??!
3 photos
Husqvarna 122

Husqvarna 122

122LD, 122C, 122LK
2.5 from 23 reviews

Reviews

(5)
(2)
(3)
(3)
(10)
  • Build Quality
    2.0 (7)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (5)
  • Product is used
    • Occasionally (4)
    • Weekly (2)
  • Grass Type
    • Short grass (6)
    • Thick, heavy grass or weeds (2)
    • Tall grass (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (6)
  • Safety
    4.0 (6)
Stu

StuPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Poor customer service from Husqvarna

published

I've owned my 122LD for about 8 years now and am on to my third fuel tank. Husqvarna refuse to honour the consumer warranty on the machine despite the known fault with the fuel tank splitting. At least the latest replacement tank has been reinforced so hopefully this will last a little longer. As far as operation goes, easy to start, edger and line trimmer attachments work well in a light domestic environment.

Purchased at Balcatta Mowers.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Jeremy

JeremyNortheast, VIC

Very disappointed. Very angry. Poor quality machine.

published

I bought this with a buy a husky ride-on and get a brush cutter deal. I had it for 11 months. It began stopping after it got hot and then didn't start at all. I took it to the dealer. He saw the piston and cylinder were damaged. He put it down to incorrect fuel mixture. Not enough oil. I have a Homelite trimmer for 20 years and still going strong and it has had straight fuel occasionally and hasn't damaged anything. I am very disappointed and angry that a reputable brand couldn't outlast a cheaper brand.

Purchased in February 2019 for $375.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Wardrop

WardropFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Most reliable two-stroke machine I've owned

published

I've owned this unit for about 5 years now and have never had an issue with it. I use it on every every two weeks, so it's got some good mileage on it. Has always started second pull.

Purchased in June 2014 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Husqvarna 122 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Troy T.

Troy T.Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Great machine bad quality

published

Had this brush cutter for only a month then the petrol tank split leaking fuel trying to get another one is like extracting teeth
Not happy i wanted an echo but bought husqvarna insted

Purchased in July 2018 for $349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Roman M.

Roman M.Central Queensland, QLD

Save your money

published

Purchased for $220.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers

Buy chinese same quality but without the price

published

its only used occasionally like 4 times a year is stored in a dry shed the rest, just went to use it to find the throttle cable seized up and the choke also seized. it is 3 years old and still under the 5 year warranty, but not at all impressed that im going to have to take time off work in order to return it to the dealer for repair. find one of the older Husqvarna products like 2005, they at least run perfectly and every time you need them to.

Purchased in September 2016 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass and Tall grass
See all answers
Ian M

Ian MSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable unit

published

Purchased in July 2011 for $329.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Grass Type Short grass, Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
diders

didersGeelong

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Temperamental

published

This thing is a difficult to start. Very fussy. When I leaned out the oil mixture a tad it started and ran better. It is quiet but to achieve this quieter operation feels like it has been choked(restricted) as it doesn't really rev out well. Lately I have had issues after it runs for about 5-10min it will just die. Have taken in under warranty but I doubt anything will come of it. The line trimmer my Dad gave me 20 years old runs and starts better than this thing. This husky is cheap. Even the shaft feels like it's made from paper

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Runs but far from great product.

published

This trimmer has always run well enough for me.
- would always have take around 10 pulls to start.
- placement of the fuel filler cap is poorly designed and can be extremely difficult to grasp properly to unscrew with just your hand, you may need some sort of tool to assist.
- the off button stopped fuctioning shortly out of warranty, shop said not economical to repair, i have to stop by pulling spark plug cover off.
- it's quieter than other 2 strokes I've used,
- the string load is easy to use, reload and functions well
- vines and longer grass runners cause no issues with this machine unlike others I use which tangle around the shaft at the head.

In all I think reasonable value for money but could probably find better.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Husqvarna 122 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Disappointed

published

Only about 16 months old and stopped working. Took it to repairer who told me that the part required to fix would cost $130 and $88 labour. Not worth fixing. Very disappointed with this product. I bought what I thought was a reliable brand looking for longevity and I would have been better off buying a cheap brand. Very unhappy.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
MannyG

MannyG

  • 2 reviews

122LK trimmer Rubbish machine.

published

Purchased after my e-bay one died after 8yrs talked into buying this rather than more expensive model by the salesperson. Not a great machine at all had it back for repairs 3 times in four months, now the motor is run in its a little better but overall poor quality rattles like anything and does not handle bigger trimmer lines at all.
WOULD I BUY ANOTHER HUSQVARNA I THINK NOT

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Greg

Greg

  • 4 reviews

The great mistake

published

I purched the machine one week ago, used for about 30 minutes and it hasn't started since. I now have to take back to the dealer 100 kms away then possibly go back to pick it up. I hope (judging by other comments} this isn't the start of a nightmare. Yes the price was compatable with Ryobi but the Ryobi I replaced it with was 7 years old. Has this been a $189.00 lesson?

Date PurchasedJan 2018
muzshan

muzshanBusselton

  • 6 reviews

Good brush cutter, two warranty repairs so far but!?!?

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Rubbish product

published

I purchased this 18 months ago because my cheap one died. In that time I have got it to start almost first attempt ONCE. Every other time it hasn't started, I've had to leave it for half an hour, and then about half of the time it will eventually start. It's been serviced - made no difference. Appalling waste of money.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Thomatbr

ThomatbrSydney, NSW

  • 51 reviews

Good so far

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Husqvarna 122 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MAD992

MAD992South East Queensland, QLD

  • 23 reviews

No More Husqvarna products for me

published

This whipper Snipper (122C) looks like a quality product and it does cut the grass edges well and is very quiet to use........but i have had a gut full of Husqvarna I should have bought a Stihl, Warranty is hard to get They have had to recall these things worldwide because the fuel tanks split, yes mine split they replaced the tank took 2 weeks Husqvarna should of handed my money back then mine is a LEMON .used it a hand full of times then another fuel leak LEMON. Man i am real sick of this crap whipper snipper just rebadged chinese Crap , So please Google the fuel tank problem before buying a 122C,
Shame Husqvarna Shame

Date PurchasedJun 2011

Can't fault the unit I purchased

published
Extra_G

Extra_GPerth

  • 15 reviews

Eh

published
Date PurchasedSep 2011
Toasty

Toasty

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

nearly burned badly

published
Adrian W

Adrian WHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good reliable unit.

published

Purchased a 122C in December 2014. Used it about 4 times since then, no problems to date, starts usually 2nd pull.
Nice quiet unit no need to high rev it to engage the clutch and is very easy to change cord. Hopefully it will keep going well for the next few years.

Update: Now Dec. 2015 and unit is still going well with no problems.
The unit has been difficult to start cold for the last few yrs. Solved with a quick squirt of Nulon "Start Ya" from Supercheap now starts first time everytime.

Purchased in December 2014 for $189.00.

Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Glenn M.

Glenn M.asked

122LD

How do I unscrew head to replace line on my 122l

1 answer
Stu
Stu

There are a number of good video tutorials on YouTube like https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=WO6V3sLHUcw

Dimitra M.

Dimitra M.asked

122

Is this a 2 stroke

2 answers
Douglas M.
Douglas M.

yup

Roman M.
Roman M.

It sure is.....dont buy one. The 122 is a poorly build machine and difficult to start. The support from Husqvarna is worthless.

Greg

Gregasked

122

I need an air filter element and cover are they available?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Husqvarna representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.