??!
4 photos
Land Rover Discovery Sport

Land Rover Discovery Sport (2015-2020)

Also referred to as: Land Rover Discovery Sport 2019 and Land Rover Discovery Sport 2021. HSE, SE, HSE Luxury, Landmark Edition
3.0 from 32 reviews

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(10)
(6)
(1)
(3)
(12)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (10)
  • Value for Money
    1.8 (11)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (10)

steve56

steve56South East Queensland, QLD

Nothing but trouble

published

10 months old 12,000 Klm 177kw nothing but trouble since the day I bought it, balance shafts, transfer box , air conditioner pump , not looking forward to the future with this $83,000 lemon

Purchased in January 2019 for $83,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Mark Mac

Mark MacRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Land Rover & Bruce Lyntons-----Both are CRAP

published

Purchased in June 2015 at Bruce Lynton Land Rover Southport for $76,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Pete B.

Pete B.

  • 3 reviews

Major oil leak from transfer case found at 4th service. Dealer and Manufacturer refused to repair!

published

Had lots of problems with this car. Worst problem was a major oil leak from the transfer case that was found at the 4th service at 104000km. Was originally told not to worry and that Purnell Land Rover would not leave me out in the cold over the extra 4000 km but was then refused any repairs from both the dealer and manufacturer.

Purchased in August 2015 at Land Rover Dealers for $70,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Better look somewhere else

published

Purchased in July 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
See all answers

joe

joeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Worst car ever owned and first and last to buy

published

2 gearboxes now the 4wd pump.gone at 65000 km
Nothink by problem with this lemon of a car i hate it

Dash rattle from day 1 still can't fix it
Never again

Purchased in November 2015 at Land Rover Dealers for $87,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

bec

becSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Look forward to driving my car every day!

published

I've had my Disco Sport since 2017, purchased through Trivett Parramatta.

This is our family car and my wife and I are always battling it out over who gets to drive. My kids tell me they prefer this over their mums Mercedes, and its just a pleasure to drive!

I feel so safe in this car which is important to me now that I have kids, and its spacious but sporty at the same time! I love our family road trips.
This is my first LandRover but I think I'm converted for life now!

Purchased in July 2017 at Trivett Landrover Parramatta for $59,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Veritas

VeritasSydney, NSW

Worst car ever!!

published

terrible product. Just 2 years old, done only 26000 kms, already engine replaced, leaking roof, never ending exhaust problems and to top it all, the display constantly asks us to take car for service even within 1 week after service is done!! really regret I have bought this piece of S**t!

Purchased in May 2017 for $66,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Denise Foulston

Denise FoulstonWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

A Lemon

published

Purchased in October 2017 for $64,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Steve B

Steve BGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Brilliant car when it works- sadly it doesn't work often enough

published
BadgeSE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Drive4WD
Jeff

JeffBrisbane

Rubbish

published

I have had nothing but grief since purchasing this vehicle - done just over 41k and have had transmission replaced plus a list of other faults still not rectified very disappointing product with very disappointing customer care - the old saying rover reliability - there is now in this company.

Purchased in September 2015 for $80,000.00.

Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

Chid

ChidSydney, NSW

Great car when running, So many small issues.

published
BadgeSE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Drive4WD

Oh no....I've bought a lemon!!!

published
BadgeHSE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Unhappy
Unhappy

Update - I picked the car up a week later and it was towed again 2 days after - this time due to smoke pouring from the engine bay and into the cabin. This is a lemon for sure


CAM

CAMMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Excellent design, seven seater flexibility

published

Great driver position, excellent visibility and a stylish looking vehicle. The vehicle is very well balanced on the road and corners efficiently. I love our Discovery Sport - the seven seater configuration is a great option. We have the diesel variant and the AdBlue requirement is a pain but the only negative to an otherwise excellent vehicle driving experience.

BadgeHSE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Brad

BradTarragindi

Worst company ever

published

These highly priced cars deliver nothing more than poor quality, and to match all the problems with the car, the customer service is even worse. These guys think they can get away with selling brand new cars with massive amounts of problems and not being accountable for the safety of the consumer.
Shame on you Landrover

BadgeHSE Luxury
Engine SizeDiscovery sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Great family car perfect for camping

published
BadgeHSE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Sleven

SlevenVictoria, Australia

  • 9 reviews

Wish it was as good as it looks.

published
BadgeHSE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Rocketman

RocketmanAustralia

Diesel engine proving to be a problem

published

These Landrover diesels need to come with a buyer beware warning on the diesel engines, which suffer badly from oil dilution and need many more services than advertised.

JLR continue to promote fictional service interval despite issuing a notice to dealers that the extra servicing requirements is a known problem. Google oil dilution Landrover diesel and see a long list of very unhappy customers who have been mislead by JLR marketing both here and overseas.

BadgeSE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

PJC

PJCMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Great family SUV

published

Got a great deal on our "Disco" Sport, that included 3 years free servicing, in addition to the discounted sale price plus our modern l was packed with features including 7 seat option. Interior has ample storage, heaps of USB ports so family is happy on long trips. Vehicle is quiet, refined on long trips and not too big in the city. Fuel economy is Ok for this type of car and power of turbo petrol excellent. Love it!

BadgeSE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

pinkdawn

pinkdawnMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 28 reviews

Great looking car, awesome to drive

published

Great looking car inside and out, well built. Have owned the car for 6 months now. Cabin is very quiet and sound system is amazing.
Smooth to drive, only complaint is fuel economy isn’t the best. Land Rover claims around 5L per 100km but it’s more like 8L and that’s using eco mode. Cabin is spacious and easy to keep clean

Just wish there is more than one Land Rover approved repairer in SA. My car got hit in the rear and I’m having to wait 3 months for it to get fixed

BadgeHSE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

ClarkKent3792

ClarkKent3792South East Queensland, QLD

  • 27 reviews

Stylish offroader, bouncy ride (except offroad or laden) slick cornering, incredible fuel efficiency

published
BadgeHSE Luxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

RWS

RWSasked

Are the discovery sport 2018 TD4 really as bad as everyone is saying in this review?

1 answer
Jeff
Jeff

Yes they are however the best part is mine is 2015 model and it is worse - cannot even get a dealer to help get our of it - yes into another Rover - sad - do yor self a fovour save your money and a lot of stress - by anything else


Steve B

Steve Basked

Ive taken mine offroad- handles just fine even with 19" you are limited by ride height- probably one of only a few good things about this car!

No answers

Di S.

Di S.asked

Has anyone had their matter regarding dpf heard in court and won?

2 answers
Jeff
Jeff

No - not that I know of - however have heard in some cases the judge as gone with Rover as they seem to be doing there best to solve the problems - however a different story when out of warranty. Also appaarently I hear some Rover dealers will not touch the product after the warranty period. Also someone needs to look at customer care attitude - perhaps some of us should go to Maurice and Blackburne

Di S.
Di S.

Thankyou for your reply. But that's what I was asking. Whether anyone has been to a solicitor with the matter regarding the vehicle. It's all good and well to have a whinge and whine on these forums but has anyone been true to themselves and taken the matter further to court?


Get an answer from our members and Land Rover representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.