??!
7 photos
Hyundai Elantra XD

Hyundai Elantra XD (2000-2006)

4.4 from 27 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.4

27 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (2)
  • Braking
    4.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.5 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (2)
  • Handling
    4.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (2)
  • Features
    3.5 (2)
Previous
Next
Peterkirgan

Peterkirgan

  • 14 reviews
  • 7 likes

Still going and even more!!!?

published

Had this xd hvt for 5 yrs now only major repairs were CV joints radiator and new clutch apart from tyres batteries the norm this has never let me down! Has 210000kms no rust and looks new inside/out am giving this to my son as an ideal first car! As for Hyundai they are worth what you pay for them!!!!!

Purchased in October 2015 for $3,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sarah

SarahCentral West, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Cheap But Very Reliable

published

Four years ago, I found myself sick with recently-diagnosed chronic leukaemia and unable to work. As an added whammy, my Astra died and I had to find a reliable and cheap car ASAP. My 2004 Hyundai Elantra hasnt skipped a beat. Gets me from A to B, very fuel efficient and (touch wood) no major issues in that tiime. For an older model, it has been more than worth what I paid...

Purchased in December 2016 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

GMAN

GMAN

  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

Cheap but good

published

Bought as a cheap run-around car. Although it is ageing the trim, carpets, engine, seats are all like new. No engine faults at all and very reliable. Dash is cracking though, due to heat and it has/had some electrical issues such as the central locking and interior lighting failing but I'm not concerned about these as long as the reliability is there.

BodySedan
BadgeGL
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai Elantra XD compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Truman York

Truman YorkHobart, TAS

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Unreliable

published

11/11/2014 purchased with 153,633 k’s
7/3/2015 needs a new radiator. $380.00
17/11/2015 (173,192 k’s) Handbrake cable needs replacing $226.81
25/8/2016 Rocker cover gasket needs replacing $163.85
23/3/2017 Needs another radiator $340.00
Sold vehicle in April 2017 approx 187,000 k’s

Top of radiator is plastic and it is crimped to the metal radiator core. Radiator heats up and cools down and after a while plastic top can separate from core and allow coolant to run out.
Performance was good and fuel wise it was cheap to run.

BodySedan
BadgeGLS
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chookadook

Chookadooknoyb

  • 14 reviews
  • 12 likes

Never skipped a beat

published

I have had my Hyundai Elantra for about 14 years now, it has never had any issues, only minor general services, it's never broken down, its zippy, has excellent pick up and performance, reliable and still starts first go, even on cold mornings. This has honestly been the best car I've ever own. Built to last, I can not say anything negative about it.

BodyHatch
BadgeHvt
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2004
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
pat

patNorthern Region, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

Still going strong

published

Very easy car to handle had this one since 2003 with no major repairs and lots of mileage on Australian interstate freeways with really good fuel on premium unleaded. Regular servicing has picked up on one major computer issue 3 years ago, hope it lasts as long as my previous car Honda Accord I had for 20 years.

BodyHatch
Badgeno idea
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2003
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mcmonte

mcmonteTasmania, 7248

  • 22 reviews
  • 35 likes

Better than expected

published
BodyHatch
BadgeGL
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Love it!

published

My parents bought the car in 2004, brand new. Since then, it's done 90,000 km with out a single fault. Since then I have learnt to drive in it (Manual) and it has been passed to me. Surprisingly punchy, with decent power coming from the 2.0L engine.
Honestly, I couldn't survive without it.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
woodunn

woodunnSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

So far so good

published

Bought with 120,000KMs on the clock. Had no issues. Great engine reasonable economy. Had a sluggish engine when purchased but found the timing belt was out by a tooth when it was changed (before I bought it) which was fixed under warranty The only complaint is the height of the clutch bite point and how light the clutch pedal is. There is no feel which takes some getting used to but a great little car
Roomy, reasonablty built
clutch action took some getting used to

Engine Size2.0 HVVT
Transmissionmanual
BadgeFX
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai Elantra XD compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great car, surprising power and good economy.

published
Engine Size2.0 HVT
TransmissionManual
BadgeFX
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
getback2ul8r

getback2ul8rgriffith

Best car ever!!

published

Purchased my 2001 elantra hatch back in 2008. best car i have ever owned!!!! only had 41xxx km on clock, i have since got it upto 92xxx km. i have it serviced regularly. have only had a couple minor probs with it, 1 being the fuel pressure reg went on me while on the open road :( and had the slave cylinder let go on me. is a very reliable car with brilliant fuel economy, running in town i get 550-600km to the tank and open road i get 800-850km to the tank. have just finshed getting timing service done and has more power then ever before. i will definitely own this car til the day it dies.... and then i will happily go out and buy another one without hesitation :)
Fuel economy, reliability

Transmissionmanual
Engine Size2.0l
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
heythatguy

heythatguyCanberra

A diamond in the rough

published
Engine Size2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mr Awesome

Mr AwesomeAU

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great Car

published

Holy Molly why didn't someone tell me how good these cars are! I bought a 2004 Elantra for $500.00 out of reg. I spent about $500 on RWC and then reg of course. Car has 136000km and runs so sweet. It seriously purs and I am use to driving a Golf. I really rate this car and am going to check our a newer model for the wife
It's quiet, fuel effiecient and runs like a dream
middle console is a bit small

TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dave974

Dave974AU

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Love it!

published
Engine Size2.0 4 Cylinder
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Antoco

AntocoMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 129 reviews
  • 17 likes

Excellent

published

I borrowed this car from a mate for the day while my car was being serviced and I thought I would give it a little test drive. I ended up finding that the ride was probably smoother than my car and a little quieter as well when on poor quality bitumen. Fuel consumption is good as well so no complaints there and the overall drive was quite impressive as well. I could be looking at one of these when I get my own car soon.
Nice design, interior quality is good and driving ride is smooth.
When turning it's not as tight as my Ford Focus, but it's still good.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai Elantra XD compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dann

DannSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jsambell

jsambellVictoria, 3672

  • 71 reviews
  • 18 likes

Good

published

Our Elantra was the first car we had ever bought new and as such I still have very fond memories of it.
We have since traded it in as our family expanded but I would definitely buy it again if it was just the two of us. I'm only taking off one star because the resale or trade in value is so low.
A lot better built than earlier Hyundais.
Best red I've ever seen.
Great 2.0L engine with VVT - as much power as a BMW 318i without the price.
Devastating re-sale value.
Gear change is a bit notchy.
Clutch and throttle are both very light and don't have much feedback.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Excellent

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Buyornottobuy

Buyornottobuy

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
lisss

lisss

  • 58 reviews
  • 12 likes

Good

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Hyundai Elantra reviews

Questions & Answers

Mark C

Mark Casked

Elantra XD (2000-2006)

Hi I really am happy with this 04 elantra 2hvt. I have a need to replace the pollen ac filter. Any tips help in taking the glove box out? And advice? Bushfires here in NSW Australia. Thanks Mark

No answers
wookie

wookieasked

Elantra XD (2000-2006)

I am looking at fitting a tow bar to my 2004 Elantra hatchback, does anyone know if I can wire it straight in or need something because of the computer? thanks

No answers
Stormy

Stormyasked

Elantra XD (2000-2006)

I have owned my Hyundai Elantra since 2005 and was brand new and have loved it but for about two or three years (it is serviced at home) I have my warning light on all the time for my airbag. I was told by one Hyundai repairer that it was the seatbelt and would cost so many dollars and it hasnt been fixed. Because of the airbag recall should I be concerned? It has only 101,000.00 mileage.

1 answer
Alfreddo
Alfreddo

The Hyundai is not mentioned in the list of vehicles with airbags that are faulty. Check here https://www.productsafety.gov.au/recalls/compulsory-takata-airbag-recall/takata-airbag-recalls-list. Can't be too careful these days.

See all Hyundai Elantra XD (2000-2006) questions

Get an answer from our members

Hyundai Elantra XD (2000-2006)

Details

Compare all 14 Hyundai Elantra
CategoryCars, Hatchbacks and Sedans
Starting Price $24,980
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating3 Stars
Fuel Consumption9.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power105kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque186Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Release dateAug 2000
Discontinuation dateJuly 2006
Compare all 14 Hyundai Elantra

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.