??!
1 photo
Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food

Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food

3.9 from 38 reviews

Reviews

(22)
(4)
(3)
(5)
(4)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (18)
  • Pet's Life StageAdult (15) · Puppy/Kitten (3) · Senior (3)
  • Side Effects Yes (9) · No (13)
  • Smell
    4.0 (11)


Maggie

MaggieSouth East Queensland, QLD

Changing brands....

published

We have also been using Ivory Coat for nearly 3 years but the last 2 bags (chicken and coconut grain free) have had a pretty awful smell and the kibble is a much darker colour. I am now researching other brands.

Purchased in January 2020 at PetBarn.

Value for Money
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side Effects No
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken with Coconut Oil
See all answers
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Danielle K.

Danielle K.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

They've changed the formula

published

My dog has eaten this her whole life ( 2.5 years) & eaten the same flavour ( turkey and duck) with no issues- she loved it. However, when i opened the latest new bag i noticed the kibble biscuits were half the size of before and very coated in what I'll call seasoning...? She was eating it reluctantly but started to have noticeable digestive issues ( foul smelling stools and gas) then just flat out refused it. They never answer the phone & i returned the bag for a refund. She is fine now she's not eating the ivory coat.

Purchased in December 2019 at PetBarn Online store for $26.00.

Value for Money
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side Effects Yes
Flavour(s) PurchasedTurkey & Duck
See all answers
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
JH

JHGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

This product has changed!

published

We’ve been using Ivory Coat Grain Free Chicken and Coconut Oil for a long time now, with no problems. Unfortunately the last bag we bought had a different and very distinct smell. Our dog has started to refuse it. Such a shame, because we’ve had no issues up until now. We’re concerned and have decided to try another brand.

Purchased in December 2019.

Smell
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side Effects No
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken with Coconut Oil
See all answers
Lyn

LynOsmington Western Australia

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Noticed a change

published

I had been purchasing Ivory Coat Grain Free for my two dogs since it first came out and was always happy and the dogs loved it but now with the last 2 bags purchased, they have often refused to eat it and one particularly, will walk away and go hungry. I have noticed that on occasions, one of the dogs particularly ends up with an upset stomach for no reason and I can only put it down to the Ivory Coat. I have now stopped buying it

Purchased in November 2019.

Value for Money
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side Effects Yes
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken with Coconut Oil
See all answers

Simon C

Simon C

  • 15 reviews

Ok I rate it, but reading reviews, sold to Chinese and changing size of kibble and diarrhoea concerns me greatly

published

I've used the Ivory Coat for years. I've tried several other brands and several have had mouldy kibble (white mould).
Never had bad mould.
I did notice in the September October time frame my seal on the 2 kg bag was different. Thinner and didn't seal as easily. I have noticed now this is the norm.
Sometimes my dogs stools are soft, I generally use the puppy variety which is the chicken flavour and smaller kibble.
Haven't noticed any size change in the Kibble, but going to research when this company was bought by Chinese company as that's the time when things change.

Like when they tried changing the flavour of bbq shapes, anyone still remember that?

Maybe it's time to look for an alternative. I do rate this kibble though.

Purchased in November 2019 for $31.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side Effects No
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken (for Puppy)
See all answers
1 comment
Simon C
Simon C

So I've decided to go off Ivory Coat after doing a test the last month noting my dogs are getting sick both vomit and diarahhea eating the ivory coat after its two weeks old.


Lorraine

LorraineSouth Australia

  • 4 reviews

Disapointed

published

I have been feeding my rotti kangaroo and lamb for three years now I bought a bag 13kg and noticed the kibble was really small and since I have opened the bag and fed him his stool has been sloppy now he only gets that food nothing else so I know it has something to do with the biscuits have you changed anything.

Pet's Life StageAdult
Side Effects Yes
Flavour(s) PurchasedLamb & Kangaroo
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Paul

PaulVictoria

My Schmoodle loves it

published

Changed brand recently and my puppy lapped it up immediately. I was drawn to the natural, grain free ingredients and it appears to be a good choice. A healthy option.

Purchased in November 2019 at Amazon for $18.00.

Value for Money
Pet's Life StagePuppy/Kitten
Side Effects No
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken (for Puppy)
See all answers

Lily

LilySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Perfect for sensitive tummy

published

our dog have such a sensitive tummy and also picky eater. we tried a few brands of food and so glad that we found ivory coat. our doggy loves it and leave no food behind (i mean it when i say she is a picky eater. we used to need to hand feed her)

Purchased in January 2017 at PetBarn for $120.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side Effects No
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken with Coconut Oil, Lamb & Kangaroo, Lamb with Coconut Oil (for Puppy large breed) and Ocean Fish & Salmon
See all answers
Girl

GirlPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Dont try it

published

Bought it yesterday, my pup loved it but now he is having diarrhoea! I think I fell for the good reviews and bought this pricey bag , which Im regretting now.

Purchased in November 2019 at City Farmers for $136.00.

Smell
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side Effects Yes
Flavour(s) PurchasedOcean Fish & Salmon
See all answers
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Rosie

Rosie

  • 3 reviews

Perfect for dog with allergy

published

Switched to grain free Chicken and Coconut Oil Flavour for one of my dogs as a suggestion from the vet. Has worked well and her coat is amazing on it!

Purchased in October 2019 at PetBarn Physical store for $116.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side Effects No
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken with Coconut Oil
See all answers
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Hi Rosie, Thanks so much for the great feedback. We're thrilled to hear your dog is going well on our Ivory Coat dry food!


My dogs enjoy this product!

published

My four dogs do enjoy eating this dry kibble and seem to thrive on it! I will buy it again and can recommend it to others. There is a nice choice in products to choose from and, I tend to vary my purchases so that my dogs can experience a change! So far they are eating with relish!

Side Effects No

Alana G

Alana G

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

A recent formula change?

published

We fed our staffy the lamb and kangaroo without incident for a few years but noticed in the last bag that the food had changed shape. We didn't think much of it until the next day when our dog had a super upset stomach which has now lasted a week!

Purchased in September 2019 at Best friends.

Value for Money
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side Effects Yes
Flavour(s) PurchasedLamb & Kangaroo
See all answers
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Thirsty  dog

Thirsty dogSouth East Queensland, QLD

Thirst dog

published

Tried it for the first time, our dogs seems to eat it OK, but she has developed a dry mouth and is constantly smacking and l8ck her lips. Left her of it for 48 hours and NO lip smacking, don't think we will be trying ivory coat again.

Purchased in August 2019 at Pet barn.

Value for Money
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side Effects Yes
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Charlee-Dee G.

Charlee-Dee G.South East Queensland, QLD

Salmon Flavour giving dogs diarrhoea.

published

Pro - Looks and smells fresh and my dogs usually like it.
Con - Recently bought the Salmon dog food and my dogs seemed to be doing well but have started having diarrhoea

Purchased in July 2019 at PetBarn for $132.99.

Value for Money
Smell
Pet's Life StageSenior
Side Effects Yes
Flavour(s) PurchasedOcean Fish & Salmon
See all answers
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Tim C.

Tim C.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Excellent chow for the fur animals

published

Our two ridgeback cross mastiffs love their Ivory Coat feed.. A wewk after we starting feeding them this we saw massive changes in their behaviour and health for the positive.

Purchased in June 2019 at PetStock for $119.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side Effects No
See all answers
tjz25

tjz25Sydney, NSW

  • 20 reviews

Excellent super premium brand Australian made dog food

published

My schnauzer loved the salmon one. It's very tasty.
He was on WELLNESS prior to it, and obviously likes this one more.
He's a slow and fussy eater usually but he literally gulps down these biscuits like crazy, never seen him do that before, they must smell and taste better. Got mine from Petbarn, a good idea is to look at sales online then get them to match prices. I got a 13kg back for around a hundred bucks.

Purchased in June 2019 at PetBarn for $100.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side Effects No
See all answers

Viv

VivSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Be aware of quality issues

published

My 5 month indoor kitten developed diarrhea from having ivory coat kitten dry food. Initially we wont sure the source but after investigating we are now sure because every time we fed him this dry food he gets diarrhea straight away. I’m just very disappointed that the package seems quite misleading. We purchased this product from pet circle and the expiry date on the product some time in 2020.

Purchased in March 2019 at Pet Circle for $31.00.

Value for Money
Pet's Life StagePuppy/Kitten
Side Effects Yes

Susan

SusanNewcastle NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Why do some Ivory Coat bags say "HYPOALLERGENIC" & other Ivory Coat bags only say GRAIN FREE??

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Pet Circle Online store.

Value for Money
Smell
Pet's Life StageSenior
Side Effects No
See all answers

plumboss

plumbossPerth, WA

  • 14 reviews

Ivory Coat

published

Ivory Coat used to be a great pet food, our pet (Dean 9 year old Lab) has been eating it for years without a problem. Lately Dean has allergies on his legs and his stools are very loose. Looking at the food itself it has changed, it is now a ruff texture and a slight colour change..

Purchased in April 2019 at Pet City for $109.00.

Value for Money
Pet's Life StageSenior
Side Effects Yes

Sonja

SonjaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Ivory coat is great

published

My dogs enjoy these biscuits. They are slightly on the bigger size so more for them to chew. Im happy with the ingrediants and less filler foods. My dog gets the low fat turkey as he suffers from pancreatitis. There could be more flavours in low fat for variety as I like to change flavours for my dogs.

Purchased in December 2018 for $94.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Pet's Life StagePuppy/Kitten
Side Effects No
See all answers

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

PAL

PALasked

My dog loves Ivory Coat (low fat) BUT her breath is very smelly!
Has anyone else had this problem?

1 answer
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Hi Paul,
Thanks for your question on our Ivory Coat product.
Bad breath is not expected to occur in pets fed out products, and is more commonly an indication the pet has some dental disease, particularly if they are an older animal.

If you haven’t had your dog’s teeth checked recently by your veterinarian, we’d suggest booking in to make sure there are no underlying dental problems.
Your vet clinic can also provide you with some information on maintaining your pets good dental health.
We hope this helps


Ollie

Ollieasked

Is this food a light low calorie

2 answers
Lyn
Lyn

Hi Ollie. As far as I know it is not low calorie as that wasn't an issue with my dogs when I began purchasing it. I used to purchase this dog food when it first came out and Australian owned and made, now I see it is now owned by a Chinese company. Towards the mid and end of last year, my dogs would not eat it when previous years they would wolf it down and I am not sure if the recipe has changed since the change of ownership but I do not buy it anymore as I refuse to support an overseas company but most of all not a Chinese owned company. There is a very good pet food which I am now buying which is an Australian owned and made with all Australian ethically sourced ingredients called "Scratch" have a look at their Facebook page or website. Be very careful with some of the products being sold as top pet food, they are shockers.

Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Hi Ollie, Great question! We have two dry food products in our range that are lower in fat and calories compared to our Adult varieties. These products are suitable for older dogs, less active dogs or for overweight dogs. You are welcome to visit our website to learn more: https://www.ivorycoat.com/en-au/dog-puppy-food-and-grooming/mature-dog.
We hope this information helps


Marc

Marcasked

Hi - we've been using Ivory Coat for a number of years with our 2 Cocker Spaniels and chose it originally because the chicken variety didn't make them smell via their breath and coat like others did such as beef based blends. However our most recent bag that we've purchased through Pet Circle it appears something has changed with this bag - the biscuits are smaller, darker and the dogs now smell. Has the formula been changed or did we get an odd batch??

1 answer
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Hi Marc,
Thanks for your review on our Ivory Coat food.
We can confirm that there have been no recipe changes to the Ivory Coat dry food, and all products available have passed all quality assessments.
Our Ivory Coat products contain no artificial colours or flavours to disguise any natural variation in the raw ingredients, so there can be some variations in colour and smell in between batches.
You are welcome to get in contact with us via phone on 1800 732 573 (option 1) or our website if you have further questions or concerns.


Get an answer from our members and Ivory Coat representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.