??!
7 photos
Jeep Cherokee

Jeep Cherokee

KJ, KK, KL
3.3 from 102 reviews

Reviews

3.3

102 reviews
5
(32)
4
(26)
3
(8)
2
(12)
1
(24)
  • Build Quality
    3.9 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (10)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (9)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (12)
  • Handling
    4.0 (11)
  • Braking
    4.3 (12)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (12)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (12)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.3 (12)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (11)
  • Boot Size
    3.6 (12)
  • Features
    4.3 (12)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (12)
Previous
Next
Joshua P.

Joshua P.

  • 7 reviews
  • 15 likes

2003 Jeep Cherokee KJ Limited (4x4) Blue 4 Speed Automatic Wagon

published

Purchased in August 2020 for A$5,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Joshua P.
Joshua P.

one of the window regulators has gone on the back drivers side. just needs a new regulator but nothing that is not fixable

Best jeep I’ve ever had

published

Love it. 2005 automatic. 115,000 miles on the clock. Smooth, classy, solid and very comfortable. As they say; look after your car and it will look after you. Get it serviced, don’t hammer it on the roads, enjoy the ride. I’m smitten

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Graham N.

Graham N.Illawarra, NSW

great car with loads of features

published

Love this car - my only issue is the lack of control and ability to preset the climate control. It is over enthusiatic and attempts to fry me with hot air for no good reason. Nearly crashed the thing trying to adjust it. Most times would just like to have outside air on my face but it resets to sending air to the windscreen

Purchased in November 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew

AndrewGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Packs a punch

published

I do 650k a week commuting to work Monday to Friday
Comfortable drive with great features, only issue I've had is slight build up if Brake dust on the callipers.
3 Years complimentary servicing which was hand due to the amount of kilometres I do.
Certainly got me hooked on JEEP

Purchased in January 2017 at Jeep Dealers for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Nicole

NicolePeel, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Long list of expensive issues never again

published

Bought the car new(2015 kl) and nothing but issues from the start, replaced everything underneath. Including rear diff,ptu, tailshaft twice, rear axle seals a couple of times. Well over $30000 in repairs, sold the vehicle at a massive loss to get it out of my life. Would never ever get a jeep again

Purchased in January 2016 for A$52,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
John B.

John B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Jeep Customer Service

published

Purchased in June 2019 for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Stephen Mills

Stephen MillsSouth East Queensland, QLD

Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT Hemi 6.4 Motor

published

Purchased in January 2015 for A$90,000.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
John B.

John B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

I Try to be supportive of Jeep But their Customer service is ridiculous

published

Purchased in April 2019 for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Madhatter

MadhatterGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Software Updates

published

We recently had two recalls completed, both were software related, within 24hrs we had a completely drained battery. RACV came out, load tested the battery - advised it was ok and something was running in the background which caused the fault. They did a temp reset to enable us to take the car back to the dealer where we were advised a new battery was required @ $700.00. Has anyone else experienced this after a software update - seems very coincidental to me especially when we have not had one issue with this car.

Purchased in November 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Robert T

Robert TIllawarra, NSW

Buyer beware

published

Purchased my KL last year interstate was told it had a 5 year warranty with 12 month fixed priced services by the dealership. Recently tried to book a service locally and was told it was out of warranty because FCA had the Cherokee in there system as having a 3 year warranty with 6 month services even though the vehicle had been complianced in May 2017 three months after Jeep Australia had introduced the new 5 year plan. After making a complaint to FCA they refused to reconise the 5 year warranty leaving me up the creek without a paddle basically. Great customer service for some who has purchased 4 Jeeps in 15 years.

Purchased in May 2018 at Northern Motor Group.

Year2017
Bam

Bam

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

Purchased in May 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Peter.H

Peter.HQueensland

Great Suv

published

First thoughts Jeep what a load of crap.. Back to dealership for warning lights always coming on until I changed dealership service departments . They found the problem and replaced the rear diff since then I have never looked back the Jeep longitude goes and does whatever I want .. Thanks to Cricks Jeep in Moorooka Brisbane great work guys Jeep Go Anywhere Yeah Baby..

BadgeLongitude
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Drive4WD
Jim

JimMurray Mallee, SA

Good vehicle.

published

Had cherokee sport for 3 1/2 year. Trans was replaced under warranty. No other issues. Fine road car, good economy ave. 7.6 lts per 100. Well inder that on country touring.no squeaks or rattles. Been on Flinders ranges tracks with no problems, in dry weather. I would buy another but might go for the trailhawk.

BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Sally

SallyCoffs Harbour

Go to Recalls.gov.au and look up the number of recalls before you consider buying a jeep. Most of t

published

Had a Jeep and had numerous problems, in the workshop continually and the dealer couldn't even get it started and had the gall to say there was nothing wrong with it!!!! we traded it in at a loss of $18,000 and they would not accept that there was a darn thing wrong with the car....It would not even start in their workshop!
Car was fine until they did an upgrade on the parking computer problem, then downhill from there,

BadgeGrand Cherokee Larado
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Too many issues!

published

My vechicle is only 4 years old and has now been under repair for 1/3 of the year and counting. During this time, Jeeps communication has been appalling and I still do not have an answer to why my car is not fixed. I have made a complaint to Jeeps head officer with still no answers. This issue may not be the same for everyone but from what I have experienced I would never has purchased a Jeep if I had known the inconvenience this would of caused me and the lack of customer service I have been receiving from my issue.

BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tony

Tony

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Be aware

published

Be aware! My Jeep Cherokee 2002 sport airbags exploded when I was driving!!!!
Was like a bomb!!!
On driver side the airbag from fire exploded have fire burn spots!!!!
The car not having any single scratch no accident involved !! I can’t find any recall for airbags on this model!!!!!!!

BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Stevo

StevoSydney

I still havent found anything good enough to replace it!

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2012

Jeep KJ Renegade CRD 2005 - Brilliant

published

It has never missed a beat. As long as you don’t neglect you vehicle you shouldn’t have any issues.
The Turbo Diesel engine seems great, no complaints.
The only issues would be my roof lining kinda sagging down and the rear window shocks not holding the window open.
Great all round 4wd that seems robust.

BadgeRenegade
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2005

Jeep Cherokee CRD Renegade - Brilliant.

published

I have had the Jeep Cherokee CRD Renegade for a long while now. Other than the usual log book servicing I can fault it.
Whilst I only do lite FWD on the sand & snow a few times it goes great. It has that good old fashioned turbo diesel feel & has never let me down.

BadgeRenegade
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2004
Nalaka Kuruppu

Nalaka KuruppuGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Jeep - Don't hold you back

published

Finally my dream comes true "I BOUGHT A JEEP" after had couple of SUV test drive me and wife finally decide we need a JEEP, we really enjoy this amazing machine, i strongly recommend who ever need to SUV with aggressive look. drive really smooth and we really like space and interior they have.

BadgeTrailhawk
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Mary

Maryasked

Cherokee

Any recent comments from owners with 2020 top model J.Cherokee? They don't look as solid to me.

No answers
Mohammad

Mohammadasked

Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

What is the size of piston ring gap please?

No answers
Joshua P.

Joshua P.asked

Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

hi,

im buying a 2003 Jeep Cherokee KJ Limited (4x4) Blue 4 Speed Automatic Wagon. I am wondering if there are any issues with these cars.

ive read the reviews here and the responses to the questions.

the one im getting has 309812km done and is the 3.7l 6 cylinder version.

2 answers
Lee
Lee

I looooove mine . I’d the MOT has all the parts done - get an engine service and off too go. It’s best vehicle I’ve ever had

Joshua P.
Joshua P.

thanks for the tip

Get an answer from our members

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.