??!
2 photos
Holden Commodore VX

Holden Commodore VX (2000-2002)

4.6 from 24 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.6

24 reviews
5
(15)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.9 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (7)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (7)
  • Braking
    4.9 (8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (8)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (8)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (8)
  • Handling
    4.6 (8)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (8)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (8)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (8)
  • Features
    4.0 (7)
  • Braking
    4.9 (8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (8)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (8)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (8)
  • Handling
    4.6 (8)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (8)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (8)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (8)
  • Features
    4.0 (7)
  • Braking
    4.9 (8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (8)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (8)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (8)
  • Handling
    4.6 (8)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (8)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (8)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (8)
  • Features
    4.0 (7)
Previous
Next
Chooks

ChooksSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great reliable car few issues

published

Purchased my late 2000 Commodore executive with police pack from Brisbane government auctions 40,000km.
Its been a great car to drive and still goes like new no rattling 20 years on and 170,000km.
The only issue was a pully collapsed, still ran, replaced myself. Had roof lining replaced as heat damaged .
Secrete is change oil and filter regularly, keep cooling system serviced .
Hate to sell love the car.

Purchased for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

Great car to drive

published

Brought my vx commodore series 2 December last year with a 198000 on the clock great car to drive runs well had to replace a few things due to last owner but my girlfriends family don't thinkt's reliable because I paid 1200

Purchased in December 2019 for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2002
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
mirrabucca

mirrabuccaCanberra Central 2601, ACT

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

18 years.. Still great.

published

Purchased in September 2000 for A$33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2001
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Wagons

Find out how Holden Commodore VX compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

This is Perfect! I won't be discontinuing the use of this Car

published

I bought this car from a car sale yard back in 2013 (2000 vx Commodore station wagon) and I've never had that much of a problem with this car which the only problem I had was that it needed a new "iac valve". At that time a "professional mechanic" told me that it had this problem or that problem" which kept affecting my hip pocket $$$ in the end. So I then took my car to a "back yard mechanic" who found the problem, which all it needed was a new "iac valve" never had a problem ever since. This is the best car I've ever owned and still is in 2020

Purchased for A$4,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Eric S.

Eric S.

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic car!

published

Purchased in January 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2002
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Inderpal

InderpalSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Best car looks

published

Use it everyday and the best car, luv this car. Use it for sports, family and commuting to work.

Everyday i use this car.

Service every 6 months to keep in good condition, Never had any issue. Hope it comes back.

Purchased in December 2012 at Suttons for A$18,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Tim

TimSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

2000 Holden Commodore Lumina VX

published

Purchased in September 2018 for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2000
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

flogged this car on m1 for 5 years

published

i bought this cheap on duel fuel for $4700. drove it up and down the m1/f3 for 5 days a week / 6 days a week. never serviced it. petrol in the tank and water in the windscreen wiper. took 5 and half years before the cost of rego did not make any sense.

BadgeExecutive
BodySedan
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2012
Fukpawn

FukpawnPerth

  • 2 reviews

Should never have sold it

published

My vx commodore was just a standed executive but was factory fitted with full electric windows electric mirrors sunroof and even had a gen iii 6spd manual which I had cammed by kosteki engine performance to boost the hp to over 434 hp. Used heaps of fuel but did great skids

BadgeExecutive
BodySedan
Engine Size5.7
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2002
Wagons

Find out how Holden Commodore VX compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Magic Mike

Magic MikeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

What more can I say “Cheap and Reliable”

published

The headline says it all. I brought this car back in 2013 and put on over 150,000 trouble free km. The car done over 350,000km and still doesn’t burn or use any oil or water. The good things about these cars are they are cheap in parts and if you do need parts they are easy to come by.

BadgeCalais
BodySedan
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2013
Zed95

Zed95South East Queensland, QLD

  • 20 reviews
  • 7 likes

A great drive – reliable and economical

published

Purchased in August 2013 for A$4,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2002
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Mye

MyeSydney, NSW

  • 27 reviews
  • 9 likes

Satisfied

published

Never had any major issue except that it is not that fuel efficient. We use it just once or twice a week. It has a large machine and despite being an old model, we are not yet considering on replacing it as we are still satisfied to its performance since we regularly service it.

BadgeExecutive
BodySedan
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Sunset_Sam

Sunset_SamPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

Holden Commodore 2001 Vx 's' Sedan V6 Auto

published
BadgeS
BodySedan
Engine Size3.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Jo

Jo

  • 3 reviews

This is a wonderful car, and could n't do with out it.

published

The experience of driving the VX commodore is comfortable, performance I could not ask any more from a V6 engine, handling is terrific, not much noise. I can go from Newcastle to Blacktown and back on 50.00. I therefore would recommend such a vehicle to anyone that is looking for a decent car.

BadgeExecutive
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Super reliable and durable family car!

published
BadgeLumina
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2009
Engine Size3.8 liter
Wagons

Find out how Holden Commodore VX compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matt

Matt

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect family now work car

published

After owning a 98 vt wagon for 3 years, drove it to many destinations including port lincoln in 40 degree temperatures and didnt miss a beat. I upgraded to a 04 patrol which brokw down on me every week. I soon got rid of it and bought a VX wagon berlina. So reliable. Comfortable and powerful. I have towed cars, caravans, loads of timber and tows a tool trailer everyday and it drives like a dream. 600kms to a tank.
Very good and if it ever breaks itll be a small expense to buy another!

BadgeBerlina
BodySportwagon
TransmissionAutomatic

Skids like a commy don't need to say any more

published

Vt sedan great car 450km to the tank does hell mad skids and doses like a vl turbo hell mad can out run the cops and has done many times just snap second and she's gone big blow off valve cops don't like that and a big cops don't like this sticker on the back

BadgeAcclaim
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Sunset_Sam

Sunset_SamPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

COMMODORE 2001 VU V6 Ecotec UTE

published
BadgeS
BodyUTILITY
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2001
Engine Size3.8
Sunset_Sam

Sunset_SamPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

HSV 'Clubsport' Series 2 Auto 5.7 Litre Sedan

published
BadgeHSV CLUBSPORT
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size5.7
James Gibb

James GibbAU

  • 20 reviews
  • 13 likes

bloody brilliant car :)

published

i have a vx series 2 s pac, car has been awesome, whole engine burnt, replaced it and no problems cars fine, only issue is we couldnt find a manual gear box reservoir so we had to convert it to auto :/ went great until the radiator cracked and i cooked the engine, replaced the radiator and been driving it for a few weeks and nothing wrong with it at all lol, these cars cannot be killed as mine has proven :)
everything
manual parts are hard to find, the s pac front end is hard to find

Engine Size3.8 ecotec
BadgeS
BodySedan
Page 1 of 2
See all Holden Commodore reviews

Questions & Answers

francesc m.

francesc m.asked

Commodore VX (2000-2002)

Has this car timing belt or chain? Thanks

No answers
Lorraine

Lorraineasked

Commodore VX (2000-2002)

I have a 2002 vu Ute 3.8 litre uno when a car takes off and the gearbox slips well it’s not actually slipping it’s pulling back but only on take off I have replaced gearbox,any ideas

No answers
nifty

niftyasked

Commodore VX (2000-2002)

How much oil do I put in after changing the oil filter

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 21 Holden Commodore
CategoryCars, Wagons and Sedans
Starting Price A$32,490
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels16" Alloy
Doors4
Seats5
Fuel Consumption6.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 75 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.8L
Max Power152kW @ 5200rpm
Max Torque305Nm @ 3600rpm
Country of ManufactureAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2000
Discontinuation dateDec 2002
Compare all 21 Holden Commodore

Visit official website

Other Wagons

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.