??!
3 photos
Honda UMS425/U

Honda UMS425/U

UMS425 Bent Shaft, UMS425U
4.0 from 93 reviews

Reviews

(61)
(8)
(5)
(4)
(15)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (9)
  • Product is used
    • Weekly (9)
    • Occasionally (2)
  • Grass Type
    • Short grass (7)
    • Tall grass (4)
    • Thick, heavy grass or weeds (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (11)
  • Safety
    4.8 (11)
Barry East Maitland

Barry East MaitlandHunter Region, NSW

Easy to use, powerful, reliable and easy to start

published

Bought mine new in 2013 and it's never missed a beat. I've added a shoulder strap which has helped reduce the weight on my arms and to keep it still when edging a path. I strongly recommend using the Honda brand of nylon line as it is hard and rarely breaks. Rarely have I had an issue with the line not feeding.

Purchased in November 2013 at Hunter Outdoor Equipment for $299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
John

John

  • 2 reviews

Love Honda products normally - but the line feed on this machine is a joke.

published

Starts first time, quiet and love the 4 stroke engine. But the line feed drives me crazy. I only have a small area to manage and I cannot even cover the front and back without jamming of the line feed every time. I am very disappointed with this product. I bought a Honda thinking I'd upgrade!! A waste of money.

Purchased in January 2018 at Roe's Motorcycle and Mower Warrnambool Vic for $400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Doogle

Doogleperth

  • 4 reviews

useless- problems with line feeder after one go

published

Bought this just after Christmas and used it for about 20 minutes when the line stopped coming out. Tried tapping it as per instructions and still nothing. Manually got it out and OK for about 10 minutes before line completely stuck on one side. Took it back and got a Makita - much better.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Honda UMS425/U compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
daleala

dalealaVictoria

  • 15 reviews

Absolutely amazing, never going back to 2 stroke!

published

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for $339.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers
Gaela Russell

Gaela RussellCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 32 reviews

Reliable, starts every time

published

We've had this unit for 9 years and it's always been reliable, efficient and performed flawlessly. It's 4-stroke so uses normal unleaded fuel and apart from regular servicing has required nothing else. It's a little dearer than some but well worth the money and with 3mm line tackles most tasks easily. The only negative is the time taken to replace the line and it's a fiddly job as well.

Purchased in October 2010 for $393.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Minnie

MinnieGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Fortunately it is easy to start....

published

....because I had to stop/start it 127 times to reload the line. It used 2 heads full of line to do a job that my old 2 stroke beast knocked over in 2 hours. It snapped, recoiled back into the head, bump head rarely worked, became tight and twisted in the spool....sooooo frustrating. I became an expert at loading it and triple checked the strange instructions. Even did a YouTube degree to gain my bachelors in line loading. So after a great deal of swearing and basic self control (I will give it one-more-chance), back to bunnings it went. Wish me luck with its replacement Makita.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $339.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass and Tall grass
See all answers
Paul H

Paul HGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Supreme Power at a great price!

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Mowers Galore for $329.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
ROLLA

ROLLACentral Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Great product

published

Great Whipper snipper, definitely the best product on the market with ease. Always starts first go never had any issues with it at all. Highly recommend to spend the money to get this product.

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass, Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers

Great motor, Dodgy bump head

published

I purchased this whipper snipper about 6 years ago and overall I have been disappointed. I went to honda because I had trouble starting my old whipper snipper. The motor on this one has been great, but the bump head has been nothing but frustration. I can start it first go, but have to stop every 10 metres to fix the bump. The bump head also wears out in less than 12 months and I can't find any off market one to fit. As such its $55 for a genuine honda one every 12 months. I have to do quite a bit of whipping on a 1/2 acre corner block so will steer clear of these ones in the future.

Purchased in May 2014.

Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Honda UMS425/U compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Timmy2Dogs

Timmy2DogsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Amazing machine. Great performance. Great longevity

published

Purchased in November 2008 for $389.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers
Ratnesh Singh

Ratnesh SinghSydney, NSW

Best Whipper Snipper Ever

published

Bought one from GYC Narellan on the weekend, best machine i have every used. One pull start as it is a 4 stoke and powerfull motor for domestic use. The cord winder is also a no brainer, very happy Honda.

Purchased in February 2019 at GYC Narellan.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Neil Burton

Neil BurtonSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Starts First Time Everytime

published

Absolutely love this. Starts like a dream everytime. Does a brilliant job and has more than enough power for a normal back yard. Really good on fuel. The only thing I can say would make this perfect is a shoulder strap, although the handle is more than good enough one you get used to it. Typical Honda quality.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
beachsider

beachsiderSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Super Reliable!

published

Super reliable and effective trimmer with an excellent start mechanism, engine and ergonomics. Pretty low maintenance and fuel efficient with having only needed only one oil change in the last 12 months. The tap line release is a bit unreliable as it never seems to release extra line during operation. Other than that, highly recommended.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Great machine, but parts are a rip off.

published

I like honda machinery for their reliability and the UMS425/U is no exception. runs well, easy to start but a little under powered. Needed a diaphragm kit for the carby, that's where I was disappointed. Carby is a Walbro and the diaphragms for them come as a kit but not those purchased through honda. Each diaphragm is sold individually and overpriced total cost of nearly $40 for the set. Can get a full kit for a stihl or any other walbro or zama carby for between $15 and $25. Hope this is not an indication of the price of other parts. Found the kits elsewhere for $12. Prefer to use genuine parts, but for this price I can buy 2 kits in case one does not last and still be in front.

Date PurchasedJul 2016

Disappointed

published

Buying a Honda thought I was buying something decent but the line trimmer head is an absolute joke. I tried several times to wind it as shown in the instructions be only worked once or twice before getting tangled inside the head. So I took it to the Honda dealer and he wound it but again it worked twice. So I bought a Honda easy load head and it was just another waste of time and money, the line again gets stuck and doesn’t work. What a huge disappointment this whipper snipper is. I noticed that other people are having the same problem. l should have stuck with my old Ryobi trimmer it was great.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Honda UMS425/U compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ALH

ALHHobart

Bought yesterday very, very unhappy

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
ALH
ALH
DebDeb

DebDebMelbourne

  • 7 reviews

Bit heavy but buying a harness helps.

published

Takes a bit of getting use to after having an electric Ryobi. Starts easily on first pull. It came with a strap but I ended up buying a proper harness to take the weight off my shoulder, much easier to use and control. Find it a bit hard to do edges as you have to swing it in an awkward position but I guess time will make it easier as I have only used it 4 times. Cuts easily through our couch and the bloody runners. Got a deal with buying a mower and this from our local mowing company Mowers Galore.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Ratu

RatuGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Honda reliability and service

published

Good 4-stroke trimmer for domestic use. However, be aware that 4-strokes are inherently heavier. I borrowed my neighbors 2-stroke Stihl and it was lighter and revved up faster.
But this trimmer is fantastic for domestic use. Although, it does struggle a bit with thicker grass like kikuyu or buffalo when it grows too long. For that reason I wish I bought the one up from this model which is more powerful.
The reason I am taking away a star is it tends to vibrate a bit and hence fatigues me quicker. I have a feeling it's because of the nature of a bent shaft trimmers, so another reason to have bought the straight shaft. I reduce the impact by wearing thick leather work gloves though.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Amazing mashine and staff

published

I bought my Honda recently and had no trouble at all. Works perfectly every time. Quite and functional. Great staff members especially Cameron from RedShed Dandenong. I got my Honda and tank of fuel and oil into reservoirs. Also Cameron explained all details about mashine and how to maintain all parts. Easy to look after it. Definitely the best choice for small and medium size of cutting areas.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Please fix the head and winding of the cord

published

Have had this for 2 months now and despite the best efforts of the good folk who sold it to me I cannot wind the cord without it jamming up after a few bump feeds, I think that the head design could be more user friendly when removing and replacing it. I will have to look at other options for the head. Other than that the machine is everything that I had hoped, it starts first pull - has plenty of power and just gets on with the job.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Rob S.

Rob S.asked

Can you replace a bump feed head with an alloy manual head on a hond whipper snipper

1 answer
Gaela Russell
Gaela Russell

There are kits on-line that claim to do just that and I've used a blade on mine instead of the head so I would think the answer is yes.

Geoff T.

Geoff T.asked

UMS425U

Trying to replace a worn out head unit but although I am getting it to stop with a screwdriver inserted into the hole the head won't unscrew...anyone have any tricks?

No answers
Linda

Lindaasked

UMS425 Bent Shaft

my trimmer will not start i have changed the spark plug

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Honda representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.