??!
1 photo
GIO Home and Contents

GIO Home and Contents

2.0 from 127 reviews

Reviews

2.0

127 reviews
5
(24)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(92)
Previous
Next
Lisam

Lisam

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Cancelled without being informed after 26 years

published

Got a renewal notice this year so it was not even marked on record that I took my complaint about their shocking behaviour last year to a regulator. lost a thirty year customer dye to cancelling my cover because they didnt have my New address instead of using the correct phone number or email to contact me. Their excuse was i had a preference for mail contact. Right. also mixed up correspondence from A year prior, cancelling again due to unfixed damage that had been fixed and which They acknowledged had been fixed and was on record as being so. The worst i e ever dealt with.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeVilla
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Kim Thoa B.

Kim Thoa B.

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

A company that help others during a pandemic

published

I called up GIO to tell ask if they have any financial relief for people whom effected by covid-19 and they gave me 3 month off, very unexpected thank you!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
LW

LWSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

No reward for loyalty

published

GIO thought it was fine to charge me for insurance they weren't willing to offer me. I had kept my home contents insurance with GIO for 6 consecutive years. I was transferred to the south coast for work and was organising my move at the end of 2019. When the bushfires struck GIO refused to cover my contents due to an embargo on my new postcode despite the fact that I was an existing customer. They were happy for me to keep paying, but couldn't actually tell me when they would lift to embargo and be able to offer me cover. I will never insure with GIO again.

Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how GIO Home and Contents compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
pkon

pkonSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Victim of crime: claim experience

published

My 75 year old mother's fence was rammed by a stolen car at 3am in the morning. Terrified but not hurt. Police attended but the driver had run off. We have a Police reference number and the rego of the stolen car but naturally, we don't know if the driver has been identified and even if we did, we would not know who it is. So, a loyal customer, a pensioner and a victim of crime has to fork out $600 she can't spare for GIO to "investigate" and then decide if they should refund the excess. OMG! Really GIO, shame. On the plus side, the person who too my call was excellent, sympathetic and genuinely concerned for my mum's welfare. Five stars for him and minus 4 for the company. Peter K

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
mickscott

mickscottHunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Worst insurance ever

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateFebruary 2020
See all answers
Larraine

LarraineSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Have had no trouble at all

published

I have been with gio with a very bad car accident we had and I thought they were great and have just had a claim with flooring and again they were great have had no problems at all

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
australia

australiaaustralia nsw

  • 19 reviews
  • 9 likes

Totally Incompetent

published

I phoned GIO on behalf of a friend, requesting the Home & Contents Insurance Policy PDS to be forwarded.

D.O.B. of the recipient was requested prior to it being issued. When I questioned this, I was then advised it could not be forwarded unless a quote was also issued.

I was speechless!!!

A potential client needs to review the PDS BEFORE a quote, to ascertain whether GIO's policy suits their requirement, (their advts. also advocate this).

This has cost GIO 2 potential clients.

Their attitude is beyond belief.

Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Katharine

KatharineGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Does not even deserve 1 star!!

published

This company is absolutely useless, and that is putting it politely. Workers are clearly incompetent. Nobody gets back to you when they say they will, and we still waiting on damage to our roof and ceiling as a result of a severe jail storm in January to be fixed!! Meanwhile, we have water coming through the ceiling in all rooms whenever it rains! Stay away from this company.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeTownhouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
See all answers
B F.

B F.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Two full months and cannot reach them - with rooms out of commission

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateFebruary 2020
See all answers
2 comments
B F.
B F.
B F.
B F.
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how GIO Home and Contents compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
PopHi

PopHi

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

They do not pay claims

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers
POOR QUALITY REVIEW

POOR QUALITY REVIEWmelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

How Do Insurance Get Away With Profiteering!

published

Beware when adding your details. They already use your address in their database.
When you have a policy with them your insurance quotes will be three times higher then a new policy if the new quote does not have that address in there system. How can you charge a person $1000 for their house insurance one year and the next year quote $4000 without having claimed. Don't be fooled by the system. How they get away with this fraudulant behaviour is barbaric. Also make sure you know which insurance company owns or the other. Good when you have to shop around for quotes.

Coco-Bear

Coco-BearMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Poor customer service

published

I purchased a policy after receiving a quote and correcting errors made by GIO. I hope they are listening to the conversations that are recording for quality assurance purposes.
Called back to confirm they had my correct email address, which they didn't, now corrected. Asked for the documents to be re sent. Receive an email a few minutes later with policy documents but no cost, price, receipt or proof of payment. Rang again and told it will take 5 working days to send a receipt. What a load of crap. Does anyone make a purchase of $1,200 or more and not receive a receipt immediately? Will be cancelling the contract tomorrow.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Paying a fortune for insurance without really having any insurance

published

We thought we were covered for everything with GIO, we pay a ridiculous amount more in premiums a year than other companies charge thinking we were covered for everything and would be looked after if the need arises, HOW WRONG WE WERE!!!!!!. Put in a claim in which there was mimable damage at the time but after nearly 4mths the damage has gotten worse and repair cost increased significantly with no resolution in site from GIO home repair team, unfortunately the only way l found to get any progression what so ever was go use the GIO complaints line. Still waiting for a call back from week ago. Dont waist your time money or energy with GIO

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateMay 2019
See all answers

totally dysfunctional claims department and GIO home repair Team Terrible time wasting experience

published

6 weeks delay to replace skylight dome , water damaged attic flooring and electrician , small claim around $4,500 two days work at the outside . home repair team hopeless they will not answer emails

Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJune 2019
GailP

GailP

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

28 years of cover

published

We have had our house and contents insured with GIO for about 25 years and have had several claims all have been resolved in a reasonable time frame and to our satisfaction with minimum fuss. Workmanship has been very good on most occasions. Policy price has certainly increased over the years but isn't excessive.

Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how GIO Home and Contents compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cair

CairSydney, NSW

Superior service in every way

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Property TypeTownhouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateDecember 2018
See all answers
Stephen

StephenSydney, NSW

Integrity of gio home insurance

published

My parents made a claim for hail damage in December as of 9/4/19 gio contractors have completed no progress the 500 dollars access has been paid the start and completion date has long past many phone calls to the builder and gio show a lack of sincerity and integrity if this is not address in 7 days legal action will be pending

Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateDecember 2018
See all answers
K.....

K.....

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Take excess quick. Repair slow!

published

Made a claim in early January. Excess taken immediately. Claim Accepted. Nothing done almost April. No aircon for most of summer. Thanks very much! Not even excuses just no action.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJanuary 2019
See all answers
Mouse

MouseSydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 7 likes

GIO claim service was friendly, proactive and helpful.

published

Our home was significantly damaged after the Berowra Heights 20/12/2018 hail storm.
GIO was friendly, proactive and helpful - During the claim process.
The face to face presentation organised by Suncorp, for hail damage affected customers, was excellent.
I have spoken to a number of Berowra residents affected by the hail storm. The Suncorp customers I have spoken with seem happy. There are a number of non Suncorp customers, quite unhappy.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateDecember 2018
See all answers
Karen E Norman

Karen E NormanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Disgusted and frustrated with process

published

We have been insured with GIO for over 20 years with numerous motor vehicle and house policies. We recently had a water leak in our balcony. I had to pay the $1000 excess for them to tell me that they would only repair part of the job which was worth under $1000. Partially accepted the claim?? The balcony became dangerous as they took so long to assess it. I had to have it staked and remove tiles to assess that it was not due to poor tile maintenance as they suggested. After 2 months they still have not decided what to do. Will be taking this to fair trading.

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

mickscott

mickscottasked

I would be very interested to hear from somebody at GIO about their reviews here and what I consider a very poor rating of 2 stars from 122 reviews . Does this even concern anybody at GIO ? It concerns me to think my family has been paying thousands of dollars every year for the last 45 years for what seems to be second rate insurance . Very disturbing for a staunch loyal 45 year customer .

1 answer
Larraine
Larraine

I have just had contents ins claim and had no trouble they were very easy to deal with and have settled claim with no trouble at all

Daphne E.

Daphne E.asked

I submitted a very important question this morning and submitted my question. Have not seen any
reply. Daphne

1 answer
PopHi
PopHi

What was the important question?

Michelle D.

Michelle D.asked

Does contents insurance cover damage by someone's horse to anothers persons car.

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Check with GIO

Get an answer from our members and GIO representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.