??!
1 photo
Honda UMK425 Loop Handle

Honda UMK425 Loop Handle

MPNs: UMK425LNU, UMK425ULSTUT and UMK425ULTUT
4.5 from 12 reviews

Reviews

4.5

12 reviews
5
(9)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Previous
Next
PaulMaroo

PaulMaroo

  • 9 reviews

UMK425ULSTUT from Bunnings - RUBBISH.

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$404.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Grass Type Short grass, Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers

9 years of work

published

Hi i have mine for 9 years,a great machine,use it professionally.
Replace oil my self and ones a year new sparkplug!

She is getting old will buy the same one again!
Iam a private user.
Just here to help

Date PurchasedAug 2010
Chris U

Chris USouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

The last brush cutter you need to buy!

published

Very easy to start, no need to choke unless it's super cold, just prime and pull. Relatively quiet at idle, but at full stick your neighbor isn't gonna care! The bump feed system is a little bulky/medieval but definitely does the job. A much better machine to use after installing a blade or alloy head. A little heavier than the 2 stroke competition, which gets quite noticeable after a days brush cutting. Kill switch is also easily bumped when in use. Oil service takes about the same amount of time as mixing a batch of 2 stroke would. Only regret is not buying the handlebar version!

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Honda UMK425 Loop Handle compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ben

BenBrisbane

  • 11 reviews

Quality product

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Carol B

Carol Bmelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

A quiet powerhouse

published

I have only used the Honda once since purchasing, but so far am impressed! Starting is a breeze, and it is so quiet compared to the old Echo 2-stroke. Balance is pretty good and I can probably tweak that a bit once I get the harness in the right position. It was used for about an hour on VERY long, wet grass and weeds and didn't look like stalling. Pretty straight forward to refill the line and holds a good capacity to save frequent fills. It comes with a 4 year domestic warranty which is pretty amazing (though the dealer said I won't be needing the warranty - hope he is right). A free service thrown into the deal makes me happy. Oh - and I am a lightweight 60+ year old female !!!

Date PurchasedNov 2017
BPOz_12

BPOz_12NSW, 2450

  • 5 reviews

Quality product that does what is advertised

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Arash

Arash

  • 3 reviews

It works :-) but I'm not sure if it was worth the extra money over the bend shaft model

published

First of all I'm a noob when it comes to gardening and tools, initially I was going to buy the bend shaft model but after some research I settled on the straight shaft, it was $200 more expensive and I don't know if it's actually $200 better :-).
It works fine but I have issue with the line feeder, I'm pretty sure that it's my lack of knowledge/experience but so far I just manually pull out a bit more line with hands whenever it's needed.
From looking at some other brands/models, I can see that Honda has a very good quality and it's been put together solid and I hope that I wouldn't need to replace it for many years to come.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Mark

MarkOrmeau Hills

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

So good so far.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Jim in Adelaide

Jim in Adelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Like all Hondas, it does exactly what it should

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Honda UMK425 Loop Handle compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
GreyGuru

GreyGuru

  • 31 reviews

Pay more.. it's worth it.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Unbelievable. Great machine.

published

I am 12 years old and that Honda umk425u made me cutting my neighbours lawns a breeze and it's so easy and so quiet. I would recommend this machine. I am owing up to Honda and am thinking to get a new mower from Honda
It's powerful and impresses my neighbours since it cuts so well. I really appreciate that Honda made such a wonderful trimmer.

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda
Stew

StewCairns

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Buy the best first time

published

Six months ago I purchased my second Honda only because I accidentally ran over my first one and totalled it. Some days I work these machines for a solid 6-7 hours an they never miss a beat. I bought a blade kit as well for slashing Guinea grass and it works really well. I can change over from blade to the cord head in a matter of minutes in the field. Have never had any issues with the bump feed head, easy to load and works well. I really abuse these machines some times but they just keep on performing. Best features- starts first time every time, quiet, fuel efficiency, and not too heavy.

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Thanks for taking the time to review the UMK425! Its is Fantastic to see you getting the use out of it! -Sarah

See all Honda UMK425 reviews

Questions & Answers

Lois

Loisasked

UMK425 Loop Handle

Seems I have a fuel leak somewhere - not the bulb as that’s been replaced. Anyone have any ideas where I should look?

1 answer
Ben
Ben

Could be a split in the tank, or the fuel line. Does it leak when the tanks half full? On an angle, and if so which angle? Does the fuel stream out or simply drip? If so from which component does it run from? Is it a heavy smell of fuel or just a damp patch that collects dust? You mentioned the bulb being replaced, is it an old or heavily used machine, and has someone overhauled it and not fitted a fuel component properly? From working on older cars, I used to trace fuel leaks back from the fuel tank until I found the source, perhaps try that troubleshooting approach. Too many ifs at this stage to point the finger at one definite thing.

Jen R

Jen Rasked

UMK425 Loop Handle

Hey, can anyone advise the best width of trimmer cable for the UMK425? I just use it home but I have a big yard with a lot of concrete edges. Thanks.

1 answer
AndysFarm
AndysFarm

Use the orange line. 2.4mm. Cuting against rock or concrete will need more frequent bumps to spool line out as it will wear more quickly

Vovey

Voveyasked

UMK425 Loop Handle

What are the differences between a made in Japan model and one made in Thailand ? What does a Honda store supply?

1 answer
AndysFarm
AndysFarm

Sorry I cant answer this. Best to ensure you purchase from an authorized Honda dealer. Maybe they would know

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.