2 photos
Google Home Mini

Google Home Mini

MPNs: GA00210-AU, GA00216, GA00216-AU and 2 more
3.8 from 124 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Speakers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Google? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
James
JamesSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great only if you're prepared to subscribe to music services.

published

Sounds fine for the size and not expensive but beware if you are not prepared to pay $12 a month for subscribing to the music services.

Practically, after every song you ask to play (at Google's choice, mind you), you will be hounded time and time again by a Google message that if you wanted uninterrupted and choice of music, you will have to pay for subscription. Now that's how they make money off you.

Disappointing, if you ask me. Just get a radio, there's less interruptions.

Purchased in October 2020.

Incentivised Review No
sahil a.
sahil a.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Good but irritates alot

published

Very easy to use, just say something and 80% matches your voice and plays on TV. Specially good with newborns n toddlers n you don't have free hand to put music or tv while feeding baby so you get a help specially in countries like australia/America where you are all by urself. But cons are it goes mad somedays , doesnt listen anything properly and i get tired speaking. Otherwise its a must buy.. Google stop irritating

Purchased in April 2020 at Catch for $60.00.

Incentivised Review No

Other Speakers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Daniel J
Daniel JSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worth $0.

published

Always pushes google products even though I’ve paid for others.
Eg never plays Spotify even though I’ve set it as my default music player - always selects YouTube music then asks me to upgrade to premium.
Pretty disappointed that this is even allowed - it should be made clear to consumers that this is not a bipartisan product.

Purchased in February 2018 for $79.00.

Incentivised Review No
Speakers

Find out how Google Home Mini compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John C
John CGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Hey Google, you only get 4 stars

published

It does what it should but I don't like how it tries to push Google Assistant with everything. I know you're collecting data on everything I say but give me the option to opt-out easily.

Purchased in May 2020 at Big W for $50.00.

Incentivised Review No
Jay
JaySydney, NSW
  • 20 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Excellent product

published

Unique product. Nice and compact. The voice recognition is very advanced and responsive. Good for controlling smart devices like WIFI plugs etc . It loses one star as I am a bit uncomfortable that it stores all my voice commands and searches, breach of privacy I think. I hope it is not listening when it is OFF!!

Purchased in January 2018 at Harvey Norman for $74.00.

Incentivised Review No
Esther
EstherSydney
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Decent - but not worth Money

published

Not much use for this product besides it's voice commands. This gadget acts as a speaker and weather boy - but that is about it. There is not much else to it and after a few months there is a high possibility you will grow out of it, and it will just sit there collecting dust!

Incentivised Review No
Ivy
Ivy
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great value! Not to be afraid of smart technology!

published

Recently installed my mini. I absolutely love the morning routine. It plays the weather, news and then music on Spotify (free) for me. The quality of sound and microphone both work really well. Great value as well. I would rather spend money on Mini then any other speaker.

Incentivised Review No
Vin
VinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 30 reviews
  • 6 likes

Morning routine gadget

published

This gadget works like a news caster everyday once you greet her. It will give you the things you need based on your preferences and settings of your account. This Google Nest is very attentive once you started asking question. The speaker performance is great as well as the microphone. Highly recommended and good value for money.

  • Thumbnail
Incentivised Review No

Other Speakers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
rebecca
rebecca
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Pretty decent

published

The volume and sound quality are great, it is a nice compact size so good for taking to work with me. However sometimes it disconnects from my phone in the middle of songs and I have to reconnect a few times.

Purchased at Catch for $44.00.

Incentivised Review No
Speakers

Find out how Google Home Mini compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
sandeep a.
sandeep a.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

This is Perfect ! My go to for everything !

published

I was a bit hesitant to buy the product. But wow, the speaker quality is good and the two-way conversation with google home is seamless. I can ask it to play my NetFlix or Spotify, information about weather and any GK question.

Purchased in January 2020 at Kmart for $32.00.

Incentivised Review No
Karan
KaranSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified

It does the job!

published

I bought it from JB HiFi because there was a promotion going on I think I saved my money. The device works fine but sometimes it talks randomly without saying "OK Google" or "Hey Google" which is so weird. Sometimes it doesn't pick the voice But it talks to you like real human. I meant to say better than Siri :) I have even connected google mini with wifi light bulbs and they are working great! so I am satisfied!

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hifi Home for $45.00.

Incentivised Review No
SavvyShopper
SavvyShopperCanberra Central 2601, ACT
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Terrible product

published

Bought a home mini off google store in May last year. Worked ok for first few months and then from October started playing up. It would turn off automatically every now and then. Contact google Australia but that has been a nightmare. Countless HOURS on the phone has not got me anywhere. I still have the faulty unit and hasn’t been sorted in last 5 months! Wont recommend a google home specially buying anything from Google directly. Things would have been easier if I bought it from JB HiFi!

Purchased in April 2019 at Google Store for $79.00.

Incentivised Review No
Sandi B.
Sandi B.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Lots of fun

published

Purchased for my 10 year old son together with a smart lightglobe and he loves it. He uses it to set alarms and play ambient music before he goes to bed. He also enjoys turning lights off with it and annoying his sisters. The only downside is I get sick of hearing Hey Google! Easy to set up and very easy to use.

Purchased in January 2020 at Officeworks for $35.00.

Incentivised Review No
Emmy H.
Emmy H.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews

It's good if you feel like being lazy

published

The Google home mini is great if you can't find the tv remote so instead you ask Google to turn the tv on or off, it doesn't change the channel though, that would be good if it did. Also good if you need information quickly.

Purchased in August 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Incentivised Review No

Other Speakers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Steve1973
Steve1973Melbourne
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Can’t make calls. Can’t choose songs

published

Google Home is advertised that it allows you to make hands free calls. We tried to set this up in Google Home. Turns out this only works if you have a Telstra mobile number.

Tried to play a particular song, like advertised, and it says you need YouTube Music account to do that.

OK Google, so you want me to pay an extra $70 per month to use this $40 toy. Thanks Google.

Incentivised Review No
Speakers

Find out how Google Home Mini compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Ershad S.
Ershad S.asked

I have a large living room. Can I buy 4 or 5 minis and sync them all using a sing audio source.? I mean the same song or playlist being played in all the speakers?

No answers
Pete A.
Pete A.asked

Hey Google
When (or if) will you be able to make voice phone calls in Australia as you can in USA/Canada/UK ?
Also, , when (or if) will you be able to voice print the SHOPPING LIST ? It seems there is a way to do so with HP printers however I have a Canon.
Apart from the above I've had my mini for about a month and I seriously like it.
Regards
Pete Ashmore, Bega, Australia

No answers
Margaret N
Margaret Nasked

I don't have nbn or adsl and I usually hotspot all my devises from my mobile phone. Can I do this with the mini?

1 answer
C Nguyen
C Nguyen

Better to check with google care

See all Google Home Mini questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategorySpeakers
Replaced byGoogle Nest Mini
Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 00842776102140
  • GTIN12: 842776102430, 842776102447, 842776102454 and 842776105615
  • MPN: GA00210-AU, GA00216, GA00216-AU, GA210216BUNDLE and GG-GH-MINI-BK

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.