1 photo
Japanache Futon

Japanache Futon

Queen, Single, Semi-Double, King (See All)
5.0 from 125 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Mattresses in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Japanache

Pros

Supportive for back
Easy to care for
Warm and comfortable

Reviews

5.0
125 reviews
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

excellent quality.

published

this is a true quality japanese futon. i bought other types of futon to sleep but ended up with back and hip pain. This however did not cause such issue. Im very satisfied with the product.

Purchased for $900.

Value for Money
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Marina1
Marina1Canberra Central 2601, ACT
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Outstanding quality

published

We received this futon a few weeks back and loving it. The quality of it is outstanding. It is quite comfortable as well. It takes a little time to get used to sleep on it but eventually your back would love it. It is very convenient as well. When we don't need just put it in the closet ...

Value for Money
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michael
MichaelMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

JAPANACHE futon, supreme quality

published

Absolutely exquisite quality, took a little getting used to but wow, sleeping has been exceptionally good the last few nights, only had it a week or so but the adjustment to the firmness has been pretty easy, would highly recommend, seems great in the warmer weather, should be great in the cooler months.

Purchased in February 2022.

Value for Money
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Sleeping on a cloud!

published

If you are researching the benefits of floor sleeping and are considering a Japanese shikibuton (Futon), there really isn't anything else on the Australian market that compares to Japanache. The product itself is extremely high quality and I couldn't fault the service what so ever. Prompt, informative and so proud of the product they sell. It may seem expensive but if you've done the research on how these authentic pieces are hand made in Japan it all makes sense. A true Investment in health and well being.

Purchased in February 2022 at Japanache for $1,975.

Value for Money
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mattresses

Find out how Japanache Futon compares to other Mattresses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Dreamy

published

I bought this futon for a day bed. It's super comfy for a sneaky little nap or a spot of meditation. The plain grey looks stylish in my pared back, coastal style decor. Service from Richard was exceptional. Delivery, even during covid and terrible weather in Qld, was very quick (ordered Tues, delivered Fri).

Purchased in February 2022 at Japanache for $680.

Value for Money
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gene
GeneKarratha, Western Australia
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

It's my first futon and I love it. It's light, easy to fold and hide, breathable and sustainable. Great service overall.

published

It's plain but supportive. I don't have a health condition but sometimes the low back is tired and tense from work.
I think I sleep better. One of the problems with regular foam mattresses I have - they feel too hot from beneath and unnatural. I believe the futon is more than enough durable

Purchased at Japanache.

Incentivised Review No
Sleeping PositionSide
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Black Koi Futon Single Mattress Set - excellent

published

The relatively thin mattress feels warm nevertheless. It is comfortable, not too soft, exactly what I wanted, wish I bought it long ago. Excellent quality and service, prompt delivery, easy communication.

Purchased in January 2022.

Incentivised Review No
Sleeping PositionBack
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Ben B.
Ben B.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent

published

Excellent quality futon. The guys were really easy to deal with and sort my order out, & delivery was super fast! Been looking for an alternative with minimal cushioning for a long time

Purchased in February 2022.

Value for Money
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Loving it, best sleep ever

published

Received the futon from Japanache. I’ve dealt with the staff at Japanache a few times and they are always helpful, when I need to purchase and ship to Victoria. The mattress was easy to unpack and unroll to expand.
The mattress is so comfortable to sleep on. I love getting into bed to sleep.

Purchased in February 2022 for $899.

Value for Money
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mattresses

Find out how Japanache Futon compares to other Mattresses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Queen futon

published

Purchased in February 2022 for $888.

Value for Money
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jacob
jacobGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Great service. Great quality.

published

Bought Shikibuton mattress very close to christmas and messaged asking if it could be delivered before then. Arrived within 3 days. Brilliant service.

As to the mattress. Lovely quality. If youre looking at buying a futon for ergonomic reasons i definitely recommend it. Every time i lie down i can feel hips repositioning them selves. I have even taken to sleeping without a pillow and its helping with my neck and shoulder pain.

Purchased at japanache.

Incentivised Review No
Sleeping PositionFront and Side
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Best sleep in years

published

Ok I was thinking was little hard at start but 2 weeks in and I’m sleeping great, I have major back issues and first time I don’t wake up already sore, it’s so good I want to jump in every time I pass it lol

Purchased in December 2021.

Value for Money
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mattresses

Find out how Japanache Futon compares to other Mattresses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Love this futon mattress

published

Received the futon from Japanache. Followed the directions for unpacking and airing it out. It was fantastic. It is really comfortable and good for our backs and posture. The whole process of ordering, payment, shipping and unpacking was 100% professional and on time. We just love this mattress!

Purchased in December 2021 at Japanache for $709.

Incentivised Review No
Sleeping PositionBack
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Justin
Justin
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Really beautiful product

published

Nothing to say about it other than it is beautifully made, looks great, feels great to sleep on, reasonably priced and came very quickly (Qld to SA). The context with the company was easy and efficient. This is the third one I have bought.

Value for Money
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nathan
NathanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Amazing futon and awesome service

published

I’ve had this futon for about 3 weeks now and it was a easy transition from a normal soft mattress. I have noticed my posture has been a lot better and no more back pain. I bought the tatami mats and quilt set to go with the futon. The workmanship of everything was amazing. The futon was surprisingly light and was easy to get on the clothesline. The service from Japanache was extremely professional and they tracked my package and kept me updated throughout the process.

Purchased in October 2021 for $2,239.

Value for Money
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Anton B.
Anton B.asked
Futon

G'day,

Is the futon hot to sleep on in the summer?

Also, do you recommend the futon for side/stomach sleepers? I sometimes have shoulder/hand pain from sleeping on a mattress at the moment.

Cheers,
Anton

7 answers
jacob
jacob
Anton B.
Anton B.

Thanks Jacob. I'll check out the video, and that makes sense about the temp of the futon itself.
Still deciding. I will do a bit more research.

Kristjan
Kristjan
Aisling.Orla
Aisling.Orlaasked
King

Heya, do you do a size Double?

4 answers
Japanache
Richard C.JapanacheSend a private message

We don't stock a Double but we can get one made that size if you can wait for our mid-year container.

Aisling.Orla
Aisling.Orla

Can I ask, when would the mid-year container arrive? And also, what would be the cost of the Double, or the Double in a package, as I noticed most of yours are sold as a package.
Thanks :)

Aisling.Orla
Aisling.Orla
Amani
Amaniasked
Semi-Double

What websites or stores can i find futon mattresses on that arent crazy high in pricing

2 answers
Japanache
Richard C.JapanacheSend a private message
Lucy
Lucy
See all Japanache Futon questions

Get an answer from our members and Japanache representatives

Japanache Futon

Details

Features:

  • The Japanache Futon (like all authentic Japanese futons) consists of two parts, a shikibuton (mattress) and a kakebuton (quilt or doona). These futons are imported in limited quantities from a small family business in Shikoku.
  • They’re lightweight (ranging from 6.8 to 13.7kg), making them ideal for people with back problems, who don’t need to handle a 30 to 40kg Australian-style futon.
  • This futon is easy to care for - it requires sunning, airing and beating to get rid of the bugs and mould that live in all mattresses.
  • Japanese futons, unlike foam-cored mattresses, don’t trap unwanted moisture within them, preventing the creation of an environment where mould and bugs thrive in the first place.
  • They come in single, semi-double, queen, and king sizes.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that their futon was extremely supportive, and helped relieve back pains and stiffness by encouraging proper alignment when they slept. One reviewer said that using their futon was “like sleeping on a firm cloud”.
  • They also appreciated how easy it was to care for their futon, saying that airing it out was simple to do.
  • According to reviewers, the futon retains heat well, keeping sleepers warm and comfortable.
Compare all 4 Japanache Futon
CategoryMattressesMattressesMattressesMattresses
SizeSingleQueenKing
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Thickness10 cm10 cm10 cm10 cm
Compare all 4 Japanache Futon
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.