??!
3 photos
Honda UMS425/U

Honda UMS425/U

UMS425 Bent Shaft, UMS425U
4.0 from 96 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (15)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (13)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (14)
  • Safety
    4.5 (15)
Previous
Next
TheLens

TheLensGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

MFAQ: What size trimmer line is supposed to be used?

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Dodgy products

Dodgy productsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

It's ok have had better.

published

There are so many complaints about the bump head, straight from the shop mine would not work.
I paid $28.50 for a Honda steel head and it's very easy to load with two 30 cm pieces of nylon.
Compared to my old Victa,the Honda is under powered.
Also the guy in the mower shop said use small amounts of two stroke mix in the fuel tank to stop seals etc in the carb drying out.

Purchased in October 2020 at Sunshine Coast Mowers for A$379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Not me

Not me

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect whipper snipper

published

Easy to start. Not heavy to carry and get the job done. Bought different brands in the past did not last.. paid bit extra for Honda and work like a magic.

Purchased in September 2020 at GYC for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Honda UMS425/U compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Barry East Maitland

Barry East MaitlandHunter Region, NSW

Easy to use, powerful, reliable and easy to start

published

Bought mine new in 2013 and it's never missed a beat. I've added a shoulder strap which has helped reduce the weight on my arms and to keep it still when edging a path. I strongly recommend using the Honda brand of nylon line as it is hard and rarely breaks. Rarely have I had an issue with the line not feeding.

Purchased in November 2013 at Hunter Outdoor Equipment for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
John

John

  • 2 reviews

Love Honda products normally - but the line feed on this machine is a joke.

published

Starts first time, quiet and love the 4 stroke engine. But the line feed drives me crazy. I only have a small area to manage and I cannot even cover the front and back without jamming of the line feed every time. I am very disappointed with this product. I bought a Honda thinking I'd upgrade!! A waste of money.

Purchased in January 2018 at Roe's Motorcycle and Mower Warrnambool Vic for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Doogle

Doogleperth

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

useless- problems with line feeder after one go

published

Bought this just after Christmas and used it for about 20 minutes when the line stopped coming out. Tried tapping it as per instructions and still nothing. Manually got it out and OK for about 10 minutes before line completely stuck on one side. Took it back and got a Makita - much better.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
daleala

dalealaVictoria

  • 15 reviews
  • 7 likes

Absolutely amazing, never going back to 2 stroke!

published

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$339.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeTall grass
See all answers
Gaela Russell

Gaela RussellCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 32 reviews
  • 13 likes

Reliable, starts every time

published

We've had this unit for 9 years and it's always been reliable, efficient and performed flawlessly. It's 4-stroke so uses normal unleaded fuel and apart from regular servicing has required nothing else. It's a little dearer than some but well worth the money and with 3mm line tackles most tasks easily. The only negative is the time taken to replace the line and it's a fiddly job as well.

Purchased in October 2010 for A$393.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Minnie

MinnieGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Fortunately it is easy to start....

published

....because I had to stop/start it 127 times to reload the line. It used 2 heads full of line to do a job that my old 2 stroke beast knocked over in 2 hours. It snapped, recoiled back into the head, bump head rarely worked, became tight and twisted in the spool....sooooo frustrating. I became an expert at loading it and triple checked the strange instructions. Even did a YouTube degree to gain my bachelors in line loading. So after a great deal of swearing and basic self control (I will give it one-more-chance), back to bunnings it went. Wish me luck with its replacement Makita.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$339.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass and Tall grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Honda UMS425/U compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul H

Paul HGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Supreme Power at a great price!

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Mowers Galore for A$329.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeThick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
ROLLA

ROLLACentral Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Great product

published

Great Whipper snipper, definitely the best product on the market with ease. Always starts first go never had any issues with it at all. Highly recommend to spend the money to get this product.

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass, Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers

Great motor, Dodgy bump head

published

I purchased this whipper snipper about 6 years ago and overall I have been disappointed. I went to honda because I had trouble starting my old whipper snipper. The motor on this one has been great, but the bump head has been nothing but frustration. I can start it first go, but have to stop every 10 metres to fix the bump. The bump head also wears out in less than 12 months and I can't find any off market one to fit. As such its $55 for a genuine honda one every 12 months. I have to do quite a bit of whipping on a 1/2 acre corner block so will steer clear of these ones in the future.

Purchased in May 2014.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Timmy2Dogs

Timmy2DogsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Amazing machine. Great performance. Great longevity

published

Purchased in November 2008 for A$389.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeTall grass
See all answers
Ratnesh Singh

Ratnesh SinghSydney, NSW

Best Whipper Snipper Ever

published

Bought one from GYC Narellan on the weekend, best machine i have every used. One pull start as it is a 4 stoke and powerfull motor for domestic use. The cord winder is also a no brainer, very happy Honda.

Purchased in February 2019 at GYC Narellan.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Neil Burton

Neil BurtonSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Starts First Time Everytime

published

Absolutely love this. Starts like a dream everytime. Does a brilliant job and has more than enough power for a normal back yard. Really good on fuel. The only thing I can say would make this perfect is a shoulder strap, although the handle is more than good enough one you get used to it. Typical Honda quality.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Honda UMS425/U compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
beachsider

beachsiderSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Super Reliable!

published

Super reliable and effective trimmer with an excellent start mechanism, engine and ergonomics. Pretty low maintenance and fuel efficient with having only needed only one oil change in the last 12 months. The tap line release is a bit unreliable as it never seems to release extra line during operation. Other than that, highly recommended.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Great machine, but parts are a rip off.

published

I like honda machinery for their reliability and the UMS425/U is no exception. runs well, easy to start but a little under powered. Needed a diaphragm kit for the carby, that's where I was disappointed. Carby is a Walbro and the diaphragms for them come as a kit but not those purchased through honda. Each diaphragm is sold individually and overpriced total cost of nearly $40 for the set. Can get a full kit for a stihl or any other walbro or zama carby for between $15 and $25. Hope this is not an indication of the price of other parts. Found the kits elsewhere for $12. Prefer to use genuine parts, but for this price I can buy 2 kits in case one does not last and still be in front.

Date PurchasedJul 2016

Disappointed

published

Buying a Honda thought I was buying something decent but the line trimmer head is an absolute joke. I tried several times to wind it as shown in the instructions be only worked once or twice before getting tangled inside the head. So I took it to the Honda dealer and he wound it but again it worked twice. So I bought a Honda easy load head and it was just another waste of time and money, the line again gets stuck and doesn’t work. What a huge disappointment this whipper snipper is. I noticed that other people are having the same problem. l should have stuck with my old Ryobi trimmer it was great.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
ALH

ALHHobart

Bought yesterday very, very unhappy

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
ALH
ALH
DebDeb

DebDebMelbourne

  • 7 reviews

Bit heavy but buying a harness helps.

published

Takes a bit of getting use to after having an electric Ryobi. Starts easily on first pull. It came with a strap but I ended up buying a proper harness to take the weight off my shoulder, much easier to use and control. Find it a bit hard to do edges as you have to swing it in an awkward position but I guess time will make it easier as I have only used it 4 times. Cuts easily through our couch and the bloody runners. Got a deal with buying a mower and this from our local mowing company Mowers Galore.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

julio a.

julio a.asked

UMS425/U

Where and how register and warranty

1 answer
Dodgy products
Dodgy products

I don't register warranty on anything,just use the receipt to claim repairs.

Yvonne S.

Yvonne S.asked

UMS425U

I am putting the line in to the trimmer head and it just keeps feeding out, what can I do?

No answers
Mike

Mikeasked

UMS425 Bent Shaft

How can I get a Hondam Trimmer UMS 425U Head Spring?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

The Honda UMS425/U’s throttle handle provides a solid-enough grip for trimming tasks requiring a medium level of power. It’s made to be used with unleaded petrol, using a mini 4-stroke engine that’s both more powerful and efficient than a 2-stroke engine.

A curved shaft is a point of difference between this Honda whipper snipper and the more premium Honda UMK425 Brush Cutter. The bent shaft is designed to be more easily manoeuvrable for the everyday home gardener – however the straight shaft of the more expensive model will generally operate more powerfully.

Points of praise for the Honda UMS425U:

  • The durability of this Honda UMS425/U line trimmer was admired, including the Honda brand of Nylon line used.
  • User friendliness was also another favourite feature – with this line trimmer being simple to start, the bump head being ease to use on grass, and finally the unit was lightweight to use for extended periods of time.
  • The 4-stroke, efficient engine was cited as the new favourite type of engine for line trimmers, as it effectively used more torque (force or power), while also being more energy efficient.
Compare all 2 Honda UMS425/U
Honda UMS425 Bent Shaft
  • Discontinued

Honda UMS425 Bent Shaft

4.0
(51)
Honda UMS425U
  • Discontinued

Honda UMS425U

3.3
(19)
CategoryPetrol Whipper SnippersPetrol Whipper Snippers
Price (RRP) A$399.00
Handle TypeLoop Handle
Shaft TypeBent
Power SourcePetrol
Engine Type2-Stroke
Engine Displacement25 cc
Cutting Head TypeLine
FeaturesCommercial Use
Weight5.3 kg
Fuel Tank Capacity550 mL
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)4 year(s)
Release dateMar 2008
Compare all 2 Honda UMS425/U

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.