2 photos
LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)

LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)

MPN: GT-442BPL
4.2 from 52 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Orlando L.
Orlando L.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Wish I never bought this fridge

published

Bought on 27/09/17, plastic fan in freezer compartment broke on august 2019, now after getting it fixed it’s broken again December 2020, have to wait 2 weeks for tech to look at it so I’m going to throw it out and never buy an LG fridge ever again nor will I recommend anyone to buy one, 3 years old and needs a 3rd fan, not to mention the inconvenience of not having a fridge for days on end because of waiting for technicians,

Purchased in September 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
expattr
expattrSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

LG FRIDGE IS NOT RELIABLE

published

I bought this fridge around August 2017. 2 months ago its door shelf is cracked although we used it gently. 1 month ago its leg support is cracked. I do not have enough time to buy a new fridge, and I do not want to use this fridge as a cracked door shelf preventing the door to close. LG provides a two-year warranty, and I need to pay around 100 dollars for replacing these parts. I do not recommend any LG product to people because of this experience.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hari
Hari
  • 6 reviews

solid performer

published

I has been close to 2 years since I got this fridge and zero complaints so far. Maintains a constant temperature and runs pretty quite. Wish the egg trays were bigger and the fridge was lit from the sides.

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver) compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sydney_mon
Sydney_monSydney
  • 7 reviews

Highly recommended

published

Colour is graphite and the size is just right. Plenty of space and I don’t even have to turn the temperature up! I put mine in the lowest setting for the freezer and mid in the bottom and it cools the fridge and keeps the food fresh.

Beeps when you accidentally leave the doors open or have kept it open for a while. It comes with a phone app and you can log in and control the fridge set up using your mobile phone.

Great value for money!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Tigg
TiggGold Coast
  • 13 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellet fridge - reduced my power bill by $160 per quarter

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
BetterThingsToDo
BetterThingsToDoCanberra
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Why would you make a weight bearing part out of plastic?

published

The levelling part under the hinge on the front of the fridge spontaneously gave way a few weeks back. Since then I've been in contact with LG. The first time they sent the wrong part. The second time they said they'd send the right part, then a few days later said they needed to send a technician. Today I waited, the technician came and now I have to wait until they can get the part. So that'll be another day waiting around until they can fix the problem. What a waste of time for a fridge that is barely 18 months old!

Date PurchasedMay 2017
RoadTrack
RoadTrackKyneton
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome Stylish Fridge

published

Love this beautiful stylish fridge. It made out whole kitchen look better the day it arrived. It is gorgeous and the finish isn't too bad for fingerprints. The lay out is so clever and the shelve are great. Perhaps the biggest improvement for us is having a freezer that actually freezes properly! It runs quite and I hope to have it for many years

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Āryapāla Saville
Āryapāla SavilleGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 7 reviews

good standard fridge and freezer

published

No bells or whistles. Good straight forward fridge that is sturdy and practical.
freezer up top, makes ice. Well lit, seems very economical and has excellent energy rating. So much so that we got a $250 rebate from the government for it.
Needed to fit a smallish space and has fitted the bill

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Ash
AshSunshine coast
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing! Colder than cold

published

This fridge is amazing! Let’s start with the look of the fridge, it’s a stainless look a like which makes it so stylish but yet so easy to clean with no fingerprints or streaks and if I’m going to be honest I never have to wipe mine as you just don’t see any marks.
It’s a very quiet fridge I don’t notice it at all at night or during the day which is another plus side!
Other than that it has ample space inside and could easy cater for a 4 person family!
The one thing that sold me about this fridge and makes me love it even more is it’s great energy rating 4 out of 6 stars and 334 KWh per year average. HUGE money saver!

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver) compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Junior C.
Junior C.Brisbane
  • 2 reviews

Great space and quite affordable

published

Good temperature and very is easy to maintain and clean. Quiet and easy to use so overall a great refrigerator to buy when it comes to storage space, ease of access, noise reduced and low maintenance. Very easy to clean and all the compartments are quite strong and can carry a decent amount of weight in each storage section.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Babs
BabsSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

So far, so good

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Von C
Von C
  • 4 reviews

Great fridge

published

Really good quality for the price! Bought it a month ago for the new house, quiet and good temp throughout. Only small issue would be, the door side shelves are a little limited in sizing options, we usually have lots of juice and milk, tall sauce bottles but are unable to fit them all.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Louise
LouiseMordialloc

Freezer seal

published

We too only bought our lg fridge in dec 2017 we also have the problem that when the fridge door closes the freezer pops open just slightly but enough to cause condensation in the freezer will be going to Good Guys and showing them your review, clearly a problem with the manufacture

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Kramotax
KramotaxSydney
  • 5 reviews

Very good unit

published

Had purchased the LG GT-442BPL in mid 2016, good price got it while it's on sale in good guys.
Has not skipped a beat yet. Hopefully it'll last for more years to come.
Fits perfectly in our fridge space in the kitchen.
It beeps when you leave the door open for too long.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
경미
경미 AU
  • 4 reviews

This is perfect

published

Everyone went to the store to look at LG product, because they like it, but the design is so pretty that I thought about it for a long time and chose the product which is not more practical than the design. Though I don't worry about it because it's 10 years ' warranty.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver) compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 4
See all LG Top Mount GT-442 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

lindsay rogers
lindsay rogersasked
442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)

is there a fan in the bottom section or does air all come from the top freezer section the fridge section is around 14 deg c and top -23deg c

1 answer
Orlando L.
Orlando L.

The fan is in the top section in the freezer

Carol C.
Carol C.asked
442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)

Can you remove the shelf that sits over the vegetable and fruit draw?

1 answer
cherubbabies
cherubbabies

Hi Carol, I have had my fridge for a very long time, I have only taken the shelf out once, from memory it was not easy, I nearly broke it. So I just clean around the shelf to save pulling it out.
Hope this helps.

Addie
Addieasked
442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)

Should the bottom compartment for fruit and vegetables be closed?

1 answer
Karen
Karen

I don't know what you mean by closed? However it is such a narrow storage space that it's basically useless for large family amounts of fruit and vegetables. Also if you keep fruit and veg on normal shelves, to the rear, they generally freeze. Nothing can sit at the back of the shelves for too long. Freezing is a constant problem in my fridge.

See all LG Top Mount GT-442 Series questions

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)

Details

Compare all 6 LG Top Mount GT-442 Series
CategoryTop Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Dimensions 1690 x 700 x 730 mm
Energy Rating4 star(s)
Household Size 3-4 people
FeaturesDoor Alarm
Handle Type External
Smart Fridge No
Shelf MaterialGlass
Number of Shelves4
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins1
Weight69 kg
Door Hinge Right
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Colour / FinishPlatinum Silver
Capacity
Total Capacity 442 L
Fridge Capacity 306 L
Freezer Capacity 136 L
Compare all 6 LG Top Mount GT-442 Series
  • GTIN13: 8806084901811
  • MPN: GT-442BPL

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.