??!
2 photos
Kia Sportage QL Platinum AWD, 2.0L Diesel, Automatic

Kia Sportage QL Platinum AWD, 2.0L Diesel, Automatic (2015-2016)

4.1 from 14 reviews

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
10
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
3

Peter

Peter

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Kia Sportage Sat Nav fail

published

I have the current model (2016) sportage platinum GT line. The sat nav was out of date at the day of purchase, well out of date. Speed zones always out and roads that were finished years earlier are not on there. The dealer advised it would cost $300 to update it. I made contact with Kia customer service to seek more information and they were downright rude and could not care less. They confirmed $300 to update. It's about keeping customers for life or losing them. I would NEVER buy another Kia!

5th December- I've since bought another SUV and they update the Sat Nav every year. It looks like they look after their customers.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

RB

RBDarling Downs, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified purchase

Awesome Car

published

We purchased the 2017 Kia Sportage GT-LINE (diesel) in February 2017.
2.0 Turbo Diesel. 6 speed auto transmission.
The performance and handling of this car is GREAT. The 2.0 turbo diesel makes this car FLY.
Economy is GREAT; on the highway we achieve about 5.9litres/100km and around town about 9litres/100km.
Build quality cannot fault.
Equipment & safety, this car has so many features and safety equipment. While shopping around we found it has more features than most of the European vehicles that cost almost double (and still don't have all the features of this KIA).
You cannot beat the 7 year warranty with roadside assist.
Servicing costs...a little on the expensive side through the dealer.
*** I would recommend this car ***

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Puce

PuceEast Albury

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

LOVE this car

published

Have had many cars over the years, mostly bought new. This is hands down the best car ever. The list of features is impressive, love the sunroof, keyless ignition, heated/cooled seats. Best of all it is able to seat adults comfortably in the rear seat without moving the front seats forward.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Roger H

Roger H

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Absolutely love this car

published

Had this car for over a year now, and due for its second 15K service. It continues to satisfy. The equipment spec is second to none. I love the grunt of a diesel engine. I even like sitting in the back as it has plenty of room. I do hope they will wake up and give up on stopping one from connecting the phone via bluetooth when it is not in Park. it will connect sometimes nevertheless. It is really dumb to think that somehow using the touchscreen to connect the phone is any different from using it to select an FM station.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Graham Meyer

Graham MeyerSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 9 reviews
  • 12 likes

So far excellent

published

Nearly a year old, 25,000km and the Kia Platinum is doing everything right. Best fuel economy was Adelaide to Ballarat at an average of 6.2 litres per 100. Can rely on 7 litres per hundred generally. Just towed a 1.6 tonne caravan to Alice Springs and back. Cruised 90-100, worst fuel economy was 12.2, best 10.6. Ticks all the boxes for us. Very quiet, spoiled with the heated/cooled seats. GPS before apple/carplay was a bit out of date but workable. Overall very happy.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Dan C

Dan CFar West, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Worst car I've EVER OWNED.

published

Terribly unreliable. 2016 model. Already had new sun roof, new ECM, among other sensors. Park assist had a glitch and steering wheel went really fast and collided with another vehicle. I've done 1000s of auto park but as they couldn't get it to fault, it doesn't exist. The navigation system at purchase and with updates still doesn't contain streets that are 6 years.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

The Best Car I Have Owned!!

published

I have had this car for 4 months. So far it has been fantastic and economical, and the Turbo Diesel also goes like a rocket. The car is comfortable and is fantastic to drive. I have owned many cars over the years including Toyota's and Holdens and the Sportage is the best car i have owned by a long shot. The only thing i have found is that the wireless phone charger seems to have caused an issue with my phone where its battery power is drained very quickly after being charged using the wireless charger, so i no longer use it. However, if everything else continues to go well, i will be buying another one in a few years when i am ready to update.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Algard74

Algard74Illawarra, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Got sucked in by another Korean manufacturer

published

These cars are cheap because they are crap, Don't be fooled by the 7 year warranty. There are so many cheeky little catches in that contract. You will rue the day you signed. I have read many other reviews on this site. I assume that the ones praising Kia are employees or they really have no motoring experience whatsoever.
Poor handling. When you hit a bump you will actually bump across the road. Brakes are downright dangerous & not covered by warranty. The list goes on. You will see (literally) heaps of these cars in wrecking yards in the next few years.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Wayne

WayneCanberrq

Best car I have owned

published
BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
Wayne
Wayne
hotkiwi

hotkiwiPerth, WA

  • 30 reviews
  • 20 likes

Great car, excellent updated model

published

Purchased in January 2016 at Kia Dealers for $53,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

john

johnperth

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

best present ever

published

I love driving it even better than my other small car. Leather seats I like the way it lights up on the dash plenty legroom. It has not let us down yet (fingers crossed) and the running costs are very good we fill up every two weeks .It is the best present ever.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Paul

PaulThe Mallee, VIC

  • 35 reviews
  • 38 likes

The BEST Car I have ever purchased so far .........

published
BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Kev H

Kev HMid North Coast, NSW

  • 28 reviews
  • 23 likes
  • Verified purchase

Lots of toys!

published
BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016

lozzam

lozzamvictoria, 3106

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great car

published
BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

See all Kia Sportage reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Kia Sportage QL Platinum AWD, 2.0L Diesel, Automatic (2015-2016) but you can read 92 questions about Kia Sportage.


Get an answer from our members and Kia representatives

Details

CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVs
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypeDiesel
Wheels19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Doors5
Seats5
Fuel Consumption6.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 62 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power136kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque400Nm @ 2750rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth Korea
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance172 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,900 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)
Release dateOct 2015
Discontinuation dateDec 2016
Compare all Kia Sportage

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.