12 photos
LG Top Mount GT-515 Series

LG Top Mount GT-515 Series

515L, 516L
4.3 from 30 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Eco-friendly 4-star energy rating

  • Door-cooling feature

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.6 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (7)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (7)
  • Internal Layout
    3.3 (7)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Good fridge great size freezer

published

Great fridge especially love the size of the freezer which can fit in way more than my previous one. It is good that the ice cube tray slides and that you can fit flat things under it. Fridge section is good and I can fit 1.25 bottles in the lower shelf. Only down side is the vegetable crisper draw is slim so not a huge amount fits in it. Also you have to open the door of the fridge to fully open it. This does not bother me as the rest of the fridge is great.

Purchased in December 2020 at Harvey Norman for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Ronni
Ronni
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Basic fridge nothing fancy

published

Purchased in September 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Janelle
JanelleMid North Coast, NSW

Disappointing

published

Bought this fridge April 2019 and already the plastic around shelving and crisper drawer is cracking/splitting and breaking off. The "fresh zone" fish & meat compartment at the top of the fridge section freezes anything we put in there. We have adjusted the temperature of both fridge and freezer as per lg suggested temperatures, but still freezing. The vegetable drawer is way too narrow and small for a 516 ltr fridge. Can't even fit an iceberg lettuce in there. Whilst the fridge motor is quiet, the door alarm is annoying when cleaning the fridge, and an option to turn it off would be good. Very disappointed overall. Expected superior quality and reliability from lg.

Purchased in April 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG Top Mount GT-515 Series compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mumof4
Mumof4Northern Region, NSW

Waste of money

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
sall13h
sall13hSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great fridge

published

The fridge is great, it looks real nice and sleek with the silver on the door a nice tough. Fridge is roomy and operates well, have had it for 2 months and had no issues so far

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
varsity
varsitySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews

Icy cold

published

For a top mount fridge 516L there is heaps of room in both freezer and fridge.
Shelves are made of glass which is a big plus factor. Very well set out. Controls are easy to follow

Feedbackguy
FeedbackguyMelbourne
  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Total upgrade!

published

This is an excellent refridgerator and receives top marks for price, space (good for a family of 4 or 4.5 or a spare fridge if you have a gigantic family), and quiet operation. There is door cooling technology and ample freezer space. All in all, a top, top fridge!

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys for $808.20.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mervynj
MervynjGoulburn Valley, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not built for Australians

published

Purchased in July 2018 at The Good Guys Physical store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Melanie
MelanieRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 9 reviews

Great Fridge

published

This fridge is generous in size and easy to open and close. The shelves can be easily moved to customise the layout. The temperature is consistent in all of the compartments

Purchased in January 2016.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG Top Mount GT-515 Series compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lawrence S
Lawrence SGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews

Great fridge, runs quietly, no worries fridge

published

We purchased this fridge in 2015 and have had no problems. It is easy to clean inside and out. Shelves easy to move and it always keeps food at the correct temperature, the motor is quiet you cannot hear it running (we have an open plan kitchen living room). Big freezer and lots of space.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Mac
MacSydney
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good fridge but not excellent

published

It is a good fridge but not great. The shelving for bottles on the door side could have been designed to fit more tall bottles. The water dispenser is not electrical pumped like those in the top range models. The ice container in the freezer is not removable and it gets in the way when you try to store more stuff in the freezer.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
beerzuki
beerzukiSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

Nice and bright, small freezer door shelves and small veggie drawer

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Natasha K
Natasha KAU
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect and affordable

published

I purchased a fridge one day before Christmas time as my Hisense one blew up just my luck. There was so many to pick from but I knew the LG brand has been around for years so I chose that! I couldn’t ask for a better fridge it’s amazing & the freezer space is just perfect as I have children and freeze our snacks!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Wolf
WolfAdelaide
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good fridge and technology

published

Very nice finish with the colour / layer. Having replaced my old useless fridge that was leaking, it's very quiet and the doors automatically shut themselves upon a gentle or hard push. Very easy to clean the interior and exterior. The only downside to this fridge is that the fruit and vegetable storage has slots for dividers, which didn't come with the fridge =( furthermore, the door side shelves aren't very versatile in placement.. It doesn't fit anything taller than a 2L milk bottle which was sad! They could've designed the 2nd shelf to be adjustable to fit a few tall bottles (beside the egg compartment).

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Deb Wheeler
Deb WheelerWarnervale
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great fridge

published

This fridge is so very easy to clean inside and out and it always keeps food at the correct temperature, the motor is very quiet you cannot hear it running and we all love the easy access to cold water, especially the grandchildren. The outside of fridge is very smart too.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG Top Mount GT-515 Series compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Danielle
Danielleasked
516L Top Mount GT-515WDC (White)

Has any one had trouble with the frost free not working?

1 answer
varsity
varsity

No haven’t had any problems to date,touch wood.

Craig
Craigasked
516L Top Mount GT-515BTDC (Black Steel)

We purchased the LG fridge 7 months ago and had issues of ice build up in freezer compartment as its suppose to be frost free so they took fridge away and gave us another today and there is ice starting to build up already in freezer is this normal

1 answer
Mervynj
Mervynj

We've had no problem with Ice build up and we've had it over 1 year. We keep the freezer pretty full with all sorts of products.

Max B
Max Basked
515L Top Mount GT-515BPL (Shiny Steel)

Where is the drip tray in my fridge?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

LG Top Mount GT-515 Series

Details

The LG 515L series includes three different fridges, ranging in various colours and materials: black steel, silver stainless steel, and white. At 515L, each fridge has the same capacity and is recommended for a household of 4 to 5 people.

There is a price difference between each fridge, with the white fridge starting from around $1300, ranging up to the black-finish fridge, which costs around $1400. The price difference is due to different materials, not capacity. Out of the three, the black-steel fridge boasts the highest rating on ProductReview.

The 515L offers similar features to other LG fridges, including:

  • 4-star energy rating: A high rating compared to many other types of fridges, which typically have much lower energy-ratings.
  • Features strategically placed air vents, including vents at the back of the fridge and within the fridge door. According to the website, items stored in the door cool up to 35% faster than LG fridges without this door-cooling featuring.
  • ‘smart diagnosis’ feature, which is activated by pairing the fridge with a smartphone. If there are any issues, this feature allows the fridge to figure out what the problem is.
Compare all 5 LG Top Mount GT-515 Series
LG 515L Top Mount GT-515BPL (Shiny Steel)
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2019

LG 515L Top Mount GT-515BPL (Shiny Steel)

4.5
(13)
CategoryTop Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsTop Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsTop Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsTop Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $1,439.00$1,319.00$1,259.00
Dimensions 1730 x 780 x 730 mm1730 x 780 x 730 mm1730 x 780 x 730 mm1720 x 780 x 730 mm
Energy Rating4 star(s)4 star(s)4 star(s)3.5 star(s)
Household Size 4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people
FeaturesDisplay Panel and Door AlarmDoor AlarmDoor AlarmDoor Alarm
Handle Type ExternalExternalExternalExternal
Smart Fridge YesNoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves4444
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins1112
Weight79 kg79 kg79 kg81 kg
Door Hinge RightRightRightRight
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlack SteelStainless SteelWhiteShiny Steel
Capacity
Total Capacity 516 L516 L516 L515 L
Fridge Capacity 361 L361 L361 L360 L
Freezer Capacity 155 L155 L155 L155 L
ManualDownload manual
Compare all 5 LG Top Mount GT-515 Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.