??!
1 photo
GMHBA Health Insurance

GMHBA Health Insurance

4.2 from 263 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
148
4 star
62
3 star
22
2 star
7
1 star
24

Cassandra

CassandraSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

Great people benefits good but bumpy claims process and short staffed on phones and in claims note...

published

Great until you claim about hospital admission.....issues with item numbers
Issues charging excess where didn't apply not sure what happened....?
Great staff but multiple problems claiming - item numbers argued about with surgery
Claims Process not aligned with surgeon caused angst with parties involved
Maybe not enough technical staff for claims enquiries ?.dont know
Staff very professional esp [name removed] is amazing and [name removed] too.
But.... claims process via email very bumpy lots of swings and roundabouts but this and that....
Issues contacting with long wait times 10 day wait for claiming minimum 15-20min wait on phone. Great people. High premiums.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

I don't do reviews but they are OK

published

Only doing this to stop the annoying pop-ups that keep appearing on my machine.
You want 30 words well here goes - ten nine eight seven six five four three two one.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
RoseL

RoseL

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Health Insurance is expensive and refunds are at best average.

published

I pay for Silver + Hospital which is top cover for seniors. For my recent hospitalisation I paid an excess ($250 being half of annual excess as I've had a previous admission this year). The GAP after Medicare and Health Fund refunds for my surgeon was more than half of the fee, and the GAP after refunds for my anaethetist was more than one third of the fee.
Health Insurance Premiums have increased markedly in recent years but despite paying more the refunds are growing expotentially. It is time the Health Funds lobbied the Government for changes that see premiums increasing less and refunds increasing more.
It is becoming less attractive for me to continue being insured when Public Hospital care is free!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified customer

Happy customer

published

Can't remember when I joined, but I am more than happy with my GMHBA membership - claims are always handled promptly. My only problem is following the on line claims system so have reverted to hard copy.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance


  • Verified customer

Very Happy

published

I feel I am getting good value and making claims is very easy.
Claims are paid into my bank and very quick to resolve
I have been with GMHBA for at least 15 years

Value for Money
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance


  • Verified customer

Has been peace of mind.

published

Bit complicated - hard to follow options. Not sure any more. I am considering dropping out all together now.
Claiming is great with f to f people to help you.

Joined in 1995

Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance


Anne Veronica

Anne VeronicaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified customer

Happy but dont know how long I can afford it.

published

Fairly good. Yes
Instant hicaps
10 months this time. Previously a long time member till a new job in 1996 paid for it with MHB. Unhappy with Bupa so have returned.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance


Gerard Evans

Gerard EvansSouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

36 year member and no plans to leave

published

I have been a member of GMHBA since joining as a single in 1983. Since then my wife and children have been added and always had good cover and service

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

caterina

caterinaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified customer

Friendly staff and efficient

published

Calling GMHBA is easy. Once you get through the friendly staff help with any enquiry . They explain , advise and give you the answers to your questions. I have been with another health insurance for nearly 28 years. Since I have joined with GMHBA I actually get more rebate back and actually understand what I'm covered for. Claims are easy to process with no fuss. At the moment I am very happy with GMHBA.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim MadeYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Jeanette Ruwoldt

Jeanette RuwoldtWestern District, VIC

  • Verified customer

GMHBA - Happy to have local office to refer to..

published

Not sure it is good value. We trust GMHBA to be doing the right thing by us. Claims are always processed quickly and efficiently. We have been with GMHBA approx

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance


  • Verified customer

Great for us so far!!!

published

GMHBA has been our health insurance for over 20 years and we have been looked after well by this company. Claims are quick, easy and with no fuss. Hospital stays and other medical issues are taken care of and the staff are very caring and helpful.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance


Hot and Bothered

Hot and BotheredSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified customer

Glad we switched

published

I am very impressed with the rebates we are receiving for extras compared to the ones we were getting from our old fund. I also love the system of sending a photo of receipts to claim- so quick and easy.

Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Claim MadeYes

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance


  • Verified customer

Always there for me

published

Had a few unexpected medical issues this year and GMHBA never faulted. Cant thank them enough. My bills were paid no questions asked. I have no regret for being part of a first class insurer.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance


Jacqui

JacquiPioneer Bay

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Private healthh insurance is important to me.but it.is getting very expensive for people on the pension

published

Over a few years and I have never had a problem with claims l found gmhba very good when my husband was diagnosed with mind and I also found gmhba very caring

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Bayside

BaysideSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Health Insurance rating

published

Have been with GMHBA over 10 yrs. Hard to compare with other insurers, although I think my rate is similar to others.
I claim online and find it very easy to complete

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Stewart Liddell

Stewart LiddellGippsland, VIC

  • Verified customer

Have been behind us for many years.

published

We have been well served by our health fund over a period of approx 30 years. They have been there for us during some challenging times including current issues during the past few years.

Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance


  • Verified customer

GMHBA seems to be Made for Us

published

We are happy with our Health Fund because it meets our needs pretty well. We have kept ancilliaries cover particularly for Eye Health and Hearing issues and it has been excellent to date. We will not be changing Health Funds any time soon.
Ray and Jose Jones

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance


Kenneth Wylie

Kenneth WylieSouthwest, VIC

  • Verified customer

Retired couple

published

It is getting very expensive we have been with this company for nearly 60 years. The last claim we had was very slow nearly three months to get the refund

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance


Denise Grigg

Denise GriggCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • Verified customer

No worries

published

I think policy is quite good value all claims have been dealt with quite quickly and never seem to have had any problemshave been with Gmhba years not sure how long

Value for Money
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance


Eileen Kennedy

Eileen KennedyWestern District, VIC

  • Verified customer

Premiums keep rising and services reducing.

published

I have only used my plan for doctor visits and diagnostic testing, although I have used the extras package quite a bit. Claims are managed well at this level of us.

Value for Money
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance


Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

donna M.

donna M.asked

I am looking at Hospital cover for a knee replacement. I am in the 3 year period where I can take up cover before my age is a factor. I am already a member.

1 answer
Elaine F.
Elaine F.

I had my claim made by my Surgeon - everything obviously went well as I had no contact from GMHBA and take it that they dealt with everything - other contacts with them have always been dealt with to my satisfaction.


Belinda

Belindaasked

What would the out of pocket expenses be for weight loss surgery if I had gold coverage?

2 answers
Dorothy McDonald
Dorothy McDonald

Absolutely no idea. Sorry.

Elaine F.
Elaine F.

It would be the gap between the cost of the surgery/anaesthetic and the rebate from GMHBA which could be 'nothing'.


Isabella Yu Art

Isabella Yu Artasked

What is GMHBA dental extra? How much does it cost per year?
I seem to be paying more to my dentist, has GMHBA reduced the dental cover recently?
Can 2 people join GMHBA under the one cover and if so how is the refund calculated?

1 answer
Kim Wilson
Kim Wilson

You would need to direct these questions to GMHBA. I think that because of the 10 ofthousands of members dropping private cover the funds are paying out less so current members are finding themselves more out of pocket.


Get an answer from our members and GMHBA Health Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.