4 photos
Land Rover Discovery Sport

Land Rover Discovery Sport (2015-2021)

Also referred to as: Land Rover Discovery Sport 2020 and Land Rover Discovery Sport 2022. HSE, SE, HSE Luxury, Landmark Edition
2.9 from 41 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Land Rover? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.5 (19)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (17)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (16)
  • Braking
    3.8 (16)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.4 (16)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.1 (16)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (16)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (16)
  • Handling
    3.8 (16)
  • Interior Design
    3.9 (17)
  • Boot Size
    3.9 (17)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (17)
  • Features
    3.7 (16)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
William Saunders
William SaundersPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews

A quiet achiever

published

This is my day use car and after some hesitancy I have grown to love it. It's got all the gismos one needs and it's versatility is delighful. It can transport wine, big dog, shopping and suitcases for a week away, as well as be a 7 seater, a easy to use town car and when called upon something that manages flooded streets. If you need it can also get a move on and while not the fastest it can still over take a road train going uphill and outpace anyone you need to. So far (one year from new) not a single fault. I'm beginning to love it.

Purchased in July 2021 for $74,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Grungysquash
GrungysquashSydney
  • 2 reviews

Car's been kinda OK

published

Purchased in October 2015 for $86,000.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5

Think with your head not with your heart

published

Having owned and loved our Disco Sports for 4 years we got a warning light (engine still running fine) and went to lower power mode. Stopped driving straight away. Towed to the dealership. Dealership rang and said the had checked and nothing wrong. Wife said you had better be sure. They took it for a test drive and five days later said we need a new engine caused by low and thick oil. Oil light didn't even come on until after they took it for a test drive. $32k for new engine.

These engines have a lot of intelligence to maximise power and minimise emmisions but are really, really dumb

4000km overdue for a service so extended warranty denied also.

Purchased in July 2017 at Land Rover Dealers.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
RussB
RussB
  • 2 reviews

Lemon - Currently at QCAT to have it refunded - it's that bad

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Jaguar Land Rover Australia for $69,990.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Land Rover Discovery Sport compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Biswajit S.
Biswajit S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Vehicle seems defective and Pathetic Customer Service

published

My 2018 Land Rover Discovery had a Fuel leak and it was confirmed there was a fuel leak which was a result of a split in the fuel return pipe. To remedy this concern, the pipe was removed and replaced, under the bonnet.

Prior to this incident there had been an incident of oil leak. I have been trying to get an answer from the Head Office regarding the root cause for the split so that the reoccurrence of the issue doesnot happen on a highway which could lead to a disaster.

The Case Manager assigned is ruthless and does reply to the issue once a week, when being asked to escalate this to higher authorities she has been refusing.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2018 at Land Rover Dealers.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Pavel
PavelSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Material Quality Poor

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Land Rover Dealers for $53,000.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
john
johnMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

LEMON !!! land rover should be ashamed !!

published

i have the great misfortune of buying this piece of junk from brand new , and it has been trouble from the day i drove it out of the lot .
rattling noisy motor
dangerously lacking power on acceleration
constant fault lights
long visits to the service department , who is at a loss on how to deal with this rattling tractor

stay away from Land rover & this model

they both proven totally unhelpful & unreliable

Purchased in April 2017 at Land Rover Dealers for $68,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Thomas
ThomasSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 15 likes

Aboslutely Love the car

published

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Bob Marley
Bob MarleyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

What a Lemon of a Car

published

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Land Rover Discovery Sport compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
steve56
steve56South East Queensland, QLD

Nothing but trouble

published

10 months old 12,000 Klm 177kw nothing but trouble since the day I bought it, balance shafts, transfer box , air conditioner pump , not looking forward to the future with this $83,000 lemon

Purchased in January 2019 for $83,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
1/5
Mark Mac
Mark MacRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Land Rover & Bruce Lyntons-----Both are CRAP

published

Purchased in June 2015 at Bruce Lynton Land Rover Southport for $76,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Pete B.
Pete B.
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Major oil leak from transfer case found at 4th service. Dealer and Manufacturer refused to repair!

published

Had lots of problems with this car. Worst problem was a major oil leak from the transfer case that was found at the 4th service at 104000km. Was originally told not to worry and that Purnell Land Rover would not leave me out in the cold over the extra 4000 km but was then refused any repairs from both the dealer and manufacturer.

Purchased in August 2015 at Land Rover Dealers for $70,500.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Land Rover Discovery Sport compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Better look somewhere else

published

Purchased in July 2016.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
joe
joeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Worst car ever owned and first and last to buy

published

2 gearboxes now the 4wd pump.gone at 65000 km
Nothink by problem with this lemon of a car i hate it

Dash rattle from day 1 still can't fix it
Never again

Purchased in November 2015 at Land Rover Dealers for $87,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
bec
becSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Look forward to driving my car every day!

published

I've had my Disco Sport since 2017, purchased through Trivett Parramatta.

This is our family car and my wife and I are always battling it out over who gets to drive. My kids tell me they prefer this over their mums Mercedes, and its just a pleasure to drive!

I feel so safe in this car which is important to me now that I have kids, and its spacious but sporty at the same time! I love our family road trips.
This is my first LandRover but I think I'm converted for life now!

Purchased in July 2017 at Trivett Landrover Parramatta for $59,999.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5

Questions & Answers

Natasha
Natashaasked
Discovery Sport (2015-2021)

Thinking about buying a 2021 Discovery Sport (petrol model) but the reviews are scaring me. Anyone with MY20 models have anything to say on whether the recurring issues have been addressed by now?

1 answer
solfan
solfan

Save yourself a significant amount of stress and inconvenience, LR’s look fabulous, but the beauty is only skin deep, these reviews are a good cross section of the problems owners have experienced and the disgraceful manner in which the manufacturer and the dealer have responded.

Joseph L.
Joseph L.asked
Discovery Sport (2015-2021)

Hi I’m thinking of buying a 2016 Petrol si4, any issues with this engine and anything I should be aware of? Thanks

2 answers
Bob Marley
Bob Marley

Petrol are better if you dont drive lots of kms and less problematic.

Mark Mac
Mark Mac

First up......just don't do it.....any other brand would be a safer better option.
If you do buy, see if the diff has been fixed yet.....

Fiona
Fionaasked
Discovery Sport HSE (2015-2021)

Hi i am looking at buying a second hand 2015 sd4 hse luxury discovery sport but worried about their reliability after reading these reviews? Are repairs expensive? thanks fiona

2 answers
Mark Mac
Mark Mac

Hi Fiona,
Their repairs are very expensive, especially from the dealers......that sounds like the first model out.....NEVER, I repeat....NEVER.....but the first model......(we did)....that is where they find out all of their little mistakes...and what different parts they should have used. Sorry....not a lot of good words for Land Rover......I now drive BMW and they are so superior......
Good Luck, Mark

Fiona
Fiona

thanks so much mark you have probably saved me a ton of money!

See all Land Rover Discovery Sport (2015-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members

Land Rover Discovery Sport (2015-2021)

Details

Compare all 17 Land Rover Discovery Sport (2015-2021)
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $56,595$60,290$60,255$66,496
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselPetrolDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.5 L/100km6.6 L/100km8 L/100km7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 54 L54 L68 L54 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power110kW @ 4000rpm132kW @ 4000rpm177kW @ 5500rpm177kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque380Nm @ 1750rpm430Nm @ 1750rpm340Nm @ 1250-3200rpm500Nm @ 1500-2500rpm
Country of ManufactureUnited KingdomUnited KingdomUnited KingdomUnited Kingdom
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,200 kg2,200 kg2,000 kg2,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance600 mm600 mm600 mm600 mm
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016May 2015Jan 2017
Compare all 17 Land Rover Discovery Sport (2015-2021)
Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.