??!
3 photos
Hugo Mattress

Hugo Mattress

Queen, King, Single, etc...
4.7 from 30 reviews

Mattresses Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of mattress would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

4.7

30 reviews
5
(24)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (3)
  • Sleeping Position
  • Adjustment Period
  • Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes (67%) · No (33%)
  • Caused Discomfort Yes (33%) · No (67%)
  • Heat Retention Yes (33%) · No (67%)
  • Sagging Yes (33%) · No (67%)
  • Perceived Firmness
  • Customer Service
    5.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Steph B.

Steph B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

So disappointed after 1 year

published

This mattress was very comfortable for the first 6 months. But after this, the support doesn't seem to be there anymore. I am a larger person, and this kind of mattress (foam) is clearly not suitable long term for me. Have started to wake with a sore back and neck. It appears that it is not durable after only 12 months. It isn't as firm now and is sagging slightly. Will be replacing it with a standard mattress. This mattress would probably suit someone smaller. Am so disappointed in having to replace it so soon, particularly after paying over $1,000 for it.

Purchased in March 2019 at Temple & Webster for A$1,045.00.

Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodWeeks
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort Yes
Heat Retention Yes
Sagging Yes
Perceived Firmness Soft
See all answers
DLaw

DLaw

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic mattress

published

Purchased in September 2019 for A$1,000.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionBack, Front and Side
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
Helen

HelenMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Had to buy another one!

published

We purchased our first queen Hugo mattress in April 2017, for our daughters home interstate, so when we visited, we could have a good nights sleep! The room we normally stay in, is currently being used by a friend, who also loves the quality of sleep the mattress is giving! We did not have the heart to usurp the room, so we have bought another queen Hugo! So easy to buy on their site and delivery happened within 3 days. Well worth the cost!

Purchased in February 2019 for A$995.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionBack
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
Mattresses

Find out how Hugo Mattress compares to other Mattresses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lara

Lara

  • 2 reviews

Great communication, great product!

published

The team at Hugo were really friendly and helpful. Delivery was less than 48 hours to Sydney.
The mattress will feel different if you’re coming from an inner spring or pocket spring. But give it a few nights to get used to it. I wake with no back pain, which was an issue with my old pillow top. I weigh 58kg and would rate the feel as slightly firmer than a medium. It would probably feel a bit softer if you are a person of average or above average size. Supportive and comfortable.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Kathy

KathySydney

Finally a mattress-in-a-box that works for me!

published

I tried a whole bunch of these mattress-in-a-box products and kept finding that they were too firm for me - I would wake up hours before I needed to with sort joints and feeling horribly unrested. I stumbled across Hugo which is latex rather than memory foam, and it's WONDERFUL. There's enough support to feel like you're not sinking into the mattress, but also soft enough to actually mould around your shape (rather than feeling like your body has to conform to the mattress). This mattress is good for people who sleep on their front, or for smaller folks who sleep on their sides. I wake up feeling rested and refreshed and relaxed. All the things you want from a mattress.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Review collected in partnership with Hugo

Kuan

KuanSydney

Not particularly impressed but not disappointed either

published

The mattress is quite firm and there was not any firmness option during my purchase. Also, it feels pretty warm after sleeping on it for a while, especially during summer. That being said, I noticed considerable reduction in my back, neck, and shoulder pains after using the mattress. Regarding allergic issues, I have noticed none thus far.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Hugo
Tim B.Hugo

Hi Kuan, very sorry your experience hasn't lived up to expectations! We do have a few tips that might overcome the issues you mentioned. We will email these to you directly :)

Review collected in partnership with Hugo

Amity

AmityMelbourne

My son is sleeping through the night for the first time!!

published

The mattress is fantastic. Super comfortable and my son slept through the night for the first time ever, the first night he slept on it! Couldn’t be happier with this mattress.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Review collected in partnership with Hugo

Pete n Rete

Pete n ReteMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very Comfortable!

published

Our old mattress was quite firm and being a side sleeper I was waking up with a sore shoulder most days.
So we looked for a mattress that was not too hard or soft.
With the Hugo mattress no more shoulder problems, and my wife and I are getting a good nights sleep. I was a little concerned regarding the support on sides of the mattress, but I needn’t have worried, it’s very supportive.
After four months, we’re very happy.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Review collected in partnership with Hugo

MiJ

MiJmelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

This is the third mattress in a box I have purchased...

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Review collected in partnership with Hugo

Mattresses

Find out how Hugo Mattress compares to other Mattresses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew Gibson

Andrew GibsonMelbourne

Great Matress!

published

This is a premium grade mattress for a budget price and we love it! Have been sleeping much better since we’ve owned Hugo.

Key differences to our old sprung matress:
1. It’s much cooler, despite the weather getting warmer.
2. We don’t wake each other up anymore when turning over / moveing in sleep.

I would and have recommend!

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Review collected in partnership with Hugo

Minnie

MinnieMelbourne

Lovely mattress

published

Our Hugo mattress is exactly what we were hoping for, supportive but still cosy and comfortable. Order and delivery was simple and fast. We are very happy with our new Hugo.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Review collected in partnership with Hugo

Best Delivery Every.

published

The mattress is great- it is comfortable although I would have liked it a little firmer but great to sleep on. I cannot believe how quickly Hugo arrived. Ordered Monday arrived Tuesday.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Review collected in partnership with Hugo

Very comfortable mattress

published

The mattress is very supportive and comfortable. I cant believe I waited so long to upgrade but am extremely happy that I chose to go with a Hugo mattress finally.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Review collected in partnership with Hugo

Vanja Radisic

Vanja RadisicMelbourne

Sleeping on a cloud

published

I loved your website and a no fuss order / delivery system, but most of all, I love my new Hugo. It's soft without that sagging feel and I hope it stays that way.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Review collected in partnership with Hugo

Great mattress

published

By far the best mattress I have slept on. Gone are the days of tossing and turning which has allowed for a great night sleep every night. Love my mattress!

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Review collected in partnership with Hugo

Mattresses

Find out how Hugo Mattress compares to other Mattresses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

So comfy!!

published

I've been sleeping on my Hugo mattress for 6 months, and it's a great sleep. Makes getting out of bed in the morning a challenge! Wasn't sweaty in summer months, and is extra cosy with my sheepskin mattress protector in winter.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Review collected in partnership with Hugo

Emzy

EmzyMelbourne

This is perfect for the pained and aging

published

I bought this for my mum who is ridiculously thin and whinges all the time, mostly about being cold and aching in discomfort when she sleeps.
This mattress has ceased all whinging on these matters and has returned to politics and family members.
Fantastic buy, comfortable warm and very supportive.
Highly recommend this product.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Review collected in partnership with Hugo

I loveeeee my bed! It's amazing! I never want to leave it!

published

It is bliss! My back loves it! Makes getting up incredibaly hard ;) I find it the perfect combination of softness and hardness. It is incredibly comfortable and I wake up feeling amazing!

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Review collected in partnership with Hugo

Very comfortable. Very happy

published

I have bought a memory foam mattress online before and had to send it back. It was too firm and i woke everynight with sore shoulders. The hugo mattress has been just that little bit softer, but still supportive. It doesn't feel like a typical memory foam mattress, where you lie on it and slowly sink in. Then you have trouble rolling over. The hugo mattress feels more like a typical foam mattress.

It is fairly warm, but that is ok for now as it is winter.

It does seem like the spot where i lay may be starting to feel softer than the rest of the mattress, so I will keep an eye on that. Its ok for now.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Review collected in partnership with Hugo

Saved ny back from destruction

published

Its softness allows my body to drift into a deep sleep that I've not experienced before. Hardly notice stiffness when getting up in the morning. Now I look forward to going to bed at night and snuggling into the mattress as well as the doona. Its hard to know if it is durable - have only had it for a couple of weeks

May 11th 2017 Update: Saved my back from destruction

WIFE LOVES IT FOR HIP AND BACK ISSUES. The mattress seems something like a water mattress to me but sleep is good.
Durable well so far ! We trust it will prove very durable !

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Review collected in partnership with Hugo

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jcd

Jcdasked

Mattress

What type of latex is used? Is it dunlop or talalay? How do they fair with a 100kg sleeper? (just me sleeping on it)

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Hugo representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.