??!
4 photos
Hyundai Tucson

Hyundai Tucson

JM, TL
4.1 from 201 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (27)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (25)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (26)
  • Braking
    4.1 (25)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (25)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.4 (23)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (24)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (24)
  • Handling
    3.6 (24)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (22)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (22)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (22)
  • Features
    4.0 (22)
Previous
Next
NLP

NLPGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Shocking Customer Service & Warranty! Buyers Beware!

published

Purchased in June 2017 at Hyundai Dealers for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Philip

PhilipBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Worst car ever owned!

published

Purchased in December 2005 at Hyundai Dealers for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2005
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Greg A.

Greg A.South East Queensland, QLD

Lemon

published

Purchased in March 2016 at Hyundai Dealers for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Tucson compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul

PaulNorth Queensland, QLD

Bought new 2007 never had any problems

published

Bought it after test driving more expensive brands and liked it Now 14 yrs later still like it and no problems at all except for blown number plate light! it does need more than 4 speeds in auto when on open road but ok if you keep it to 100 Very solid well built practical little car

Purchased in April 2007.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2006
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Pop-up

Pop-upBrisbane

  • 39 reviews
  • 20 likes

Test drive overnight

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
DUbi-88

DUbi-88Sydney, NSW

Great Family Car

published

We purchased this car in 2017 and so far it has been fantastic. It is fuel economic and spacious without being too clunky. The Tuscon has great design, looks great and is perfect for both city and open road driving.

Purchased in November 2017 for A$28,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
See all answers
Kylie F

Kylie FSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 20 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love our new family car!

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Zupps for A$32,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

So bad, you'll need to buy 2!

published

Purchased in December 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
See all answers
Tyrone Bandara

Tyrone BandaraSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes

Outdated in comparison to it's competitors

published

Purchased in December 2019 for A$4,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Tucson compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sonya Seal

Sonya Seal

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car love it

published

We bought our Tucson about nine months ago and it has been a fabulous car to get around. It is comfortable and easily fits myself and my 6 ft 4 husband.
I found that it goes well and is easy on the petrol. The car is easy to manoeuvre and parking it has a great turning circle which is one of the things we checked when we bought it
I use my car every day to get to and from work and to run around. It has a great boot space which holds my pram as well as all the groceries.
The only downside that I have found with this car itsThe only downside that I have found with this car is its space in the back seat when putting a rear facing childcare seat in the space is a little bit lacking.

Purchased in May 2019 at Hyundai Dealers for A$28,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Paula Cook

Paula CookSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

I love my Tuscon

published

I purchased my used Tuscon 3weeks ago from a used car dealership in Kippa-Ring. I love the style of the interior and the placement of switches and buttons.
It has cruise control - bonus.
Power windows. 17" wheels. Its high up, which is great. Its economical, low on fuel. I love that it cane with full service history, low kilometres and log books.
Sleek little SUV, well worth the money spent.

Purchased in November 2019 at O'Briens Wholesale Cars for A$5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cate

CateWimmera, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this car

published

I have now had this car for over 2 years and my family and I love it. The fuel economy is reasonable and we average 7.8 litres for our regular driving. The power is more than adequate for what I do and it only ever feels sluggish on large hills. The comfort is amazing and our family of 4 do lots of long trips with it happily. It is smooth to drive and the camera makes reversing much easier. I would recommend this vehicle to any families up to 4 people.

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
See all answers

A worry

published

I love the car, it drives well and tows my small caravan well. But the gear often gets stuck in park, it sometimes vibrates when idling, the door seal has split, and recently the accelerator has taken a few seconds to respond after slowing down to enter a round-about , this is a very dangerous situation when there are cars boring down on you. I now feel very unsafe in the vehicle. Because the problems don’t occur on the service depts test drive they say there is not a problem. I am very disappointed in Hyundai and it’s so called “care”. I can’t recommend anyone buying one and I would like to sell it but can’t sell s potential death trap. I would hate up cause injury or death to someone.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Gear Shifting
See all answers
Mal

MalPerth WA

  • 2 reviews

Quite pleased

published

Purchased in August 2019 at DVG Maddington.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
See all answers
Cool Breeze

Cool BreezeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Wouldn't Spend this much for Hyundai SUV

published

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Tucson compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jane46

Jane46Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Good Car

published

Purchased in August 2017 at John Hughes Car Sales.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
JSB

JSBSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 31 reviews
  • 9 likes

Perfect family car

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Hyundai Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Fortunate Son

Fortunate SonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Amazing Car, Great build quality, Stunning Looks.

published

Traded in the ageing Commodore(VE) on the Tuscon and couldnt be happier. The list of standard inclusions on the Active X prooved great value.
Nicely finshed leather seats, dashboard layout functional and modern, very confortable and quite to drive.
Plenty of room and a decent size rear cargo area.
POwer on top when you need it and doesnt guzzle fuel the way the old six cylinder bommodore did.
Backed with a 5 year warranty you simply cant go wrong.
Is it any wonder local car manufacturers hit the wall with offerings like this available from Hyundai.
Would highly recommend the Hyundai Tuscon it wont dissapoint!

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Same Problem

published

My 2017 Hyundai Highlander has the same problem - lag especially when accelerating from slow speed / from start. Can get you into trouble if not alert to it.

Mentioned it to Hyundai dealer at service today and he said nothing they can do about it. I regret not asking for a more detailed elaboration of the problem.

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
See all answers
swfchang

swfchangMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

“Good” driving comfort but quality issues

published

Purchased in September 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Page 1 of 11

Questions & Answers

Jody

Jodyasked

Tucson

Do Hyundai active x have timing belts

1 answer
Nahaz
Nahaz

According to many reports on Google, As of 2013, all Hyundai engine models have a chain. ... Unlike a timing belt that needs to be replaced after a certain amount of travel due to wear, the chain doesn't require special maintenance or replacement at a certain interval

Lana

Lanaasked

Tucson

Can a 2019 tow a caravan with TARE 2145 GTM 2415

No answers
Biagio C.

Biagio C.asked

Tucson JM (2004-2010)

I have a 2004 Hyundai Tucson 2.7 V6, over 200,000km on Speedo , it uses about 20.4 lt/100 , not sure what to do. Can anyone help.

1 answer
Kylie F
Kylie F

Time to trade up. V6 will always use more fuel especially with those kms.
Has it been serviced regularly? Timing belt changed?

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 19 Hyundai Tucson
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price A$38,585A$31,285A$33,285A$45,110
TransmissionAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption6.4 L/100km7.8 L/100km7.9 L/100km7.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 62 L62 L62 L62 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power136kW @ 4000rpm122kW @ 6200rpm122kW @ 6200rpm130kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque400Nm @ 1750-2750rpm205Nm @ 4000rpm205Nm @ 4000rpm265Nm @ 1500-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Safety Features
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
Ground Clearance172 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,600 kg1,600 kg1,600 kg1,600 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015
Compare all 19 Hyundai Tucson

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.