8 photos
Hyundai Tucson

Hyundai Tucson

TL, NX4 (See All)
4.0 from 166 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Hyundai

Expert Review

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (30)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (30)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (29)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (30)
  • Braking
    4.3 (28)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (28)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (26)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (27)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (27)
  • Handling
    4.0 (27)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (24)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (25)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (25)
  • Features
    4.2 (25)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
barney c.
barney c.Sydney, NSW

Avoid at all costs

published

Car was absolutely great for 4 years and serviced regularly and on time by the same dealer. Then, without any warning, at 90k, had catastrophic engine failure. Things happen. But the real problem is that Hyundai Australia could not get all the parts to fix, so after 4 months got a buy back.

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
CCC
CCCMelbourne
  • 2 reviews

Car went on fire, Hyundai blocked me from Facebook

published

See the photos, they speak for themselves. I can’t believe Hyundai blocked me from their Facebook page for simply pasting these screenshots from their page. Absolutely appalling, they didn’t even respond to my fb messages either. Clearly they want to hide this from other potential people.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
btony0129
btony0129
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Hyundai Tucson

published

I had a Hyundai XL for 20 years and I purchased another one because of that.
Any car that car last 20 years is in my books a great car.
They said it was made only to last 8 years a throw away car but Hyundai proved them wrong and so did I.
9/10

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
David
DavidHunter Region, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 13 likes

Warranty a big let down! Hyundai want to use second hand parts for a SUV under Warranty. Also Dealer breaks Consumer law

published

Purchased in October 2017 for $35,000.

Cleaning & Maintenance
2/5
Noise Level
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Tucson compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lenny
LennySydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 13 likes

Good but has its let downs

published

Purchased in October 2020 for $31,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
AWG
AWGGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews

2021 car with a Manual Boot/Trunk

published

I bought the Tucson Elite July 2021 and I’m shocked that for the price I paid ($40,000+) you don’t get a boot/trunk that has a gas lift, automatically opens or at the very least, pops the boot open when the key fob is pressed. There is also no option for a button on the dashboard to pop the boot open. You have to manually open the boot by hand and close it which makes it unrealistic for those with disabilities, hand injuries or too short to reach the handle to close it. What a shame Hyundai.

Other than that, it’s a good car for a compact SUV but I believe for what I paid, there are other brands that give you these features and more on a middle model.

Purchased in July 2021 for $43,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Valerie Berrie
Valerie BerrieNorthern Territory

its not the worst but its not the best either

published

We have had our Hyundai Tucson since 2016 and for a couple of years it was fine but one day we were getting into it and it was raining and the rain got into the car and now the car key for the car doesn't work so we have to unlock it from the key hole that's on the door handle but its not to bad because we can unlock it manually and we just flick the unlock and lock switch a couple of times and it unlocks the other doors, but the boot wont open so you have to do that manually too so we usually do not use the boot. Most of our windows don't wind down or wind up so we had to get them stuck up luckily the drivers window is fixed so we can use it but we are still waiting to get our other windows fixed.

Purchased in June 2016 for $36,000.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Jane S
Jane SAU
  • 12 reviews
  • 13 likes

Not worth the money

published

Purchased in November 2021 for $56,000.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Keith G.
Keith G.Central West, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Purchased in April 2020 at Ross Granata Motors for $24,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Tucson compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Moreton
MoretonSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Up there with the best.

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Llewellyn Motors.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Craig Di K.
Craig Di K.South East Queensland, QLD

Continual air conditioner faults that appear that they can’t be repaired

published

Roughly every 6 months the air conditioner fails and they try to repair it again works for a while and then fails. It is a well looked after car 65000km

Purchased in March 2016 for $300,000.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

DO NOT BUY HYUNDAI TUSCAN

published

I would like to make sure everyone knows Hyundai Tuscan has a major engine issue. I own a 2017 Tuscan. The engine is dead and I am getting zero support from the company because my km's are past the km's they cover under the Warranty. There are many discussions around this online and a lot of owners are talking about the horrible experiences they have had with this car's engine. I am left with a dead car and 18k debt to the bank.

I just want to add that I am a Hyundai dedicated customer for the past couple of years. This is the third Hyundai car my family has purchased and will never go back to Hyundai again. I hope no one experiences this. Do not buy Tuscan.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Tucson compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Greg A.
Greg A.South East Queensland, QLD

Purchased in March 2016 at Hyundai Dealers for $40,000.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pop-up
Pop-upBrisbane
  • 40 reviews
  • 23 likes

Test drive overnight

published
Incentivised Review No
Performance
3/5
Braking
3/5
Acceleration / Power
3/5
Suspension
2/5
Fuel Efficiency
3/5
Handling
Design
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Boot Size
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Features
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
DUbi-88
DUbi-88Sydney, NSW

Great Family Car

published

We purchased this car in 2017 and so far it has been fantastic. It is fuel economic and spacious without being too clunky. The Tuscon has great design, looks great and is perfect for both city and open road driving.

Purchased in November 2017 for $28,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Naveen P.
Naveen P.asked
Tucson TL Highlander AWD, 1.6L Petrol, Automatic (2015-2022)

hello all, among all the 2016-2017 hyundai tucson dct owners, did anyone have had to replace their dct as of in 2022?
The hesitation is a common issue everyone has but is it much more serious than that??

No answers
Kathy B.
Kathy B.asked
Tucson

Purchased a Tucson Active X in October, 2020, within 6 months the door rubbers had worn, Hyundai won't cover it, they say it's wear and tear. We had a Toyota Aurion for 10 years ad the rubber never even looked like wearing or perishing. Has anyone else had this problem?

No answers
Renae D.
Renae D.asked
Tucson TL Active X (2015-2022)

Has anyone had window motors blow and wheel sensor issues?

2 answers
Lenny
Lenny
Renae D.
Renae D.
See all Hyundai Tucson questions

Get an answer from our members and Hyundai representatives

Hyundai Tucson

Details

Compare all 25 Hyundai Tucson
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $38,585.00$31,285.00$33,285.00$45,110.00
TransmissionAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.4 L/100km7.8 L/100km7.9 L/100km7.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 62 L62 L62 L62 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power136kW @ 4000rpm122kW @ 6200rpm122kW @ 6200rpm130kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque400Nm @ 1750-2750rpm205Nm @ 4000rpm205Nm @ 4000rpm265Nm @ 1500-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,600 kg1,600 kg1,600 kg1,600 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance172 mm
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015
Compare all 25 Hyundai Tucson
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.