??!
1 photo
GMHBA Health Insurance

GMHBA Health Insurance

4.2 from 287 reviews

Health Insurance Guide for 2020

The decision to take up private health insurance can be a very involved process, and the factors that go into your decision will be unique to you. Your first dip into the policy selection process can be pretty overwhelming, so this guide will help lay everything out for you as plainly as possible to get you on your way.

Read now

Reviews

4.2

287 reviews
5
(165)
4
(64)
3
(24)
2
(9)
1
(25)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (73)
  • Transparency
    4.1 (62)
  • Customer Service
    4.3 (72)
Previous
Next
Jann

JannHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Policy compares well but dodgy accounting problems

published

Reasonably priced policy. We usually pay annually, but with Covid issues, decided to go monthly. That got annoying, so we enquired re paying the balance of the year i.e. 9 months. Following month we recieved a dishonour fee from the bank. GMHBA had tried to withdraw 12 months payment for 9 months cover. Finally rectified that issue and paid for 1 month. The next month, same thing...dishonour fee, attempted payment for 12 months, this time for 8 months cover. We demanded they compensate both dishonour fees...so far only recieved one. Accounts dept need to let the left hand know what the right hand is doing. They get one more chance.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
George D.

George D.Victoria

  • 2 reviews

Perfect for a retired couple living in regional Victoria

published

Great policy at highest level without pregnancy cover. Local eyewear outlet is excellent. Recent knee replacement covered without excess for surgeon. Has dental affiliates too. I recomme d this product highly.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified customer

insurance ok private hospital In town is rubbish and and no other choice

published

It’s ok good there is a branch in town for us oldies otherwise it doesnt matter all Same or similar prices no one likes talking to a robot so that’s my waver

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Siew-Hoon

Siew-HoonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified customer

An expensive necessity

published

Compared to other policies, at last review , it appears as good as or better than others . I have been with GMHBA for approximately 40 years and have found my dealings better than satisfactory

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

creecy

creecySouthwest, VIC

  • Verified customer

We are happy

published

It is a local fund
The profits could/should keep our premiums lower

The phone system is slow ,which can be annoying, an update colin breed slow phone

Update on the net would be good

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Denny

DennySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified customer

Great policy

published

Policy is good value for money
We have lodged claims and refund was speedy and easily lodged over the phone
Have been with this company for 2 years and have not had any worries

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Shaw M

Shaw MSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

A very good and useful support.

published

# We have been with GMHBA for nearly 8 years !
# We were assisted in setting up our policy by a broker and it has been very good value.
# All claims have been met very promptly and all queries answered efficiently.

Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Margaret

MargaretSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified customer

People need to have a good Health Fund

published

I have found over the years that GMHBA has given good value. However on the prognosis that you only get what you pay for I have always had top hospital cover that has worked fairly well for me. I am not sure how long I have been with GMHBA but is many years.

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Patto

PattoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Have always felt comfortable with it

published

Amember from the 1970's (IOOF-GMHBA) My family-Daughter's family loyal 50 yrs. Meant nothing.Daughter recently refused support-operation deemed not covered. Someone in ‘Authority’ could've shown compassion. It's about people Not money

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lynne

Lynne

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Yes, GMHBA is very necessary.

published

Yes, I feel my policy is good value, it would surely have been easy to set up, I have been with GMHBA since I first started working, I have lodged claims over the years and they were resolved immediately,

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Jan

JanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

We have no problems at all with GMHBA. Continue the great service.

published

We have been able to put in claims for Dental, Optical and pharmacy receipts. All claims have been received with GMHBA with immediate results. We have been with GMHBA for 2 years and very happy with continued service.

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

  • Verified customer

Happy

published

We have no problems with GMHBA
All claims have been processed at hospital level. Had some out of pocket expenses
I like our policy as it covered us for everything but pregnancy.

Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Penelope

PenelopePerth, WA

  • Verified customer

Perfect for me & family

published

This policy is what we were looking for and unfortunately our previous fund was not as good. Claiming is easy rebates are excellent highly recommend to our friends and family

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Trevor

TrevorGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • Verified customer

We all need Hospital Benefits

published

I am about to go and see a specialist about my knee that has become very painful / arthritis over a number of years and I have been waiting for the stem cell research to be completed as I do not want a full knee construction, so I am hoping it is covered by GMHBA, as I have been a member for over 40 years.

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Keith

KeithSouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Geelong’s own, who does it very well!

published

Very happy with value, service and culture of the organisation. Always recommend. Very much part of Geelong community and supports many worthwhile endeavours. That’s all we really need to say.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ray Carroll

Ray Carroll

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Life Saver

published

Very good value.
Excellent time frame for claims.
A long, long time!
Nothing else to say at this point in time. Ridiculous to have the rule of having at least thirty words when all is covered above.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

jelborough

jelboroughSouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

very happy

published

My policy suits our needs and wants have been happy with enquires and excellent customer service regarding our claims I have a member of GMHBA my claims have had the same day turn around if not a phone call response has happened nearly all the time. I only have had an excellent experience with GMHBA

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified customer

Not sure

published

Easy to use and good to use has been easy to make an offer have been with GMA for a few years with great results and for years to come

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Bob

BobSouthwest, VIC

  • Verified customer

Great friendly detailed service provider

published

It is great value taking into account all the options & potential medical issues.
It only took days to resolve and payback the claim
I / my family have been members for 25 + Years

Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Meercat

Meercat

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Expensive but okay

published

Good staff who are always helpful. Dental cover minimal.
Would like to see a comparison with other insurance companies comparing apples with apples.
Will review costs inApril 2020 to decide on future insurance

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

john m

john masked

how much is your top hospital and silver exras cover we donot need pregnancy

2 answers
John
John

$320 amonth a couple

George D.
George D.

We pay annually and expect to pay mid 4k this year

donna M.

donna M.asked

I am looking at Hospital cover for a knee replacement. I am in the 3 year period where I can take up cover before my age is a factor. I am already a member.

1 answer
Elaine F.
Elaine F.

I had my claim made by my Surgeon - everything obviously went well as I had no contact from GMHBA and take it that they dealt with everything - other contacts with them have always been dealt with to my satisfaction.

Belinda

Belindaasked

What would the out of pocket expenses be for weight loss surgery if I had gold coverage?

2 answers
Dorothy McDonald
Dorothy McDonald

Absolutely no idea. Sorry.

Elaine F.
Elaine F.

It would be the gap between the cost of the surgery/anaesthetic and the rebate from GMHBA which could be 'nothing'.

Get an answer from our members and GMHBA Health Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.