??!
8 photos
Hyundai Kona

Hyundai Kona (2017-2020)

Also referred to as: Hyundai Kona 2019 and Hyundai Kona 2021. OS (Petrol), Electric
4.5 from 24 reviews

Reviews

4.5

24 reviews
5
(16)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (14)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (14)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (14)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (14)
  • Handling
    4.7 (15)
  • Braking
    4.7 (14)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (15)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.6 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (15)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (15)
  • Boot Size
    3.5 (15)
  • Features
    4.6 (15)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (15)
Previous
Next
Sharon

SharonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

good little car, but new car duco questionable

published

Purchased car from a dealer as a demo model in their showroom in 2018,this car is a great little car. However for a car that is only 2 years old and gets well looked after the black paintwork around the door frame has already faded and bubbled badly.Also it has rust flecks which have appeared on the bonnet, after inspection they say it is from welding which I questioned the original quality of the duco considering I have 2 other white family cars kept and used in the same way as the Kona. I will definitely look closer when buying my next car. Very slow process in repairs being carried by the dealership.

Purchased in January 2018 at Hyundai Dealers for A$28,300.00.

BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tom

TomPerth, WA

  • 17 reviews
  • 17 likes

Most Fun and Technologically Advanced Car I’ve Owned in 42 Years of Driving!

published

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Deep Bhardwaj

Deep BhardwajPerth, WA

Wonderful range + features but lacks basics

published

I've been using my Kona EV highlander as a daily car for almost 8 months and it has been an absolute gem. The car is amazing and all with features like heated seats, heads up display, driver assist and all that but it lacks some basic things like a spare wheel (does come with a repatch kit tho) and the headroom and legroom in the back is pretty bad but apart from that its a small zippy little SUV to get around town with minimal costs for servicing and practically zero issues.

Purchased in November 2019 for A$59,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Kona compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sharon W.

Sharon W.

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy to drive and easy on the pocket

published

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Handling
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Debbie B.

Debbie B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

buying

published

l just purchased my second Hyundai and l am just so impressed with it and the experience of the service of all the team l dealt with l use it daily it gets serviced when needed at Hyundai

Purchased in February 2020 at Hyundai Dealers for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Debbie B.
Debbie B.

Tania Hall was just beauitful

Brad W

Brad WVictoria

  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

Good Car

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Hyundai Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Pablo

PabloRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good little car

published

Nice compact little suv. Was a downgrade from Tucson but still nice. Good safety features and comfort. The boot could have a bit more room and the traction on Road isn’t great.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ellen B.

Ellen B.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Love it!!

published

I love this car! I got the Tangerine Comet colour and it’s gorgeous! Looks so cool, I’ll admit I check out my reflection in shop windows as I drive past! Great around town, zippy in sports mode and even zipper when you put it manual mode. Reverse camera makes squeezing into those tight spots a breeze!

Excellent on the long trips, cruise works pretty well although it can creep higher than set on hills.

Apple car play is very cool, speakers are great I love the extra ones high on the doors. I’m proud to drive around in this car, she’s a beaut!

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mariana V.

Mariana V.

  • 2 reviews

Love my white Kona

published

Great looking car, very economic and very economic in fuel too.
Spacious and so easy to drive and park with the reverse camera.
Packed with so many features ( great touch screen, Bluetooth, comfortable seats, and very smooth to drive)

Purchased in October 2019 at Carsales.com.au for A$20,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Kona compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MarkB

MarkBMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Bloody amazing !

published

Purchased in November 2019 for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Drew

DrewSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Love it

published

Great car to drive. Is very comfortable and economical. Has good range of features and performance is good on freeway. Only criticism of the car is boot space is disappointing

Purchased in October 2019 for A$29,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Buddah71

Buddah71Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Hyundai kona

published

Purchased this mid range version 6 months ago as I wanted a more economical but safe & comfortable ride in car. This company vehicle has out done itself with features, comfort, safety & servicing costs.
Love this car.

Purchased in March 2018 at Hyundai Dealers for A$32,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Brisbane

BrisbaneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great car for the money

published

Our 2011 i30 was getting a little tired and the dealer had a 2018 Kona demonstrator at the end of February 2018 for around $3000 less and only 53 km on the clock. We went for a test drive and were delighted with the bodywork, braking, the power the engine and the dashboard readouts, and the reversing camera. Yearly servicing intervals are great and the car has run really well so far. The connectivity with the mobile phone and its many apps is the icing on the cake. Great comfortable car at a great Price.

Purchased in February 2019 for A$24,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mannyjen

MannyjenSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Loved it so much we bought 2!

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Hyundai Dealers for A$27,888.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Suelorr

SuelorrWestern Australia

  • 13 reviews
  • 26 likes

Not getting what you pay for

published
BadgeElite
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Kona compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Trinity

TrinityQueensland

  • 2 reviews

Great Car

published

Hyundai have been absolutely amazing from the time I purchased the vehicle a couple of months ago..Kaden was the sales assistant and was never pushy like most places. Quick and efficient service. The Kona is a great little SUV, and the fuel efficiency is great! There is not one thing I can fault so far, Hyundai even offered Road side assistance for free

BadgeActive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018
DriveFWD
Dave

DaveSydney

  • 21 reviews
  • 12 likes

Nice car and fast

published

I have a new highlander TTR 1.6 turbo and is very nice.Stereo sounds great but the gear box has a hiccup now and then which I here is normal.Otherwise it would get 5 stars.Not sure why the duel clutch can’t get the right gear when driving hard.Car handling is great like a sports car.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Diddy

DiddyToowoomba

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The best small suv on the market

published

Just purchased a basic model Kona and it’s fantastic. The seats are comfy and it drives so smooth. I mostly drive around the city and being a small suv it gets in and out of parking spots easily. It’s got so many great features like auto headlights. They just come on when it’s dark and a reversing camera. Very very cool car

Badge$25.000
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018

Great car, excellent value

published

I have the Elite 1.6T and love it. Excellent performance. ride, handling and fuel economy. Comfy seats with good quality trim. Superb value for money for what you get. Just a couple of glaring omissions - No satellite navigation (c'mon guys it's 2018!) and it has only one reversing light! There's no excuse for this, the quality of the reversing camera is poor at night due to insufficient light. Should also have LED headlights. I also agree that there is a little more road noise than expected and 10,000 km service intervals is too short. Nevertheless I give this little beauty an 8 out of 10.

BadgeElite
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Debi Slinger

Debi SlingerGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 20 reviews
  • 14 likes

Everything I wanted and more

published
BadgeActive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Ozzesty t.

Ozzesty t.asked

Kona (2017-2020)

How reliable is the kona 2 litre and 6 speed auto. Any issues ?

No answers
Christine stoffels

Christine stoffelsasked

Kona (2017-2020)

What price please

1 answer
MarkB
MarkB

There are 5 models, 4 having the option of two different drive trains (9 models total). Price ranges from $27K to $44K on the road. If you value function over form I strongly recommend the 1.6 Turbo AWD option. This car is a joy to drive and fastest in the small SUV class. Price for the Turbo starts at $31K for a white GO.

Ellen B.

Ellen B.asked

Kona (2017-2020)

Can someone please tell me where to find what speed the cruise is set to on the cluster? I cant see it anywhere and I feel like Im missing something obvious! Thanks

4 answers
Ellen B.
Ellen B.

Its a 2019 MY20 Go model

MarkB
MarkB

Top right corner of cluster.

Ellen B.
Ellen B.

Thanks for getting back to me. Mine is not showing up for some reason. Weird! Dealer said to let them know at my first month service so they can have a look

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.