??!
11 photos
Jeep Wrangler JK

Jeep Wrangler JK (2007-2020)

Also referred to as: Jeep Wrangler JK 2019 and Jeep Wrangler JK 2021. Unlimited Sport, Overland, Rubicon, etc...
3.7 from 70 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.7

70 reviews
5
(31)
4
(15)
3
(4)
2
(9)
1
(11)
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (9)
  • Braking
    4.1 (10)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (10)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.6 (9)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (10)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (10)
  • Handling
    3.7 (10)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (10)
  • Boot Size
    3.9 (10)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (10)
  • Features
    4.2 (10)
Previous
Next
Nataliedith

NataliedithMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love this car. It has its pros and cons but if you love easy servicing and adventure. It’s for you!

published

I use this car for a range of applications. Mine is a 2015 model unlimited. I do some 4wd, highway and town. I just love it! I do most of the servicing myself and it hasn’t missed a beat.
The things that aren’t great about it are:
It’s loud inside (I just turn up the radio!)
It handles like an old mountain goat- for the most part it’s great, don’t take it too fast around corners they are known to tip.
Their safety rating: it’s a death trap but I willingly take the risk because I love it
Insurance can be pricey so shop around.

Otherwise it’s a beast and I look forward to having it for many years

Purchased in October 2019 at Chrysler Dealers for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Gus

GusSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car i have ever owned!

published

If you want a car that is always an experience, not just something to get you from point A to point B. Mechanically the car is quite expensive to maintain, but worth every cent!

Purchased in April 2017 at PrivateFleet for A$18,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
TimZed

TimZedSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

It’ll take you places you never thought you’d go!

published

Cons: it gets uncomfortable on long trips.
Pros: bulletproof off-road ability, retro looks, it’ll take you places you’ve never been before.
I’ve had mine three years and no problems at all. The only problem is deciding where to go next!

Purchased in June 2017 at Jeep Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Jeep Wrangler JK compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matt P.

Matt P.Perth, WA

230k on the clock and still going strong

published

I use this car every day and goes off road at least one weekend a month. I haven't modified the engine in any way. The only issue I have had in 230k kms has been the 4wd transfer linkage and the plastic bushes. Only things I have changed on the car have been belts, oil, air filter. Only mods are a 2imch lift and bigger tyres. Most reliable car I have owned.
I don't take my car to the dealership to be serviced tho, since its double the price of every where else and they never seem to have parts.

Purchased in March 2011 for A$43,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Joey B

Joey BPerth

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

I absolutely love this car.

published

I use this car for local driving, longer distances driving and 4x4. Use it daily and needs to get serviced once a year. Not had any issues and still got a while to run on the warranty. I love the car, its fun to drive and you feel like a boss driving it. Cant get enough of it.

Purchased in November 2019 for A$33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
mark j.

mark j.Sydney, NSW

Was ok when standard

published

The car was ok when it was standard but not any more, I put in the most highly rated spring coils with Rancho shocks and it rode like a brick. The 8 ply all terrain light truck tyres did play a role however even with passenger tyres it was still bad

The take away from this message is i don't recommend this as a daily driver. Even when it is stock based on my experience. Especially if you have back pain. Will either buy an fj cruiser again or a prado 150.
I had a 2014 wrangler unlimited sport 4 door petrol, for an everyday car stick to independent suspension and not a live axle

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Andres P.

Andres P.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

LOVE IT, LOVE ME BACK

published

My jeep is a 2012 sport jk, I use it a lot, commuting, traveling, 4wding, shopping, city, beach driving.
Already has 140.000kms, no problems, it has been the most reliable car, I had to change the battery twice but in 7 years I think is fair. I service it regularly and look after it. Still drives like when I picked it up form the dealer.

Purchased in June 2012 for A$40.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
EO1

EO1Melbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Leaking car

published

We got a new 2018 wrangler JK as a new family car as we just had our first child. Mechanic wise, car drives well. It started off as just a door ajar issue. Got it fixed numerous times before it actually got fixed. One bad rainy day the top panel above the head unit started to leak. Sent it back to City’s jeep (mind you this was the 4th visit in 3 months of picking up the car). We’ve had the seals replaced and had the car sent there another 2 times. Today it’s just be taken back again with more leaking. We keep getting told by city Jeep the car is waterproof. However, the car can’t even withstand a little rain. The service department at City Jeep aren’t very helpful too. Starting to change our minds about the car....

BadgeGolden Eagle
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Drive4WD
Mic

Mic

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Absolutely love this beast

published

Nice smooth drive with a 6 speed manual that keepsvthe revs down. Got the 70 year anniversary model with leather interior and it looks Mikky Mouse. Nice high ride, great flares and a pretty ballsy v6. Black on Black, all the fruit. Gunna try 4wd this weekend Wonnerup Beach. Giddiup.

BadgeUnlimited Sport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Jeep Wrangler JK compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
mitcho2au

mitcho2auBrisbane

Problems that can leave you stuck up the creek without a paddle

published
BadgeUnlimited Sport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Tim A

Tim A

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great little vehicle

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
ArtAge Computers

ArtAge ComputersAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

perfect fot off roads

published

best purchase ever. no problems so far. done 30k. love my jeep. already been on beach and off road with lot of fun. she is heavy drinker and bit expensive to repair but car expert told me that first 150000km will be perfectly fine and will not be problem with regards to the engine.

BadgeUnlimited Sport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Talreuse

Talreuse

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Jeep Wrangler, Awesome!

published
BadgeUnlimited Sport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2013
Linzi

Linzi

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best purchase ever

published

Although the wrangler is a fuel guzzler, I feel so invincible in it. It’s easily the best car ive ever brought, I love that it’s completely versatile and convertible. So easy to take the front seat roof panels off, and quite easy to remove the hard top. Stereo is unreal, speakers in the roof. Love it

BadgeRenegade
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Rebecca

RebeccaSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

LEMON

published

This car is a lemon. But the four wheel driving experience was fun, performance was amazing, the car loves and was built to climb hills, out performs any other four wheel drive. Handling was controlled and steady. Noise was minimum. Easy to go over hills, mounds, rocks, water. Love the interior, heaps of legroom in the front, removable back seats for more room, unfortunately no boot room. Dashboard clean and looks amazing, really love the leather trim wheel and comfort is good. Reliability is terrible, major repairs.

BadgeRenegade
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Jeep Wrangler JK compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Saxon Keily

Saxon Keily

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Car - one of the best

published

This was the 2nd Jeep we originally had a Cherokee but the Wrangler is even better. Lots of room, hard and soft top. Good on fuel and great for 4WD. OOnly one small issue is not a great turning circle. Will always recommend Jeep, we have now gone down to a sedan however have stuck with Chrysler, great cars

BadgeRenegade
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2011
Philip Wibaux

Philip WibauxAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Overlander - Rock Lobster REd - Fully Optioned - Two Door. 2014

published
BadgeOverland
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Dee

Dee

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

good to upgrade

published

luv the jeep
it is not capable off road bone stock but because their is so many upgrades around it is real good once it is upgraded
when it is bone stock it is good for young kids looking for a p plate car, good to take your mates around and cruise round in the city, highly recommend

Badgeeadfasr
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Chrissy

ChrissySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Biggest mistake in selling it.

published

Purchased in December 2011 at Jeep Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Chris Mc

Chris McMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Pleasantly surprised by the details!

published

After many years of searching for a replacement for the ever reliable Landover Defender 110 TD5, a 2012 Jeep Wrangler Sport CRD was found and quickly purchased. With 147kw and 6 speed shift, it has much more torque and less weight so is much quicker off the line. The steering is surprisingly light and precise, while the wind and tyre noise is much less than expected. Little details like the easily removed rear seats are a nice touch. There's the expected rocking from sitting a couple of feet higher, but it's easy to get used to. The cruise control is handy and the economy is surprisingly good! The wait has been worth it!

BadgeSport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Page 1 of 4
See all Jeep Wrangler reviews

Questions & Answers

MandK

MandKasked

JK Overland (2012-2020)

Wine has been accidentally spilt in the back of our brand new Jeep Wrangler JK Overland. It has run into the weather proof speaker and surrounding carpet, which we have been able to clean. However, 2 days later there is a strong rancid smell and we can't figure out where or how to get rid of it. Any suggestions?

No answers
MandK

MandKasked

JK Overland (2012-2020)

Wine has been accidentally spilt in the back of our brand new Jeep Wrangler Overland MY18. It has run into the weather proof speaker, which we have been able to clean out, and have pulled out the carpet, hosed it down and left it to dry in the sun before replacing it. However, there is still a very strong rancid smell and we can't figure out where and how to get rid of it. Any suggestions please?

No answers
Μαγια Μ.

Μαγια Μ.asked

JK Sport (2007-2020)

I have a wrangler jk 2.8 crd with 3 doors. model 2017-2008.
I did it a body lifting.. and I put on 33 inches of tires, the wheelbarrows and the wheelbarrows, what I want to learn is because it is flying me speeds mainly on the 1st, 3rd, it does not hold them and I have to have the hand on the levers of gears, mainly in an anomalous way. the chassis is handled
.
Ηere in Greece I put oil in the car AMSOIL SIGNATURE 5W-30. I would have to get what thick oil.
what do you suggest?
I have also heard that with body lifting the engine does not work properly, just like the axle that drives the rear wheels. is true.
i will wait for your reply. thank you

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 23 Jeep Wrangler
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price A$46,950A$44,950A$56,052A$44,950
TransmissionAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
Doors2222
Seats4444
Fuel Consumption11.3 L/100km11.2 L/100km11.3 L/100km11.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 70 L70 L70 L70 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.6L6 Cylinder 3.6L6 Cylinder 3.6L6 Cylinder 3.6L
Max Power209kW @ 6350rpm209kW @ 6350rpm209kW @ 6350rpm209kW @ 6350rpm
Max Torque347Nm @ 4300rpm347Nm @ 4300rpm347Nm @ 4300rpm347Nm @ 4300rpm
Country of ManufactureUSAUSAUSAUSA
Safety Features
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance241 mm241 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,000 kg1,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2012Jan 2007
Compare all 23 Jeep Wrangler

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.