Gardenline 196cc 18" Electric Start 4-Stroke Petrol Lawn Mower (Mar 2019)ALDI Gardenline 196cc Self Propelled Electric Start 4-Stroke Petrol Lawn Mower (Aug 2018) (NSW, QLD, & ACT only)ALDI Gardenline 173cc 18" Electric Start 4-Stroke Petrol Lawn Mower (Feb 2018)ALDI Gardenline 196cc Self Propelled Electric Start 4-Stroke Petrol Lawn Mower (Aug 2018) (VIC, SA, & WA only)ALDI Gardenline 161cc Petrol Lawn Mower (Sep 2018)ALDI Self Propelled 140cc 4-Stroke Petrol Lawn Mower (Aug 2013, Mar 2016, Feb 2017)ALDI Gardenline 21" Self Propelled Stack & Store 4-Stroke Petrol Lawn Mower (Oct 2017) (QLD, SA, & WA only)ALDI Gardenline 21" Self Propelled Electric Start 4-Stroke Petrol Lawn Mower (Oct 2017) (VIC & NSW only)ALDI Gardenline 141cc Petrol Mower (Aug 2017)ALDI 99cc Petrol Mower (Oct 2012, Oct 2013, Oct 2014)ALDI Gardenline 139cc Petrol Mower (Nov 2015, Oct 2016)ALDI Gardenline Self Propelled 190cc 4-Stroke Petrol Lawn Mower (Aug 2014, Aug 2015, Aug 2016)ALDI Self Propelled 4 Stroke 158cc Petrol Mower (Aug 2011, Aug 2012)
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $399$299$399$299$399$139$299$399$399$139$139$139$399$379
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesMulching Capability, Quick-Start Motor, Self-Propelled and Side DischargeMulching Capability and Side DischargeMulching Capability, Quick-Start Motor, Self-Propelled and Side DischargeMulching Capability, Quick-Start Motor and Side DischargeMulching Capability, Quick-Start Motor, Self-Propelled and Side DischargeFoldable HandleMulching Capability and Self-PropelledFoldable Handle, Mulching Capability, Self-Propelled and Side DischargeDeck Clean-out Port, Mulching Capability, Quick-Start Motor, Self-Propelled and Side DischargeFoldable HandleFoldable HandleFoldable Handle, Mulching Capability, Quick-Start Motor, Self-Propelled and Side DischargeSelf-Propelled
Catcher Type RigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidRigidCollapsibleRigidRigid
Catcher Capacity65 L55 L60 L55 L65 L55 L60 L70 L60 L55 L60 L
Cutting Deck MaterialAluminium AlloySteelSteelSteelSteelSteelSteelSteelSteelSteel
Cutting Width530 mm455 mm520 mm460 mm530 mm460 mm480 mm533 mm533 mm460 mm400 mm400 mm480 mm
Height of Cut30 mm to 75 mm17 mm to 70 mm30 mm to 75 mm
Number of Blades424242444
Weight39 kg40 kg48 kg43 kg35 kg35 kg43 kg35 kg35 kg38 kg
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine Displacement224 cc196 cc196 cc173 cc196 cc161 cc140 cc163 cc196 cc141 cc99 cc139 cc190 cc158 cc
BrandBriggs & StrattonBriggs & StrattonBriggs & Stratton
Engine Type4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke
Engine NameFerrex 224cc 4-strokeBriggs & Stratton 4-Stroke 140cc E-SeriesBriggs & Stratton 675EX Series
Release dateAug 2019Mar 2019Aug 2018Feb 2018Aug 2018Sep 2018Aug 2013Oct 2017Oct 2017Aug 2017Oct 2012Nov 2015Aug 2014Aug 2011
Discontinuation dateSep 2019Mar 2019Aug 2018Feb 2018Aug 2018Sep 2018Feb 2017Oct 2017Oct 2017Aug 2017Oct 2014Oct 2016Aug 2016Aug 2012

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.