?
? !
8 photos
Hyundai Kona

Hyundai Kona (2017-2021)

Also referred to as: Hyundai Kona 2020 and Hyundai Kona 2022. OS (Petrol), Electric
4.3 from 31 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.5 (20)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (18)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (19)
  • Braking
    4.7 (19)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (20)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (15)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (20)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (21)
  • Handling
    4.6 (20)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (21)
  • Boot Size
    3.5 (21)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (20)
  • Features
    4.5 (20)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Tom

TomPerth, WA

  • 19 reviews
  • 19 likes

Updated Review after 21,000 KMS- STILL LOVE IT,

published

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
KENNETH G.

KENNETH G.

  • 2 reviews

Took delivery 13 days ago, engine died on day 1 while driving, wouldn't start, had to be towed away. 2021 model.

published

Only had around 50 k's on clock. Has been in service division now for 12 days & counting. Issue could be with the ?immobilizer, ? transponder ? fuel pump ? Electrical connection issues. I hadn't driven a kilometer. To say I'm disappointed would be an understatement. What concerns me is that I haven't been able to get anything definitive or concrete as to what is wrong. It seems I've purchased a riddle on 4 wheels that even the manufacturer can't solve, only speculate on. I will never feel confident or safe driving this car. Suffice to say that this has caused much stress & I will regret this choice in motor vehicle for a long time.

Purchased in April 2021 at Westpoint Autos for $28,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jayne S.

Jayne S.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Disappointed in my Kona 2019

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Hyundai Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Kona compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Disappointing 1st and 2nd gear

published

This car would be a 4.5 star rating EXCEPT for the disappointing performance in 1st and 2nd gear while in sports mode. The car short shifts at less than 2000 revs which is very annoying. Hyundai service (Hobart,Tas) today said this cannot be rectified. After 3rd gear, she drives beautifully. If you want a zippy sporty feeling car your only option is to manually shift it in 1st and 2nd gear.

Purchased in June 2019 for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michelle G

Michelle G

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not built for short people

published

Great features and nice to drive. I've only previously owned small cars, not an SUV, and the interior and boot of this car are less spacious than my previous cars.
The positioning of the headrest is too high if you're 5'3 or shorter. The headrest sticks out from the seat and the bottom part of the headrest (which should be in line with the neck/base of the skull) hits the top of my head, so the only way to drive the car is with my back not touching the seat at all. If I were in a car accident, being thrown back against the headrest would cause my head to be tilted downward and snap my neck. If you're short, avoid this car.

Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gertie

GertieHunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Absolutely love my Kona!

published

Purchased in September 2020 for $21,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

I'm still enjoying it

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Lennock Hyundai for $72,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sharon

SharonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

good little car, but new car duco questionable

published

Purchased car from a dealer as a demo model in their showroom in 2018,this car is a great little car. However for a car that is only 2 years old and gets well looked after the black paintwork around the door frame has already faded and bubbled badly.Also it has rust flecks which have appeared on the bonnet, after inspection they say it is from welding which I questioned the original quality of the duco considering I have 2 other white family cars kept and used in the same way as the Kona. I will definitely look closer when buying my next car. Very slow process in repairs being carried by the dealership.

Purchased in January 2018 at Hyundai Dealers for $28,300.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tom

TomPerth, WA

  • 19 reviews
  • 19 likes

Most Fun and Technologically Advanced Car I’ve Owned in 42 Years of Driving!

published

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Kona compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Deep Bhardwaj

Deep BhardwajPerth, WA

Wonderful range + features but lacks basics

published

I've been using my Kona EV highlander as a daily car for almost 8 months and it has been an absolute gem. The car is amazing and all with features like heated seats, heads up display, driver assist and all that but it lacks some basic things like a spare wheel (does come with a repatch kit tho) and the headroom and legroom in the back is pretty bad but apart from that its a small zippy little SUV to get around town with minimal costs for servicing and practically zero issues.

Purchased in November 2019 for $59,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sharon W.

Sharon W.

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy to drive and easy on the pocket

published

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Debbie B.

Debbie B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

buying

published

l just purchased my second Hyundai and l am just so impressed with it and the experience of the service of all the team l dealt with l use it daily it gets serviced when needed at Hyundai

Purchased in February 2020 at Hyundai Dealers for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Debbie B.
Debbie B.

Tania Hall was just beauitful

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brad W

Brad WVictoria

  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

Good Car

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Hyundai Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pablo

PabloRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good little car

published

Nice compact little suv. Was a downgrade from Tucson but still nice. Good safety features and comfort. The boot could have a bit more room and the traction on Road isn’t great.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ellen B.

Ellen B.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Love it!!

published

I love this car! I got the Tangerine Comet colour and it’s gorgeous! Looks so cool, I’ll admit I check out my reflection in shop windows as I drive past! Great around town, zippy in sports mode and even zipper when you put it manual mode. Reverse camera makes squeezing into those tight spots a breeze!

Excellent on the long trips, cruise works pretty well although it can creep higher than set on hills.

Apple car play is very cool, speakers are great I love the extra ones high on the doors. I’m proud to drive around in this car, she’s a beaut!

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Kona compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mariana V.

Mariana V.

  • 2 reviews

Love my white Kona

published

Great looking car, very economic and very economic in fuel too.
Spacious and so easy to drive and park with the reverse camera.
Packed with so many features ( great touch screen, Bluetooth, comfortable seats, and very smooth to drive)

Purchased in October 2019 at Carsales.com.au for $20,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

MarkB

MarkBMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Bloody amazing !

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2019 for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Drew

DrewSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Love it

published

Great car to drive. Is very comfortable and economical. Has good range of features and performance is good on freeway. Only criticism of the car is boot space is disappointing

Purchased in October 2019 for $29,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Buddah71

Buddah71Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Hyundai kona

published

Purchased this mid range version 6 months ago as I wanted a more economical but safe & comfortable ride in car. This company vehicle has out done itself with features, comfort, safety & servicing costs.
Love this car.

Purchased in March 2018 at Hyundai Dealers for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brisbane

BrisbaneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great car for the money

published

Our 2011 i30 was getting a little tired and the dealer had a 2018 Kona demonstrator at the end of February 2018 for around $3000 less and only 53 km on the clock. We went for a test drive and were delighted with the bodywork, braking, the power the engine and the dashboard readouts, and the reversing camera. Yearly servicing intervals are great and the car has run really well so far. The connectivity with the mobile phone and its many apps is the icing on the cake. Great comfortable car at a great Price.

Purchased in February 2019 for $24,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Salhi K.

Salhi K.asked

Kona (2017-2021)

I am having problems about sensor. It is 2021 new kona and installed rear and front sensor. While I driving, some times BEEEE sound came out. Dealer said its normal. You can turning off when you drive, when you need turn on the sensor button.
Can any one same happens with me?

No answers
Tracey L

Tracey Lasked

Kona OS 2WD 2.0L Petrol Highlander (2017-2021)

How do I stop my Kona talking to me all the time? eg Warning Children Crossing Ahead, Warning Narrow Road Ahead, etc... Its driving me crazy!!!

No answers
Frederick

Frederickasked

Kona (2017-2021)

Has anybody had an issue with a steering wheel noise (like no power steering fluid) and then like a creaking noise when turning the steering wheel or coming to a stop? This is a 2018 model OS Kona Active with safety Has anybody had any steering issues of any type??

1 answer
Jayne S.
Jayne S.

Hi yes i have had the same, they replaced a part in the steering column which when i got it back was worse and now been told it needs a new steering column. got told its happening to a lot of Konas, and have been waiting since December 2020 for a replacement.
I now have another problem with the engine using all the oil in between services and no warning light coming on. seems a bad choice in buying this car. i have only done 40,000km and model is 2019.

See all Hyundai Kona (2017-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members

Hyundai Kona (2017-2021)

Details

Compare all 10 Hyundai Kona (2017-2021)
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
Starting Price $32,745$43,000$36,865$29,490
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy16" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors 5555
Seats 5555
Fuel Consumption6.7 L/100km6.7 L/100km6.7 L/100km6.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Engine CodeG4FJG4FJG4FJG4FJ
Max Power130kW @ 5500rpm130kW @ 5500rpm130kW @ 5500rpm130kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque265Nm @ 1500-4500rpm265Nm @ 1500-4500rpm265Nm @ 1500-4500rpm265Nm @ 1500-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,250 kg1,250 kg1,250 kg1,250 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)600 kg600 kg600 kg600 kg
Dimensions
Ground Clearance170 mm170 mm170 mm170 mm
Release dateOct 2017Oct 2017Oct 2017Aug 2018
Compare all 10 Hyundai Kona (2017-2021)

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.