??!
6 photos
Honda HRU196

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(45)
(11)
(9)
(13)
(19)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (5)
  • Product is used:
    • Weekly (3)
    • Daily (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (4)
  • Safety
    4.6 (5)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    4.2 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (4)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

John Geo

John GeoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Piece of overweight Junk

published

Purchased in January 2020 for $999.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

PaulB

PaulBNew South Wales

Great engine, reasonable product with the right blades.

published

Following my purchase 2 years ago I was initially disappointed with the small chute and associated clogging when mowing damp grass. I opted for the Honda as I wanted power to do just that. After working with the agent we fitted the Honda with the two standard mulch blades and two additional high lift blades which made a world of difference. We made a slight rpm increase also. Overall I'm very happy with how it performs and am enjoying my mowing. The weight creating significant tracks when mowing damp ground would be my only negative feedback. Largely a great engine and the blade break system does work well for me having to regularly negotiate obstacles.

Purchased in May 2018 for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers
jeremy.ieraci

jeremy.ieraciDarwin, NT

  • 28 reviews

Tough

published

Purchased in November 2019 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Daily
See all answers
Anthony

AnthonySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Mowing with ease

published

This mower was purchased as an additional mower as we needed to try and transport our original mower to to in-laws house every week and this was getting to be a problem. We have had it over 18 months now and it has not missed a beat. Starts most times first pull if not on the second. The blade brake is a great safety feature. servicing has not been a problem. We change the Air Filter regularly as the area mowed is usually quit dusty. We only fill it up at the start of the day as It seems to run forever on a tank of fuel.. The only down side is the catcher is a bit difficult to empty when it is full to the max. Saying that it picks up every blade of grass. In the wet it it probably picks up 95% of what is cut.

Purchased in February 2018 at Brisbane Mower Centre.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Ron G

Ron GSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

My go to

published

Used daily and its my go to every time. Best lawnmower Ive had and would buy it again and again. Great on all terrain, dry and wet, and never let me down so far. Good on fuel. Catcher could be a little bigger but not a big enough issue to bother me.

Purchased in March 2017 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Long lasting and easy start, as expected from Honda Mowers

published
Date PurchasedJul 2008

Mower is good, catcher is crap.

published

The catcher is bad enough to put you into a fit of rage. Won't throw all the way to the back, only ever half fills, even after cleaning the screen.
Love the mower, hate the catcher. My advice would be to spend the extra for the next model, or look at another brand.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Tim

Tim

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Runs like a dream.

published

This was a replacement for my 32 year old Suzuki Two Stroke. Another legendary mower but the Honda starts first time everytime. I use the mulching plug so that I dont need the catcher. Its so good that I almost enjoy mowing which I never did with the old mower. A fantastic product

Date PurchasedNov 2016
dan

danDeniliquin

Love this mower

published

I have had this mower 4 years, its been good to use. It starts fast time its never let me down and its always been easy to start. Its never run out of fuel because it takes a lot of fuel I can mow a big lawn with it easy.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Chris

ChrisGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Bought mine 10 years ago. No problems !!

published

The Honda 196P Push Petrol Lawn Mower is one of the best heavy duty lawn mowers in the market. Built to mow in the toughest of conditions, features the 4 stroke OHV GXV160 engine and guarantees to start the first time. Ideal for medium and large lawns as well as for serious contractors.

Weighing in at 34 kg, this Honda Lawn Mower offers a 19-inch cutting width and 163cc.

Date PurchasedJan 2008

Paul D

Paul DBrisbane

Bad mower. Doesn't cut. Doesn't catch.

published

Worst decision in a long time. Thought I'd buy a premium mower at more than $1100. Only thing good is that it starts easy. I upgraded to 4 blades from 2 and still does not pick up the grass, just blocks the tiny shut for anything more than the smallest cut..... even in the dry! Very heavy for a push mower. I am so frustrated with the mower that I now mow/mulch and then hand rake up the grass!!!! I was told the motor is commercial grade, maybe it will last, however, it is not powerful and when the grass is thick the safety blade brake starts to slip!!! Once it has started to slip it generates heat from the friction and slips even more!

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Deano

Deano

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

It's a good mower

published

Good mower to be honest.
Mines been back under warranty a few times for the governor shaft leaking oil out around the shaft. Know out of warranty and it's still leaking and they don't want to know about it. Disappointed to be honest.
Other than that hasn't let me down..

Date PurchasedJan 2014

Bob T

Bob TTarneit

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great mower

published

Upgraded from an old Rover, this thing is amazing, starts so easy, makes light work of my tough buffalo, only con is the arm folding feature, very difficult to Fold for storage. I highly recommend this product, great safety features too. I like the simplicity, no choke, no primer, just pull the chord and away you go, well done Honda!

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Big Red

Big RedMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

As a professional, there is only one choice. Honda

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016
kgn

kgnMelbourne

Solid mower - should give a long life based on experience with the original still going strong

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
happy campers

happy campersbrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

CAN'T LIVE WITHOUT YOU

published

This Honda mower is the best mower I have ever owned, heaps of power and so quite, the mower cuts very clean and fills the catcher full as a googe even wet grass packs in tight, the Honda is so easy to clean by putting the hose in the deck hole, starts first time every time, well done Honda.

Date PurchasedAug 2010

Viva Espana

Viva EspanaSurfers Paradise QLD. 4217

  • 14 reviews
  • 18 likes

HONDA HRU 196 HAD LOTS OF HARD WORK BUT AS NEVER LET ME DOWN.... VERY GOOD MACHINE

published
Date PurchasedMay 2004

gardener george

gardener georgeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 67 reviews

Like the old but better

published

The 19 inch special edition heritage is a very good mower, I've reviewed my five year old previous modal with the fabric catcher and half shute in product review. This newer modal that I've had a year has the old style plastic catcher, full shute width, engine braking, you can mow the lawn a notch shorter with the same ease and its lighter, same reliability, it makes a difference in effort required compared to the other honda, you'll be lucky to find the heritage as it's a special edition, but it's a good improvement.

Date PurchasedJul 2016

I regret my purchase decision

published

This is my third Honda lawnmower.
Every mower has got progressively worse.
Current one won't start and has always been difficult to start. If you are lucky, you may be able to find a Honda HRU150 in good condition. This is the one that Honda established its reputation on and has not been able to produce one as user friendly or reliable since.

Date PurchasedMar 2014

Brad

BradNewcastle

  • 22 reviews

High Quality Engine. Superb finish to lawn, when it works.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Julian C.

Julian C.asked

My Honda Buck HRU19 (3 years old) starts well but annoyingly surges and fades when under load. I'm guessing the exhaust filter is the problem so I'm continually blowing clear for any dust or grime. Within minutes it's back to the coughing problem.
Any suggestions?

1 answer
jeremy.ieraci
jeremy.ieraci

Sounds like your carb needs a clean. It will be a little bit blocked, unable to get enough fuel under load. If you've cleaned the muffler it's not that


Blackshapes

Blackshapesasked

Anyone got a manual for the HRU196D Buffalo Classic?

2 answers
jeremy.ieraci
jeremy.ieraci

I do, what do you want to know?

Blackshapes
Blackshapes

Never mind Jeremy - I pulled down the carburettor and rebuilt it last night and she’s up and going again. Not my mower - drove five hours to friends property to find out that their mower wouldn’t start!

Thanks heaps for your time :)


Roger G.

Roger G.asked

Does it self drive?

2 answers
PaulB
PaulB

Hi Roger, no self drive.

Anthony
Anthony

Hi Roger,
No the Honda HRU196 does not have a self drive but
the Honda HRR216 does have a range of self drive mowers.


Get an answer from our members and Honda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.