??!
2 photos
Hayward TigerShark

Hayward TigerShark

TigerShark QC and TigerShark
2.9 from 12 reviews

See the Best Robotic Pool Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
2
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
3
1 star
3

Performance is OK, very poor durability

published

Sorry Hayward, the product doesn't match up to your marketing. The machine has broken just after 3 years of well-maintained use (requires a new motor). Repair cost exceeds $1200, and the response from Hayward is a polite 'tough luck'. Sold as a high-end robot, the durability is anything but. My recommendation is to steer clear and buy according to reliability.

Purchased in August 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers

Jurek

JurekSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

I should have bought this years ago

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Poolwerx for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers

Wouldn’t buy another one

published

We’ve had ours for about 2.5years. Stopped working after a month, and had to have it replaced. Worked well for about 6 months then had to bring it back. They replaced the external cables. It stops working for no reason and then will start again after afew days. We have a square pool, and constantly gets stuck in corners or on steps. Spent about $150 getting the tracks replaced because they kept coming off. That still happens and pushes the trap door clips open, so when I take it out of the pool, all the crap falls out the bottom back into the pool. For $1500 spent, I expected it would last 5 years..... going to have to replace it over the holidays. Not a happy customer

Date PurchasedJun 2016
gfzw

gfzwHawker 2614, ACT

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Works quite well

published
Date PurchasedDec 2014

Andrew

AndrewConnells Point

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Quieter Achiever

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Jimmy

Jimmy

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

this is an excellent robot..... highly recommend

published

The quality and customer service of this product is so good it has lead to my second review. My robot (Ronnie) has worked hard for 5 years with very few problems, 1 broken track and some new filters is all the repairs needed. The track broke 2 months after warranty finished 1 phone call to Haywood and a new one was sent asap at no cost. Truly a great cleaner!

Date PurchasedJun 2012

Great until it all went wrong

published
Date PurchasedJul 2015

Useless

published

Terrible product, spends more time climbing walls than picking up debris from bottom and ledge area. Machine has broken protective coverings over pool filter inlets. All in all a waste of money that has not made pool maintenance any easier, and as well as damaging pool, the cleaning job is inferior.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Gregori L.

Gregori L.Platteville, WI

Useless

published

It took 20 minutes for the TigerShark QC to get stuck on one of my two drains the first time. I then took it out of the pool, and added the plastic "increased suction" piece to the bottom of the unit which the manual advises may help with this problem.

In the middle of the very first cleaning cycle after that, it got stuck on a drain again, and was spinning in circles on the drain. Each time it spun around, the cable became more tangled. I can only imagine how destroyed the cable would have been if I had not been there to turn the unit off.

I packed it up and returned it. Useless piece of garbage.

Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Better than most

published

I spent a long time looking for a great pool cleaner and don't think there is one. That aside this is the best of the bunch.
After three months I did have a warranty problem and the retaile was difficult to deal with. However after some strong language the manufacturer stepped in and dealt with magnificently , arranging shipping, repair and return magnificently.

Cleans the pool of sand and cleans the sides very well. Handles leaves and larger debris OK.
Easy to handle and pretty care free.


3 years life

published

P. Gold

P. GoldBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not Quite excellent

published

Questions & Answers

Rasheed

Rasheedasked

Should the tiger shark be left in the pool after it has finished cleaning and the filter has been cleaned? Thanks.

2 answers
Andrew
Andrew

No... it is best to keep it out of the pool and out of the sun, and whilst I don't do this every time myself, it is a good idea hose it out after use. Sun and Pool chemicals will affect the life of the machine -- it is plastic after all.
The arm on my machine did break off recently -- lucky it was still under warranty so they replaced it.
The other reason not to leave the machine too long in the pool is because you will be leaving the leaves which has collected under water also... this will cause phosphorous build up.
My machine is still keeping the pool very clean though -- so still happy with it.

gfzw
gfzw

Totally agree with everything Andrew said. Mine is 3y old and never had an issue. The reason to keep the caught leafs out of the water column extends to skimmer box and filter too. The smell often attributed to clorin, is really the smell of cloramin, i.e. the result of clorins action on the amino acids in leafs, rather clorin itself.


Frances Chauvet

Frances Chauvetasked

How much do they cost and where can I purchase one?

2 answers
Georgia McCarthy
Georgia McCarthy

Hi Frances, Check out their website: http://www.hayward-pool.com.au/prd/Cleaners-Robotic-TigerShark-QC_12202_12051_1026899_-1_40508_401385_C.htm

JennyRules
JennyRules

Hi Frances, have seen them here: http://idealshop.com.au/p/hayward_tiger_shark_qc_robotic_pool_cleaner


Get an answer from our members and Hayward representatives

Details

Hayward TigerShark QC

Hayward TigerShark QC

2.7
(9)
Hayward TigerShark
  • Discontinued

Hayward TigerShark

3.0
(2)
CategoryRobotic Pool CleanersRobotic Pool Cleaners
Release dateSep 2010
Replaced byHayward TigerShark QC

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 0610377061339

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.