??!

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

2.6

53 reviews
5
(11)
4
(4)
3
(9)
2
(10)
1
(19)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (12)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    2.8 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (12)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (12)
  • Safety
    4.3 (12)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.3 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (12)
Previous
Next
Tony

TonyFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great mulching mower - no need to deal with grass cuttings.

published

Nearly didn't buy after reading comments.
My old mower (big bob) cost $600 24 years ago so that makes the honda at $700 a cheap mower.
Bought the honda for the catcher but found mucking around with a catcher is not for me.
Would have got rid of it but for the way it mulches the grass (and leaves) to nothing.
It was harder to push than the old mower but with a bit tweaking the front wheels turn a lot more freely.
If you think mulching is better than catching I definitely recommend this mower.

Purchased in January 2019 at Honda Dealers for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Mickl

MicklSouth West, WA

  • 2 reviews

Great motor crap mower

published

Brought through bunnings in 2019. This would be the best engine I have ever owned. As for the mower it is too heavy to push, you can't cut the lawn low enough and as far as adjustment for height goes it is useless. Is either way too high and can't go low enough. Have brought a second hand victa so I can cut my lawn down low to remove the spongy grass. These mowers may be fine on very level smooth lawns but as I said useless on the average uneven block. They cut and mulch like a champ, start well plenty of power but the mower base lets them down big time

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Luke

LukeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Very disappointed with this Honda mower

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRR216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
WaveBlender

WaveBlenderMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good mulching and cutting mower that deals with most situations

published

I've had mine for almost 4 years now and know it back to front. It mulches nicely and is up to cutting our tough, thick kikuyu couch even when it's been left to grow long. The deck is solid and the motor sufficiently strong.

It's always started first or second pull and the only gripe I have is with the height settings. Lowest is ok if you have a dead flat lawn bowls type of lawn. the next height setting up is about an inch too high for what I want, and I rarely need to go to anything higher.

All in all I'm pleased with it and glad to have spent a few hundred more over the cheaper brands out there.

Purchased in April 2015 for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers

Entry level commercial grade mower

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$664.05.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Chris

Chris

  • 2 reviews

Cutting height issue

published

Bought this mower as I trust the Honda brand, have only had it a few weeks but so far it starts first time, is reasonably quiet and it cuts the lawn nicely. I don't think the motor is under powered as some others have found. Everything is good except the cutting height adjustments, the lowest height is too low and the next height up is too high, I am going to have to try and add another height myself or see if I can lower the blade height slightly.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Drew2756

Drew2756Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent Mower!

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Bluey

BlueySouth East Queensland, QLD

Very disappointed

published

After buying and using this model for 12 years the 2019 model is inefficient ,heavy and slow and complicated to use.It now rescinded in my shed . I still use my older models !

Purchased in May 2019 for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Daily
See all answers

Worst mower I've ever used.

published

Purchased in November 2016 for A$729.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRR216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
lorenzo98

lorenzo98Sydney, NSW

Wished I knew about product review before I bought this rubbish .

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Cowboyfan

CowboyfanCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Average mower

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Honda Dealers for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
S.hayden

S.haydenWestern District, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Love it

published

Great mower easy to use recommend to any one in the hunt for a new mower.
Easy to start and comes with a great price tag. Look no further than a honda.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers

Quality

published

I have used honda self prepelled mowers for 22 years and always been very happy with the product untill their latest model it is under powered struggles through long thick grass cuts very poorly the wheels spin so you have to push it just a very poor mower all round very dissapointed honda should be ashamed of their product

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Piece of crap

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Grahame W

Grahame WRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Great mower

published

In 50 years if mowing i have just bought this self propelled HRR216VYUA. It is very user friendly. I only use the mulching setting and mainly on very thick buffalo grass. It cuts beautifully and I find it very easy to control and does cut backwards so I'm surprised to read so many complaints. Plenty of power and speed is very fast also. It even pulls me up slopping ground.
Highly recommend.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRR216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tony

TonySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

I enjoy doing my lawn now.

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Best decision ever

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018
penegeau

penegeauSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 2 likes

LOVE IT!

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Albany Nomads

Albany Nomads

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bad choice

published

Bought a Honda thinking this would be my final mower, it was a pile of rubbish, after half an hour took it back and got my money back,
At the lowest cutting setting it barely makes a dent in my lawn, was told they are set up for American cutting conditions... well this is Australia. I can say I owned a Honda for 30 minutes. Pile of rubbish, what good is a mower if it won’t lower low enough to cut your lawn

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Honda Was a Poor Choice!

published
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Helen

Helenasked

HRR216

Pull cord to start will not work. It pulls out only a few inches and no further. Mower purchased from Bunnings only 6 weeks ago. I was trying to find a copy of the manual hoping this was a common problem with a simple answer but can find no information. Help please.

2 answers
Mickl
Mickl

Is there nothing stuck under the mower stopping the blades spinning ? Also I typed honda hrr216pkua manual into Google and a manual came up. Hope this helps

Helen
Helen

Thank you but yes I sis find that one BUT this is a HRR216Vku. Are they the same ????

Helen

Helenasked

HRR216

where do i find a manual for the hrr216vku

1 answer
Mickl
Mickl

Try Google may help

Allan M.

Allan M.asked

HRR216K10VKUA (Self Propelled)

Hello,
I have a bent crankshaft from hitting a concrete Storm water inspection Cover.
Is this replaceable or is it not worth the dollars to have it fixed.
Any contact numbers would be great.

1 answer
WaveBlender
WaveBlender

It is replaceable, but could be very expensive. With a quick google I found a crankshaft at $31.00 USD in the US, and exactly the same Honda part number here was around $340 AUD! Not sure if it was exactly the one for your model. You need to look at the labels on your mower and get the engine number first to start tracing part numbers. Ring Honda if you're not sure. They can probably quote on the part too.

https://powerequipment.honda.com.au/contact.aspx

If you or someone you know can replace it, I'd look overseas and work out the landed cost vs what Honda might charge you for the part, and consider if you're up for the job. Keep in mind there might be other components that need replacing (unless you're sure you only have to replace the crankshaft).

I suspect labour cost could be pretty high, but you might be able to find a decent small engine mechanic who can source the part(s) at reasonable cost (maybe even secondhand) and give you an overall repair cost.

Alternatively an engine swap is relatively simple, so there might be a mechanic who has one they could swap.

Just some thoughts to go on. A bent crankshaft isn't the end of the world. IT'll all come down to $$$.

Good luck

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.