7 photos
Jeep Cherokee

Jeep Cherokee

KJ, KK, KL
3.3 from 106 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Jeep? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.6 (14)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (12)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (11)
  • Braking
    4.2 (14)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (14)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (14)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (14)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.3 (14)
  • Handling
    4.1 (13)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (13)
  • Boot Size
    3.7 (14)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (14)
  • Features
    4.3 (14)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail

History After Nine Years

published

Purchased in September 2012 for $15,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
SMG
SMGSouth East Queensland, QLD

Get a 2 inch lift and can't go wrong

published

Unstoppable in the sand on Moreton and Fraser Islands with a 2 inch lift and AT. Great style and motor is a V6 with plenty of Power. I use it as a daily commuter. After 10 years I've changed general stuff like radiator, Starter motor. I've owned bigger 4wds like T. Landcruiser, and N. Patrol but like this beast better. Goes like the V8 box Range Rover in the 80s without the electrical Probs. Very underrated vehicle.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2012 at Jeep Dealers for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
John
JohnSydney, NSW

Worst car I have ever had in my life

published

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mike P
Mike P
  • 3 reviews

Never again.

published
Incentivised Review No
Joshua P.
Joshua P.
  • 10 reviews
  • 21 likes

2003 Jeep Cherokee KJ Limited (4x4) Blue 4 Speed Automatic Wagon

published

Purchased in August 2020 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Joshua P.
Joshua P.

one of the window regulators has gone on the back drivers side. just needs a new regulator but nothing that is not fixable

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

Best jeep I’ve ever had

published

Love it. 2005 automatic. 115,000 miles on the clock. Smooth, classy, solid and very comfortable. As they say; look after your car and it will look after you. Get it serviced, don’t hammer it on the roads, enjoy the ride. I’m smitten

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Graham N.
Graham N.Illawarra, NSW

great car with loads of features

published

Love this car - my only issue is the lack of control and ability to preset the climate control. It is over enthusiatic and attempts to fry me with hot air for no good reason. Nearly crashed the thing trying to adjust it. Most times would just like to have outside air on my face but it resets to sending air to the windscreen

Purchased in November 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Andrew
AndrewGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Packs a punch

published

I do 650k a week commuting to work Monday to Friday
Comfortable drive with great features, only issue I've had is slight build up if Brake dust on the callipers.
3 Years complimentary servicing which was hand due to the amount of kilometres I do.
Certainly got me hooked on JEEP

Purchased in January 2017 at Jeep Dealers for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Nicole
NicolePeel, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Long list of expensive issues never again

published

Bought the car new(2015 kl) and nothing but issues from the start, replaced everything underneath. Including rear diff,ptu, tailshaft twice, rear axle seals a couple of times. Well over $30000 in repairs, sold the vehicle at a massive loss to get it out of my life. Would never ever get a jeep again

Purchased in January 2016 for $52,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John B.
John B.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Jeep Customer Service

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Stephen Mills
Stephen MillsSouth East Queensland, QLD

Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT Hemi 6.4 Motor

published

Purchased in January 2015 for $90,000.00.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
John B.
John B.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

I Try to be supportive of Jeep But their Customer service is ridiculous

published

Purchased in April 2019 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Madhatter
MadhatterGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Software Updates

published

We recently had two recalls completed, both were software related, within 24hrs we had a completely drained battery. RACV came out, load tested the battery - advised it was ok and something was running in the background which caused the fault. They did a temp reset to enable us to take the car back to the dealer where we were advised a new battery was required @ $700.00. Has anyone else experienced this after a software update - seems very coincidental to me especially when we have not had one issue with this car.

Purchased in November 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Robert T
Robert TIllawarra, NSW

Buyer beware

published

Purchased my KL last year interstate was told it had a 5 year warranty with 12 month fixed priced services by the dealership. Recently tried to book a service locally and was told it was out of warranty because FCA had the Cherokee in there system as having a 3 year warranty with 6 month services even though the vehicle had been complianced in May 2017 three months after Jeep Australia had introduced the new 5 year plan. After making a complaint to FCA they refused to reconise the 5 year warranty leaving me up the creek without a paddle basically. Great customer service for some who has purchased 4 Jeeps in 15 years.

Purchased in May 2018 at Northern Motor Group.

Incentivised Review No
Year2017
Bam
Bam
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

Purchased in May 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Damien
Damien asked
Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

is a 2007 diesel with 240,000kms on it with full service history still have life in it? as in how many km's can you usually get out of them?

No answers
Damien
Damien asked
Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

what are the biggest problems with a 2007 jeep limited auto cherokee?

No answers
Peter T
Peter Tasked
Cherokee

I have a 2015 Jeep Cherokee Sport 73k klm and it has just started to go crazy jamming in park or neutral, flatening battery, unable to remove key, different warnings coming up on display. got it towed to a dealer and they said all the modules needed to be reset, 2 days later same issue, personally I think the Battery is dyeing but the dealer said it was fine, anyone else had these sort of issues I would like to hear

1 answer
mickey p
mickey p

Our 2015 sport won't start due to electric steering part failure. Jeep says $1100 to fix. Has only done 110kms

See all Jeep Cherokee questions

Get an answer from our members

Jeep Cherokee

Details

Compare all 7 Jeep Cherokee
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $41,432$47,621$50,950$53,950
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.5 L/100km9.8 L/100km9.8 L/100km10.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.4L6 Cylinder 3.2L6 Cylinder 3.2L6 Cylinder 3.2L
Max Power130kW @ 6400rpm200kW @ 6500rpm200kW @ 6500rpm200kW @ 6500rpm
Max Torque229Nm @ 3900rpm315Nm @ 4300rpm315Nm @ 4300rpm315Nm @ 4300rpm
Country of ManufactureUSAUSAUSAUSA
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg2,200 kg2,200 kg2,200 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance185 mm185 mm185 mm221 mm
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014
Compare all 7 Jeep Cherokee
Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next
See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.