??!
4 photos
2001-2007 Hyundai Terracan

2001-2007 Hyundai Terracan

3.5 from 48 reviews

Reviews

3.5

48 reviews
5
(14)
4
(17)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(9)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.8 (4)
  • Handling
    4.0 (4)
  • Braking
    4.5 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (4)
  • Boot Size
    3.7 (3)
  • Features
    3.5 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (4)
Previous
Next
Mike

MikeCentral, SA

  • 4 reviews

Best car I have ever owned

published

Purchased in July 2017 for A$9,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Barry W.

Barry W.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

tyres

published

you must have the same type and depth of tread per axle which is normal, the awd vehicle you must have 4 tyres the same type and tread depth, I hope this helps...
I had my terry since 2008 Turbo Diesel SLX demo model and change the oil every 5000 kms with synthetic oil and had no trouble at all.

Purchased in January 2008 for A$40.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jay

JayMid North Coast, NSW

Lovemyterracan

published

Hi everyone, i own a 2006 2.9 ltr turbo diesel terracan, which i bought in August 2017. I use it for travel and around town. Last year she had a blown head and needs a new motor just wondering if a 2004 motor will fit.

Purchased in August 2017 for A$8,000.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how 2001-2007 Hyundai Terracan compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
alamc

alamctoukley

  • 6 reviews

2005 turbo diesel bought december 2017

published

Purchased in December 2017 for A$2,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Almost a Land Rover but at a fraction of the price

published

Purchased in June 2007 for A$32,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jenz3910

Jenz3910vic, 3910

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awful car, COMPLETE LEMON

published
BadgeCRDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Drive4WD

Reliable and cheap

published

I bought this car from a friend, making me the third owner. It had 185,000 on the clock. He had reliably changed the oil - that was it.
I too have changed the oil every 7000kms. It’s now done 230,000kms and is still going like a dream. It drops plenty of oil but nothing out of the ordinary for a car with so many kms
Its been 4x4 used and driven up the east coast of Aus twice. It’s also the daily drop off for the school run.
Fuel economy is awful, but who cares? If you are buying a v6 terracan for economy then give yourself an uppercut then go buy an echo.

BadgeHighlander
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Drumbrake7

Drumbrake7Southwest, VIC

Good bang for bucks

published

Was our only car, so used for everything. Economical on trips, but when something goes wrong, parts are not easy too buy, and are very expensive. I am in the process of selling it now, as I can not afford to repair and maintain it. The fuel system needs total replacement, costing between $4000 and $5000 dollars, due to picking up some dirty fuel at a servo. Will never buy a diesel car again.

BadgeSLX CRDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Ally

AllyHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Crunching noise when taking corners

published
BadgeHighlander
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how 2001-2007 Hyundai Terracan compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
PeterH

PeterHBrisbane

Foxy Wholsalers

published

Same car yard 2 months later and a $6000 engine repair bill after 8 days of ownership. Suspension totally rebuilt with a delaminating rear tyre thrown in as well. After 10 reliable years with a Sportage I thought this would be the bigger brother and better built. Good points are it’s a big strong car for a reasonable price, bad points are the same with any common rail diesel motor - if they break they cost a fortune to repair. Front suspension is the torsion bar style ( like a 1973 Valliant) and wobbles/creaks and generally has to be driven well below the speed limit to remain safe on the road even after $1500 in repairs.

BadgeCRDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

2006 Turbo diesel radiator problems

published

I've just brought a car off Foxy Wholesalers in Brisbane, drove it 440km in under 19hrs. Rang caryard told me it was my problem. Car is pumping water from the radiator to the overflow, it shut down. Does anyone know if it would be the thermostat or the radiator that is the problem?

BadgeCRDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Bernadette

BernadetteRokewood

  • 2 reviews

2002 petrol model unfortunately was a headache

published

We wanted to like this car, the size and seating capacity was perfect for us but unfortunately our particular car was nothing but a money pit and needed endless repairs starting with the engine being rebuilt after the car continually went into limp mode whilst driving, the starter motor went, another $1700 motor repair, punctured break line then an alternator bearing problem and the transmission was starting to go. We never took it off road but we discovered a fortnight after buying that the car yard who sold it to us sold it in bad condition.

BadgeHighlander
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2011

Running 1 lakh plus kms..still running strong without any problems.

published

Hmm nothing seems to be wrong with my Terry. Running 1 lakh plus kms still running strong..replaced clutch plate and brake pads till now.. No issues with the engine.. Sometimes i see check engine light turning on after hitting 140kms speed.. Don't know the reason..might b loose connection problem..dealer said injectors need to be serviced which is common in all the vehicles..gotta replace fuel filters.. Love my Terracan.

BadgeCRDi
TransmissionManual

Engine heating problems

published

I have had my Terracan since new had all the right services....now for no reason at all the temperatre guage goes up ......Engine does not over heat....You stop the car turn key off and start again and temperature guage is normal ...you can travel 500 kms and then up comes temp...

BadgeSLX CRDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Dig

DigSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 10 reviews

04 Petrol, manual model, Has served me well.

published
TransmissionManual
BadgeHP
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how 2001-2007 Hyundai Terracan compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Good vehicle

published

Had our 2006 crdi since new .Always use synthetic oils , only prob was diff crunching on sharp turns, told by dealer it was a known problem. Put my own additive in for LS and never a problem again.love our wagon.

BadgeCRDi
Phil12345

Phil12345AU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

dont buy

published
Transmissionmanual
3 comments
Lydia
Lydia
plbake
plbake

Hi Phil12345, can you tell me what the symptoms were regarding the small part wearing in the terracan gearbox from different tyre tread... cheers

s allen
s allen

i have a 2005 Terracan highlander I got over 80,000 out of my tyres , I think from memory it that you have to have the same profile all round not tread debth.

Could be alot better

published

Radiator problems! After driving upon cooling overflow bottle does not refill radiator, This lead to low level of coolant in radiator. This develops AIR LOCK in radiator no coolant flow. Temp gauge normal, drive 2-3 km thermostat opens instantaneous boiling of water and vaporisation and pressure blowing radiator apart, no warning. Checked OK with mechanic second occurrence, may explain similar occurrences with overheating low coolant. No after sales customer services from Hyundai to assist in solving problem. Parts very expensive from dealers Can source from alternative suppliers at half why? But still expensive.

Hyundai will not acknowledgment warranty problems

Transmissionauto
1 comment
hyundai 76
hyundai 76

Did you ever fix the problem??? We just replaced our radiator, that blew itself to pieces, unknown reason, and now it keeps leaking from hoses etc........

2006 Terracan

published

Have had the diff in our 2006 Terracan (66,000kms to date) repaired 3 times and has a continual whine. Now the complete centre has been replaced and guess what - still whining. It comes in at around 40-60 kmh and then the noise disappears, reappears when slowing back down again. Have been told this is acceptable as we now have a heavy duty diff.. Anyone else lucky enough to have a heavy duty diff along with the whine.

Whine in diff.

1 comment
crafty123
crafty123

Great tow vehicle

published
Transmissionauto
6 comments
David2424
David2424
Willie Britz
Willie Britz
Felix34
Felix34

My Terracan diesel cant start up, it keeps showing the exhaust fault light what can be the problem?

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Jason

Jasonasked

Hi i have an 02 highlands auto and is stuck in low 4wd could it be the o2 censor playing up its at a mechanics now but they can't find the problem and I'm getting Lee's off with them it's been a month

No answers
Lee K.

Lee K.asked

What causes hyundai terracan 2.9 crdi not to any gears..... Gear shifting feels normal but no selection what so ever?

No answers
Jason

Jasonasked

Hi i have a 02 terracan its stuck in low 4wd after my rear tail shaft blew out at 110kmph could it have stuffed the transfer case it's an auto

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.