1 photo
Husqvarna 236 E Series

Husqvarna 236 E Series

2.9 from 42 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Chainsaws in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Husqvarna

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (10)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (10)
  • Safety
    4.2 (10)
Previous
Next

The most frustrating chain saw wver

published

Bought brand new. The pull cord has always been an absolute pig and after maybe 5 or 6 uses it now will it pull out at all. There are others on forums with the same issue. It's complicated to change the chain due to the complex clutch mechanism. In short, buy a Stihl 170 instead.

Purchased in July 2020 for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Husqvarna 236

published

Good little saw but oil system for bar is bad oil pump gear is plastic
And strips out have replaced 2 in 2 years bought saw in 2018
Need to make it a better quality

Purchased in August 2018 for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

When it works - brilliant little general use saw

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Husqvarna 236 E Series compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
bad
bad
  • 10 reviews

Good saw but always hard to start

published

I've had this saw for about 6 years and it has performed perfectly for me but the one thing I don't like about it is that it's hard to start and stalls alot. I found that you need to use high quality fuel and have the fuel/oil mixture spot on otherwise you will have starting issues.

Purchased in April 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
herbert
herbertPerth, WA

wood saw

published

small branches, larger trees, runs well during the week, come sat morning dam hard to start , but runs on any fuel apples to a Sunday roast, lubrication loves beers, good for it ,67 yrs old this engine, head i love my hand saw.

Purchased in January 1973 at Castlemaine Home Timber & Hardware for $23.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
John
JohnIllawarra, NSW

Great all rounder saw!

published

Easiest chain saw I have ever started...thats what the E means and it does that. I have had this mother for about two years and have probably cut up 30 fallen trees of all different diameters from 6 inches to 24 inches thereabouts with no problems. It has got some grunt for a small saw and all I do is keep it clean after I have used it and keep my spare chains sharp and ready to go. I feel sorry for you guys that have had problems but mine has performed so good. A good feature is the chain tensioner which saves so much time and stress. Cheers!

Purchased in July 2017 at South Nowra Husqvarna chainsaws for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Rubbish!! Back to stihl

published

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
davejenkins
davejenkins
  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

I'm in the crap camp.

published

Plastic cover for chain adjustment failed. The replacement part was ridiculously expensive so I made one myself. They refused it under warranty. Hard to start, same idle issues as others, hard to get chain on and off compared to Stihl. I only use it occasionally now if my farm boss gets stuck.

Purchased in July 2018 for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Andrew
AndrewDarling Downs, QLD
  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great small saw reliable efficient

published

Well priced small saw but reliable functional and to Husqvarna quality and reliability.. starts first time and runs so well and easy clean and get chain off for sharpening and cleaning

Purchased in September 2018 at Toowoomba outdoor power for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Husqvarna 236 E Series compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stuart H.
Stuart H.Murrumbidgee Region, NSW

Value for money

published

50yr old farmer, always bought Stihl.
Have 2 Husq 236 saws (the tooless 236e plastic tooless cover fails).
Owned these 2 little rippers for 7 years supplying most of the firewood for 4 combustion heaters around the farm.
Superb value for money.

Purchased in May 2013 at Wagga for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Not made as good as before

published

Runs fine cuts ok, the bar and chain is thinner than older model , this could be something why the spocket has worn down quick starting to slip the chain, under 2years old, light use, my last 14 inch Husqvana lasted over 15years before sprocket worn and started slipping chain,

Date PurchasedMar 2017
TonyC
TonyCBrisbane
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great for around the house

published

Hasn’t missed a beat and got through some larger than expect trees. Light but powerful it’s size. Very easy to use, no trouble starting . Felt safe to use. Not sure how it would last as a commercial saw but for the price, it is s worth it. I would recommend it for any handy man use around the home

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Curtis
CurtisSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little saw, not sure what one you guys are talking about

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Stihl man
Stihl manQueensland
  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Bloody awful piece of crap,save yourself the trouble.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2013

Stihl next time bye bye huski

published
Date PurchasedJune 2013
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Husqvarna 236 E Series compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Wally
Wallyasked

I have a 236e "tool less" version, meaning the blade can be changed via a hand tightened lever system.
No matter how hard I hand tighten the lever after a short time the chain comes loose. In fact several times the chain has jumped off the bar. Am I doing something wrong or it this a common fault?...Wally

No answers
Andrew
Andrewasked

my 236e was having difficulty starting then when it did start it would cut out. Took it in for repairs and was told the motor has seized and no reason why it may have done so. Was also told not worth fixing. All this after I replaced the brake chain, bar and purchased new chains. Can this be repaired or not worth doing so?

2 answers
davejenkins
davejenkins

move on. Go to Stihl

Andrew
Andrew

Sounds like stale fuel ? Or carby issue cutting out like that .. not really with doing engine repairs if motor has seized ?? on those small ones as they 220 new I think at the moment ..

bill
billasked

chain size e series 236

No answers
See all Husqvarna 236 E Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Husqvarna representatives

Details

CategoryPetrol Chainsaws
Price (RRP) $399.00
Use Pruning
Bar Length36 cm
FeaturesAnti-Vibration System, Chain Brake, Engine Air Pre-Cleaner and Quick / Easy Start
Weight4.7 kg
Noise Level 113 dB
Power (kW)1.4 kW
Engine Displacement38.2 cc
Fuel Tank Capacity200 mL
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.