?
? !
4 photos
Holden Trax TJ

Holden Trax TJ (2013-2021)

Also referred to as: Holden Trax TJ 2020 and Holden Trax TJ 2022. LS, LTZ, Active, etc...
3.9 from 70 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (12)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (12)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (12)
  • Braking
    4.5 (13)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (13)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (12)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (13)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (13)
  • Handling
    4.5 (12)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (12)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (13)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (13)
  • Features
    3.9 (13)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Leanne L.

Leanne L.

  • 3 reviews

Love this car!

published

I purchased my vehicle for driving to and from work in the Sydney traffic.
It's fantastic for a daily commuter. I use it every day and spend $60-80 a fortnight in fuel.
Not an issue at all in 2.5 years. Car is perfect. Would recommend.
Only gripe I have is the carpet is so thin everything gets stuck in it making it hard to maintain.

Purchased in June 2017 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mike

MikeDarwin

  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes

Comfortable and trendy

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Aldi and Wworths Shopper

Aldi and Wworths ShopperSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent SUV. Great size !

published

Bought Holden Trax LTZ 2017. Over 40,000 Kims later not 1 problem. Free servicing to 60,000. Then fixed price. Drives very well, great features. Apple car play. Bluetooth. Well appointed and easy to drive. Not overpriced like a lot if small mid SUVs. Plenty of power for city driving and country trips. Serviced regularly by Holden. Daily driver city traffic. Exceeded expectations on fuel economy. Highly recommended over many others on the market !

Purchased in September 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Holden Trax TJ compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BenG

BenGCanberra 2600, ACT

Exxxy

published

Had my thermostat replaced in my 2015 holden trax ls today....... mechanic hit me with a $600 bill!
Then discover the tyres are a unique size to the trax. Tyres are priced at $195!
Costly little car!

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Krissy

KrissyNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

My car baby

published

My 2018 Holden trax is my world, drives like a dream has turbo when needed , great on fuel I’ve traveled to Gladstone qld and up north qld with it as well , climbs hills with out a hassle ,smooth ride comfy seats , stable ride apple car play, my first brand new car I’ve ever owned roomy inside

Purchased in June 2018 at Island coast Holden tully qld.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Bill R

Bill RGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 46 reviews
  • 42 likes

Lousy support from Holden HQ

published

Purchased in January 2017 at Holden Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bill R
Bill R
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Len

LenPeel, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good Value

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2016 at Holden Dealers for $24,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gail

GailSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best little SUV on the road!

published

Love my Holden Trax. It is such fun to drive. Love the bright electric blue....it is such a happy colour. With the seats folded down so easily, can carry lots of things. Was a great help when I was moving house.
Great vision with big wide windows all round an the high driving position. Driver's seat and steering wheel can be adjusted up and down to get it just right for your individual preference.
Trouble is my daughter is always wanting to borrow it!

Purchased in October 2017 for $24,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alex

AlexSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good car, has its issues

published

Good car, nice drive, relatively safe. A few problems though such as smoke coming out of the A/C vents when on, an oil light which won't turn off, and a leak coming from under the steering wheel which can saturate the floor with the drips. Whatever drips out also can be extremely hot, and burn your foot when driving. Have been scolded many times. Took it in for a service to find the source. No problems detected, burnt my foot driving home. Have it booked back in, but it's just a hassle when having a busy life. Feels like the servicing is very rushed and it's just getting as many people in and out as quickly as possible.

BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
DriveAWD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Holden Trax TJ compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Good car some issues

published

I found the car to be very nimble, generally cabin space very good until you want to put the back seats down for extra space. Both my wife and I are tall and like the seats to go back but when you put the seats down you lose that extra length in the front making driving a little bit cramped. I also don't like the positioning of the handbrake being so close to the passenger seat it's a bit awkward trying to release the handbrake if there is a large person sitting in the passenger seat.

BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jmill

JmillSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Happy with our Trax!

published

So far so good, it’s what we expect from a new car. It’s perfect for Sydney traffic and love all the LTZ has to offer.
I read that Trax is one of the most reliable car in the USA, hopefully that’s true!
Overall it’s fun car to drive with a punchy engine!

BadgeLTZ
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
DriveFWD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bill R

Bill RGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 46 reviews
  • 42 likes

Nice car ...BUT The Takata airbag issue is a problem

published
BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
Bill R
Bill R

Finally fixed by Dealer 2 years on. Glad we didnt have to find out/validate their statement, that the airbag should be ok, by way of an accident.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Violet

VioletSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

31,000 kms and Ready to Trade in **Update**

published
BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rusty

RustyPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

No ongoing issues....yet.

published

Purchased in October 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pat G

Pat GSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Waste of money

published

This is the worst car I’ve ever purchased. In fact it was a lemon. The car was 3 years old and started having major problems like cv joint , coolant leakage and dashboard light comes on stating lean fuel and I had to argue with Holden to fix under warranty. However not went at once, it was one thing after another. In the end the light on the dashboard still comes on claiming lean fuel again.

BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Holden Trax TJ compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
allans156

allans156AU

  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great little car

published

We shopped around for a while, then decided to go with the Trax. Nothing against the other cars in the range, the Trax just suited what we wanted, and we felt that it drove the best. Economy is amazing, we owned an Almera 1.5 prior, and the Trax beats it hands down for economy. Good bit of power, throttle response can take a little while to get used to as it can be punchy from take off. We have owned it for around six months, so far it has been reliable.
My wife loves her Trax.

BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

My Trax - Well!

published

Having owned a Commodore of great quality I decided to go Holden. I signed up for the Cruize but had buyer regret, my bad. I had to choose a Holden so the Trax was next. I was told I did not need a smart phone but I did to used the limited functions. I was horrified that one day I parked my automatic and took the key out and it started rolling because it was still in D. Who builds an auto that allows that? The infotainment system leaves a lot to be desired, especially maps. I enjoy long trips as the driving position is very comfortable but really wish I had more test drives with other brands.

BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Parklanda

ParklandaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Let down by Holden Customer Service

published
BadgeLTZ
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
m r

m rwinmalee

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

great small suv

published

our Holden Trax lts is a great small suv the just lacks climate control as you would think it should have for top of the range but other than that i'ts great to drive the 1.4 litre turbo gets it up hills with no trouble and its great on fuel with the prices now going up you have money in ya pocket update to this car don't get a flat tyre you will be up crap creek as ltz comes with spare not the tyre repair gas but the jack doesn't get high enough to put spare on really stupid idea so i have 4 stars for the car but for tyre repair i give a zero bad design

Value for Money
Noise Level
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jesse Milani

Jesse MilaniRutherford

  • 2 reviews

Its an ok little car for what it is

published

The trax is ok to drive but lacks power especially when the aircon is on.
Handling is good has a little turning circle.
I dislike not having some power for incase there is a situation that may need it.
It has plenty of room even with 2 child seats in the back.

BadgeActive
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Amanda S.

Amanda S.asked

TJ LTZ (2013-2021)

Where is the fuel filter sensor located

No answers
Connie A.

Connie A.asked

Trax TJ (2013-2021)

Why does the car give a little beep when it is turned off

No answers
PeeKay

PeeKayasked

Trax TJ (2013-2021)

I have an issue with the overall volume of the audio system. Trax bought new in 2020. Had it checked by local dealer who says everything conforms to specs. However, if travelling at 100 kph with a/c at setting 2, can hardly hear the radio at all.

No answers
See all Holden Trax TJ (2013-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members

Holden Trax TJ (2013-2021)

Details

Compare all 5 Holden Trax TJ (2013-2021)
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
Starting Price $24,990$25,990$28,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.1 L/100km6.7 L/100km6.7 L/100km7.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 53 L53 L53 L53 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power103kW @ 4900rpm103kW @ 4900rpm103kW @ 4900rpm103kW @ 4900rpm
Max Torque178Nm @ 3800rpm200Nm @ 1850rpm200Nm @ 1850rpm175Nm @ 3800rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2013Jan 2016Jan 2013Jan 2015
Discontinuation dateDec 2016
Compare all 5 Holden Trax TJ (2013-2021)

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.