??!
1 photo
Intergrain Nature’s Timber Oil

Intergrain Nature’s Timber Oil

2.8 from 25 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.8

25 reviews
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (3)
  • Coverage
    4.2 (5)
  • Finish Quality
    3.8 (5)
  • Longevity
    3.0 (2)
  • Ease of Application
    4.4 (5)
Previous
Next

Excellent product

published

Used the Intergrain natural finish wood oil on a Macrocarpa table I recently built. Great looking finish with two coats. A bit on the costly side for a small tin (lost a star there) but still worth it for the finish. I’ve included a pic of a block of macrocarpa After 8 weeks of weathering - the right third has 1 coat, the middle has 2 and the top left is unfinished.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Longevity
Ease of Application
See all answers
Steve M

Steve MSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Timber will go BLACK in under 4 months

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$456.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Longevity
Ease of Application
See all answers
Richard

RichardGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Intergrain Nature's Timber Oil on Cedar

published

Purchased in September 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Intergrain Nature’s Timber Oil compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chrissie N

Chrissie NAustralian Capital Territory

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy to use product with a great result (even for newbies)

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$230.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
See all answers
Bluesuzi

BluesuziMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

First time oiling a new deck

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Jase

Jasebowral

Intergrain on cedar shed

published

I used the Intergrain Nature's Timber Oil on a cedar shed I recently made. 2 coats have brought out the beautiful colour variations in the cedar panelling... I have used this same oil for hard wood decking and love it.
For me its not only a pleasure to use, but the finish and product longevity is excellent. I see why its the best in the market.

Max

MaxGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Too Yellow, feel exactly like Cabot's natural decking oil.

published

Do not purchase

published

Unable to wipe excess off as it all soaked into the old wood.
Purple hue left over the deck. I didn’t want a purple deck.
I’m surprised this product is considered “the upper end” of the range. I now have to wait until it fades or re coat the deck with a different brand.

TKT

TKTRochdale

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Intergrain Stain

published

Bought this from Bunnings - Obviously, you never get what you need for the application you need it for at Bunnings.
Prefer Simply Woodcare over this product any day. I wasn't happy with the outcome and had to remove it all and restain it with Haymes Woodcare products. Took me a long time to fix it, so do it right, get it done right first time so you don't have to revisit it for a long time.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Intergrain Nature’s Timber Oil compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jonno

JonnoWerribee, Victoria

Best choice of oil based product!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Intergrain
Will K.Intergrain
Ian

IanStrathmore

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Merbau on old Merbau - bad , on new - good

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
2 comments
Intergrain
Sam MurphyIntergrain
Ian
Ian

Spin out

published

Hi we have a 36 sqm deck area and have just finished 2 coats of Intergrain timber oil and not happy, it has become very sticky even after 5-6 days left to rest. We used the Merbau on Merbau oil,did a pre wash with the appropriate product and did a gerni before and after. Patchy black stains still show up as well from previous water marks.??????.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Intergrain
Sam MurphyIntergrain
subzero

subzeroSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Merbau on Merbau tiber- Bad Idea- Very dissapointed

published

I have a 54 sqm deck which took me 5 months to build. Thinking the amount of time spent on it, I would spend extra to get a good Timber oil. So decided to get Intergrain Timber oil- Merbau. I was very disappoint to see spotting and the timber has gone dark. I have used cabbots and feastwatson on my previous decks and should have used them instead of Intergrain. The quality of the oil is average and feel ripped off in paying more for this brand. I have spots all over the deck, all the grain imperfections show on the timber and it is too dark.
I would not recommend this product to anyone.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
sean

sean

  • 2 reviews

Jarrah on Jarrah - amazing

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Intergrain
Sam MurphyIntergrain
Connor

Connor

  • 14 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent natural finish

published

Extremely easy to apply with wool applicator and leaves a natural finish. My deck has maintained its colour and you can see the grain of the wood through the oil which I like and because it soaks in doesn't form a film on top and therefore it doesn't peel like others I have used in other locations. Have been using it for 5 years on spotted gum deck which is in full sun and not covered. It needs to be applied thinly and the excess wiped away. Have been applying it every year and clean with Revive and pressure hose before applying. Because is soaks in there is no peeling.

Date PurchasedJan 2012
1 comment
Intergrain
Will K.Intergrain
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Intergrain Nature’s Timber Oil compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Excellent product use on Bali furniture to keep it from cracking

published

I use this product on my Bali furniture and apply with a cloth and rub it into the wood no spots or drips just soaks right in. It enriches our Balinese furniture and no cracks. I apply it once a year before winter. Best product easy to apply. Well done Intergrain.

Date PurchasedJan 2012
1 comment
Intergrain
Will K.Intergrain
Jim Zebib

Jim ZebibSydney

Too dark and and spotty

published

As in my question in the Q&A, first coat looked ok as it was applied. But has gone far too dark for my liking and also has a spotty appearance. I have previously used Wattyl weather guard oil based and found it great, but was highly recommended to use Intergrain NTO. Big mistake. Applied on merbau as per instructions and have done about 60sqm. Not happy. Will be sanding again and you can what I will use.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Intergrain
Will K.Intergrain
joshoz

joshozAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Product!

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Intergrain
garthIntergrain
  • Verified purchase

Deck went a funny blue colour

published

Very, very unhappy with the results.
Worse still, I purchased 10 litres.
Small deck 1.2m x 2.m deck on the first coat looked like it had a strangeblue/purple tinge to the decking.
Too scared to apply a second or third coat.
Will be chasing my money back from Bunnings.
I was lucking I trialled it on my small deck. It could have been an absolute disaster on my big decks.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Intergrain
garthIntergrain
ducati-pr20431

ducati-pr20431

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent product!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
1 comment
Intergrain
Will K.Intergrain
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Vicki

Vickiasked

we recoated previously oiled timber deck with same Cabots Decking and Furniture oil , then not liking orange colour, consulted assistant at Bunning and were advised to use Intergrain Natures timber Oil, so after waited correct time, applied a second coat, then waited and put a third on. we didnt read instructions on tin correctly and failed to wipe of excess. we now have a sticky floor. its 10 days since applied and still sticky. what can we do to correct please or will it eventually dry?

thanks Vicki. please email me the answer at [contact details removed]

1 answer
Intergrain
Erin P.Intergrain

Hi Vicki, if the excess has been left on then we recommend using Intergrain UltraPrep Tannin & Oil remover, this will effectively allow you to start again. Unfortunately it is not likely to dry properly if the excess hasn't been wiped off.

Paula W

Paula Wasked

Hi there, I'm wondering if we should weather protect our exposed new pine house stumps (house raised to 800mm) and if so, what product we should use please? Eventually we'll board over the stumps but not for some time, so we're keen to offer them some protection from the elements meanwhile. Cheers

2 answers
Steve M
Steve M

If the stumps are treated timber you do not have to protect. You can treat them to keep their colour but whatever you do, DO NOT USE INTERGRAIN NATURES TIMBER OIL. If they are exposed to sunlight they will turn completely black. Use anything else but do not use this product

Paula W
Paula W

Thanks Steve, I should have said they’re cypress pine, not treated pine. Does the same still apply or should I weather protect in some way?

John

Johnasked

Hi,
I have a deck in merbau deck which is 15 years old. I have maintained it with Cabots Aquadeck but in the process it has lost its natural grain look and appears flat brown in colour like its been painted. I stripped it back to its original grain using Intergrain timber stripper, and plan to use UltraPrep Timber Cleaner as well. Which is best to use Intergrain NTO or the Ultradeck Timber Oil? I note on the description, the Ultradeck is termed "water based coating". This concerns me as I don't want to go back to maintaining the deck with a layer upon layer coating which eventually covers the natural grain. What are the advantages of each?

2 answers
Steve M
Steve M

Hi John,

I would definitely NEVER use NTO. Not ever. Worst decking oil ever. My deck was ruined by it in 4 months. Almost completely black. I have previously used Cabots Aquadeck and Intergrain Ultradeck elsewhere. Very similar products, ultradeck being slightly darker stain. They BOTH are acrylic and will build up and obscure the grain, so I am not a real fan (for the same reason as you).
If you love timber, use Cutek. This is real oil. you can choose the stain you add, to suit your taste (have to stain it to prevent greying) and it does take a couple of days to dry, BUT OMG, the result is spectacular. Grain is totally preserved, lovely and transparent and super water repellant. It looks to be much more expensive than the others, until you add in the coverage rates. You will cover about 2x the surface area per litre with this product, so it actually works out cheaper. I have done 60sqm of deck with this after stripping the NTO off and I couldn't be happier.
You will have to get rid of all the Aquadeck before using this or the result will be compromised. I found that fairly dilute Caustic soda (be careful with this stuff, wear eye protection and don't get it on your skin). Otherwise a light sand.
The data says that it will last 12 months between coats which is excellent. It is now my go to product, and I live and love timber....everywhere.
Steve

ps The Cutek extreme is the newer version. Slightly more expensive but is supposed to last longer, so probably worth the premium. Just remember the coverage is so good that the price is actually cheaper per sqm than the other rubbish. Hope that helps.

John
John

That's a great help Steve, much appreciated.

Get an answer from our members and Intergrain representatives

Details

CategoryPaints & Varnishes
TypeExterior and Wood Finish

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.