??!
5 photos
Hyundai Elantra AD

Hyundai Elantra AD (2016-2018)

Elite, Active, SR Turbo, Trophy
4.3 from 24 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.3

24 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (4)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (4)
  • Braking
    4.5 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.8 (4)
  • Handling
    4.3 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (4)
  • Features
    4.5 (4)
Previous
Next
Sam

SamGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Not a reliable car

published

I bought my Hyundai Elantra in 2017 and used it for 2 years. It broke down twice in that time period. One with fuel injection issue and other with engine coolant leakage. Both the time it had to be in service centre for almost 2 weeks. I had to sell it as it was not reliable to my expectation.

Loved the features in Elantra, auto headlights, auto wiper and Apple CarPlay.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2017 for $30,150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brizzy Family

Brizzy FamilySouth East Queensland, QLD

Excellent value for money

published

I bought a 2012 second hand in 2015 and have had it for four years. I drove it for a couple years on a long commute, 160 kms round trip. Hubby regularly used it for long surf trips, too, so we have driven it from about 20k kms to 160k. We’ve never had a major problem. It is economical to run and maintain. It comfortably seats 4 and I’ve driven three 11 yr old boys in the back no problem.

Purchased in February 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Deep

DeepMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Car with a decent price tag

published

I have used this car for over 5 years now. You will love the power steering and is still better than many new cars in the current market. Both exterior and the interiors stand-out. Never had any issues apart from wear and tear for the first 5 years. Cruise control seems to be a common issue with these models as it ages.

Purchased in July 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Hyundai Elantra AD compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
wazza22

wazza22South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

2016 brand new

published

excellent smaller family car .have the auto for ease of city driving motor wise good to use plenty power when need it.. comfort of setout inside 5 yr warranty ease of services by dealer..highly recommend Mitsubishi elantra 2nd 1 we have brought brand new

Purchased in March 2016 at misubishi dealer booval for $23,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

I love it

published

I love my Hyundai. I dive it every day. Only thing I’d say it it’s not what I’d call a family car. I have a baby seat in the middle and it’s impossible to get the other two rear seatbelts done up. Had to buy extender straps. Also noisy on start up. For about the first 10 mins it taps loudly. Like the oil is not circulating properly. The dealer assured me this is “ normal” and everything is fine. Beautiful to drive tho and smooth. Good fuel economy. Don’t be fooled by “free” paint protection. I have to pay every year to have it touched up to maintain warranty.

BodySedan
BadgeActive
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
K maltry

K maltry

  • 3 reviews

Bet Car I've Owned

published

Low fuel cost
Gorgeous design
Lots of Room inside and very comfortable seats
Came with Mags
10 yr warranty
Came with RACQ 10 year roadside assistance
I recommend a test drive to people looking for a new sporty car!
Lighting is stylish as Well.
Plenty of space in the boot
Drink spaces

BodySedan
BadgeActive
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Not a bad car but service will drive you nuts. The radio is garbage

published
BodySedan
BadgeActive
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Amy

AmyMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent sedan.

published

Been having the car for almost a year now. I’m glad I went with this Elantra. Well built, cost effective to run. If you’re considering it should spend a bit more (2K from memory) for the Elite version with more features (smart key, etc). Hyndai services is great too. One happy camper.

BodySedan
BadgeElite
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ingak

IngakGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

A class above

published

Hyundai have really stepped up the quality and look of the Hyundai Elantra. You get a whole lot for your money. They are packed full of safety and modern features, the car has a great finish. It's a classy looking car and it drives really well for a low, low price tag.

BodySedan
BadgeActive
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Hyundai Elantra AD compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Angela H

Angela H

  • 3 reviews

Works okay

published

We bought this car in Year 2016. It is easy to drive on the highway and city. We love this car’s body shape and leather seats, but the seats are very hot in the summer season if I park the car without shades. It’s radio signal and Bluetooth speaker quality are terrible. More than 50% of time, another person cannot hear my voice. Hyundai could not probably solve the problems.

BodySedan
BadgeSE
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Terry

TerryMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great overall package

published

Have now got 18,000 k's on the clock and is a great car. This is the SR version with the 150kw engine. For the power it has amazing fuel efficiency currently around low 7Lt/100K. Handling is great. Love the paddle shifters, changeable driving modes and lots of other goodies. Only thing that could be improved is the tech with the touch screen a bit basic. Looking forward to the fastback I30N coming for a possible upgrade.

BodySedan
BadgeSR
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John W

John WCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 15 reviews
  • 14 likes

Could Not be Happier

published

I pur ahased my car as a demo with 4000km on the clock. I have had it 5 months and could not be happier. It is roomy, econmical and provides a smooth ride. My prevoius car was a Camry and I was looking for something slightly smaller but bigger than a Corolla. The Elantra fits the bill perfectly.

BodySedan
BadgeElite
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rob

RobPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Disappointing new car experience

published

We had a disappointing new car experience. Picked up our brand new 2018 Elantra on Friday and an hour after leaving the dealership we turned on the air conditioner, only to realize it's not working. If I realized the air conditioner wasn't working before I handed over my hard earned money, I would not have bought that car and asked for a replacement or full refund. Yeah it's getting fixed now, only after less than 2 hours ownership. Shame on you hyundai and your dealer for selling me a faulty product.

BodySedan
BadgeElite
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alfreddo

AlfreddoHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

A cheap, small car, with few problems and good air con.

published

Handles well,and is easy on the pocket, do hear some tyre noise.
When moving from stop say at roundabout it is not as smooth as I would like. The interior is well fitted, but having lower back problem, I find it hard to get out, especially in a parking area where door can't be fully opened.
I have had a few problems in the early days, one being after putting my shopping in the boot on an extremely hot day, the car wouldn't start. Called road service, but they thought I was in N.T. and didn't dispatch to my locality.
On taking the car to the dealer, they couldn't find anything wrong. Then in the winter there was black smoke from the exhaust, again dealer couldn't find any problem.

BodySedan
BadgeSE
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Culprit

CulpritGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Bang for Buck the Elantra Elite is Great Value

published
BodySedan
BadgeElite
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Hyundai Elantra AD compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Maximo101

Maximo101Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Simple and Elegant

published
BodySedan
BadgeActive
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
CoolLL

CoolLLMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car for a mid range

published

Just picked up my 2017 Hyundai Elantra, excited to be in a car that has all the mod cons in technology and style. Great safety features air bags asll round. Fantastic capped price warranty for 5 years unlike the higher priced vehicles. Free roadside assist which provides greater control on costs and security when on the road.

BodySedan
BadgeElite
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
KBX

KBXmelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good family car

published

If you are looking for a nice and comfortable car, Hyundai Elantra is the car to go. It looks luxurious from the outside but it's actually fairly affordable. We have driven the car to road trips and haven't got any problem so far. We have also used it a few times to help our friends move.

BodySedan
BadgeElite
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
TREV

TREVsydney

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love My Car

published

I have had my new elantra for only 4 m0nths and already have 7500 kilometres on the clock.
Have travelled to Melbourne and Brisbane and the driving experience was faultless.
A smooth, quite ride with all the gadgets that are included in most cars these days and I know I have nothing to worry about whenever I take to the road.
Fairly priced, economical to run and coming with a good warranty, I am always happy to recommend our new hyundai.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
alyssa

alyssaPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great FamilyCar

published

The driving experience is great but the engine isn't as powerful as it should be. This makes driving up hills quite difficult at times, large ones especially. The car isn't that noise but I haven't had it for long so it may be. The steering wheel at times can jerk a little as well. These are all little things after all with overall the driving experience being okay to great. The interior is very slick, there's lots of leg room for me and I'm quite tall. The back seats also provide lots of room which is why this car is great for families. Lastly, it's very cheap to run and can stand the test of time.

BodySedan
BadgeFX
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Hyundai Elantra reviews

Questions & Answers

Tbone1957au

Tbone1957auasked

Elantra AD (2016-2018)

Does the 2018 Hyundai Elantra Elite have a better audio system than the base model?

No answers
PeterS

PeterSasked

Elantra AD (2016-2018)

Looking at buying a Elantra Elite demo. Are seats and suspension better than the base model? Also have they fixed the audio/Bluetooth problem? I’m also looking at the Kia Serato Sports. Any advice or suggestions appreciated.

1 answer
Ingak
Ingak

Hi Peter, I have the base model, so I can't comment on whether the suspension and seats are better on the elite model but I'm very happy with my seats and suspension. Also, I have never experienced any issues with the audio/bluetooth in my elantra and I use it all the time.

KTR

KTRasked

Elantra AD (2016-2018)

Hi There,
Can Elantra fit in 3 adults easily in back seat or is it best fit only for 2 adults?
Compared to KIA Cerato and Toyota Corolla Sedan, do you think cabin space in backseat is better ?

Appreciate your response.

Thanks,
KT

2 answers
Terry
Terry

Hi KT
I have had my 3 adult boys in the back. They didn't complain so I would say it was ok. The cerato is basically the same car so I would think it would be ok as well. Not a carrola fan so don't know about that one.

SelRap
SelRap

Hi KT, not sure about the Kia cerato, I also have 3 grown boys who comfortably in the back seat of the Hyundai. Then I have 2 big dogs that sit in the back as well. The Toyota Corolla seems a little smaller. Depends how tall the adults traveling with you. Hope I helped you, thank you.

See all Hyundai Elantra AD (2016-2018) questions

Get an answer from our members

Hyundai Elantra AD (2016-2018)

Details

Compare all 14 Hyundai Elantra
Hyundai Elantra AD SR Turbo
  • Discontinued

Hyundai Elantra AD SR Turbo (2016-2018)

No reviews yet
Hyundai Elantra AD Trophy
  • Discontinued

Hyundai Elantra AD Trophy (2016-2018)

No reviews yet
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $24,250$26,990$31,290$25,350
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomaticDual-Clutch (DCT) and ManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.2 L/100km7.2 L/100km7.2 L/100km7.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power112kW @ 6200rpm112kW @ 6200rpm150kW @ 6000rpm112kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque192Nm @ 4000rpm192Nm @ 4000rpm265Nm @ 1500-4500rpm192Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateFeb 2016Feb 2016Feb 2016Feb 2016
Discontinuation dateJan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018
Compare all 14 Hyundai Elantra

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

See all Sedans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.