??!
3 photos
Koala Mattress
4.5 from 3,348 reviews

Mattresses Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of mattress would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

4.5

3,347 reviews
5
(2,724)
4
(209)
3
(90)
2
(138)
1
(186)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Carol

CarolSouth East Queensland, QLD

My koala mattress in a box

published

I’ve had my koala mattress for a couple of weeks. It’s firm without being hard. I have had neck problems that I’ve spent hundreds of dollars on buying new pillows without relief but this new mattress has made a huge difference. I highly recommend it.

Purchased in June 2020 at Koala Online Store for A$800.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
Kay

KaySouth East Queensland, QLD

Comfort personified

published

Past few weeks have been the best sleep I’ve had in a while. I have noticed a significant improvement in the quality of sleep. The hip and lower back pain I usually wake up with has gone. Sitting on the edge of the bed, as it doesn’t have a rigid frame, may seem a little strange at first, but don’t be fooled, it’s a firm, comfortable, amazing product and you won’t regret it. My only suggestion use less packaging/wrap.

Purchased in June 2020 at Koala Online Store for A$850.00.

Value for Money
Sleeping PositionFront and Side
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers

Not as good as I expected

published

Purchased the mattress about a month ago to replace a 9-10 year old mattress. Mattress is very firm and the lower back issues I had are still present and may be getting worse, sometimes takes 10-25 minutes to get comfortable and get to sleep.

If the mattress was a bit softer I feel like it would be better in terms of fit for me, I will likely give it another few weeks but I have the 100 day trial, at this stage may look at returning it.

Purchased in June 2020 at Koala for A$890.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionBack and Side
Adjustment PeriodI never got used to it!
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort Yes
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Very Hard
See all answers
Mattresses

Find out how Koala Mattress compares to other Mattresses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kyle

KyleRichmond-Tweed, NSW

My daughter loves this product and she also loves the idea of adopting a Koala they are an essential part of our Country

published

It is simple and simplicity is Gold in this instance my daughter sleeps better than ever on her new mattress and the peace of mind knowing that she is helping one of her most beloved little creatures the Koala it’s a great thing as they need all the support they can get especially after the devastation with the bushfires! Thanks team Koala’

Purchased in June 2020 for A$620.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention Yes
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Hard
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Lesley F

Lesley FSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

How did I cope without it

published

My mattress is much more comfortable and supportive that I imagined after seeing the item turn up in a box that I at 67 could move on my own.
The mattress has had a positive effect on my recently replaced knee and arthritic lower back and hips.
I find I am sleeping much better after replacing my old mattress and wake up without allergies
At this stage, a month, I have not noticed at change to my mattress.

Purchased in June 2020 for A$892.00.

Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
Phillip C.

Phillip C.Illawarra, NSW

Objectively good

published

Not too hard, not too soft. Keeps the warmth in during this winter. I believe it will be durable and will keep its shape and firmness for a long time.

Purchased in May 2020 at I bought it on line for A$890.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention Yes
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
Matt A.

Matt A.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Delivered wrong mattress

published

Wrong mattress delivered on Friday and I was left the weekend without it. Replacement came on Monday. Delivery was outside of specified window both times so they didn’t pick up the wrong mattress. Tried calling and emailing 4 times to get them to pick up wrong mattress with no response. Finally they responded and picked up.

As for quality, it’s a good mattress but nothing to write home about. Sleep hasn’t changed much from my old spring mattress. I think I expected it to have the comfort of a pillow top mattress, but it’s more like memory foam.

If you’re looking for a quick, convenient mattress (if they don’t stuff up your order), then it’s probably good. Otherwise, go to a mattress store and “sleep around” to find what you like.

Purchased in June 2020 for A$807.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionBack, Front and Side
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers

Great mattress, but I only wanted ONE not FOUR!

published

Purchased in July 2020 for A$850.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers

Very happy!

published

We are very happy with our new mattress. It is very supportive and both of our backs feel so much better since we’ve started sleeping on it. Would buy again!

Purchased in June 2020 for A$870.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention Yes
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
Mattresses

Find out how Koala Mattress compares to other Mattresses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shaz P

Shaz PSouth East Queensland, QLD

Pure bliss. It’s like sleeping on a cloud!

published

Absolute bliss to sleep on, it gives support where you need it. With hip & back problems this bed is dreamy & no more waking up stiff & sore.
The quality & durability is 5 star. I am looking forward to many years of sweet dreams on this mattress. I am in love!

Purchased in June 2020 for A$860.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionBack, Front and Side
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
VickyH

VickyHMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Best nights sleep ever!

published

This mattress is really supportive. Before having a Koala mattress I used to wake up every morning with a headache, but since having the Koala I’ve had the best nights sleep and wake up energised, without a headache. I would definitely recommend this mattress.

Purchased in June 2020 at Koala .

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Hard
See all answers
Stephen

StephenSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great product and awesome service

published

The Koala mattress has improved my sons ability to sleep and no longer wakes up multiple times during the night. The mattress is firm but he is very happy with it and it suits his requirements very nicely. He has since purchased pillows that he is equally delighted with. The delivery process was quick and easy also. Koala is on a winning formula with their products, delivery and customer service. If this is the future of Australian small business bring it on!

Purchased in June 2020.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention Yes
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Hard
See all answers
Habiba

HabibaSydney, NSW

High quality and worth the price

published

Bought a koala mattress queen recommended by two of our friends who have them and are convinced! We couldn’t be so happy and we waited a bit to get a single one for our daughter as it’s a bit pricey! But worth it!! My daughter is so happy to get this mattress and to be sponsoring a real koala as well; which is a real thing especially now..thanks Very much!

Purchased in February 2019 at Koala Living Online Store for A$800.00.

Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodWeeks
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
Carm

CarmGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Early days but very happy

published

Nearly 3 weeks of sleeping on my mattress and no waking up With an aching back and neck, no headaches. Mattress is firm but comfortable. Very happy with my mattress so far.

Purchased in June 2020.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionFront
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Hard
See all answers
Praveen

PraveenGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Not recommended for side sleepers

published

I received the King size mattress couple of weeks back. Me and my partner both are getting this numbness each night. Each night we would woke up with numb hand or numb shoulder. We both are side sleeper, and never faced this issue with any of the mattresses we used in life. There is a 120 nights trial policy, so I feel I am stuck with this mattress. The mattress itself is soft and gives support when you lay down. But every night we are waking up with numbness in our hands and shoulder. After spending above $1000 I did not expect this issue. I purchased the product after reading so many reviews. But this one is not for us :( Sad, we have to stick with the mattress for another few months. Not recommended for side sleepers.

Purchased in June 2020 for A$1,100.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodI never got used to it!
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort Yes
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
1 comment
Koala
KoalaKoala
Mattresses

Find out how Koala Mattress compares to other Mattresses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BLD

BLDSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Incredible! Best nights sleep

published

We are really delighted with all aspects of the product - from the ease of purchasing online, to the after sales service. We’d been referred by a few family members and I’m so glad we listened. We couldn’t be happier with our Investment into this wonderful mattress. We’ve not slept so well in years.
Thank you!

Purchased in May 2020 for A$999.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention Yes
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
KateJ

KateJSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Very Happy

published

It was easy to navigate the website and pick what I wanted. The mattress was delivered on time and is incredibly comfortable. Look forward to seeing how well it lasts but all good so far.

Purchased in June 2020 at Internet for A$850.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
Rhiannon

RhiannonSouth East Queensland, QLD

Awesome!

published

This mattress is everything. Both my husband and I are enjoying our sleep. We feel no movement when either of us move. It’s firm and cosy. The mattress was delivered super quick. The entire process has been so simple.

Purchased in June 2020 at On line for A$1,062.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionBack
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
Adriana R.

Adriana R.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Great value

published

we had to upside our mattress to a king & had heard good things about Koala & the like. Decided to give it a go & am really pleased with the mattress. Comfortable, affordable, ease of purchase & delivery is exceptional. When one person moves in bed it doesn't affect the other as much as an innerspring. Very happy.

Purchased in June 2020 for A$1,060.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
Brianna

BriannaSydney, NSW

Loved it from the first night

published

Love this mattress because it is firm and supportive but it’s also soft on top. There is no movement when someone rolls over so you aren’t disturbed. I highly recommend

Purchased in June 2020 for A$926.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
Page 1 of 168

Questions & Answers

Frequently Asked Questions about Koala Mattress

Do I need to turn or rotate my Koala Mattress?

Like any mattress, it is important that you rotate the Koala Mattress from head to foot on a regular basis throughout its life to help create more even settling of the comfort layers and dispersal of weight throughout the entire product.

This is especially important within the first few months of use. The Koala Mattress has been designed so you don’t need to flip or turn it over as part of regular maintenance.

Is there a weight limit to using a Koala Mattress?

The mattress has been tested with several weighted dummies, up to 240 kg (530 lbs), and is suitable for most, if not all body types.

Why do I feel hot when using a Koala Mattress?

A foam-based mattress warms up more in comparison to conventional, spring-based mattresses after some use. Koala recommends changing the fabric type of your bed sheet or fitted sheet if you feel warm.

Do I need a bed base with a Koala Mattress?

A Koala Mattress works with any bed base type, including slat and ensemble bases. Koala recommends that you do not use your mattress directly on the floor for hygienic reasons.

Latest Consumer Questions

All

Allasked

Koala Mattress

We have had the Koala mattress for a month and have just noticed mould growing underneath. We have spot cleaned the cover and the mattress. Do you think the mould will have penetrated into the mattress? i.e. is it beyond repair?

No answers
Jyoti Bala

Jyoti Balaasked

Koala Mattress

Can I use electric blanket on it ?
Thanks

No answers
benmurchie.work

benmurchie.workasked

Koala Mattress

do you do mattrus toppers

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Koala representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.