??!
6 photos
Husqvarna LC18

Husqvarna LC18

MPN: 967604801
3.0 from 43 reviews

See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
14
4 star
5
3 star
4
2 star
9
1 star
11

Dave

DaveSouthern and Hills, SA

Not up to the job unless the lawn doesn't need mowing anyway!

published

The mower seems well made. It's light and easy to maneuver, starts easily and the small catcher is easy to use and works well. However, it is simply lacking the power to cut grass that is over a few inches high without pushing very slowly, which makes progress very slow and frustrating. Valve cearances, air filter, spark plug and carby are all checked and found OK, the mower is simply gutless and I regret buying it.

Purchased in April 2017 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers

vadi

vadiSoutheast, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Will not start

published

We bought this lawnmower a couple of years ago. It replaced a Rover which had given years of excellent service. From the very beginning it was difficult to start. Despite repairs, and four visits to workshops it has remained increasingly difficult to start (35-40 pulls to get a reaction). We are both 70 and worried about back problems. The mower floods easily, cuts unevenly and the catcher is loose and difficult to attach. Once started the motor runs well, but we do not relish the huge effort needed to start the machine. Very disappointing.

Purchased in March 2017.

Product is used: Weekly
Mark H

Mark HSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

Average ! Underpowered.

published

My old 18" cut 5 HP Rover was dying so upgraded to the Husky LC18, nice and light , starts easily and wife enjoys using it , BUT underpowered to hell , if I mow weekly its good if I'm away a couple of weeks (away up to 3 weeks at a time with job) and it rains (typical QLD summer) the Husky hasn't got a hope , I get out the old Rover to knock the grass down then go back to the Husky, if I didn't have the old Rover would have to mow twice , not the ideal scenario , if I had time over would have organised a demo and got a mower the equivalent power to the Rover. Has a 3.75 HP engine needs at least a 4.5-5 HP to be any good with anything other than weekly cut.

Purchased in November 2018 at Rivers for $469.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers
Mark

MarkDubbo

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

for the money it does the job just fine

published

as has been said the catcher is a bit tricky, other than that the mower is perfectly adequate for a small yard. mulcher works perfectly as long as grass isn't too long. At half the price of a honda it isn't a bad mower. Easy to start, starts first or second go with no choke or primer.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Paul

PaulMelbourne

Trick for catcher

published

I recently purchashed an LC18 and could not get the catcher on. Took it back to place of purchase and even the owner struggled to get on. But once on he told to me to leave it in the sun with catcher on and this will make the catcher go on and off easier in future. Sounds crazy but left it in the sun for 2hrs and then stored overnight with catcher on and low and behold it WORKED. Catcher goes on and off without any effort. Hope this helps others with similar issue.

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Helen

HelenBURRA

Catcher doesn't attach

published

I cant get the catcher to work either...apart from that its ok. It's a bit lacking in power but the catcher just does my head and back in everytime I try to use it. If I cant use the catcher I might as well not have it...very frustrated...Why is this so hard is there a trick to it.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Mark G

Mark GLeeton

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Big bucks for not much

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Well priced, decent mower.

published

Did our research on several mowers before making our purchase. Husqvarna was well priced, great quality and the place we bought from delivered it for free and picked up our old mower.
This model is great value for money. Easy to use, starts quickly and so light! Makes cutting the lawn a breeze.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
JandD

JandDGosford

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Product and Reputation Speak For Themselves

published

After being so impressed with the level of service given to me by The Mower Mega Store in West Gosford it was easy for me to go ahead and replace my old mower which was not an Husqvarna (they gave a reasonable trade in price) with a new Husqvarna LC18. The mower performs excellently in all facets of operation particularly the effortless way it starts first time every time and looking back I am crazy for buying cheap China made mower now sold by an household Australian brand that I will never ever buy again. Actually when comes to gardening equipment I avoid China garbage like the plague now. You just have to be much smarter and pay that little bit extra, believe me it is worth it in the long run.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Dave

DaveQLD, 4502

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Best Mower - Use it for my Small Business

published

I have been shopping around for age's on a mower, Value for Money, for Lightness, and easy to use, Ease to start. and All round quality.

I gotta say . This was easy. Best investment I have made.

I run a small business, This Lawnmower, has already proven itself to be reliable

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Duncan

Duncanlondon

Never again. Frame has corroded away

published

The frame has corroded away rendering it useless. The cuttings come out the side of the frame instead of going into the catcher. I wish I had stuck with Rover. The Briggs and Stratton motor (not a Husqvarna motor ?!!? incidentally) is like new, and still on the original spark plug, and starts first time every time. I am disappointed because I believed that I was buying real quality.

Date PurchasedJun 2012

Sparky

SparkySydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Too hard to manoeuvre

published

Cuts ok, cannot manoeuvre this Tank, maybe a tank might be easier!
Catcher release flap awful, have to bang it to secure catcher instead of just lowering it, why isn't it metal instead of plastic, you sort of need to push hard in the centre so you end up bending the edges up so it will catch the catcher, sometimes I think I'm going to put my hand through the flap.
Lately when folding handle down you release the locks on the side and the handle won't fold down and starter cord falls out of pig tail holder.
Still starting easy but I wish I had kept my 23yo Rover

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Wonnie80

Wonnie80Gippsland, VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 15 likes
  • Verified purchase

Not happy

published

Catcher hard to remove and replace. Clippings fail to enter the rear of catcher, hence they are forced to exit from the sides, giving the impression that there was not a catcher attached at all! Agree with others' comments -poor machine for a lot of money. I hope that the manufacturer monitors this site.

Date PurchasedJun 2015

DamoonTwo

DamoonTwoWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 12 likes

Worth the money

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Greg

GregSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

No good, no power buy something else

published

What a waste paid a lot on money for a piece of crap, only used twice so far and hate it. Has no power, stalls on small patches of thicker grass and does not pick up wet grass well. I am mowing lawn twice.
Has no cutting edge, cuts a line 50mm away from fence due to wheel alignment.
How can you get something this wrong? Not enough height adjustment settings.
Big wheels thought it would be easier to maneuver but no...

Date PurchasedAug 2017
not happy jan

not happy janinverloch

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

just average

published

Purchased new from husky dealer in rural victoria. NO choke easy start motor but will sometimes be hard to start, when it does its quiet and fairly powerful but catcher fitting is poor and has a habit of looseing the retaining clips that hold the front axle to the body which is a pain. Service at the dealer is not cheap had it done after around 15 mnths and was nearly $200. Overall lc18 is fair mower but nowhere near as good as a new masport mower i purchased about 15 years ago to mow a double block and never gave a moments problem till it wore out the base

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Bryce P

Bryce PCentral Coast NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good but not the best

published

Purchased this model from a local Husqvarna dealer after comparing it to Victa's and other models. This one seemed the best. It has served me fairly well over the past 24 months, the only issues being the rubber padding where you push the mower got a big tear in it within only 6 months of brand new (and I used it gently), and it blows a massive amount of smoke after it's started sometimes.

Date PurchasedMar 2015

Celia

Celia

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

The front wheel is broken when we bought it

published

This mower works fine, we are happy with the result of cutting; BUT one of the wheel in the front does not move, because it was not balanced in horizontal line with the other one!! And the shop refuse to exchange a new one for the reason the machine itself works fine! Our family was not happy because it is tired to operate a mower with only 3 wheels!

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Julie

JulieTregear

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Lemon warning

published
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Thanks worst mower ever

published

This mower is a total waste of money it has no power too cut the lightest of grass , cuts like a wet dogs tale and grass catch never fills up stay well away from it lots of better cheaper options out there hopefully they sort the next model out

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Rodney H.

Rodney H.asked

I'm not satisfied with the lc19ap husqvarna lawnmower after 3 days what can I do please

1 answer
Dave
Dave

Why are you not satisfied Rodney? I have issues with a simple lack of power after using other mowers over many years. This is dissapointing given that this isn't a cheap mower. It was checked out thoroughly and seems all ok, nothing obvious wrong with it...


Bruce

Bruceasked

Mower is very hard to start, think it maybe spark plug but how do you get it out. Taken it into dealer three times. Starts well after they play with it but a week later hopeless. What can I do to improve starting?

2 answers
Dave
Dave

Hi there Bruce

Mate - Starting has never been an issue for me, so I am unsure how to answer your question. Is the place you brought the Mower from a Licensed Dealer ? The Dealer in Petrie here is very good on the northside. Perhaps a phone call to them would help.

Just one thing, there is the little pump under the housing, do you do that around 5 times before starting ?

Dave

Bruce
Bruce

Thanks for the suggestion appreciated.


Bazza

Bazzaasked

How do I remove the blades?

2 answers
JandD
JandD

I get mower shop to do that tipping a mower on it's side to replace blades in not recommended.

Bazza
Bazza

Thank you for the reason you gave. That was a good one! But my concern is that I don't seem to be able to get the bolts to release with reasonable force and am frightened to break something.!
Barry.


Get an answer from our members and Husqvarna representatives

Details

CategoryPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $529
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesFoldable Handle and Mulching Capability
Catcher Type Rigid
Catcher Capacity44 L
Cutting Deck MaterialSteel
Cutting Width460 mm
Height of Cut16 mm to 80 mm
Number of Blades4
Noise Level 95 dB
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine Displacement140 cc
BrandBriggs & Stratton
Engine Type4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
Engine NameBriggs & Stratton 140cc 550ex 4-stroke OHV Series

Visit official website - Download manual
  • MPN: 967604801

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.