??!
4 photos
Hyundai Tucson

Hyundai Tucson

JM, TL
4.1 from 194 reviews

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(93)
(64)
(19)
(6)
(12)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (21)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (19)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (21)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (20)

So bad, you'll need to buy 2!

published

Purchased in December 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers

Tyrone Bandara

Tyrone BandaraSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Outdated in comparison to it's competitors

published

Purchased in December 2019 for $4,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sonya Seal

Sonya Seal

  • 6 reviews

Great car love it

published

We bought our Tucson about nine months ago and it has been a fabulous car to get around. It is comfortable and easily fits myself and my 6 ft 4 husband.
I found that it goes well and is easy on the petrol. The car is easy to manoeuvre and parking it has a great turning circle which is one of the things we checked when we bought it
I use my car every day to get to and from work and to run around. It has a great boot space which holds my pram as well as all the groceries.
The only downside that I have found with this car itsThe only downside that I have found with this car is its space in the back seat when putting a rear facing childcare seat in the space is a little bit lacking.

Purchased in May 2019 at Hyundai Dealers for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Paula Cook

Paula CookSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

I love my Tuscon

published

I purchased my used Tuscon 3weeks ago from a used car dealership in Kippa-Ring. I love the style of the interior and the placement of switches and buttons.
It has cruise control - bonus.
Power windows. 17" wheels. Its high up, which is great. Its economical, low on fuel. I love that it cane with full service history, low kilometres and log books.
Sleek little SUV, well worth the money spent.

Purchased in November 2019 at O'Briens Wholesale Cars for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Cate

CateWimmera, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this car

published

I have now had this car for over 2 years and my family and I love it. The fuel economy is reasonable and we average 7.8 litres for our regular driving. The power is more than adequate for what I do and it only ever feels sluggish on large hills. The comfort is amazing and our family of 4 do lots of long trips with it happily. It is smooth to drive and the camera makes reversing much easier. I would recommend this vehicle to any families up to 4 people.

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Gear Shifting
See all answers

A worry

published

I love the car, it drives well and tows my small caravan well. But the gear often gets stuck in park, it sometimes vibrates when idling, the door seal has split, and recently the accelerator has taken a few seconds to respond after slowing down to enter a round-about , this is a very dangerous situation when there are cars boring down on you. I now feel very unsafe in the vehicle. Because the problems don’t occur on the service depts test drive they say there is not a problem. I am very disappointed in Hyundai and it’s so called “care”. I can’t recommend anyone buying one and I would like to sell it but can’t sell s potential death trap. I would hate up cause injury or death to someone.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Gear Shifting
See all answers

Mal

MalPerth WA

  • 2 reviews

Quite pleased

published

Purchased in August 2019 at DVG Maddington.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019

Cool Breeze

Cool BreezeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Wouldn't Spend this much for Hyundai SUV

published

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
Jane46

Jane46Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Good Car

published

Purchased in August 2017 at John Hughes Car Sales.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
JSB

JSBSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 22 reviews

Perfect family car

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Hyundai Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Fortunate Son

Fortunate SonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Amazing Car, Great build quality, Stunning Looks.

published

Traded in the ageing Commodore(VE) on the Tuscon and couldnt be happier. The list of standard inclusions on the Active X prooved great value.
Nicely finshed leather seats, dashboard layout functional and modern, very confortable and quite to drive.
Plenty of room and a decent size rear cargo area.
POwer on top when you need it and doesnt guzzle fuel the way the old six cylinder bommodore did.
Backed with a 5 year warranty you simply cant go wrong.
Is it any wonder local car manufacturers hit the wall with offerings like this available from Hyundai.
Would highly recommend the Hyundai Tuscon it wont dissapoint!

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Same Problem

published

My 2017 Hyundai Highlander has the same problem - lag especially when accelerating from slow speed / from start. Can get you into trouble if not alert to it.

Mentioned it to Hyundai dealer at service today and he said nothing they can do about it. I regret not asking for a more detailed elaboration of the problem.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers

swfchang

swfchangMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

“Good” driving comfort but quality issues

published

Purchased in September 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

cnwrailfan

cnwrailfanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

We Love Our Tucson Highlander!

published

Purchased in May 2017 at Hyundai Ferntree Gully for $46,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
DavidN

DavidNGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 65 reviews
  • 4 likes

Hyundai Tucson is the best SUV on value and safety if you get the Smart Sense package

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Nunawading Hyundai.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Karah .B

Karah .BSouthwest, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car I have owned!

published

My mechanic was the one that recommended a Hyundai Tucson. I did the research and looked at independent reviews. I went and test drove one and fell in love!
The value for money is fantastic and I have not had a single issue.
My mechanic also says that they are easy to service. I can't believe I didn't buy one sooner!

Purchased in October 2018 at Hyundai Dealers for $30.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Master Burton

Master BurtonPerth

  • 5 reviews

Great family car! Reliable, cheap to service

published
BadgeActive X
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
DriveFWD

druss999

druss999Toowoomba

Tucson in Toowoomba

published

Moved from Sydney to Toowoomba Qld to retire. Bought the Tucson for comfort and practicality. Has been just great! Smooth comfy and roomy inside. Dual clutch transmission is perfect for rural and semi-rural driving. Have noticed big city dwellers dont like this tranny....so go for the 2.0 auto for big city crawl-driving and diesel for long haul and towing. Best car I have driven.

BadgeHighlander
TransmissionDual clutch
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Sam

SamCanberra

  • 51 reviews

Beautiful to drive, but infotainment system lacks

published
BadgeHighlander
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Drive4WD

Jmill

JmillHornsby

  • 4 reviews

Nice comfy car to drive

published

My Tucson Active X is now near it’s 3rd year and 41,000 km. So far so nice to drive, its a bit slow on acceleration but that’s what I expect from a 2wd. leather seats still looking newish and still no issues with the car overall.
We have no regret buying this family wagon

BadgeActive X
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
DriveFWD

Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

DavidN

DavidNasked

I am a little at lost with Lane Keeping Assist. What is the difference between LKA, LFA and LKAS? I hear LKA is the ping-pong lane keep assist that tends to be over-zealous and doesn't keep car in the middle of the lane. Lane Follow Assist (LFA) on the other hand, keep car in the middle of the lane. Is it true? What does Tucson come with? Does Tucson's system keep the vehicle in the middle of the lane?

No answers

John K.

John K.asked

is the Tucson allwheel drive?

1 answer
Nahaz
Nahaz

There are models with and without AWD John.


graham

grahamasked

I might be going crazy but Im pretty sure my Highlander (2017) version has the idle stop and go feature however when I went to drive the car today it was running a little weird and I realised that the feature wasnt engaging. So I have two questions 1) does it have the feature ( or Im losing my mind) 2) if it does is there a button I may have accidentally pressed to turn it off or do I need to speak to my dealer? Thanks

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Hyundai representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.