??!
4 photos
Holman Auto Retractable Hose Reel with Spray Gun

Holman Auto Retractable Hose Reel with Spray Gun

1130H (30m), 1120H (20m), 1110H (10m)
1.9 from 300 reviews

Reviews

1.9

300 reviews
5
(26)
4
(17)
3
(21)
2
(70)
1
(166)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Alison W.

Alison W.

  • 3 reviews

Holman 30m reduced water pressure

published

Purchased a 30mtr Holman retractable hose reel from Bunnings in July 2019 for $134.00. Very disappointed as it has reduced the water pressure by about 50 %. Maybe Holman should look into the issue

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$134.00.

Good product

published

Have 2 Holeman retractable hose reels for at least 5 years other than a bit of maintenance recommend Have a 30m and 20 m have had other reels that haven't lasted

Paul

Paul

  • 3 reviews

HOLMAN = RUBBISH

published

Bought the Holman 30 from Bunnings. Lasted 9 months. Bunnings offered replacement second one lasted 6 months. Absolute rubbish. Plastic useless garbage. Wouldn’t buy anything that has the name Holman on it.

Purchased in January 2019 for A$120.00.

Garden Hoses

Find out how Holman Auto Retractable Hose Reel with Spray Gun compares to other Garden Hoses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tony

TonyVictoria

Made of plastic components

published

Bought Holman hose 4 yrs ago for front yard and used very little approx. 100 times. This was the second Holman in which the spring broke. Took apart the 1st hose reel and noticed that a number of important parts were made of plastic. You would think that after so many failures the product parts would be upgraded .rang the company but they were not interested. Forget this product it's made to break easily even if you treat it gently. Regards plastic components

Purchased in May 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$99.00.

Bucky

BuckySydney Surrounds, NSW

Just after the 2 year warranty expires it will break.

published

This was fantastic while it worked, but two months after warranty expired the retraction spring broke and there is not a replacement part. Not happy for the price I would have thought I would get more than 2 years usage.

Purchased in January 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

hello Bucky, If this has failed in such a short time we would be happy to honour warranty on the unit. Please forward us a copy of your receipt via contact address https://www.holmanindustries.com.au/products/ Thank you, your Holman Team!

Margaret

MargaretMid North Coast, NSW

Not Happy

published

Have only had this hose reel for nearly 3 years (purchased Bunnings 22/5/2017. It has been working well with only a few minor retracting issues, and a bit of splitting of the unit on the top.
Went out today to do my watering and the whole unit has collapsed and is now hanging. The rod that holds it together has actually bent thus causing the collapse and maybe the splitting had something to do with it. Am going to buy another ($134) so as to use the same wall mount.
Hope I get a bit more wear out of this one otherwise will try a different brand.

Purchased in May 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$128.00.

Very poor quality

published

Bought 2, 1 for front and 1 for back, both were ok till warranty ran out then failed to retract, 1 stopped feeding evenly on spool. Threw both in the bin and bought 2 hoselink reels, perfect. Will never buy holman again. Total waste of money !!

Purchased in April 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$280.00.

Ant

AntGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Poor Quality

published

Bought one of these just over 12 months ago, was always careful when retracting hose back but it still managed to stop retracting like so many other reviewers have stated here. Fortunately I had the receipt and bunnings swapped it no problems. Look elsewhere, I would not recommend.

Purchased in February 2019.

Yash

YashSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Poor Quality,badly engineered

published

I bought one of this 3 months back and nozzle start leaking first slowly,then badly enough that i had to swap it from bunnings(which they are happy to).Then again after a month,it start leaking badly from the portion when its connected to the tap. I dont understand why they sell such poor quality product when customers are just going to get them returned anyway.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$95.00.

Garden Hoses

Find out how Holman Auto Retractable Hose Reel with Spray Gun compares to other Garden Hoses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Poor quality, under engineered, designed to fail after warranty period

published

I had 2 of these units. after 3 years the hoses started to jam up inside the reel on both units. The feed-in guide failed to operate due to a broken part (pawl and worm gear). Holman refused to supply the necessary part and give any further support. Don't waste your money on Holman products.

Purchased in March 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$97.00.

paul

paulGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

just another wont lock

published

My Holman 20 will no longer lock and I see that is a common problem. I had hoped to be able to fix it myself but that appears to be out of the question. When working it is great but not good enough to have this common defect. I rate it just 1 star for looks only.
paul

Purchased in December 2017 for A$97.00.

Rae

RaeSouth West, WA

Squished frog problems

published

Frogs enter into the hose reel and are killed in the most horrible way, it is very cruel and then stinks as the frog bodies decompose. There is no way to keep them out. I have to have my hose out all over the ground because I refuse to kill any more frogs.

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Looks nice but potentially dangerous

published

This unit looks nice mounted to the wall - however we found it to be dangerous.
The pull-back function is so forceful, if the hose slipped from your hold it could seriously injure someone. Children especially could be badly hurt. It felt like we were fighting with it whenever using it. The retracting function gave out after 3 years so it's now useless. Will not be replacing with a retracting hose again and will chose and manual winding model. We did advise Holman of our concerns with regards to serious injury.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$99.00.

Flimsy construction

published

The 3 yr old model was very good and sturdy so I thought I’d by a second one for the other side of house. Bad idea.
Rang Holman up and the reason that was given to me was COST CUTTING ! . This is being returned to Bunnings today

Peter m

Peter mPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

absolute rubbish

published

Bought from Bunnings, no surprise there and got junk for top dollar, two months old and will not retract, sick to death of paying top price at Bunnings and getting crap

Purchased in December 2019 for A$150.00.

1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Peter, we are sorry to hear this! Your unit has a 2-year warranty so please have it replaced at Bunnings. Thank you, your Holman Team!

Garden Hoses

Find out how Holman Auto Retractable Hose Reel with Spray Gun compares to other Garden Hoses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not fit for purpose

published

Just outside 2 year warranty and unit fails to fully retract. Unit has only been rarely used.Apparently it has lost its tension and this is unrepairable. I believe this unit is not fit for service.

Purchased in October 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse.

1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Granshel, if your unit is indeed just beyond the warranty period, we would be more than happy to honour this for you. Please call us with your docket number and we can organise this for you. 1300 716 188.

Mike R.

Mike R.Perth, WA

Frustrating

published

Second Holman I've bought. First one wouldn't retract after 4 years. Had Pope at other end of the house which, though noisier, is still going after about 10 years.
Moved house 4 years ago and couldn't remember which one was the good one when I had to buy hoses. Bought 2 Holman 20m for front and rear of house 4 years ago. Front of house ok but other one wont retract. Is 4-5 years normal for mechanism to fail? There is no easy way I can see to get access to see wahat problem is and possibly fix it. Too cheap to get repaired! The modern dilemma. Might try Pope or Certa next. How much worse can they be.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

Dave Walsh

Dave WalshSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews

Not retracting

published

Holeman, our date says 17/41 and today it has stopped retracting. We bought 2 and installed one soon after purchase and one a year after we bought it. The first one installed is still retracting. Is it still under warranty , before I start looking for a receipt??
Thanks

1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Dave, yes, this unit is under warranty. You will need your receipt to return it to Bunnings for an exchange. Thank you, your Holman Team!

Colin M

Colin MSouth East Queensland, QLD

NEVER purchase this product 2nd one failed within 12 months

published

First hose reel would not retract after 18 months 2nd reel leaks internally water pouring out take back no proof of purchase cannot fix or replace NEVER buy Holman products

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$99.00.

1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Colin, if you purchased this unit in October 2019, as stated, it is well under the 2-year warranty and you can have this replaced. Thank you, your Holman Team!

Jamie G.

Jamie G.Perth, WA

No Quality Assurance

published

Obviously they need to work on the locking mechanism of this product. So many reviews with the same problem. I have this problem with my 20 meter Holman as well. These are expensive hoses and the quality is not up to standard.

Purchased in March 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$100.00.

1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Jamie, if your unit was purchased in March 2018, it is indeed under warranty and your unit can be replaced at Bunnings with your docket. Thank you, your Holman Team!

Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

Waz

Wazasked

1130H (30m)

I too bought a 30m retractable hose thinking it to be a good investment despite original price. After a few years now of limited use it has stopped retracting and has no weight on the spring. I am told this is not repairable!! A "retractable" hose that doesn't retract is surely unfit for purpose. How will this be rectified ?

1 answer
Tony
Tony

dear waz my wake up call was when my 2 holman hoses broke their springs . Their 2 yr warranty is great for a person who uses it constantly because it will break down before the warranty expires and their can exchange it but for me who treats it with respect and uses it to wash the car and a bit of watering the warranty is superflous .The units casing and quality of hose and low price makes buying it irresistible however when its internals exist of plastic parts and a spring that no longer retracts then you start looking for another hose company. I am currently using their hose between 2 brackets thats all its good for. take the time to pull it apart and you will see how poor it quality is. regards tony

Marc G.

Marc G.asked

1120H (20m)

Hello, I have a Holman 20 which is not retracting and it feels like a weight of some sort has come lose which won't now pull it back in?
Can I fix this myself please?
If so, how?
Thank you

3 answers
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Marc G, I am sorry to hear you are having problems with your retractable hose reel.
Your unit should not be performing this way.
While some parts in the units can be repaired, or replaced, other parts, such as the locking mechanism and internal spring, are not.
We do offer replacement on units that fail within the warranty period.
Without a receipt, we can only take the batch number.
You are welcome to contact us thru our website if you need further assistance. https://www.holmanindustries.com.au/contact-us/

Marc G.
Marc G.

Thank you so much! :-)
Where might I find the batch number please as it was a present so I don't have the receipt?
Thank you
Marc
:-)

Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Marc, this is located under the lid.

Henkvan

Henkvanasked

1120H (20m)

Looking at all the people who have a problem with the locking mechanism I hope you have taken notice to make this more reliable!

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Holman representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.