?
? !
5 photos
Honda HRX217

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (6)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (6)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (6)
  • Safety
    5.0 (5)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.3 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (6)
Previous
Next
Ray

RayMid North Coast, NSW

Will not cut Sir Walter buffalo

published

Purchased in November 2019 for $1,368.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ttt

TttHunter Region, NSW

Won't do same mistake

published

Brought one and half year ago, already not starting, need to wait 3 weeks to check for repair Under warranty. Engine always stop when put on low level, suggest never buy it,only brand name ,poor service and quality.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ian

IanTasmania

  • 23 reviews
  • 10 likes

perfect lawn mower

published

recently purchased the Honda Lawn mower HRX217HYU to replace an older model, this mower is easy to use and very easy to start with the Honda quick start engine this model also has self propelled back wheels which makes mowing a larger area a breeze, simple to use controls it basically only has three controls one for the self propelled speed and the other is to select the power setting ie low or high, and the last one is to select mulching or collecting grass option, the only fiddle thing i find is the wheels all have there own hight selectors but once you find the right one for your lawn its easy as. great machine and very quite

Purchased in June 2020 for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRX217 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hari

HariPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

No issues, great machine.

published

Purchased in August 2019 for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
bushmagpie

bushmagpieAU

  • 31 reviews
  • 22 likes

Should have bought one years ago

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Benalla Mowers & Chainsaws for $1,459.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
beads

beadsSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Just Ok - Expensive for unresolved issues.

published

Purchased in February 2018 at GYC for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Consumer555

Consumer555Sydney, NSW

  • 23 reviews
  • 21 likes

OK, but Mulch/Bag control needs redesigning

published

Bought in April 2018 after much research. It performs very well in actually cutting grass (Buffalo and Kikuyu) and has lots of good features .... However, 2 things detract from it -
1) When the bag is over half full, the front of the mower tends to lift from the grass. You need to apply positive up-force to the handle to keep it on an even keel.
2) The Mulch/Bag control (aka clip director) does not go to full 100% bag nor full 100% Mulch but just wanders around in between with a LOT of slack in the control. I took it back to the dealer 6 months ago and they reckon they are all like that. !!!!!!!!!!!!.

Purchased in April 2018 at Hills District Farm Equipment for $1,199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Leigh T

Leigh TBendigo

  • 2 reviews

Relative ease of operation

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
George

GeorgeDarwin

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Machine!

published

Very nice machine! I do various of runs throughout my yard and it makes my lawn look mint everytime! I like the latch to dismount the excess grass and the capacity is also quite big which was what I was after. The motor inside has plenty of power and hasn't broken down within the time I have bought it (about 9 months ago). I recommend this mower to anyone who is after great performance at a reasonably good price with that reliability that many mowers do not offer!

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRX217 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not happy Jan

published
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sanchez

SanchezSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

I'm Lovin' It

published

This mower is great, no issues, plenty of power in the 190cc engine and starts 1st or 2nd pull. I've had this mower about 18 months, used for 250m2 flat lawn weekly, sometimes twice a week and the cut is great. I'd never go a non-self propelled mower after this. The variable speed settings makes it easy to get the right speed and the ability to have the engine and self propelled on while the blade is not spinning is exactly what i needed to get up my steep driveway. The composite deck is not a problem, i was slightly concerned at the start. My only concern is the fixed blade, if it hits anything I've read it destroys the engine/mower, if that happens the cost of replacing will hurt.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Gose well. Have only one esu. It seems to lock weels sometimes.

published

Mowes well. Starts just about first go only the weel locking is a real pain. When on a hill or sloppy ground
It gives you grief. But over all a good mower for the price. You just have too love Honda. It just keeps going. And serving. Well the air filtering system will its so clean. Too good. Cheers

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bellakelpie

BellakelpieSouthwest, VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 16 likes

Really nice mower

published

Just purchased one of these to replace a Proscape self propelled mower. Don't be put off by the composite base as opposed to steel or aluminium bases. The base on this is tough and stands up to punishment. The choice of 7 speeds makes mowing so much easier and the fact that it can also be pulled backwards while cutting (my old mower could not) makes things so much easier when getting into tight spaces. It starts instantaneously which my wife loves. It almost makes mowing the lawn fun.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

A few refinements required.

published

Three improvements would make it great.
Individual wheel adjustments. Why? Front are easy to adjust but the rear are an absolute wrestling nightmare! A lot of skinned knuckles right there!
When the bag starts to get full, the rear end becomes too heavy. You have to put pressure on the handlebars to keep the front wheels on the ground.
The mulch/catcher adjustment jams with build up. Have to physically stop the mower, clean out and adjust. Can't do on the run unless you give the lever a good kick.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great Mower

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRX217 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Don.B

Don.BGold Coast

  • 2 reviews

21" of of cutting power

published

I have owned a lot of mowers in my time and as a lawn contractor by trade, I cannot go past the honda series. the 21" makes quick work of even the toughest lawns and doesn't skip a beat. I have tweaked the revs up to 3500 for a little more grunt to cut through the thick stuff as at factory it is set in the low 3000's which slows productivity. Overall these models are hard to beat and not many competitors come close

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tom

Tom

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Very good

published

Very happy with this purchase. Feels solid. Love the fact that you don’t have to mix oil with petro. Powerfull enough and you will appreciate the large catch baskets. It’s quite heavy as it is however it’s feels like is not very well balance a specially when full of wet gras, it has tendency to easily go out of balance meaning front up.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
murray.ockenfels

murray.ockenfelsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 13 likes

Blade performance

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ames

AmesNSW

  • 5 reviews

Easy to handle

published

I live on almost an acre block and it is a massive chore to mow the yard. I find this mower light weight and easy to start as the old one I would have to get my partner to start. Starts first go. I still hate mowing yet I enjoy using the new mower so not as much as a chore to have to mow the yard now. I love my partner for purchasing this. We sometimes argue over who gets to use it. He he.

Date PurchasedAug 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Fish

FishUmina

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome machine

published

I bought my hrx217 last August, It's my first honda for my business. Runs great and very light considering it's size. The only problem I have is I operate on the coast and the blades don't last long because of the sand. I asked the local dealer and they told me you can't get a conversion kit to use swing back blades.... so I made my own have been using it for about 2 weeks. The mower is even better now

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

JET

JETasked

HRX217

Has anyone found a practical solution to adjusting the height on the rear wheels? I am constantly struggling with this, not to mention the poor skin on my knuckles would appreciate it. Ive tried lifting the mower which sometimes helps a bit but not always. Seems like a design defect to me?

1 answer
Ray
Ray

I found it easier to put a brick under each corner and take the weight off the wheels to adjust the height then when I got it right just take it off the bricks. Its a bit like the clutch. It was a nuisance holding it all the time so I use piece of velcro tape . A couple of wraps and the clutch is on and just leave a tab up to unwind it quickly if you want.

Greg

Gregasked

HRX217

can not move lever across from bag to mulch what causes this. Greg

2 answers
JET
JET

Greg, I suspect there is lawn caught in the bag-to-mulch sliders. Have a look from underneath and clear grass caught between 2 black plastic sliding panels.

Greg
Greg

yep that was the problem not just grass but mud as well , now that has been cleaned out. bought this mower second hand, wow what a mower would recommend to any body looking for a top mower thanks honda.

Peter B.

Peter B.asked

HRX217

Can you pull the mower backwards

3 answers
Ian
Ian

Hi
You can pull the mower backwards but remember it’s designed for self propelling and therefore is a bit heavy to pull backwards on a regular basis

Hari
Hari

Hi,
Yes. It’s easily pulled backwards. It won’t propel backwards. Nothing to change, just pull back. I’m not a big person but I pull it back easy.

bushmagpie
bushmagpie

You can but it's slightly heavier than a mower that isn't self propelled.

See all Honda HRX217 questions

Get an answer from our members

Honda HRX217

Details

Compare all 4 Honda HRX217
Honda HRX217VKA
  • Discontinued

Honda HRX217VKA

No reviews yet
Honda HRX217HYA
  • Discontinued

Honda HRX217HYA

4.7
(3)
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $1,529.00$1,329.00$699.00$829.00
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesBlade Brake and Quick-Start MotorBlade Brake and Mulching CapabilityBlade Brake and Mulching Capability
Catcher Type CollapsibleCollapsibleCollapsible
Catcher Capacity88 L88 L
Cutting Deck MaterialPlasticAluminium AlloyAluminium Alloy
Cutting Width533 mm533 mm508 mm
Height of Cut19 mm to 100 mm19 mm to 100 mm95 mm to 102 mm
Number of Blades222
Weight46.1 kg43.6 kg45 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)3 year(s)5 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GCV190 OHV/OHCHonda GCV200 OHV/OHCHonda GCV200
Engine TypeOHC (Overhead Cam) and OHV (Overhead Valve)OHC (Overhead Cam) and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandHondaHondaHonda
Compare all 4 Honda HRX217

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.