?
? !
10 photos
Subaru WRX

Subaru WRX (2013-2021)

Also referred to as: Subaru WRX 2020 and Subaru WRX 2022. STI Premium, STI, (No Badge), etc...
3.9 from 27 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (1)
  • Features
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
anonymous

anonymousAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Family Sports Car

published

This car is amazing fits the children in the back with car seats and leaves plenty of room for the driver and passenger in the front. The Boot space is incredible, can easily fit suitcases and a few extra things for holidays.

The car gets better than expected fuel consumption, 9.1/100 Daily, can't wait to take it on a long trip.
The car has plenty of power down low from 2000rpm.

Purchased at carconnect.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ anonymous, Thank you so much for your review! We're so happy to hear that both you and your family are enjoying your WRX. If we could ask one favour, we would love to see your review on Google reviews as well. Happy driving! The Subaru Team.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
RachaelK

RachaelKSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best car ever!

published

I bought this car brand new in Feb 2017. it is my favourite car i have owned. i drive it everyday to work & around on weekends. Very comfortable to drive & great power. It has 3 different driving modes which i enjoy using. I would definitely recommend subaru to anyone buying a car.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Asym

Asym

  • 9 reviews
  • 13 likes

WRX STI premium (2017).

published

Subaru has come along way with the STI. I'm using it as a daily even, its very safe easy to drive and looks great inside and out. Cabin has come a long way, I found it nicer than Benz CLA models. Fuel economy could be better (10L/100km) but not complaining based on performance.

BadgeSTI Premium
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSept 2018
1 comment
Asym
Asym
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Subaru WRX compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Soc

SocGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

WRX STi

published

The WRX STi is a great looking car and subaru have it down pat. They are not only a smart company but make good quality bang for buck cars. The STi is a little thirsty similar to a V8 engine. I found the paint work needs attention and the fact you cant do much more to the engine. I think it needs more TQ, otherwise a great overall car.

BadgeSTI
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Daniel K

Daniel KAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Its a very fun car, expensive to maintain

published

Great car, great fun. My main complaints are fuel economy which you'd expect from a turbo boxer motor anyway, and the fact that the rear seats don't fold (I had expected this was just a standard for all cars! So my fault). Only buy one of these if you can afford the upkeep. Otherwise great - sporty, sounds great, looks super nice in my option.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anita

AnitaValla

Nearly killed grandparents.

published

Front drive belt broke, engine blew up, no warning light, lost steering , nearly killed grandparents.All happened within minutes. 100,000ks Bought 2010. always serviced at Subaru. Front drive belt should have been replaced at 48 months. Instead they said 125,000ks. Head office wont take the blame nor will Geoff King seller and mechanic. Not our fault!! We have done everything. Body immaculate , engine dead and said will cost $13,000 for new engine, who is in the wrong, not us?????

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2010
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Narelle

NarelleMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Was my dream car...ended up trading it.

published
BadgePremium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jules

Jules

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love my Rex

published
BadgePremium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Krushull

KrushullSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 12 likes

Good car but has a few issues

published
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Subaru WRX compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fadak M

Fadak MAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Such a performance vehicle

published

I have the hatchback in black from 2013 with a custom exhaust

At first I thought is this car actually safe? But that Subaru boxer engine can get me through anything
Yes petrol is a bit more dear but I cannot deny that it’s worth it
Enough boot space for a pram and expanding family

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Micky Dee

Micky DeeSydney

  • 4 reviews

Great daily driver + weekend fun!

published

Great value car for someone who is looking for a good mix between a relatively comfortable daily drive and great thrills along the way on weekends. The only thing I wish they did better was an improved headunit, which the one of the 2015 model is somewhat dated and laggy. Fuel economy is decent for the power you get but you would still be looking at an average of 9-10L/100 in peak hr traffic, however it easily gets down to 6-7L/100km on highway so that's preeeety good. 10/10 no regrets :)

BadgePremium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mick Dundee

Mick DundeeMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome car, if the quality was there...

published
BadgeSTI Premium
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
andy

andySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

wrx great car

published

car great customer service very poor free gps updates but if you get your car serviced elsewhere no free gps updates so you have to pay xtra for service to get free gps updates ha ha spoke to subaru aust said same thing so buy garmin and fit on dash

BadgePremium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Soph

SophSouth Australia

  • 6 reviews

My favourite car ever.

published

I recently brought a Subaru WRX and am so glad I have.
The driving on it is so smooth and perfect running. Never a wrong noise.
My leather seats are so comfy and silky feeling always nice and cool.
It doesnt cost me to much to run in petrol and always drives smoothly and quickly.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
chalie

chalie

  • 29 reviews
  • 24 likes

Engine failure just out of warranty.

published

What an expensive exercise and how incredibly disappointed we are with Subaru WRX.
Car never driven hard, always garaged , very low Milage , missed one service and told us it had no oil...which was not true as was first thing we checked and no warning lights, but of course they say what they want. I will stir very far away from this company.

BadgeSTI Premium
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Subaru WRX compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Woody

WoodySydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

I love my WRX

published
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Azmiri

AzmiriGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • 3 likes

This car is good for everyday life.

published

Car looks good. Drives ok. But There is some issue with it. I have bought a premium my17. Subaru should add the Spoiler, brembo brake and 18" wheel on the premium. It shouldn't be cost extra. The car suspension is not very good. Fog light is warm white light. They should make it similar to the headlight. Premium should comes with the heated seat. But it is not. Didn't like the automatic system for dipper (highbeam). Already driven 9000 kms. Didn't give any trouble yet. A real head turner. Feel proud to own one.

BadgePremium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cengo

CengoIllawarra, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

Service very very poor

published

I took my subaru wrx sti 2015 for a service they told me that my engine mounts needed changeing after 2 months still waiting on engine mounts to come from overseas.i rang up service several times and still nothing they just keep saying we are still waiting on parts to arrive from overseas this is a very poor customer service from subaru

BadgeSTI
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Colin

Colin

  • 3 reviews

Fantastic balance of practicality and performance

published

Great car, upgraded from 2 door sports coupe and gained functionality without any loss of driving enjoyment. Great on fuel consumption and average 7L/100km while highway cruising. It obviously will consume more once you put your right foot down heavier. The only downside is that cabin noise is above average and ride suspension is stiffer than most cars. Subarus service pricing is also higher than its competitors, roughly 700 per year, sometimes higher.

BadgePremium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
AJ000

AJ000South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good Engine. Poor bell & Whistles - extraordinarily pathetic service from both Subaru Australia

published
BadgePremium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Stephen

Stephenasked

WRX (2013-2021)

How often should a WRX be serviced.?

3 answers
Asym
Asym

6 to 12 months depending on use. I change the oil myself at 6 months in so service yearly.

Stephen
Stephen

vGood idea Thanks

Soc
Soc

Stephen, Subaru say every 12,500km but I would say every 6000km if you give it a hard time. Remember it’s full synthetic oil, if you leave it too long the oil becomes a paste and then you start to hear the rockers.

Jim

Jimasked

WRX (2013-2021)

Does the new 2013 come with a 6 speed box?

1 answer
Rob Kirkpatrick
Rob Kirkpatrick

I believe the STi has the 6-spd Manual or 5-spd Auto while the non-STI WRX is only available in the 5-spd Manual.

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Subaru WRX (2013-2021)

Details

Compare all 13 Subaru WRX (2013-2021)
CategorySedansSedansSedansSedans
Starting Price $39,340$42,340$45,740$48,940
TransmissionManualContinuously Variable (CVT)ManualContinuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption9.2 L/100km8.6 L/100km9.2 L/100km8.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power197kW @ 5600rpm197kW @ 5600rpm197kW @ 5600rpm197kW @ 5600rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 2400-5200rpm350Nm @ 2400-5200rpm350Nm @ 2400-5200rpm350Nm @ 2400-5200rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013
Compare all 13 Subaru WRX (2013-2021)

Visit official website

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

See all Sedans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.