1 photo
Kumho Solus KH17

Kumho Solus KH17

3.7 from 78 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Passenger Tyres in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Kumho? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.6 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (7)
  • Wet Weather Handling
    3.8 (6)
  • Durability
    3.8 (5)
  • Dry Weather Handling
    4.2 (5)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Mikef50
Mikef50Sydney, NSW
  • 129 reviews
  • 52 likes
  • Verified

Back to the Future, with smiles!

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2020 for $109.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gary Rodhouse
Gary RodhouseSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Silent but don't Last long.

published

Kumho Solus tyres came standard on our new 2015 Jeep . Super silent love them for that . Only get 35,000 km out of a set though. Have had no handling issues. Have done 70,000 km now and am due a 3rd set I am in 2 minds on what to do. Mainly highway driving but do tow a caravan occasionally.

Purchased in September 2017 at Bob Jane T-Marts for $250.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Dangerous in wet weather

published
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peterrr
PeterrrJoondanna
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

2 tyres exploded while driving within 3 days

published

KUMHOP SOLUS KH17 was put on my Subaru Forester 5 years and 40 000 km ago. With still a decent amount of thread left in them we went for a trip. 1st tyre burst while driving 110 km/h, lucky it was the rear one and I managed to stop safely. I've changed it for the spare. 2 days later while still travelling I noticed an increasing vibration to the steering wheel. We checked the front tyres noticing a bulge on one of them. While being in the middle of nowhere we slowly limped to the nearest town. Didn't make it. In about 5 minutes...boom a 2nd tyre gone. I couldn't believe it. See the pictures for evidence. Very strange and very disappointing KUMHO.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Kumho Solus KH17 compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vick
VickPerth, WA
  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good tyres

published

Good tyres for affordable prices. Lasted for 8 months even after regular use. Tread lasted for while and safe while driving the car . I recoomed trying this tyres.cheaper than other products

Purchased in January 2018 at Mycar (Kmart Tyre & Auto Service) for $100.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

GRR
GRRSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great mileage

published

We are about to replace the original tyres on my wife's 2012 Kia Cerato Sli, has 17 inch rims. The tyres have covered approx. 69,000kms so far, which I think is fantastic, especially after reading some of the reviews on here. We will probably go with another set of these based on our experience. This car has done predominantly highway driving which would have helped these km figures. Personally I find the tyres a bit noisy, by comparison to my Commodore at least.

Purchased in March 2012.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Adam
AdamMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

I will NEVER buy Kumho tyres ever again.

published

I've purchased this brand and model tyres twice (in 16" & 17", sets of 4) and I would NEVER buy another Kumho tyre. The tyres were bought new and I was told I would get 40,000+ KMs out of them and in both cases these tyres didn't even get 15,000 KMs out of them, extremely disappointing product and very unhappy customer.

Purchased in May 2017 for $600.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Gabriel
GabrielPerth, WA
  • 6 reviews

Good product

published

I have recently purchased a pair of tyres and I still need to see how long it will last, so far it seems to be a good product. Soon I'll leave a proper review.

Purchased in January 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $169.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
world_traveller
world_travellerSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 35 reviews
  • 34 likes

Poor tyre life

published

These tyres were the original factory fitted tyres on my car.
Initially performance was reasonable considering they're Kumho's budget tyre.
As the tyres wore however, their performance deteriorated dramatically (the slightest amount of rain or dirt on the road causes traction control to kick in (& this is driving conservatively)). At only 28,000kms & with tyre rotation every annual service, the front tyres have worn out. Will be replacing all four with Michelin Energy XM2.

*Accepable performance when new
*Very short service life
*Poor performance when wet

Car2016 Kia Rio UB 3 door
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Kumho Solus KH17 compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Traveller
TravellerHunter Region, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Cheap but not great mileage

published

Tyres grip well and the ride is OK. The price was excellent.. got them on a price match from KMART Tyres and Auto. The only issue I have with them is that do not wear well. I am running the correct pressure but the centre of the tyres is wearing out very quickly.

CarCommodore VS UTE
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Scott and Eliza M
Scott and Eliza MMittagong
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

value for money on our Kia Cerato

published

I have had Khumo tyres in the past anf always had good experiences. I drive defensively and pride my ability in the wet. These tyres have never slipped and always feel sure footed. I could not be confident that by pating more for another brand, I would get a better product. Will buy again.

Car2017 Kia Cearto sedan.
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Possum
PossumDeniliquin
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Kumho Reliability

published

These tyres handle well on sealed and dirt roads, wet weather and dry. We purchased two full sets and will definitely keep using this tyre. I have found them to be very stable on the road and they are wearing very well. We have them on two vehicles after being happy with the initial set.

Car2013 commodore
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Kumho Solus KH17 compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Damir Cosic
Damir CosicGold Coast
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good tyres but short life span

published

Nice tyres that give great ride quality. I found them good in all conditions. Only drawback is their life expectancy - it's relatively short ( approx 40,000km ). Could perhaps get better life on a vehicle that isn't as heavy as my Jeep. Overall, I was pretty happy with them. Shop around for the best price as there are huge variances ( almost double in some cases ) I found tyresales.com.au had the cheapest advertised price but K-Mart Tyre & Auto beat their price ( price beat guarantee )

Car2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brando
BrandoPerth, WA
  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great tyres - really good

published

We had some terrible noisy tyres that we got from Kmart Tyres (that were expensive) and thanks goodness we got new Kumo tyres from Byford Kumo - they are so quite - love them and we have had a lot of rain here - they are doing the job brilliantly.

CarMazda
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Moe
MoeTasmania, 7320
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Good value but won't last long

published

These tyres aren't too bad if you want to save some money and don't use your car much. I used them for about 20,000 km and they look like they would last maximum of another 20,000 km. They wear out quickly but they are cheap, so you make the decision

CarMazda 121 Metro Shades 2000
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Stergios P. Vasilakakis
Stergios P. Vasilakakisasked

Is this a 4 season tyre?

4 answers
Mason
Mason

Yes, i use this tyre all year round and have no issues. Rain hail or shine

Handyman
Handyman

I have worked out that certain tyres suit certain cars. I would never recommend Kuhmo K17 for a Kia Rio. Hard ride and poor wear. Suggest going up a size for Rio UB from 195/55 x 16 to 205/55 x 16. Cheaper and better ride and still legal for the vehicle

Handyman
Handyman

I had no problem with handling in any weather.....Just found them to wear quickly and have a harsh ride......on my car.

Asoka
Asokaasked

Lifetime?

1 answer
Toni
Toni

Nope!

MARK PETER RICHARDSON
MARK PETER RICHARDSONasked

what is ideal tyre pressure for a kumbo KH17 ON A 1L HYUNDAI CAR?

2 answers
micdal22
micdal22

I don't think I'm qualified to answer your question, but I would pump the tires to 32 PSI

Jason C
Jason C

Hi I have a Hyundai accent, with these tyres and I put mine on 34 psi, and it's just perfect

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryPassenger Tyres
Release dateApr 2009
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.