??!
6 photos
Holden Vectra

See the Best Sedans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
12
4 star
17
3 star
9
2 star
8
1 star
24

Eric S.

Eric S.

  • 3 reviews

High oil consumption

published

It was a great little car, but I hated that every 5k you need to top up oil. I did use lots of engine braking. Someone told me that was good for the engine. Also mine had cartridge oil filter. A pain to change it! Heater tap cracked once and it was a pain to replace. Not much room under the bonnet. And lots of electrics went wrong. There are better cars out there, I would never buy it again and I certainly do not recommend it. I loved the European shape and the features inside and purchased it for $1,000 so that was cheap.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2001
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Tim

TimSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

First car

published

Purchased in April 2018 for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year1999
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Worst car I've owned

published

An okay car when every thing is working which is hardly ever. Constant mechanical & electrical problems, cheap crappy Interior with knobs that always fall off.
I wish I never bought this car and glad to see it go, it's an unreliable LEMON
i'd Get any car but this.
Save you're money!

BadgeCD
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Was her best car til it got written off.

published

powerful lil car. drove all round Australia in it. Loved the car surprisingly it didn't go through as much fuel as I first thought when I heard 2.2l 4cyl but it was great being able to get power when you wanted. Getting another now 2005 cd zc 2.2 manual. Already done 290,000k so what needs to be replaced next anyone know?

BadgeCD
BodySedan
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2018

Liz

LizWhalan

My first luxury.

published

Smooth drive. Long distance or local. When wanted power it was there at the touch of my foot. Handles beautifully, at your fingertips and quiet.
A bit of style with suede seats adjustable, door panels and roof with wood grain marbeling trim. Comfortable legroom. Comes with drink holders and sunglasses department. Well lit dash.
It will get you anywhere you need to go with every start and I was surprised by how much I saved.

BadgeCDXi
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2007

Doon

DoonPenguin

We LOVE it!!

published
BadgeCDX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012

ChrisFRD

ChrisFRDAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Excellent if you are a mechanic - nice to drive, and to get dirty fixing it.

published
BadgeCD
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015

The absolute epitome of a lemon

published
BadgeCDXi
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Vectra definitely not A LEMON

published

Had this 2.6 litre v6 hatch since new in 2002. It has been and still is A GREAT CAR. It has well outlasted my 2004 BMW 3 series which I got rid of due to persistant oil and coolant leaks even though it had done only about 105,000 kms. Only now am I having a few minor issues which is to be expected given the age of the car.

BadgeCD
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2002
Sami

SamiVictory (Dandenong)

  • 2 reviews

My first car

published

It is a 2.2 litre car with 4 cyl engine, 5 doors 4 seats sedan. I am feeling nice to have this car. The car is very smooth to drive. Good mileage and control. Soothing look. Fluent efficient. Economic car. Its security system is really amazing. It is my first car.

BadgeCDXi
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Mim

MimMELBOURNE

  • 14 reviews
  • 13 likes

Piece of crap

published

Worst car one could purchase! Servicing is super expensive as are parts. Cheaper to drive a BMW. The driving experience feels like you are driving over gravel and the interior is super cheap with knobs etc falling apart and then discovering that you need to replace the entire unit if a functional knob breaks.

BadgeCDXi
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2014

1999 Vectra Station Wagon

published

Bought this car with 128,000km on the odometer. First problem - timing belt incorrectly fitted. Second problem - speedo tacho working intermittently (apparently a common problem that dealers now about} Third problem - engine switching off at traffic lights - using higher octane fuel did not resolve the problem. Blew a head gasket. Sold after 12 months. Good features but just too much trouble. I will never buy another Opel based Holden.

BadgeCDX
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Geoff P

Geoff PCanberra

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Holden Vectra A Study In Maintenance

published
Badge10000
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

A sporty good size reliable V6 Holden

published
BadgeCD
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2002
schotty

schottyvictoria australia, 3201

2.6 v6 motor

published
Badgeholden vectra 2.6 6v opal
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Benjamin.h.l

Benjamin.h.lSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Okay When It's Okay

published

It's a good driver, nice engine but very unreliable.
It's also very tight inside the cabin, but there's a lot of gadgets (which is probably why it's so unreliable).
For the size of the car it's not economical, at about 8L per 100km which is good for a family car but not a car as small and tight as this.
Can't count how much has broken altogether but recently the starter motor died, over heated a few times and stalled plenty.

BadgeCD
BodySedan
TransmissionManual

Flo

FloSydney

Runs really well for me!

published

Car works really well, V6 engine is really powerful yet smooth but thirsty. This car is actually not made in Australia but it's an Opel/Vauxhall made in Germany badged up for Holden here but the car did not sell well so they stopped doing it for Australia market
Just a few spot of oils leaking now that car is 96,000km. Bought second hand at 80,000km.
I had recently had to change the heating that broke down and the fan that stopped working after driving through a terrible three days storm in NSW... that about it in the last four years.

BadgeCD
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic

A really good ride.

published

Purchased ten year old vectra, well serviced. Engine warning light kept coming on and I was warned but also told to use the good fuel every 4th tank. I used the 98 octaine and the great performance became terrific, the engine light went off, obviously the lower octaine fuel sets off the sensors. For the price its a fun car as long as your prepared to maintain it. My Nissan 260c went around Australia three times and was still a top car until stolen . I'll let you know how they compare in time.

BadgeCD
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
1 comment
wizentub
wizentub

This is lemon

published

I brought this one my second car...that day rediator hose broken...i call dealer to inform that but they not flaxible.im worry about it....i never ever buy holden again...as soon as i say good bye this car...and move to brand new japanes one.i lost $ 4700+700 (for hose and repair).don't buy astra its same..lemon.im verry unhappy that dealer..

BadgeCD
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic

Daniel

DanielAustralia

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Designed by people that couldn't care about cars! Dodgy Holden!

published

Holden, you make some crappy cars, but this is by far the worst, what a nightmare!!! To date the worst car I've owned, I'm never touching Holden again! EVER EVER EVER Again!!! Listen to me now, don't make the mistake and buy this. Go with Toyota, or something else, whatever you do, don't buy this!!!

Stay away from this car!!! Stay away from Holden!!!

BadgeCD
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Doug M.

Doug M.asked

Battery light on negative cable is hot

No answers

Doug M.

Doug M.asked

Battery light on negative cable warm

No answers

Shirrie

Shirrieasked

I have a 2006 Holden Vectra CD hatch auto could U please tell me what the light on dashboard under fuel gauge means thanks

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Holden representatives

Details

Holden Vectra ZC
  • Discontinued

Holden Vectra ZC (2003-2005)

23 reviews
Holden Vectra JS
  • Discontinued

Holden Vectra JS (1998-2002)

46 reviews
Holden Vectra JR
  • Discontinued

Holden Vectra JR (1997-1998)

1 review
CategorySedansSedansSedans
Starting Price $39,990$34,690$35,990
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy15" Alloy15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating4 Stars
Doors545
Seats555
Fuel Consumption10.4 L/100km6.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 61 L60 L60 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.2L6 Cylinder 2.6L6 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power155kW @ 6200rpm125kW @ 5800rpm125kW @ 5800rpm
Max Torque300Nm @ 4000rpm250Nm @ 3600rpm230Nm @ 3200rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2003Jan 1998Jan 1997
Discontinuation dateDec 2005Dec 2002Dec 1998

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.