??!
1 photo
Hyundai Kona

Hyundai Kona (2017-2019)

Also referred to as: Hyundai Kona 2018 and Hyundai Kona 2020. OS, Electric
4.7 from 15 reviews

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
11
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0

Drew

DrewSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 8 likes

Love it

published

Great car to drive. Is very comfortable and economical. Has good range of features and performance is good on freeway. Only criticism of the car is boot space is disappointing

Purchased in October 2019 for $29,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Sampson Lai

Sampson Lai

  • 4 reviews

Love it!

published

Bought this Kona in June 2019. I love the outlook and colour, both are fantastic. The fuel consumption is a surprise, that's for sure. Good on steering and easy to control. It is gorgeous on mechanic and the respond is so rapid.

Purchased in June 2019 at Zupps.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Buddah71

Buddah71Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Hyundai kona

published

Purchased this mid range version 6 months ago as I wanted a more economical but safe & comfortable ride in car. This company vehicle has out done itself with features, comfort, safety & servicing costs.
Love this car.

Purchased in March 2018 at Hyundai Dealers for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Brisbane

BrisbaneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great car for the money

published

Our 2011 i30 was getting a little tired and the dealer had a 2018 Kona demonstrator at the end of February 2018 for around $3000 less and only 53 km on the clock. We went for a test drive and were delighted with the bodywork, braking, the power the engine and the dashboard readouts, and the reversing camera. Yearly servicing intervals are great and the car has run really well so far. The connectivity with the mobile phone and its many apps is the icing on the cake. Great comfortable car at a great Price.

Purchased in February 2019 for $24,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Mannyjen

MannyjenSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Loved it so much we bought 2!

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Hyundai Dealers for $27,888.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Suelorr

SuelorrWestern Australia

  • 12 reviews
  • 21 likes

Not getting what you pay for

published
BadgeElite
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Trinity

TrinityQueensland

  • 2 reviews

Great Car

published

Hyundai have been absolutely amazing from the time I purchased the vehicle a couple of months ago..Kaden was the sales assistant and was never pushy like most places. Quick and efficient service. The Kona is a great little SUV, and the fuel efficiency is great! There is not one thing I can fault so far, Hyundai even offered Road side assistance for free

BadgeActive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018
DriveFWD

Dave

DaveSydney

  • 20 reviews
  • 12 likes

Nice car and fast

published

I have a new highlander TTR 1.6 turbo and is very nice.Stereo sounds great but the gear box has a hiccup now and then which I here is normal.Otherwise it would get 5 stars.Not sure why the duel clutch can’t get the right gear when driving hard.Car handling is great like a sports car.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Diddy

DiddyToowoomba

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The best small suv on the market

published

Just purchased a basic model Kona and it’s fantastic. The seats are comfy and it drives so smooth. I mostly drive around the city and being a small suv it gets in and out of parking spots easily. It’s got so many great features like auto headlights. They just come on when it’s dark and a reversing camera. Very very cool car

Badge$25.000
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018

Great car, excellent value

published

I have the Elite 1.6T and love it. Excellent performance. ride, handling and fuel economy. Comfy seats with good quality trim. Superb value for money for what you get. Just a couple of glaring omissions - No satellite navigation (c'mon guys it's 2018!) and it has only one reversing light! There's no excuse for this, the quality of the reversing camera is poor at night due to insufficient light. Should also have LED headlights. I also agree that there is a little more road noise than expected and 10,000 km service intervals is too short. Nevertheless I give this little beauty an 8 out of 10.

BadgeElite
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Debi Slinger

Debi SlingerGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 20 reviews
  • 2 likes

Everything I wanted and more

published
BadgeActive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

MacGyver

MacGyverTocumwal NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

A sporty and safe downsize

published
BadgeElite
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Wayne5555

Wayne5555Narre Warren

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love this Car..

published

I have this car since January 2018. Its been great to drive. Its takes a while to get use to everything in it. The experts say the age for this car is 20 to 30s well i am 54 and love it my mates at work love it too. I feel safe driving it and thats where i want. I trust this car. Android auto takes a little getting used to the only thing in the car i am not 100% on. The Radio / Android Auto.

BadgeElite
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Tats86

Tats86Brisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 11 likes

What a blast! Awesome car and wow does it get peoples attention

published
BadgeElite
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Maddi

MaddiPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Fantastic Value For Money

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
BadgeHighlander

Questions & Answers

Ellen B.

Ellen B.asked

Can someone please tell me where to find what speed the cruise is set to on the cluster? I cant see it anywhere and I feel like Im missing something obvious! Thanks

1 answer
Ellen B.
Ellen B.

Its a 2019 MY20 Go model


Tracey W.

Tracey W.asked

Im hoping my next car is a Kona, what are they like in regards to mechanics?

No answers

Pam O.

Pam O.asked

What petrol rating is required ? Service intervals ?

1 answer
Brisbane
Brisbane

91 octane is ok and the service interval seems to be every 12 month after the initial check after 4weeks from purchase from new.


Get an answer from our members and Hyundai representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.