1 photo
Kenwood Multi Purpose Rechargeable KN500

Kenwood Multi Purpose Rechargeable KN500

MPN: KN500
1.8 from 12 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Kitchen Knives in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

1.8
12 reviews
5
(1)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(6)
1
(5)
Previous
Next
gordz87
gordz87Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Intermittent non-response, then total death.

published

Same as everyone else here. Battery doesn't hold charge, switches are intermittent, then it dies completely.

Kenwood should have died out like their car stereos. Product not fit for purpose at all.

Purchased in July 2020 for $69.00.

Incentivised Review No
Disgusted
DisgustedGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Good idea, faulty product

published

Great idea but product is not fit for purpose. It doesn’t hold a charge and barely works for 30 seconds. So in the end, not just substandard, but totally useless (my knife, don’t know whether this is an isolated problem).

Purchased in August 2020 at Peter's of Kensington Online store for $79.00.

Incentivised Review No

Other Kitchen Knives

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Diana
DianaPerth, WA

Was good till it died

published

Was using it for home cooked loaves of bread every two days. Had it for three months without a problem. Then just suddenly died. Confusing as we read the manual and was charging it as per their instructions. I had read online before purchasing that there was a number of negative reviews but I thought I would give it a go. So, yeah, disappointed.

Purchased in April 2020 at Kitchen Warehouse for $84.95.

Incentivised Review No
Warwick
WarwickSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Great knife lasted 13 months

published

A few weeks out of warranty and it has developed some kind of loose connection - it'll start working after a few shakes.

Terrible shame they can't get the quality right, as otherwise it was a practical and useful knife. Fool me once, I won't be replacing it with a Kenwood.

Purchased in July 2018 at The Good Guys Online store for $79.95.

Incentivised Review No
Kitchen Knives

Find out how Kenwood Multi Purpose Rechargeable KN500 compares to other Kitchen Knives

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Trumpst
TrumpstIllawarra, NSW

Not good value. Poor reliability.

published

Have now had 2 of these-my son and daughter 1 each as well . Over past 3 years. All have stopped taking charge over relatively short time or may even be switch issues. Can it be taken apart for inspection? Either way, a chorded version would be cheaper to buy and last longer.

Purchased in February 2018 for $100.00.

Incentivised Review No
Martin W.
Martin W.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Broken after 9 months

published

Got the knife for father's day last year. I use it cut cut fresh bread before school and work, maybe 3 times a week. Began intermittent fault about 2 months back, now won't cut at all.. Loved it whilst it worked. My wife can't figure out who she bought it from so... down the drain goes some money.

Purchased in October 2018 at Kitchen Warehouse Online Store for $74.00.

Incentivised Review No
Noel Young
Noel YoungNoosa
  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

broke down after virtually no use

published

Useless after about 20 uses over 12 months. identical circumstances as reported by Mark Doyle (last review). Shop for another brand.

Mark Doyle
Mark DoyleWoodside

Great knife - badly needs quality control & switches redesign

published

Other Kitchen Knives

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Uland59
Uland59Delegate, New South Wales
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great cordless knife!!!!

published

I have a small cafe and use this all the time. Kenwood had battery issues with this knife which have been addressed now. The knife I have now is the same as the one I purchased in 2009 except it hasn't died, or even gone close in the 22 months I have had this one. It goes on the charger overnight, but even if it doesnt, we can get at least 2 days operation out of it. We had a big bushfire season last year and were cutting 200-300 rolls a day plus sandwiches as well as our normal days operation and the knife never ran out of grunt.

Kitchen Knives

Find out how Kenwood Multi Purpose Rechargeable KN500 compares to other Kitchen Knives

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul1952
Paul1952Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 16 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great vwhile it works

published

Purchased January 2012. Failed February 2012 due to not cutting.
Replaced March 2012. Failed to hold charge April 2012. Would only cut 4 slices of fresh bread before going very slowly. Great concept. If and when Kenwood are able to get them to work correctly it will be a great asset in the kitchen. Hopefully sooner rather than later.
Great knife when it works
Poor quality - failed twice in 4 months

Paul1952
Paul1952

The knife failed - would'nt cut - again 9/05/12. Replaced with a new unit 24/05/12.

Bad

published

We have had 3 of them now,and as pensioners we can't afford to buy them anymore-is there a better cordless knife on sale?
Easy to use,cuts home made bread well.
Only lasts about 1 year,before the battery won't take a charge

Other Kitchen Knives

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Bad

published

Easy to use. But before you go to the butcher, keep it for charging!
Battery dead after 1 year. Overnight charging will not even cut 1 Kg roast!. Go for corded version
Easy to use
Before you go to the butcher, keep it for charging!
Battery dead after 1 year. Overnight charging will not even cut 1 Kg roast!

silverbeard
silverbeard

Instead of buying a new unit, trying getting the battery replaced or repacked. It might be cheaper. That is what I do with my B&D or Mistral units

Kitchen Knives

Find out how Kenwood Multi Purpose Rechargeable KN500 compares to other Kitchen Knives

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Robbie D
Robbie Dasked

Agree with all comments posted "Great / Fantastic" product when working.
Unfortunately seems to be a design flaw or absolute "Lifespan Cycle" that renders the product useless within (12-18mths) hmmmm.........what do you know, that's just outside of the Warranty Period!!
Shame on you Kenwood - Once such a trusted brand!!

No answers
Bm670
Bm670asked

I just got my knife and then it started shaking while cutting with blades both uneven. Now I can’t get the blades out!!

No answers
Chris Michalak
Chris Michalakasked

How do I know when knife is fully charged?...does the green light change colour?...doesn.t seem to be charging properly as it only works for a few minutes after charging...

1 answer
Warwick
Warwick

It doesn't change, always green. I just charge it overnight. If it still only lasting a few minutes, might be a faulty battery.

See all Kenwood Multi Purpose Rechargeable KN500 questions

Get an answer from our members and Kenwood representatives

Details

CategoryKitchen Knives
Release dateJuly 2007
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 5011423090924
  • MPN: KN500

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.