??!
4 photos
Harley-Davidson Sportster

Harley-Davidson Sportster

1200 Custom, Forty Eight, Iron 883, Roadster, SuperLow and 2 more
3.9 from 29 reviews

See the Best Cruiser Bikes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
13
4 star
9
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
3

Love the whole package

published

I bought my 2005 XL 1200 Custom on a whim. Super happy with it. Great for highway jaunts as well as around town. Plenty of power and effortless torque. My wife is comfortable on the back too. Well built and solid. Handling is more than reasonable. Rear suspension could be better. Exudes smiles every time I ride it. Great vibe and character. It’s an original. Not some retro styled wanna be. I love my Ducati’s and Moto Guzzi’s, but the 1200 Custom fits right in my garage as a viable alternative when I just want to chill and just enjoy the ride. Big enough and enough power. Not so big like you’re sailing a cruise ship. I highly recommend it.

Purchased in August 2019 for $4,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Mileage 2,000 km
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers

MJR-Love To Test

MJR-Love To TestSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

1200 Custom. A Different Experience!

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Leigh Jensen

Leigh JensenPerth

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Smiles for miles

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Xin Wang

Xin WangDiamond Creek

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

there is no alternative to Harley

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Quality workmanship

published

I have problem with the ridding stability with this bike so I deside with my mechanic to take closer look and see what is wrong and we was absolutely stun how the back wheel is mouted to a main frame on this xl 1200 harley.The engeneers at Harley Davidson Joking with as .work on frame this is technical catastrophe !!! And for that money it’s a terrible job what they did!! If you don’t believe
See your self.sory bud I have to writ-it.so next time i will buy bike from company that know what they doing!!milan v.

Date PurchasedMay 2009

Carl

Carl

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Fun bikes

published

I bought this entry level XL883L Superlow Harley for riding around our property with the kids, I didn't want an expensive bike like my other Harley's so this bike has been perfect. This is only an entry level bike which I thought would be great for my sons at this stage.We ride it daily and have had it for 9 months now and like the mid mount controls for the open road

Date PurchasedJul 2017

JIM

JIMBUNDABERG

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Superlow, supervalue, superfun

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Sunset_Sam

Sunset_SamPERTH

  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

HARLEY DAVIDSON 2005 XL1200C 'Custom'

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Roley

RoleyAdelaide

  • 9 reviews
  • 13 likes

Yesteryear and nothing remarkable

published
Date PurchasedMar 2012
Sax300

Sax300Mona Vale nsw

So much fun and a joy to ride

published

Upgraded from a superlow 883
It is superior in every aspect
More comfortable, handles better, you can lean into corners with confidence
Superior blue with lots of chrome
Admiring looks and thumbs up where every I go
As a shorty, it fits me like a glove
I ride each day, commuting to the office and longer rides on weekends
Already clocked up over 2,500 kilometres

Date PurchasedOct 2016

sanshar2002

sanshar2002

  • 8 reviews
  • 12 likes

Fast and loud

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Terry

TerryAdelaide

The choice is for you to decide

published

Rod

Rod

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Just a great old school bike with a splash of modern

published

Worst bike I have ever owned

published

Bought the 2013 model harley sporster custom. Has broken down three times had the computer break down and they reset computer then riding home the computer shut itself and was replaced. This time it died again and when the fuel sensor in tank was removed it was open electrical and was broken very dangerus. This bike has only done 4200 kms and is nearly out of warranty. And showing rust. Harley did fix the problems no questions asked as they should. However very unsatisfied with this model it has some good points as a cruiser but in my opinion the quality of this bike is not great for what there worth.

MJH

MJHgold coast

The company 'Harley" are ridiculous.

published

It might be a bit late for this but, Superbrace in the States make a fork brake for your bike, and the cartridge kits are better than stock but longer forks would be the go. The Perelli tyres are unbelievable. The Harley 1200 big bore kit with the bigger cams is great as well.
MJH

Thruxton8

Thruxton8AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

A great bike to individualise to your liking and something that can keep evolving as the years pass.

published

Love it!

published

Great bike!Been riding for over 30 years. Purchased a 2014 1200custom, and never had any problems with it. Just love it!


Superlow Chick

Superlow ChickGold Coast

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

2012 XL883L

published
1 comment
Superlow Chick
Superlow Chick

Vtwins

VtwinsAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great bike

published

Hogrider

HogriderAU

  • 19 reviews
  • 22 likes

28 years of Owning and building Hogs and this is one of the better ones.

published
1 comment
Hogrider
Hogrider

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Kris.R

Kris.Rasked

Hello guys!!

I bought a new iron 1200 a few days ago and I just found that it’s full of slight scratches especially on the fuel tank.
Tank is full of circle scratches and it’s seems that somebody was cleaning the bike with wrong cleaning equipments..
I’m going to bring back the bike to dealer for sure..
Also I started to worry that my bike was not a brand new.
Is there any chance of that scenario?
Is there any way to confirm that my bike is actually brand new?
I will appreciate your help guys !

1 answer
Leigh Jensen
Leigh Jensen

The only way to fudge the mileage on a newer Harley is to replace the speedo AND the ECU, which becomes expensive, as the vehicle mileage is recorded in the ECU. A new speedo will sync to the existing ECU and display the bike mileage straight away. Almost all paint has swirl marks, and if you use the bike it will pick up a few marks just through regular use, so unless they are actual scratches or chips I wouldn't stress too much.


Brett M

Brett Masked

Sportster Iron 883

How much does the 1600 ks service cost?

2 answers
MJR-Love To Test
MJR-Love To Test

Hi Brett. Average cost of a H.D. service according to the blogs I read seems to be around $ 350. I could not specifically find a first service cost. Non H.D. dealers might be cheaper but probably best to keep it " in house " for the first few services. Hope this helps. Cheers, Michael.

Brett M
Brett M

Thanks Michael. I got mine done yesterday at Brisbane. $430, I guess I'll be paying these prices while it's under warranty. Thanks again mate.


Paul k

Paul kasked

I think I’m needing a clutch on my sportster xl1200c 2005 , I just bought bike and clutch lever has to be all the way in and if front brake is not applied and in gear bike creeps foward? I’ve replaced clutch cable and adjusted clutch several times it’s still the same? I was told by the original owner that bike has a Rivera primo pro performance clutch , any one know if I can reuse the basket over again and just replace the friction and steel plates, I don’t know what was replaced, I’m thinking and spending 600 bucks on the Barnet scorpion performance clutch assembly with new hub and pressure plate, any info would be great. thanks Paul k Longisland

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Harley-Davidson representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.