??!

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (17)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (17)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (17)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (17)
  • Safety
    4.3 (17)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.3 (15)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (16)
Previous
Next
Thomas

ThomasSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Nothing great

published

Very heavy and robust mower. Although have self propelled function, does not work well on slopes especially going uphill. Rear wheels will turn but no grip on grass. Not suitable for house hold because height adjustment is not simple. Got to do it wheel by wheel after turning off machine. Sold it and now back to using simple mower without self propelled and all the unwanted functions. Not need to have self-turn-off engine when hand is released on mower's handle (to empty catcher). Real pain to restart each time and sometimes it does not restart on the 1st pull.

Purchased in February 2017 for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Andrew

AndrewSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Great mower

published

I have 1/4 acre and maneuvering this mower is not for smaller land sizes. It's cut is brilliant and a perfect size for my purposes. The engine is superb and it starts every time. The grass catcher is the best I have ever had, it is allowed to breathe so fills up and is easy to carry and tip clippings out.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Blane F.

Blane F.Sydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

It a ok mower

published

Brought 2018 - 2019 it's okay it was crap at first kept back firing when I brought it and when it's lower to the ground it back fires serviced it still back fired changed the filter and don't really back fires as much only when it's low

The wheel came off lost the washer I don't know why

Bag ripped a little bit talk to Honda and they said if you don't have the receipt I can't get a replacement bag even know it says life time replacement bag free
Hard to push some areas

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRR216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Janelle

Janelle

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Do not buy honda service poor mower terrible

published

This is my first ever product review im 50 so do not buy this mower or any honda mower.
Self propel stopped working after 20 mows back wheels locked dealer refused to fix as wasnt purchased from them it was a bunnings order let bunnings deal with it dealer wants money as not covered grass in belt making it slip. Payed money returned to bunnings got a victa so a honda mower can not handle grass. Look at all reviews its not only me.

Purchased in July 2018 for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Happy customer1616

Happy customer1616Hervey Bay

  • 3 reviews

Best mower i have used

published

I have the self propelled model which i find very easy to use, my yard has a slight incline and I have Palmetto grass which is quite thick which caused problems for my old mower especially the catcher which was always blocking up and most times I had to go over the yard twice to achieve a reasonable result.
The Honda has no problems at all both with cutting and catching so now I have the yard done in half the time. I would recommend this mower to anyone looking for a good mower.

Purchased in March 2019 at The Mower Place for A$875.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Tony

TonyFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great mulching mower - no need to deal with grass cuttings.

published

Nearly didn't buy after reading comments.
My old mower (big bob) cost $600 24 years ago so that makes the honda at $700 a cheap mower.
Bought the honda for the catcher but found mucking around with a catcher is not for me.
Would have got rid of it but for the way it mulches the grass (and leaves) to nothing.
It was harder to push than the old mower but with a bit tweaking the front wheels turn a lot more freely.
If you think mulching is better than catching I definitely recommend this mower.

Purchased in January 2019 at Honda Dealers for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Mickl

MicklSouth West, WA

  • 2 reviews

Great motor crap mower

published

Brought through bunnings in 2019. This would be the best engine I have ever owned. As for the mower it is too heavy to push, you can't cut the lawn low enough and as far as adjustment for height goes it is useless. Is either way too high and can't go low enough. Have brought a second hand victa so I can cut my lawn down low to remove the spongy grass. These mowers may be fine on very level smooth lawns but as I said useless on the average uneven block. They cut and mulch like a champ, start well plenty of power but the mower base lets them down big time

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Luke

LukeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Very disappointed with this Honda mower

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
WaveBlender

WaveBlenderMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good mulching and cutting mower that deals with most situations

published

I've had mine for almost 4 years now and know it back to front. It mulches nicely and is up to cutting our tough, thick kikuyu couch even when it's been left to grow long. The deck is solid and the motor sufficiently strong.

It's always started first or second pull and the only gripe I have is with the height settings. Lowest is ok if you have a dead flat lawn bowls type of lawn. the next height setting up is about an inch too high for what I want, and I rarely need to go to anything higher.

All in all I'm pleased with it and glad to have spent a few hundred more over the cheaper brands out there.

Purchased in April 2015 for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRR216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Entry level commercial grade mower

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$664.05.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Chris

Chris

  • 2 reviews

Cutting height issue

published

Bought this mower as I trust the Honda brand, have only had it a few weeks but so far it starts first time, is reasonably quiet and it cuts the lawn nicely. I don't think the motor is under powered as some others have found. Everything is good except the cutting height adjustments, the lowest height is too low and the next height up is too high, I am going to have to try and add another height myself or see if I can lower the blade height slightly.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Drew2756

Drew2756Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent Mower!

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Bluey

BlueySouth East Queensland, QLD

Very disappointed

published

After buying and using this model for 12 years the 2019 model is inefficient ,heavy and slow and complicated to use.It now rescinded in my shed . I still use my older models !

Purchased in May 2019 for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers

Worst mower I've ever used.

published

Purchased in November 2016 for A$729.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
lorenzo98

lorenzo98Sydney, NSW

Wished I knew about product review before I bought this rubbish .

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRR216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cowboyfan

CowboyfanCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Average mower

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Honda Dealers for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
S.hayden

S.haydenWestern District, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Love it

published

Great mower easy to use recommend to any one in the hunt for a new mower.
Easy to start and comes with a great price tag. Look no further than a honda.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers

Quality

published

I have used honda self prepelled mowers for 22 years and always been very happy with the product untill their latest model it is under powered struggles through long thick grass cuts very poorly the wheels spin so you have to push it just a very poor mower all round very dissapointed honda should be ashamed of their product

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Piece of crap

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Grahame W

Grahame WRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great mower

published

In 50 years if mowing i have just bought this self propelled HRR216VYUA. It is very user friendly. I only use the mulching setting and mainly on very thick buffalo grass. It cuts beautifully and I find it very easy to control and does cut backwards so I'm surprised to read so many complaints. Plenty of power and speed is very fast also. It even pulls me up slopping ground.
Highly recommend.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

maggie t

maggie tasked

HRR216VKU (2015, Self Propelled)

how to remove fuel cap

1 answer
Mickl
Mickl

Should just unscrew

Helen

Helenasked

HRR216

Pull cord to start will not work. It pulls out only a few inches and no further. Mower purchased from Bunnings only 6 weeks ago. I was trying to find a copy of the manual hoping this was a common problem with a simple answer but can find no information. Help please.

2 answers
Mickl
Mickl

Is there nothing stuck under the mower stopping the blades spinning ? Also I typed honda hrr216pkua manual into Google and a manual came up. Hope this helps

Helen
Helen

Thank you but yes I sis find that one BUT this is a HRR216Vku. Are they the same ????

Helen

Helenasked

HRR216

where do i find a manual for the hrr216vku

1 answer
Mickl
Mickl

Try Google may help

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 6 Honda HRR216
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) A$779.00A$899.00A$533.00A$579.00
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesMulching CapabilityBlade Brake and Mulching CapabilityBlade BrakeMulching Capability, Quick-Start Motor and Self-Propelled
Catcher Type CollapsibleCollapsibleCollapsibleRigid
Catcher Capacity67 L66 L66 L
Cutting Deck MaterialSteelAluminium AlloySteelSteel
Cutting Width533 mm530 mm533 mm533 mm
Height of Cut30 mm to 100 mm30 mm to 100 mm30 mm to 100 mm102 mm to 279 mm
Number of Blades2222
Weight41.1 kg34.3 kg40 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)4 year(s)3 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda 4-Stroke GCV160 OHV/OHCHonda GCV160 OHV/OHCHonda GCV160 OHV/OHCHonda GCV160cc Engine
Engine Type4-StrokeOHC (Overhead Cam) and OHV (Overhead Valve)OHC (Overhead Cam) and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandHondaHondaHondaHonda
Engine Displacement160 cc160 cc
Compare all 6 Honda HRR216

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.