2LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)

LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)

 Verified🏆 2024 AwardMPN:GT-442BPL
2LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)
4.2

53 reviews

PositivevsNegative
87% · 466 · 11%

Build Quality
2.8
Value for Money
2.5
Ease of Use
3.8
Cleaning & Maintenance
3.0
Noise Level
3.7
Internal Layout
5.0

Reviews

53 reviews
Eddy Andrews
Eddy AndrewsSouth East Queensland, QLD3 posts
  442L Top Mount GT-442BPL

Has exceeded my expectations!

Didn't think this fridge would fit my weekly shopping and was surprised at how deep it was. I am also really happy with how fresh my produce is kept now lasting a couple more days than in my previous fridge. Would definitely recommend it. Show details
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Orlando L.
Orlando L.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA2 posts
  442L Top Mount GT-442BPL

Wish I never bought this fridge

Bought on 27/09/17, plastic fan in freezer compartment broke on august 2019, now after getting it fixed it’s broken again December 2020, have to wait 2 weeks for tech to look at it so I’m going to throw it out and never buy an LG fridge ever again nor will I recommend anyone to buy one, 3 years old and needs a 3rd fan, not to mention the inconvenience of not having a fridge for days on end because of waiting for technicians,  Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
LG
LG   DM   
More
expattr
expattrSydney Surrounds, NSW9 posts
  442L Top Mount GT-442BPL

LG FRIDGE IS NOT RELIABLE

I bought this fridge around August 2017. 2 months ago its door shelf is cracked although we used it gently. 1 month ago its leg support is cracked. I do not have enough time to buy a new fridge, and I do not want to use this fridge as a cracked door shelf preventing the door to close. LG provides a two-year warranty, and I need to pay around 100 dollars for replacing these parts. I do not recommend any LG product to people because of this experience.
Ease of Use
Hari
Hari8 posts
  442L Top Mount GT-442BPL

solid performer

I has been close to 2 years since I got this fridge and zero complaints so far. Maintains a constant temperature and runs pretty quite. Wish the egg trays were bigger and the fridge was lit from the sides. Show details
Noise Level
Sydney_mon
Sydney_monSydney8 posts
  Verified 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL

Highly recommended

Colour is graphite and the size is just right. Plenty of space and I don’t even have to turn the temperature up! I put mine in the lowest setting for the freezer and mid in the bottom and it cools the fridge and keeps the food fresh.

Beeps when you accidentally leave the doors open or have kept it open for a while. It comes with a phone app and you can log in and control the fridge set up using your mobile phone.

Great value for money!

 Show details

Tigg
TiggGold Coast26 posts
  442L Top Mount GT-442BPL
BetterThingsToDo
BetterThingsToDoCanberra2 posts
  442L Top Mount GT-442BPL

Why would you make a weight bearing part out of plastic?

The levelling part under the hinge on the front of the fridge spontaneously gave way a few weeks back. Since then I've been in contact with LG. The first time they sent the wrong part. The second time they said they'd send the right part, then a few days later said they needed to send a technician. Today I waited, the technician came and now I have to wait until they can get the part. So that'll be another day waiting around until they can fix the problem. What a waste of time for a fridge that is barely 18 months old!

 Show details

RoadTrack
RoadTrackKyneton4 posts
  442L Top Mount GT-442BPL

Awesome Stylish Fridge

Love this beautiful stylish fridge. It made out whole kitchen look better the day it arrived. It is gorgeous and the finish isn't too bad for fingerprints. The lay out is so clever and the shelve are great. Perhaps the biggest improvement for us is having a freezer that actually freezes properly! It runs quite and I hope to have it for many years

 Show details

Āryapāla Saville
Āryapāla SavilleGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC7 posts
  Verified 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL

good standard fridge and freezer

No bells or whistles. Good straight forward fridge that is sturdy and practical.

freezer up top, makes ice. Well lit, seems very economical and has excellent energy rating. So much so that we got a $250 rebate from the government for it.

Needed to fit a smallish space and has fitted the bill

 Show details

Ash
AshSunshine coast10 posts
  442L Top Mount GT-442BPL

Amazing! Colder than cold

This fridge is amazing! Let’s start with the look of the fridge, it’s a stainless look a like which makes it so stylish but yet so easy to clean with no fingerprints or streaks and if I’m going to be honest I never have to wipe mine as you just don’t see any marks.

It’s a very quiet fridge I don’t notice it at all at night or during the day which is another plus side!

Other than that it has ample space inside and could easy cater for a 4 person family!

The one thing that sold me about this fridge and makes me love it even more is it’s great energy rating 4 out of 6 stars and 334 KWh per year average. HUGE money saver!

 Show details

Junior C.
Junior C.Brisbane2 posts
  442L Top Mount GT-442BPL

Great space and quite affordable

Good temperature and very is easy to maintain and clean. Quiet and easy to use so overall a great refrigerator to buy when it comes to storage space, ease of access, noise reduced and low maintenance. Very easy to clean and all the compartments are quite strong and can carry a decent amount of weight in each storage section.

 Show details

Babs
BabsSouth East Queensland, QLD29 posts
  442L Top Mount GT-442BPL
Von C
Von C4 posts
  Verified 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL

Great fridge

Really good quality for the price! Bought it a month ago for the new house, quiet and good temp throughout. Only small issue would be, the door side shelves are a little limited in sizing options, we usually have lots of juice and milk, tall sauce bottles but are unable to fit them all.

 Show details

Louise
LouiseMordialloc
  442L Top Mount GT-442BPL

Freezer seal

We too only bought our lg fridge in dec 2017 we also have the problem that when the fridge door closes the freezer pops open just slightly but enough to cause condensation in the freezer will be going to Good Guys and showing them your review, clearly a problem with the manufacture

 Show details

Kramotax
KramotaxSydney5 posts
  442L Top Mount GT-442BPL

Very good unit

Had purchased the LG GT-442BPL in mid 2016, good price got it while it's on sale in good guys.

Has not skipped a beat yet. Hopefully it'll last for more years to come.

Fits perfectly in our fridge space in the kitchen.

It beeps when you leave the door open for too long.

 Show details

Questions & Answers

lindsay rogers
lindsay rogers · 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)

is there a fan in the bottom section or does air all come from the top freezer section the fridge section is around 14 deg c and top -23deg c

Orlando L.
Orlando L.  

The fan is in the top section in the freezer

Carol C.
Carol C. · 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)

Can you remove the shelf that sits over the vegetable and fruit draw?

cherubbabies
cherubbabies  

Hi Carol, I have had my fridge for a very long time, I have only taken the shelf out once, from memory it was not easy, I nearly broke it. So I just clean around the shelf to save pulling it out.
Hope this helps.

Addie
Addie · 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)

Should the bottom compartment for fruit and vegetables be closed?

Karen
Karen  

Details

Compare all LG Top Mount GT-442 Series listings
LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)
  • 🏆 2024 Award
  • Discontinued
LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)4.2 
LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BWL (White)
  • 🏆 2024 Award
  • Discontinued
LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BWL (White)4.3 
CategoryTop Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsTop Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsTop Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsTop Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $1,259$1,139
Dimensions 1690 x 700 x 730 mm1690 x 700 x 730 mm1690 x 700 x 730 mm1690 x 700 x 730 mm
Energy Rating4 star(s)4 star(s)4 star(s)4 star(s)
Household Size 3-4 people3-4 people3-4 people3-4 people
FeaturesDoor AlarmDoor AlarmDoor AlarmDoor Alarm
Handle Type ExternalExternalExternalExternal
Smart Fridge NoNoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves4444
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins1111
Weight69 kg70 kg70 kg69 kg
Door Hinge RightRightRightRight
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishPlatinum SilverStainlessWhiteWhite
Capacity
Total Capacity 442 L441 L441 L442 L
Fridge Capacity 306 L305 L305 L306 L
Freezer Capacity 136 L136 L136 L136 L
Awards 2018, 2020, 2023 and 20242018, 2020, 2023 and 20242018, 2020, 2023 and 20242018, 2020, 2023 and 2024
  • GTIN13: 8806084901811
  • MPN: GT-442BPL

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

©  ProductReview.com.au Pty. Ltd. All Rights Reserved. General disclaimer: All third party trademarks, images and copyrights on this page are used for the purpose of comparative advertising, criticism or review. This is a public forum presenting user opinions on selected products and businesses, and as such the views expressed do not reflect the opinion of ProductReview.com.au. Further details in the disclaimer.