??!
2 photos
Kambrook Rice Express KRC5 / KRC8

Kambrook Rice Express KRC5 / KRC8

KRC5 (5 Cup), KRC8 (8 Cup), KRC80CHO (8 Cup)
2.8 from 92 reviews

Reviews

2.8

92 reviews
5
(18)
4
(19)
3
(12)
2
(15)
1
(28)
Previous
Next
Ash

AshMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

No frills - perfect rice

published

Great budget rice-cooker... cooks perfect rice every time! I would have used the rice cooker at least 200 times (6 years * 36 [average] = 216) , I no longer need to measure the rice to water ratio - and the rice cooks basically perfect every time! The only thing that may hinder the rice is leaving in on the ''warm'' setting too long.

I was given this as a gift from my Nan and I think it will cherish it forever/as long as possible :)

Sara

SaraGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worth for money and easy to clean

published

I bought it for a year, I use it twice a week, it did a good job fit its price. The bowl is easy to clean, the only thing is the rice crust in bottom. I usually need to turn off the power after cooked. The warm condition would make the crust getting worse.

Purchased in December 2018 at Big W.

Latest batches sub-standard

published

As the family downsized we downsized to this 5-cup rice cooker. Worked fine for 3-4 years before biting the dust. Was happy to buy the same model as replacement but manufacturing standards have obviously slipped since the original model. We have had four fail since then with what appear to be thermostat failures after less than 10 uses. Two have been warranty replacements, which is fine, but life is too short to waste time on inferior products. Never again for a Kambrook rice cooker. Managed to salvage tonight's dinner by using sticky tape to hold down the "Cook" switch after the thermostat failed.

Purchased in January 2019.

Rice Cookers

Find out how Kambrook Rice Express KRC5 / KRC8 compares to other Rice Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Maricel

MaricelQueensland

  • 7 reviews

Very reliable product!

published

We've been using this rice cooker for almost 2 years now and its a very good brand. Kambrook is one of the reliable brands that is designed to stand for years.

Purchased in September 2017 at Big W for A$30.00.

Haven’t failed since I learned the trick!

published

Most rice cookers are pretty much the same but it’s how you start that makes the difference. Always, always rinse your rice! Place the dry rice in a sieve and shake it back and forth under cold running water. You'll see the milky water gradually become clear which means you’ve rinsed a lot of the starch off the rice. It’s starch that makes the rice stick to the pan. Since I learned this from a Chinese cook, I’ve never had a problem with my Kambrook rice cooker. I love the keep warm function it offers too.

Purchased in December 2017.

Nan

Nan

  • 2 reviews

Perfect for most rice meals

published

Cooks to perfection, great little recipe book, light, small- easy to store, quick wipe out bowl, Price $26.00 great for 2-4 persons. We use at least twice weekly,12 month guarantee. I put a circle of bake paper on bottom of bowl as suggested and follow all directions given

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for A$26.00.

Simon I.

Simon I.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Dead on 4th use

published

Used as per directions. On 3rd use I noticed spot of paint coming off base despite very gentle treatment and no contact with metal. On 4th use it released burning plastic smell and died.

Purchased in July 2019 for A$32.00.

P.P

P.PPilbara, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Rubbish

published

I used the kambrook rice express 5 cup 3 times. It died before the end of the 3rd cook. What a waste of money. I will not buy another kambrook product again.

Purchased in June 2019 for A$35.95.

Rob

Rob

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Owned 4 of these, all 4 burnt out with less than a dozen uses.

published

Purchased one of these a few years ago. It 'burnt out' before 12months. Purchased another which burnt out after 2 months - got a warranty replacement, which burnt out about 12 months later. Gave it a miss for 2 years but bought another 8 months ago. And guess what, yup - burnt out as well. We would use this product about once every 3 weeks so it wasn't from over-use. Save your money. Buy a different product.

Purchased in September 2018 at Big W Retail Stores.

Rice Cookers

Find out how Kambrook Rice Express KRC5 / KRC8 compares to other Rice Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Grumpy

GrumpySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

so far...so good

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018

Purchased two and both have failed

published

Once bitten twice why. Rice burns to bottom if left on warm. Leaves rice very dry and not fluffy.
Purchased one and after 6 months of infrequent use had electric smell and the cooker stopped working. Husband purchased another and it happened after 2 uses. Off to find another brand.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Never cooks well

published

This is the first rice cooker I’ve ever owned and it never cooks the rice well - it is always singed on the bottom, is one big clump and not light and fluffy at all. Like others, I’ve tried adding more water but this doesn’t work. From what I’ve heard of rice from other cookers, I would definitely recommend people NOT buy this one.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
AjBC

AjBCPerth

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Below expectations

published

Make the rice very dry at the top. Have followed instructions to the dot yet my rice comes out very dry at the top, so dry that it is unedible and I have to get rid of that layer. Haven only tried white rice so far. Other than that, it is ok, however I was expecting it would take less time than 20 mins to cook a cup of rice! Not recommend for everyday use.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Does the Job

published

The cooker works well for it's price. It's quite quick at cooking rice and easy to operate. My only issue with it is that even though it is a non stick bowl, the rice still sticks to the bowl. We need to remove the rice from the pot immediately after cooking, so we cannot leave there to keep warm. I purposely bought the rice cooker so that we could leave it in there and come back to refill without it sticking to the pot, so this was very disappointing.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Kambrook
RachelKambrook

Hi Peta, the marketing team review these comments, and appreciate feedback. Thanks, the Kambrook team

bob

bobgeelong

only used a few times -tonight had an electrical/plastic burning smell -one side had started to melt

published

That explains our experience -might be a anomaly -might be what you can expect as well. will be back to the shop soon -well within warranty and REALLY sick of this cheap crap that won't even last a year!!!!!!

Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
Kambrook
RachelKambrook

Please contact Kambrook on 1300 139 798 if you wish to discuss this further. Thanks, the Kambrook team

Rice Cookers

Find out how Kambrook Rice Express KRC5 / KRC8 compares to other Rice Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Samcoz05

Samcoz05Northern Region, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great for families

published

Great way to cook rice fast and for our family perfect texture quick time . You can put it on and it will be done by the time your meal is ready and is pretty easy to clean it takes up very little storage and is a very convenient way to cook love it suits our needs and would recommend to anyone.

Date PurchasedMar 2015
anonian

anonian

  • 2 reviews

does the job

published

I was given this as a present. I wouldn't have bought one as I get good results using the stove (absorbtion method). I use the same rice-water ratio in the cooker as I do on the stovetop. The cooker produces similar quality rice. The advantage is that if I get bored and wander off the rice doesn't burn! I usually turn off the cooker as soon as the rice is cooked, as it keeps warm for a while in the hot cooker. You wont get good results with very small quantities of rice (any more than you will in a pan). The original cooker stopped working (open circuit) which was disappointing. I got a replacement under warranty with no problems, and that one is working well with regular use.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Naz Hasan Huda

Naz Hasan HudaSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

This is perfect! Can't live without it!!

published

We bought Kambrook Rice Express KRC5 from Sunday market about five years back and since then we used it at least once a day. It worked perfectly every time. The non-stick layer is worn out but that doesn't create any problem other than slight sticking. We are really happy about the product.

Date PurchasedFeb 2013

Good rice cooker!!

published

Purchased as second hand in an op shop and after fires use tonight I’m pretty impressed

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Rebecca Hill

Rebecca HillCurtin 2605, ACT

  • 17 reviews
  • 2 likes

I really enjoy cooking rice in my rice cooker

published
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Allan F

Allan Fasked

Rice Express KRC8 (8 Cup)

The cup size

No answers
Allan F

Allan Fasked

Rice Express KRC5 / KRC8

What is the size of the measuring cop

2 answers
Seppo Ranki
Seppo Ranki

Hi Allan,
I'm not a rice cooker guru but "they" keep asking me to comment every time there is a rice cooker question. For what it is worth I believe the standard rice cooker cup is 180ml. Through my patchy experience with rice cookers I think I have 3 different rice cooker cups in my plastics drawer - they are slightly different shapes but having checked them I can confirm they are consistently the same volume, so go with 180ml. Cheers, Seppo

Allan F
Allan F

Thanks very much l will go with that Allan

Diane P.

Diane P.asked

Rice Express KRC5 / KRC8

I just got a 10 cup rice cooker and steamer and following the rice/water ratio instructions, I cooked two cups of rice for the first time. It spluttered out fluid from around the edge of the lid to about 30-40, making a mess. Is this normally what they do.
Diane

1 answer
Seppo Ranki
Seppo Ranki

Hi Diane,
I've been asked to comment on your problem because I've submitted on the subject before but I'm not a guru on the subject. My current rice cooker has a max capacity of 8 cups and I'm reluctant to do less than 3 cups in it because the results can be patchy if your ratios are not spot on at the lower levels. To get used to it try doing 3 or 4 cups and either have leftovers or feed a hungry teenager. I use level rice cup measures for the rice and then don my glasses to get the water level spot on on the scale on the inside of the cooker container. It's not unusual to get a little bit of bubble blowing around the edge of the lid about two thirds of the way through the cooking but it should not be landing on the benchtop and making a mess. My suspicion is that you may have had a bit too much water in the mix and some of the excess came over the edge before there was time for it to be absorbed by the rice. Stick with it as rice cookers are a reliable way to get consistent cooked rice. Cheers, Seppo

Get an answer from our members and Kambrook representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.