?
? !
6 photos
Holden Vectra

Holden Vectra

JS, ZC, JR
2.8 from 72 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (3)
  • Braking
    3.7 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (3)
  • Handling
    3.7 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (3)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (3)
  • Features
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next

Problems

published

I’ve just brought my Holden 2003 vectra and sometimes when I go to start my car, the interior and dash lights will start flashing at me for a good 2 minutes or so. Has anyone had this kind of problem at all?

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
leptobrama

leptobramaMELBOURNE

  • 12 reviews
  • 35 likes

The 2.2 4-cylinder manual is brilliant

published

I bought my ZC 2.2 4-cylinder manual sedan new from the showroom in 2004. I has been outstandingly good. It is now 17 years old and still performs like a gem, especially on the open road.
Ignore all the negative reviews here. They are all for the V6 automatic hatch version. The lighter 4-cylinder engine is a much better-balanced car, and very economical.
Also the sedan (with a boot) has more luggage space than the hatch.
Most people simply bought the wrong model.

Purchased in February 2004.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Eric S.

Eric S.

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

High oil consumption

published

It was a great little car, but I hated that every 5k you need to top up oil. I did use lots of engine braking. Someone told me that was good for the engine. Also mine had cartridge oil filter. A pain to change it! Heater tap cracked once and it was a pain to replace. Not much room under the bonnet. And lots of electrics went wrong. There are better cars out there, I would never buy it again and I certainly do not recommend it. I loved the European shape and the features inside and purchased it for $1,000 so that was cheap.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Holden Vectra compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tim

TimSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

First car

published

Purchased in April 2018 for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Worst car I've owned

published

An okay car when every thing is working which is hardly ever. Constant mechanical & electrical problems, cheap crappy Interior with knobs that always fall off.
I wish I never bought this car and glad to see it go, it's an unreliable LEMON
i'd Get any car but this.
Save you're money!

BadgeCD
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Was her best car til it got written off.

published

powerful lil car. drove all round Australia in it. Loved the car surprisingly it didn't go through as much fuel as I first thought when I heard 2.2l 4cyl but it was great being able to get power when you wanted. Getting another now 2005 cd zc 2.2 manual. Already done 290,000k so what needs to be replaced next anyone know?

BadgeCD
BodySedan
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Liz

LizWhalan

My first luxury.

published

Smooth drive. Long distance or local. When wanted power it was there at the touch of my foot. Handles beautifully, at your fingertips and quiet.
A bit of style with suede seats adjustable, door panels and roof with wood grain marbeling trim. Comfortable legroom. Comes with drink holders and sunglasses department. Well lit dash.
It will get you anywhere you need to go with every start and I was surprised by how much I saved.

BadgeCDXi
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Doon

DoonPenguin

We LOVE it!!

published
BadgeCDX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ChrisFRD

ChrisFRDMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Excellent if you are a mechanic - nice to drive, and to get dirty fixing it.

published
BadgeCD
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Holden Vectra compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

The absolute epitome of a lemon

published
BadgeCDXi
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Vectra definitely not A LEMON

published

Had this 2.6 litre v6 hatch since new in 2002. It has been and still is A GREAT CAR. It has well outlasted my 2004 BMW 3 series which I got rid of due to persistant oil and coolant leaks even though it had done only about 105,000 kms. Only now am I having a few minor issues which is to be expected given the age of the car.

BadgeCD
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2002
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sami

SamiVictory (Dandenong)

  • 2 reviews

My first car

published

It is a 2.2 litre car with 4 cyl engine, 5 doors 4 seats sedan. I am feeling nice to have this car. The car is very smooth to drive. Good mileage and control. Soothing look. Fluent efficient. Economic car. Its security system is really amazing. It is my first car.

BadgeCDXi
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mim

MimMELBOURNE

  • 14 reviews
  • 13 likes

Piece of crap

published

Worst car one could purchase! Servicing is super expensive as are parts. Cheaper to drive a BMW. The driving experience feels like you are driving over gravel and the interior is super cheap with knobs etc falling apart and then discovering that you need to replace the entire unit if a functional knob breaks.

BadgeCDXi
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

1999 Vectra Station Wagon

published

Bought this car with 128,000km on the odometer. First problem - timing belt incorrectly fitted. Second problem - speedo tacho working intermittently (apparently a common problem that dealers now about} Third problem - engine switching off at traffic lights - using higher octane fuel did not resolve the problem. Blew a head gasket. Sold after 12 months. Good features but just too much trouble. I will never buy another Opel based Holden.

BadgeCDX
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Geoff P

Geoff PGowrie 2904, ACT

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Holden Vectra A Study In Maintenance

published
Badge10000
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Holden Vectra compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

A sporty good size reliable V6 Holden

published
BadgeCD
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2002
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
schotty

schottyvictoria australia, 3201

2.6 v6 motor

published
Badgeholden vectra 2.6 6v opal
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Benjamin.h.l

Benjamin.h.lSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Okay When It's Okay

published

It's a good driver, nice engine but very unreliable.
It's also very tight inside the cabin, but there's a lot of gadgets (which is probably why it's so unreliable).
For the size of the car it's not economical, at about 8L per 100km which is good for a family car but not a car as small and tight as this.
Can't count how much has broken altogether but recently the starter motor died, over heated a few times and stalled plenty.

BadgeCD
BodySedan
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Flo

FloSydney

Runs really well for me!

published

Car works really well, V6 engine is really powerful yet smooth but thirsty. This car is actually not made in Australia but it's an Opel/Vauxhall made in Germany badged up for Holden here but the car did not sell well so they stopped doing it for Australia market
Just a few spot of oils leaking now that car is 96,000km. Bought second hand at 80,000km.
I had recently had to change the heating that broke down and the fan that stopped working after driving through a terrible three days storm in NSW... that about it in the last four years.

BadgeCD
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

A really good ride.

published

Purchased ten year old vectra, well serviced. Engine warning light kept coming on and I was warned but also told to use the good fuel every 4th tank. I used the 98 octaine and the great performance became terrific, the engine light went off, obviously the lower octaine fuel sets off the sensors. For the price its a fun car as long as your prepared to maintain it. My Nissan 260c went around Australia three times and was still a top car until stolen . I'll let you know how they compare in time.

BadgeCD
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
1 comment
wizentub
wizentub
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

gazza

gazzaasked

Vectra

hi how much and where do i look up about a oil filler chamber i need one for a 3.2 v6

No answers
Eve R.

Eve R.asked

Vectra

Do holden vectras have starter relays

No answers
 Lindy

Lindyasked

Vectra JS (1998-2002)

Does 1999 holden vectra have a heater fuse and where is it. The heater was working now not. Fan is going

No answers
See all Holden Vectra questions

Get an answer from our members

Holden Vectra

Details

Compare all 3 Holden Vectra
Holden Vectra JS
  • Discontinued

Holden Vectra JS (1998-2002)

2.6
(46)
Holden Vectra ZC
  • Discontinued

Holden Vectra ZC (2003-2005)

3.4
(25)
CategorySedansSedansSedans
Starting Price $35,990$34,690$39,990
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels15" Alloy15" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating4 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.2 L/100km10.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L61 L
Engine6 Cylinder 2.5L6 Cylinder 2.6L6 Cylinder 3.2L
Max Power125kW @ 5800rpm125kW @ 5800rpm155kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque230Nm @ 3200rpm250Nm @ 3600rpm300Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureAustraliaGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 1997Jan 1998Jan 2003
Discontinuation dateDec 1998Dec 2002Dec 2005
Compare all 3 Holden Vectra

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

See all Sedans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.