??!
2 photos
Google Home Mini

Google Home Mini

MPNs: GA00210-AU, GA00216, GA00216-AU and 2 more
3.9 from 120 reviews

Reviews

3.9

120 reviews
5
(33)
4
(62)
3
(9)
2
(9)
1
(7)
Previous
Next
Jay

JaySydney, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Excellent product

published

Unique product. Nice and compact. The voice recognition is very advanced and responsive. Good for controlling smart devices like WIFI plugs etc . It loses one star as I am a bit uncomfortable that it stores all my voice commands and searches, breach of privacy I think. I hope it is not listening when it is OFF!!

Purchased in January 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$74.00.

Esther

EstherSydney

  • 12 reviews

Decent - but not worth Money

published

Not much use for this product besides it's voice commands. This gadget acts as a speaker and weather boy - but that is about it. There is not much else to it and after a few months there is a high possibility you will grow out of it, and it will just sit there collecting dust!

Ivy

Ivy

  • 3 reviews

Great value! Not to be afraid of smart technology!

published

Recently installed my mini. I absolutely love the morning routine. It plays the weather, news and then music on Spotify (free) for me. The quality of sound and microphone both work really well. Great value as well. I would rather spend money on Mini then any other speaker.

Speakers

Find out how Google Home Mini compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vin

VinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 24 reviews

Morning routine gadget

published

This gadget works like a news caster everyday once you greet her. It will give you the things you need based on your preferences and settings of your account. This Google Nest is very attentive once you started asking question. The speaker performance is great as well as the microphone. Highly recommended and good value for money.

rebecca

rebecca

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Pretty decent

published

The volume and sound quality are great, it is a nice compact size so good for taking to work with me. However sometimes it disconnects from my phone in the middle of songs and I have to reconnect a few times.

Purchased at Catch for A$44.00.

sandeep a.

sandeep a.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

This is Perfect ! My go to for everything !

published

I was a bit hesitant to buy the product. But wow, the speaker quality is good and the two-way conversation with google home is seamless. I can ask it to play my NetFlix or Spotify, information about weather and any GK question.

Purchased in January 2020 at Kmart for A$32.00.

Karan

KaranSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

It does the job!

published

I bought it from JB HiFi because there was a promotion going on I think I saved my money. The device works fine but sometimes it talks randomly without saying "OK Google" or "Hey Google" which is so weird. Sometimes it doesn't pick the voice But it talks to you like real human. I meant to say better than Siri :) I have even connected google mini with wifi light bulbs and they are working great! so I am satisfied!

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hifi Home for A$45.00.

SavvyShopper

SavvyShopperCanberra Central 2601, ACT

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Terrible product

published

Bought a home mini off google store in May last year. Worked ok for first few months and then from October started playing up. It would turn off automatically every now and then. Contact google Australia but that has been a nightmare. Countless HOURS on the phone has not got me anywhere. I still have the faulty unit and hasn’t been sorted in last 5 months! Wont recommend a google home specially buying anything from Google directly. Things would have been easier if I bought it from JB HiFi!

Purchased in April 2019 at Google Store for A$79.00.

Sandi B.

Sandi B.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Lots of fun

published

Purchased for my 10 year old son together with a smart lightglobe and he loves it. He uses it to set alarms and play ambient music before he goes to bed. He also enjoys turning lights off with it and annoying his sisters. The only downside is I get sick of hearing Hey Google! Easy to set up and very easy to use.

Purchased in January 2020 at Officeworks for A$35.00.

Speakers

Find out how Google Home Mini compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Emmy H.

Emmy H.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

It's good if you feel like being lazy

published

The Google home mini is great if you can't find the tv remote so instead you ask Google to turn the tv on or off, it doesn't change the channel though, that would be good if it did. Also good if you need information quickly.

Purchased in August 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Steve1973

Steve1973Melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Can’t make calls. Can’t choose songs

published

Google Home is advertised that it allows you to make hands free calls. We tried to set this up in Google Home. Turns out this only works if you have a Telstra mobile number.

Tried to play a particular song, like advertised, and it says you need YouTube Music account to do that.

OK Google, so you want me to pay an extra $70 per month to use this $40 toy. Thanks Google.

Andrew

AndrewMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

21st century

published

I got a google home mini for Xmas.. it’s an awesome product...full of information just ask it and it gives you a reply ...a bit like the missus...welcome to the 21st century Duck rogers!!

Purchased in December 2019 at Officeworks.

gaet

gaet

  • 3 reviews

When it works its great, but.....

published

As a smart speaker alone it's pretty decent product. The sound quality is not bad for something at this size and price point. Where it has issue is its bluetooth connectivity. When I use it as a bluetooth speaker with my laptop, it will regularly drop its connection with my laptop. Sometimes it will be fine for a few hours, other times it will just drop within minutes. If you search the google support forums, you will find that its a common issue/flaw that they know about, but have yet to find a way to solving it even after all this time.

Purchased in May 2019.

Tui Strickland

Tui StricklandSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews

Can't live without it

published

I love love love this. When I want to play music all I have to say is hey Google Play YouTube and boom YouTube plays not only that it tells me the weather for today as well just something small and great

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Trish

TrishSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Google home mini

published

Great product, easy to set up, very good speaker to blue tooth your music at home, and a affordable price, can get it in other colours to match home. I give it a ten

Purchased in August 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for A$54.00.

Speakers

Find out how Google Home Mini compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DavidN

DavidNGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 83 reviews
  • 5 likes

Google Home Mini trumps Echo Dot as voice assistant with some draw backs

published

Purchased in July 2018 at Big W Retail Stores for A$45.00.

Let's be honest, this product is useless....

published

It is an egg timer. That's all.

Well over 80% of my inquiries lead to the most common response you will get - "I'm sorry, I can't help you with that, but I'm still learning...."

B.S. It is not learning. It is spying at best. And that part I don't even mind if it actually learned something from all that spying!

This device is about 10 years too early to market. It's a voice activated alarm clock and timer. That's all. Anything else it does is so mundane it lowers your IQ after listening to it.

Do yourself a favor and purchase this device after version 10.0 has been released. Right now, it's just a spying paperweight.

Purchased in April 2018.

BenMiles

BenMilesGippsland, VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • 1 like

The privacy concerns far outweigh this device's usefulness

published

Purchased at eBay for A$40.00.

reyan

reyanSouthwest, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Not just a wire tap device

published

Got my Home Mini a few weeks back, took a spot my bathroom, sound is just right for the small space and come in handy during the morning for weather and local radio streaming. I have setup some automation with light switches that work great with voice commands too.

Purchased in June 2019 for A$79.00.

Kazzie

KazzieGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great fun!!

published

Once I received my Google mini set up was super easy. Once I got it going it was super handy .sucked that if the internet was weak or off it wouldnt work

Purchased in January 2019.

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Pete A.

Pete A.asked

Hey Google
When (or if) will you be able to make voice phone calls in Australia as you can in USA/Canada/UK ?
Also, , when (or if) will you be able to voice print the SHOPPING LIST ? It seems there is a way to do so with HP printers however I have a Canon.
Apart from the above I've had my mini for about a month and I seriously like it.
Regards
Pete Ashmore, Bega, Australia

No answers
Margaret N

Margaret Nasked

I don't have nbn or adsl and I usually hotspot all my devises from my mobile phone. Can I do this with the mini?

1 answer
C Nguyen
C Nguyen

Better to check with google care

Wes

Wesasked

Hi max, you might have a couple of this going on.it could be you internet buffering so it will cut in and out on that.are you Bluetoothing it to another speaker.i have my connected to a Sony xb30 which is an amazing speaker for bass for a little unit but it does the same.iv unpaired and paired again and some times it works fine and some not.bluetoothed from my iPad and it works beautifully so I get the same as you from time to time.could also be the distance from mini to modem but again not sure.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.