5 photos
Honda HRX217
3.9 from 28 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Honda Power Equipment? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (8)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (8)
  • Safety
    4.6 (7)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.0 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (8)
Previous
Next
Bernie
BernieHunter Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Have had 5 since they arrived still going strong

published

I have had no problems with the 217 I keep the back wheels permanently on level 2 and adjust the front ones as required
Have never changed a drive belt still all on original spark plugs bags still good
Mow stacks of lawns in all kinds of conditions
From drought to flooding
Absolutely the best self propelled mowers ive owned since 2000
Bernie

Purchased in June 2013 for $1,200.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Magilla
MagillaNorth Queensland, QLD

What a disappointment!

published

I have owned or used many Honda mowers over 30 years. Could not fault them......until now. This HRX217 is an absolute disappointment. Before 12 months of age - Pull start recoil failed. Clutch would engage at idle on its own. Auto choke failed. Catcher bag stitching failed. before 2 years of age - major oil leak from timing gear shaft. Pull start recoil again. Clutch again. Just on 3 years old. Motor blown. Blades are expensive and wear very fast. Discharge chute blocks easily. Change over chute door seizes and hard to change over. Bad grass pick up. Bad cut. Does not like long grass.

Purchased in March 2018 for $1,400.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ray
RayMid North Coast, NSW

Will not cut Sir Walter buffalo

published

Purchased in November 2019 for $1,368.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ttt
TttHunter Region, NSW

Won't do same mistake

published

Brought one and half year ago, already not starting, need to wait 3 weeks to check for repair Under warranty. Engine always stop when put on low level, suggest never buy it,only brand name ,poor service and quality.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRX217 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ian
IanTasmania
  • 26 reviews
  • 15 likes

perfect lawn mower

published

recently purchased the Honda Lawn mower HRX217HYU to replace an older model, this mower is easy to use and very easy to start with the Honda quick start engine this model also has self propelled back wheels which makes mowing a larger area a breeze, simple to use controls it basically only has three controls one for the self propelled speed and the other is to select the power setting ie low or high, and the last one is to select mulching or collecting grass option, the only fiddle thing i find is the wheels all have there own hight selectors but once you find the right one for your lawn its easy as. great machine and very quite

Purchased in June 2020 for $1,500.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hari
HariPerth, WA
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

No issues, great machine.

published

Purchased in August 2019 for $1,300.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
bushmagpie
bushmagpieAU
  • 34 reviews
  • 24 likes

Should have bought one years ago

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Benalla Mowers & Chainsaws for $1,459.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
Is artificial grass the right choice for my lawn?

With spring in full swing and yard owners tending to their greenery more, some are looking to ditch the lawn mowing altogether in favour of artificial grass. We go through the pros and cons of installing a synthetic lawn so that you can decide what’s right for your turf.

Clara V.
Clara V.21 Sept 2021
is-artificial-grass-the-right-choice-for-my-lawn
Next
beads
beadsSydney, NSW
  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Just Ok - Expensive for unresolved issues.

published

Purchased in February 2018 at GYC for $1,400.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Consumer555
Consumer555Sydney, NSW
  • 27 reviews
  • 21 likes

OK, but Mulch/Bag control needs redesigning

published

Bought in April 2018 after much research. It performs very well in actually cutting grass (Buffalo and Kikuyu) and has lots of good features .... However, 2 things detract from it -
1) When the bag is over half full, the front of the mower tends to lift from the grass. You need to apply positive up-force to the handle to keep it on an even keel.
2) The Mulch/Bag control (aka clip director) does not go to full 100% bag nor full 100% Mulch but just wanders around in between with a LOT of slack in the control. I took it back to the dealer 6 months ago and they reckon they are all like that. !!!!!!!!!!!!.

Purchased in April 2018 at Hills District Farm Equipment for $1,199.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRX217 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Leigh T
Leigh TBendigo
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Relative ease of operation

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
George
GeorgeDarwin
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Machine!

published

Very nice machine! I do various of runs throughout my yard and it makes my lawn look mint everytime! I like the latch to dismount the excess grass and the capacity is also quite big which was what I was after. The motor inside has plenty of power and hasn't broken down within the time I have bought it (about 9 months ago). I recommend this mower to anyone who is after great performance at a reasonably good price with that reliability that many mowers do not offer!

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Not happy Jan

published
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRX217 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sanchez
SanchezSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

I'm Lovin' It

published

This mower is great, no issues, plenty of power in the 190cc engine and starts 1st or 2nd pull. I've had this mower about 18 months, used for 250m2 flat lawn weekly, sometimes twice a week and the cut is great. I'd never go a non-self propelled mower after this. The variable speed settings makes it easy to get the right speed and the ability to have the engine and self propelled on while the blade is not spinning is exactly what i needed to get up my steep driveway. The composite deck is not a problem, i was slightly concerned at the start. My only concern is the fixed blade, if it hits anything I've read it destroys the engine/mower, if that happens the cost of replacing will hurt.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Gose well. Have only one esu. It seems to lock weels sometimes.

published

Mowes well. Starts just about first go only the weel locking is a real pain. When on a hill or sloppy ground
It gives you grief. But over all a good mower for the price. You just have too love Honda. It just keeps going. And serving. Well the air filtering system will its so clean. Too good. Cheers

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bellakelpie
BellakelpieSouthwest, VIC
  • 11 reviews
  • 17 likes

Really nice mower

published

Just purchased one of these to replace a Proscape self propelled mower. Don't be put off by the composite base as opposed to steel or aluminium bases. The base on this is tough and stands up to punishment. The choice of 7 speeds makes mowing so much easier and the fact that it can also be pulled backwards while cutting (my old mower could not) makes things so much easier when getting into tight spaces. It starts instantaneously which my wife loves. It almost makes mowing the lawn fun.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Herbert A.
Herbert A.asked
HRX217HZU (Electric Start)

Is it worth getting an electric start ?

1 answer
Bernie
Bernie

Not really

Natalie M
Natalie Masked
HRX217

Just wondering why there is individual height adjustment on each wheel rather than just front and rear like other mowers?

1 answer
Bernie
Bernie

It’s to keep everything in order
We keep the back wheels on 2 inches and use the front ones to adjust height as required this works very well

D-tjarlz W.
D-tjarlz W.asked
HRX217

How is the swing blade conversion done?

3 answers
Bernie
Bernie

What do you mean by conversion?

D-tjarlz W.
D-tjarlz W.

I thought this model came with a fixed blade

Bernie
Bernie

There are two blades one cuts and one helps with mulching

See all Honda HRX217 questions

Get an answer from our members

Honda HRX217

Details

Compare all 4 Honda HRX217
Honda HRX217VKA
  • Discontinued

Honda HRX217VKA

No reviews yet
Honda HRX217HYA
  • Discontinued

Honda HRX217HYA

4.7
(3)
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $1,529.00$1,329.00$699.00$829.00
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesBlade Brake and Quick-Start MotorBlade Brake and Mulching CapabilityBlade Brake and Mulching Capability
Catcher Type CollapsibleCollapsibleCollapsible
Catcher Capacity88 L88 L
Cutting Deck MaterialPlasticAluminium AlloyAluminium Alloy
Cutting Width533 mm533 mm508 mm
Height of Cut19 mm to 100 mm19 mm to 100 mm95 mm to 102 mm
Number of Blades222
Weight46.1 kg43.6 kg45 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)3 year(s)5 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GCV190 OHV/OHCHonda GCV200 OHV/OHCHonda GCV200
Engine TypeOHC (Overhead Cam) and OHV (Overhead Valve)OHC (Overhead Cam) and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandHondaHondaHonda
Compare all 4 Honda HRX217

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.